BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South

Phone: (937) 434-8030Fax: (937) 434-914231 Prestige Plaza Dr, MiamisburgOH 45342

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service. Had issues with rooms, wrong bed size, broken ac/heat, broken toilet. no response from customer service numerous times.
My fiance and I just stayed at this hotel. The 1st night the toilet didnt work and we had 2 double beds even though we reserved a king. That night and the next morning I complained about the situation with very horrible service. The next day I talked to the manager and got moved. This new room had an ac unit that would make a horrible noise off & on and wake us up. The service and quality was horrible here.

I contacted the 800 number while in the hotel and was told to deal with local management which did tell me we would get half off the 1st night but im not too sure this happened. The remaining 3 nights we had to deal with a noisy heat/ac blower waking us up all night long. After we checked out I contacted the 800 number as instructed and was told the general manager would contact me by 3/3 but never did so i emailed again. I was told they will send me a voucher for $71 to use at their hotel chains. I would rather receive a refund of some amount then ever stay with them again. I still never heard from the general manager or anyone from the actual hotel.

Desired Settlement
I paid $284.62 for horrible service and accommodations. I would like at least 1/2 this refunded. I do not want a voucher of any type. With the service they provided I would rather stay somewhere else.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** **
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *************@interstatehotels.com
Please note the below email correspondence between myself **** ******** - ******* ******* at the Wyndham Garden Dayton South Hotel and guest Mr **** ******. We came to an amicable resolution on this yesterday March 5, 2014 and the guest was contacted by me on March 4th the day prior to your listing this so I assume the guest contacted you prior to yesterday. Emails are from most recent order....

Mr ******'s reply: Yes that is the correct address. Thank you. We will try it soon.

On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 12:51 PM, ********, **** <*************@interstatehotels.com> wrote:
Absolutely my pleasure! I will have the certificate mailed out to you right away.
**** ********
******* *******

Mr ******'s reply: We will take you up on the dinner and cocktails. I appreciate the assistance in this.

On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 12:45 PM, ********, **** <*************@interstatehotels.com> wrote:
Hello Mr ****** -
The voucher that Wyndham is sending to you will be valid for any location you choose. Our hotel is independently owned and operated so I am only able to issue credit or extend complimentary certificates for this location only.
I can promise you, if you haven't dined with us for dinner - our food is fantastic. Generally you think of hotel food as being so so but our cooks really do a great job and guest comment all the time about how good the wings, philly cheese steak, burgers, chili, etc are. If you would like to join us for dinner and a couple of cocktails for two being that you are local, I would be happy to pick up that tab.
**** ********
***************

Mr ******'s reply: **** could the complementary night stay be at another location? If so this would work for us. We moved 5 minutes away from this location and this is why we chose it. I dont see us wanting to stay there when we live there now.

On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 10:53 AM, ********, **** <*************@interstatehotels.com> wrote:
Hello Mr ****** -
Thank you for the details regarding this experience. I have verified that the adjustment of 50% for your second night was taken off of your stay. I can email the receipt to you if your copy does not show this adjustment so you have that for your records.
Would you be interested in a certificate for a complimentary nights stay at our hotel or a certificate for dinner for two up to $50 in our restaurant? The other option I can offer would be adjusting the additional 50% off of the second nights stay which would amount to one night's stay adjusted off of your original bill. Regardless of which option you choose, this would be in addition to the $71 voucher you will receive from Wyndham.
Please let me know which option you would prefer and I will take care of it right away.
I sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from my team during your stay and from myself afterwards - please know this is not typical as we strive to ensure every guest issue is addressed and resolved as quickly and smoothly as possible. Please consider giving us another try to exceed your expectations Mr ******.

Thank you.

**** ********
******* *******

Mr ******'s reply: **** , The first night I spoke the man on duty just after we checked in. I told him the first time I calf that the beds were wrong. The second call was about the toilet taking forever to fill and being noisy. I requested a new room and I was told nothing was open and he would note it for the next day. I went down in the morning and spoke with the lady at the desk. She didn't see any notes about the room change and said she would now it. I returned at lunch time and the manager on duty set it up but said nothing was noted for the issues. She ended up saying she would take half the first nights stay off. I'm not sure this happened or not. I called the 800 customer service but they told me I had to check ot before they would help. The second room did have a noisy heating unit . It kept us up off and on. Not to mention our room keys having to be replaced all the time because they stopped working. Anyhow I don't really remember names. I wasnt thinking it would have dragged on this long.
As for a resolution? I was offered a 71 dollar voucher. To be honest im not sure I want to try another place again after this. I don't know what's is a fair resolution. I paid about 280 dollars for this stay. If I could have left I would have. I think the 71 dollars is falling short. I'll let you offer done form of refund vs a voucher or a combination of the two of you feel that's better.
Thanks ****

On Mar 4, XXXX X:XX PM, "********, ****" <*************@interstatehotels.com> wrote:
Good Evening Mr ****** -
First I want to sincerely apologize for not getting back with you last week regarding your customer care case. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your unacceptable experience so we can address this and remedy the situation.
I understand that you reserved a king bed originally and received a room with two double beds upon arrival. I see that we were able to get you moved to a king the second night of your stay but had a heating unit that was noisy and disturbed your sleep. You also mentioned that you had terrible service and the quality was horrible, I am hoping you can elaborate on this as to the specifics of who and what contributed to this?
I see that you spoke with a "manager" when you were here and they moved you to the new room. Do you recall their name or what they looked like and did they offer any type of resolution at that time for the inconvenience you had experienced?
I want to assure you that I take every customer experience seriously. I did not intend for you to feel as if you were being brushed aside, for that I am sorry.
Please let me know at your earliest convenience the specifics mentioned above and what will be a satisfactory resolution for this experience.
I look forward to your reply Mr ******.
**** ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels, Wedding Supplies & Services, Banquet Facilities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/23/1987Business started: 10/01/1981New Owner Date: 09/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Anderson (General Manager)Customer Contact: Ms Stacy Spurlock (Asst General Manager)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Hotels, Wedding Supplies & Services, Banquet Facilities

Products & Services

This company offers overnight accommodations and food and beverage services.

Alternate Business Names
Wyndham Garden Dayton South, Blue Cougar Dayton LLC
Industry Tips
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Getting the Best Hotel Rate
Tips on Choosing a Wedding Photographer
Vacation and Travel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South

31 Prestige Plaza Dr

Miamisburg, OH 45342

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 31 Prestige Plaza Dr 

    Miamisburg, OH 45342(937) 434-8030

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wyndham Garden Hotel Dayton South is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.