BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1974

Handyman Ace Hardware

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 879-0141Fax: (937) 879-117711 N Grand Ave, FairbornOH 45324

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1974

BBB has determined that Handyman Ace Hardware meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Handyman Ace Hardware's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Handyman Ace Hardware

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Location: ************

Failure to provide a refund replacement for a defective lawn mower. Mower purchased 4/21/13 failed to start 5/12/13. Instructed by Ace to bring bac
We purchased a craftsman 22 inch self propelled mower on 4/21/13 for 299.99 dollars plus tax and put it on my credit card. We used the mower four times. On 5/12/13 the mower failed to start. I spoke to **** at Ace who told me to bring the mower to Ace and they would check it. He said if Ace cannot start the mower it would be replaced. After several tries by Ace personnel the mower would not start. Three Ace employees took the mower, bag and instruction manual and rolled it to the back of the store. Another Ace employee said that getting the replacement mower would require two steps. First the mower I brought back would be returned and I would get my money back and second I would purchase a new mower. He told me to wait . After about 45 minutes of waiting an employee named ***** told me that even tho we had the mower only three weeks, there would be no refund and no replacement mower because it was a craftsman mower and when you buy a craftsman mower, the minute you take it out of the store, if there is a problem or if it is defective it is your problem not Ace's. At the time of purchase and at the time I initially spoke with **** none of these "rules" were shared with me. If they had been upfront I would never have purchased the mower to begin with. I have tried to contact the store manager ***** however he has not been available.

Desired Settlement
I would like the purchase price plus the tax I paid credited back to my American Express Account.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *************
We deeply regret any misunderstanding that may have
occurred over this incident.Our company policy is to always serve the customer,however,with ***********, we made a serious blunder.
We have contacted her regarding this and apologized for any anguish this may have caused. We also refunded her money and gave her an additional $50 Gift Card.

Thank You
****************
Merchandise Manager
Handyman Ace Hardware

Consumer's Final Response
My complaint is with ace handyman in ************************ I'm pretty certain that I included the address in my narritive
Please correct the location
Thanks
***********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hardware - Retail, Internet Shopping, Tools - Power Actuated, Tools - Hand, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Paint - Retail, Home Centers, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1957Business started: 10/01/1939
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Grimes (President)Mr. Lyle Anthony (Manager)Mr. Jon Blakely (Manager)Mr. Tom Borger (V.P. Finance)Mr. Larry Borgerding (Merchandise Manager)Mr. Vince Bracci (Store Operations Manager)Mr. Jason Bridges (Manager)Mr. Jeff Cox (Manager)Mr. Paul Daugherty (Manager)Mr. Carl Eulett (Manager)Mr. Brian Miller (Manager)Mr. Rich Newcomb (Manager)Mr. Bill Pittl (Manager)
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Hardware - Retail, Internet Shopping, Tools - Power Actuated, Tools - Hand, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Paint - Retail, Home Centers, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers retail hardware/home center.

Alternate Business Names
Grimes Ace Hardware Co., Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Handyman Ace Hardware

11 N Grand Ave

Fairborn, OH 45324

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Handyman Ace Hardware is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Hardware - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.