BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2001

Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 224-3200Fax: (937) 428-4581View Additional Phone Numbers9181A N Dixie Dr, DaytonOH 45414

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2001

BBB has determined that Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased new unit 4/2013. Compressor defective and replaced w/smaller compressor 8/2013. Refuses to put in original size compressor we purchased.
Purchased new unit 4/2013. Service calls 4/22/13 noise; 5/21/13 stat not working, fan not coming on; 7/16/13 compressor?; 8/1/13 compressor confirmed to be bad; 8/13/13 compressor replaced with much smaller one; 9/2/13 replace crankcase heater but Trane sent wrong part; 10/31/13 possible reversing valve; 11/2/13 came back with **** ****** to check out noises; and 11/19/13 meeting with **** ******* ******* ******* and **** *****, ******** of ***** *********

Our real concern is that Logan's replaced the original compressor we ordered in April with a different (much smaller) compressor n 8/13/13. Logan's didn't notify us or even discuss this with us. We didn't find out until the visit on 9/2/13 when ***** (service repairman) told us. They never even gave us any documentation until we requested it at the 11/12/13 visit with ***** and ******

We expressed that we were not happy with Logan's and how they have responded to our problems. They seem to brush us off, and want us to accept the unit that they installed (which is incorrect). **** *****, ******** of ***** ******** and **** ****** came to our home on 11/19/13 and wanted to make a "deal". We feel that it should be replaced with the original Trane unit ordered and they do not want to do that. Logan's doesn't see where they have any responsibility in this matter. But I did make my point that, Logan does. Number 1. Logan's installed a different compressor than original. Why didn't they sent the unit back to Trane when they found out that it wasn't the right one? Why would you go ahead and install a compressor when you knew it wasn't the right one? Why weren't we told about it being a different compressor? And, why shouldn't we be upset when we had found out they did this without our authorization. **** basically said, "We know where this conversation is going." **** told us that, "You are the ones that have to deal with Trane to get it done." Basically, they've left us hanging out there on our own to get this remedied. They said they would only be responsible for the installation if Trane replaced it.

We feel that we purchased the unit and they should have to replace the unit with the original type purchased, which they did not do. They have no right to go ahead and replace it with a smaller unit without our authorization.

We have several concerns: 1.) By not replacing the compressor with the original compressor purchased, I believe it voids our warranty. 2.)Why the attitude with Logan's not wanting to honor our request. 3.) The unit installed is smaller, not as efficient and I believe a 2.5 ton where we purchased a 3 ton unit. 4.) This is a cobbled up unit now. We didn't want a Fiat when we purchased a Cadillac. 5.) I believe there is a price difference between the two units, which was not mentioned at all. 6.) A big concern to us is how this compressor will be in 5 years or more. The original unit purchased had a 12 yr. warranty on it. 7.) Logan's has been so unprofessional in handling this once we found out that they put in a different unit and appears to be mad at us because we want what we bought. 8.) We've had (8) service calls on the unit. Sometimes, there are lemons in any product. But this is too many excuses. 9.) Logan's says that Trane sent the wrong part and act like they have no responsibility to us. 10.) **** told us that **** ****** Trane (Columbus), had been notified of the problem. But when I asked for ******** phone number, **** responded that they're not allowed to give that out. When I asked for his address, he refused to give us that info also. They are not forthcoming with coordinating us and Trane to get the unit replaced.

Logan's has not been professional and I am very disappointed with them.

I think that Logan's should have to replace the compressor with the one that we originally purchased.

Desired Settlement
Install unit as originally purchased which restores our original warranty.

Business Response
On April 17th we installed a 3 ton heat pump system for this customer. On April 22nd the customer contacted our office for a humming noise. Our installer returned to the home that day and ran a series of tests on the unit. He found nothing wrong, as it was working inside manufacturer's specs. A month went past and the customer called in on May 21st stating the fan would not come on. Our installer returned to the home again to find nothing wrong. It was working inside manufacturer's specs. On August 1st the customer called for a third time and stated that it wasn't working properly. We sent our technician and he performed the same series of test and found an intermittent problem inside the compressor. Which is why sometimes it worked fine and sometimes it didn't. By chance we were able to experience and observe the problem at this time. He determined a new compressor needed to be ordered.

To be able to order a new compressor through Trane's Warranty Center (TWC) we have to provide the model and serial number of the defective compressor. We gave TWC that information and they sent us a replacement based off that information. We returned August 13th to replace it. The replacement compressor is different in dimensions, but not capacity. Even though it's smaller to the eye, the operation and capacity is the same as what we removed. The reason it looks different is because Trane superseded the original compressor with a new one. This means that they made some sort of change and discontinued the manufacturing of the old compressor. The change clearly being the dimensions; which again has no affect or change on the capacity.

At the time of replacing the compressor, we found that the crank case heater needed to be replaced in order to accommodate the new dimensions of the compressor. So, we ordered a new and returned September 3rd to replace it... Only to find out that it was the incorrect one and needed to order a new. Trane had the correct one shipped over night and we returned the next day, September 4th, to replace it.

On October 31st, the customer called in again stating that it was making a loud groaning noise. We dispatched our technician to the home, he went through everything very carefully and thoroughly, and found nothing wrong. Again, it was working at manufacturer's specs. As the technician was outside the unit kicked into defrost mode. The customer stated at that time, "That's the noise." The technician explained that the unit always makes that noise at defrost. It's completely normal and does it every time on every heat pump unit in the field. The technician left the home and told the customer to call him if they experienced another problem.

On November 12th the customer called yet again in regards to the noise at the outdoor unit. Due to the series of calls, we sent two technicians. Two sets of ears. Both technicians went through everything again thoroughly and cautiously and found nothing wrong. The customer was not happy to hear this and requested a manager.

On November 19th the same technician who was out several times already, and our ******** of ***** ******** (****) went to the customer's home. The customer was very adamant and pointing fingers demanding the need for a new unit. They were accusing us of being unethical and unprofessional. **** explained to the customer that we cannot give them a new unit when it is working at manufacturer's specs. We recommended that they call Trane if they are not satisfied with the noise that the unit makes during defrost. We gave the customer Trane's Customer Service phone number, because that's what we have to do. She did request our territory manager's, ****, phone number but we did not give it to her. As part of our contract, we are not allowed to give out any contact information for a Trane employee. What we did do is have **** contact her. **** called her the next day, November 20th, and explained that they have contacted Logan, we have sent them ALL information, and they are reviewing it to see if there is a resolution to set forth.

The customer did call Trane's Customer Service line and spoke with a representative; who then contacted Trane's field representative, ****** ****. ****** and his boss called the customer and asked to come out to their home with one of our technicians. The customer has agreed to do so, and we are scheduled to be there on 12/11/13.

Through all of the details provided, one will see that we have always responded promptly to this customer's requests, and with the highest degree of integrity and respect.

Logan Services will be in contact with BBB after our visit on 12/11/13.

****** *******

10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seasonal tuneup not possible due to suspected crack in 2ndry heat exchanger and furnance needed to be replaced.
Tech. **** refused to do a tuneup. He stated that the secondary heat exchanger was cracked. He knew this because there was white condensation around the screws in the panel which he never took off. I asked to see the crack and was told that couldn't be done until the furnance came out. He then advised that I needed to replace the furnance. I asked how much a heat exchanger would cost and he said over $1200. I then questioned why he didn't advise me that it was still under warranty. He then left to see how much just the labor would cost. He returned and quoted $805 for replacement with R&R water heater. I was to get a $20 discount for a seasonal tune up but he charged me $99 w/o discount. I felt threatened that he wasn't going to leave and I was all alone if I didn't pay him. a

Desired Settlement
Since the service I contracted for was not performed due to a false assessment I request that the service fee of $99 requested be refunded.

====================================================

Ten years of free service and written apology. This has been a stressful experience that no senior should have to endure.

Business Response
Our Director of Field Services went out to the customer's house on 10/23/13, and we credited the customer's credit card $99 for the service call, per her request.

Final Consumer Response
Since the service I contracted for was not performed due to a false assessment I request that the service fee of $99 requested be refunded.

08/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/24/2012Billing / Collection Issues
10/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
LOGAN AC & HEAT SERVICES falsely charged me for a extended amount of service time. Training of employees should be a hidden cost and not a direct cost to the customer.Based on the poor service and the INEXPERIENCE of their technicians, I questioned their original installation and discovered it may not to be to CODE.
Product_Or_Service: TRANE AC & FURNACE

Desired Settlement
$297.00 for the initial check on my unit, and $336 for the installation of a warranty part.Total $633.00

Business Response
Logan Services installed a complete system in July of 2012, and on June 24th of 2014 he called in stating that his unit was not cooling properly. With no maintenance in over two years, our technician went out to diagnose the unit. Upon arrival our technician put the gauges on the unit and found an abnormally low PSI reading for the system. This indicates that there is/are leak(s) in the system and that a leak check must be done to find the areas of repair. Our technician informed Mr. ***** of this and gave him pricing for a leak search. The customer agreed and approved the technician to move forward. Looking through an entire system for a leak(s) is a tedious and time consuming task. Hence, the reason we are always upfront with the pricing. Through a two hour process of checking the system, our technician found a leak located on one of the aluminum rings of the evaporator coil.

Even after the upfront pricing, the customer refused to pay for the service. He stated that we sent an inexperienced technician to his home and that he felt it unnecessary to pay for his training. Mr. ***** came into the office upset and spoke with our Vice President. Our V.P. explained to him that our technician has several years of experience and fulfilled his responsibility to the fullest when it comes to diagnosing a leak. Finding one leak at the beginning of a leak check is not the end of the process. There must be an entire check on the system to ensure there are not additional leaks and/or issues. If our technician would not have done this and there would have been an additional leak and/or issue elsewhere, then Mr. ***** would rightfully been upset and state that we didn't complete a full diagnostic and we should have caught it the first time around. Mr. ***** agreed that the technician was only fulfilling his responsibility to him as a customer and paid the balance of the 6/24/14 service call. At the same time he agreed to have the coil replaced at the price he was quoted. His part (coil) was under warranty, however his labor and refrigerant was not. The quote stated that the cost for labor was $336 and an additional $585 for 7lbs of R410A refrigerant. Again, the customer knew before repair the total cost he would be paying and he agreed to it.

On August 27th, 2014 we completed the repair and he paid in full. Logan Services provided professional, upfront customer service to this customer. We do not feel as if we should be responsible for refunding him for any of the repairs per our details provided above.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
" The customer agreed and approved the technician to move forward.(With clear conditions). Part of my complaint is that Logan services did not provide two hours of service looking for the leak(documented).
Logan services did not provide professional, upfront customer service to this customer from the start of service in July of 2012. This customer feels that going back to the original installation, Logan services has not been fair and professional(improper electrical installation). I do feel as if Logan should be responsible for refunding me for any of the repairs per our details provided above.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Saturday Oct 19th 2013 had Logan Service come out to clean air ducks (*** ** left dirt all over stove and floors and kitchen counters
On Oct 19th Logans came out to clean my air ducks (10) *** ** came out left dirt all over stove, kitchen counters, had to sweep floor in kitchen and vacuum all the rooms in the house from the dirt, had to clean all appliance on counter top and re-wash all dishes and everytime the furance come on dirt fall on stove and counter top(poor service)

received a call for **** and **** from Logan stating that *** would come back out to clean stove which was two/three days later which was an insult to me like I would leave my stove and house dirty. *** ** himself was the one that reported the issue I would never use Logan again for duck cleaning.

Desired Settlement
was charged $395 for duck cleaning to refund half or remove half off payment service was not good at all.

Business Response
Although we strongly feel this is not a legitimate complaint, please find our response below.

On October 19th our duct cleaning technician preformed a duct cleaning at this customer's home. ****** ******* was not home at the time of service. A gentleman by the name of ***** was there. Above the stove there is a register that *** needed access to in order to properly perform the duct cleaning. As *** took the register off, dirt came out of it and fell onto the stove below. The stove had grease on top of it and the dirt stuck to it. *** tried to clean the dirt up, but the grease made it smear and hard to get it fully clean without proper cleaning products. *** was upfront and informed ***** of his attempt to clean the stove to the best of his ability, and ***** told him it looked good to him.

****** called and left a message on our answering machine the next day. She stated that when she arrived home she saw the stove and was angry. We returned her phone call and informed her that we did make ***** aware of it and he was OK with ***'s attempt; however, we are willing to buy the appropriate cleaning products and return to clean the stove top. She refused and stated that she was offended and didn't want us back in her home.

Logan Services performs over 500 tune-ups a year. We are very cautious and inform customers at the time of scheduling all duct cleanings that they need to move any furniture away from the register. In addition to ****** already being informed about this, our duct cleaning technician did not leave the home without notifying ***** of what happened and received his approval that what he had done on the stovetop cleanup was good.

Our company was respectful in every way in this situation. Our Director of Field Services, **** *****, contacted ****** on Tuesday, 11/19/13, and spoke with her. He apologized and informed her we would return a phone call with a resolution. As promised, **** called her the next day, Wednesday 11/20/13. ****** did not answer the phone, so **** left a voicemail and offered a $100 refund for any inconvenience we may have caused. We are waiting for ****** to return our phone call.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated before I did not call them Logan's first they called me because *** went back and told them and the reason for this was *** called me the same day concerning the issue which was Oct 19 a saturday while I was cleaning up his mess then on Monday I received a call from Logan **** then the next day from ****. This company will not admitt the truth that my house was left in a mess but rather lie do what you will but all my friends will be aware of Logan's poor service and be aware to document all conversations, take pictures when dealing with them. This is what America has come to when companies will not take responsibility when they are in error.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Pumps, Air Balancing, Heat Exchangers, Sheet Metal Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Boilers - New & Used, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1993Business started: 01/01/1969Business started locally: 01/01/1998New Owner Date: 04/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Ohio Depart. of Commerce
77 S High St 23rd Fl
Columbus, OH43215
(614) 466-3636
http://www.com.state.oh.us/ODOC/

BBB records show a license number of State of Ohio HV#27844 for this company, issued by State of Ohio Depart. of Commerce. Their web address is http://www.com.state.oh.us/ODOC/. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2015.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

S-Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James V. Meyer (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Ashley Pleiman Mr. Jeffery Adams (Owner)Ms. Sandy Heckman (Administrative Director)Ms Amanda Kinsella (Communications Director)
Number of Employees

33

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Pumps, Air Balancing, Heat Exchangers, Sheet Metal Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Boilers - New & Used, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers residential heating and air conditioning installation and services.

Alternate Business Names
Adams Heating & Cooling, Logan Services, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat

9181A N Dixie Dr

Dayton, OH 45414

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Logan Services, Inc., A/C and Heat is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 471-3200
  • (614) 428-4580
  • (614) 224-3200
  • (859) 428-4580
  • (937) 428-4580
  • (937) 429-2775
  • (937) 435-5464
  • (937) 866-9262
  • (937) 458-3874

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (937) 427-2627
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.