BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/2009

Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric

Phone: (937) 667-6713Fax: (937) 667-6445View Additional Phone Numbers4025 Gibson Dr, Tipp CityOH 45371

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/2009

BBB has determined that Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a main shutoff valve inside the house leaking. 75 days after being told it was fixed, I had to open/close it and found it was leaking again.
Ed' plumbing came out to fix my main water shutoff valve on 25 July 14 because it was leaking. They tightened the packing and told me it was good to go. Fast fwd 75 days later and I had to close and open the valve due to another plumbing problem. When I re-opened the valve, it started leaking. I called Ed' plumbing and told them my problem, the lady stated it would be 198.00 for them to come back out to change the valve even though the invoice state's "Install new shutoff valve for $149.00". I asked them what the extra "50" was for and they stated service fee. I asked them why they couldn't waive that seeing they didn't really fix the problem in the first place. I mentioned that the I just had another plumber install/solder in TWO valves for $125.00 today. The plumbing "supervisor" told me he couldn't help me and "looks like you just found your new plumber". I feel that they failed to fix the problem in the first place and then failed to honor the "install new shut off valve $149.00" price.

Desired Settlement
I think they should reimburse me for the original $98.00 dollars I paid them for the initial fix that wasn't a fix. Also, they should of honored the price they placed on my invoice to replace the valve.

Business Response
I'm responding to BBB case# XXXXXXXX, the customer shared a concern about a shutoff valve inside the house leaking and complaint expressing dismay about our prices. Our service notes indicate the following transpired:
On July 25, 2014, the customer called and stated that he was having a problem with a water leak. Our plumber found packing on the shut off valve to his water softener was loose. Our plumber tightened the valve, recommended to replace the valve and could do so that same day for $149.00. The customer chose not to replace the shutoff valve on July 25, 2014.
The customer called in recently and stated that he was still having a problem with the water softener shut off valve. He said he probably needed the shut off valve replaced and that the plumber recommended it when he was there on the call July 25th, he felt that because the plumber had tightened things it was okay - until now. The customer indicated that "he shouldn't have to pay because it wasn't fixed the first time." The customer had paid the $98.00 trip and diagnostic fee for the July 25th service call. However, the customer chose not to replace the leaking valve as originally recommended.
The CSR transferred him to our Plumbing Manager, who quoted him $198.00 for our trip out and to install the new shut off valve. The quoted $149.00 on July 25th was to do it while we were already there at his home and does not include diagnostic time, as it was diagnosed that day and the customer had paid the $98 trip and diagnostic fee. The price of $198.00 to return and install the shut off valve included the $149.00 plus $49.00 - half of the trip and diagnostic fee.
The customer did not feel that this was fair and indicated that he had another plumbing company out for other issues and said our prices were too high.
Different businesses charge different prices for what appear to be similar products and services every day. Yet, rarely are the products and services truly the same. There are always differences. The fact is that our prices are based on our costs. We are prepared to respond rapidly for our customers who call us in a crisis when they have a leak. We hire qualified personnel; train our workforce to keep them up to speed with current codes and practices, conduct background checks on our employees, perform random drug tests to ensure our customers safety and security, and we carry the proper level of insurance to protect our customers in the event of a catastrophe. Our prices are not set to the level our competitors charge rather they are based on our costs.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, the plumber NEVER recommended to have the valve replaced. He stated that IF he couldn't get the leak to stop THEN they would have to replace the valve.

Second, they wrote a price on replacing the valve at $149.00 on the invoice. Nowhere on the invoice does it state that the price was for already being there as opposed to returning to the home. It simply says $149.00 to replace the valve, period.

Third, as for the reply of me choosing another company after failing to honor their price is irrelevant to the original complaint. Simply put, they should of honored their original price, or gave me credit for the money I spent the first time.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/09/1989Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Julie Broerman Daniels (President)Ms. Joyce Dyer (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

29

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers a one stop shop trusted for heating, cooling, plumbing and electrical solutions for residential & commercial applications. Sales, service, maintenance and installation.

This company offers residential and commercial heating and air conditioning services.

Alternate Business Names
Ed's and Kilpatrick Heating & Cooling, Inc., Ed's Heating & Cooling, Inc., Ed's HVAC Plumbing Electric, Lynns Associated Services, Wampler Plumbing, Ed Broerman Heating & Cooling, Inc., Ed's Heating, Cooling, Plumbing & Electric
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric

4025 Gibson Dr

Tipp City, OH 45371

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4025 Gibson Dr 

    Tipp City, OH 45371(937) 667-6713
    (937) 845-0277

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ed's Heating Cooling Plumbing Electric is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 845-0277
  • (937) 222-2631

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (937) 845-9726
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.