BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/19/2012

A. M. Leonard, Inc.

Phone: (937) 773-2694Fax: (937) 773-9959

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a product from this company with free shipping and they refuse to send the product under the agreed upon terms.
I placed an phone order w/free shipping. I got an email confirming the order. I was supposed be a 2-3 day ship. 4 days later I sent an email checking the status and the following emails began:
Sales Rep: You were on my list to call today! It has been brought to my attention that this piece of poly will have to ship by semi-motor freight due to the weight- 110 pounds. I am going to work with my supervisor to see if we can work on your freight pricing. Are you able to except deliveries from a semi at the ship to address?
Me: Yes I can except semis but will need to know when so my husband is there to unload. I assume the free shipping that was applied when I ordered still applies. Correct?
Sales Rep: OK great. The free shipping will be apply to this order because it is a not ground shipment. I was able to work on the freight and take the shipping down to $50. Please let me know!
Me:Sorry I am confused by your last email. Is the free shipping still applying? When I placed this order it was free shipping. Regardless of how you have to ship it that is the way it was sold.
Sales Rep:When the order was put into the system, it was telling me the order could go ground but when we went to cut the plastic, weigh the order and ready to ship, it pulled up motor freight. I am thinking its more the dimensions on the roll of the plastic but the weight has a factor as well. We normally can only ship orders of poly that are under 36" ground, all others have to ship semi.
Me:Again, this is not my fault and I purchased the product with free shipping. I will not pay any additional for shipping.
(Sales Rep then forward the email to her Supervisor)
Supervisor:I certainly apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing, after looking back the source code used for free ground shipping has exclusions. I have attached the exclusions to this email. While I apologize for the inconvenience, please let me know how you would like to proceed.
Me: You guys need to provide the free shipping I was told on the phone when placing the order. I am not paying for shipping when I was told it would be free and was not told of any exceptions at the time of the order.
Supervisor: At this time I am not able to offer the free ground shipping-this roll of poly has to ship by semi-truck. The offer on the inside cover clearly states this promo has exclusions. I am willing to reduce the motor freight charge but I cannot offer the free shipping.
Me: Please have your supervisor contact me.
Supervisor: I am a supervisor and while I understand your frustration, meeting in the middle is the best I can do.
Me: While I appreciate your understanding of my frustration but meeting in the middle is not acceptable. I placed an order and received a quote for the price with free shipping. No exclusions were provided to me at the time of ordering. In addition to this I was told the product would be a 2-3 ship and would be here by the end of the week. Either stand behind the original quote with free shipping or this will be reported to the better business bureau.
Supervisor:There is nothing more I can do at this time.
I called and left a message for the Supervisors manager. I didn't receive a call back after two calls and made one final attempt before filing a complaint. I did speak with another representative who left a message for the manager. I received the following email:I regret to inform you that we will not be able to ship your poly roll to you with no shipping charges.The offer clearly states that the free shipping included GROUND SHIPPING only. *** ***** one of our sales supervisors offered to give you a $50.00 reduction on your motor freight shipping charge and that is as far as we can stretch on this transaction.I am sorry, but we will not be able to fill your order.

It is ridiculous that this got to this point when all they had to stand behind their confirmation that did not state any free shipping exceptions!

Desired Settlement
I would like the business to ship my order "FREE SHIPPING" as purchased at the agreed upon price as their order confirmation states.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Operations Mgr
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@amleo.com
We have reached out to our customer concerning this complaint. Although our free shipping offer clearly states there are exclusions we feel in this instance we did not clearly identify that exclusion upon order entry. Some of the products we sell do not conform to ground shipping rules and must ship by larger carrier. We apologize for the inconvenience and will be shipping this order w/free shipping immediately. As always, we strive to meet and exceed our customers expectation. I regret in this instance we failed. Thank you for the opportunity to make it right.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted by this business and they agreed they did not met the agreement made at the time of purchase. They shipped my product with the free shipping promised. I have received but have not inspected the product at this time. I appreciate *****'s assistance in correcting the matter and am satisfied with the result. Thank you for your assistance.

10/01/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have repeatedly notified A. M. Leonard and Gardeners Edge to stop sending me advertisements and to not share my information.
I ordered gardening supplies from A. M. Leonard and they repeatedly made errors in filling my order. After a great deal of frustrating interaction with the "customer service" staff, I finally received the materials I ordered, plus an additional bundle of plant stakes. I contacted them, again, to make arrangements to return the stakes at their expense. They declined to pay for the shipping, leaving it to me to dispose of the stakes I do not want or need. By that time, I had determined I did not want to do business with the company again and asked that they not send me advertisements, or share my information with others. They did not reply to my request directly, but continued to send frequent and unwanted advertisements via e-mail and USPS. Meanwhile, Gardeners Edge, apparently a subsidiary of A. M. Leonard, began sending me e-mail advertisements. Via e-mail, I also notified Gardeners Edge to stop sending me advertisements and to not share my information. They have not stopped, nor have they directly replied to my messages, as requested.

Desired Settlement
As I have stated in my most recent and forceful e-mails to both companies, I want "...AN EXECUTIVE-LEVEL MANAGER to REPLY TO my MESSAGEs, ACKNOWLEDGING RECEIPT AND UNDERSTANDING OF MY COMMENTS." My specific original comments, to which they have neither replied nor responded appropriately, were and remain: "Please stop sending me all forms of advertising from A. M Leonard/Gardeners Edge, as well as all affiliates. Do not share my identifying information with anyone."

Thank you BBB.

Final Consumer Response
BBB: Thank you for your assistance.

Pasted below are excerpts from a message I received from A.M. LEONARD / Gardeners EDGE and my reply:

Sent: Thursday, September 17, 2015 8:17:21 AM
"Please accept my sincere apologies. We will make every effort to see that you do not receive our catalogs or emails. Your email address has been removed from our emailing list as well as your shipping and billing address for catalogs. You the consumer also are able to opt out of unsolicited advertisements, this option is found at the bottom of promotional email offers. I have done this for you in regards to our promotional emails. Please know that we do not share or rent our customer's information. We appreciate your business and will do everything we can to serve your needs. Thank you for this opportunity to set things right and have a great day.
Best Regards,
****** ********
A.M. LEONARD
Gardeners EDGE
**************** ******* *********

Sent: September 17, 2015 8:57 AM
"Finally!
If they haven't done so yet, BBB will be contacting your corporate office. In the event you've actually accomplished what you have stated, that will suffice to satisfy my complaint filed with them yesterday.
I'll wait a short while before deciding if you really have resolved the situation. If it turns out you have not, you will hear from me again via the FCC, USPS, federal and state consumer agencies, social media, et cetera.
In closing, I hope, I believe it is unfortunate the leadership and staff of A. M Leonard & Gardeners Edge do not provide customer service of a quality level equivalent to most of the products they sell. Had the staff competently processed my order or responded appropriately to my early messages, I would still be a customer. I also would not have informed most members of my extended family, my neighbors, fellow garden club and fruit growers association members, et cetera, that based upon my shopping and "customer service" experiences with A. M. Leonard & Gardeners Edge, they might want to shop elsewhere.
Sincerely,
****"

If their "every effort" is effective, A.M. LEONARD / Gardeners EDGE will not hear from me again. Otherwise, I will follow through as I stated.

05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a defective product. Company is not co-operating with a refund and return.
I ordered an ARS Long-Reach Pruner from company for $129.99. It does not work. I called about returning it on 4/1/16 and was told a return label would be sent me via email. Nothing came. I called again on 4/6/16 and was told the label would be re-sent. Nothing was sent.

Desired Settlement
I want my money refunded. $129.99.

Business Response
I certainly apologize for the delay in Ms. ******* receiving the return label as requested on 4/1. We sent the original label via email to the email address provided on the order, tracking ending in XXXXX. On 4/6/16 Customer contacted us to say she had not received the label so we issued another return label to the email address, tracking ending in XXXXX and requested follow up if she did not receive this label. It appears by the notes in the order, on 4/8 we received another call stating the label was not received so we issued a call tag for the product to be picked up by the delivering carrier. Call tag tracking # ended in XXXXX. Return shipment ended up transiting on 2nd return label issued ending in XXXXX and delivering to us on 4/12. Return was processed and customer received credit on 4/16. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
Company did refund my payment. Why they told me I could keep the item that they should already have received back I do not understand.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gardening Hand Tools, Internet Shopping, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors, Horticultural Consultants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.