BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

Bell's Preferred Restoration Care

(937) 388-1040View Additional Phone Numbers360 Gargrave Rd., Ste. A & B, West CarrolltonOH 45449View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

BBB has determined that Bell's Preferred Restoration Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bell's Preferred Restoration Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bell's Preferred Restoration Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

**** who is employed by BPR stood in my home and told me to shut up. I had concerns about a specific item on an insurance list. My signature was ***
**** who is employed by BPR. Came to my home to pick up a check and to take a look at the paperwork that was sent by my insurance company. I informed him that the insurance check had a ten business day hold on it and wouldn't be available until a later date. He ask if he could take a look at the paperwork sent by the adjuster. We went to the kitchen and placed the paperwork on top of a storage container. *** is flipping thru the paperwork and commenting on the items listed. I had ask a couple of questions to further my understanding. I must have interrupted one to many times when he told me to shut up. This man is standing in my home and telling me to shut up. He was inappropriate and out of line. *** had my permission to take my copy of the insurance paperwork and leave. I had also signed a paragraph size contract. I was informed that my copy of the contract would come to me in the mail. But when I received my copy of the contract that I signed it was a full page long. It appeared to me that my signature had been clearly copied and pasted to another document. I have informed my insurance agent of this behavior that has taken place with an employee of BPR. BPR has been paid for drying out my home due to water damage from a busted pipe.

Desired Settlement
There will be no further business between BPR and myself. I would like a copy of the paragraph size document that I signed. Send my original paperwork via mail. Last but not least mail ***** **** my insurance agent and myself an apology. Make sure it is addressed to ***** and not the company. We will then cc a copy to the ***** ****** the claim representative.

Final Consumer Response
Consumer's Original Complaint :
I Would like to withdraw my recent complaint against Bell's PRC.

Consumer's Desired Resolution:
DesiredSettlementID: Not applicableI am withdrawing my recent complaint against Bell's PRC. The issues and matter at hand have been fully resolved to my satisfaction. I wish for no further action to be taken toward this business. I extend my sincere apology to Bell's PRC. I am also sending an apology to the BBB for their time and effort. Thank you.

10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bell's Preferred Restoration failed to fulfill contract as clearly specified by insurance adjuster. Changes were made to contract with no approval.
Bell's was contracted by an insurance adjuster to complete the restoration of our water damaged home in Jan. 2013. A concise and exact workorder was drawn-up and provided to Bell's, however the prescribed work was never completed and what was done (less than 50%) was very shoddy. Drastically different materials were used, that were much cheaper and the quality was much reduced, with no prior approval. We brought this to the attention of Mr **** **** and upon his personal inspection he agreed that much of the work was incomplete and shoddy, but the only remedy offered by Mr. **** was if we contracted to have additional work done by his company he would reduce the cost of the additional work & "make it right." When we complained to Mr. **** that his idea of making it "right" was unjust and unsatisfactory (what were we to do with the existing problems) he became very upset. No other remedies have been offered, and at the present time we are unable to occupy or use the lower level of our home due to the condition of repairs made by Bell's Preferred Restoration. We have no leverage in this matter, as the checks made out to us (******* & ****** ****) were fraudulently given directly to Bell's and our signatures were forged in the process. To give Bell's Preferred Restoration an A+ rating is ludicrous as their work is terrible, incomplete and we feel they are out to scam the public, particularly the elderly, as we are 67, 75, and 88 yrs of age. We are in desperate need of help.

Desired Settlement
The work is so bad that Bell's Preferred Restoration did, we can't imagine they possess the skill or knowledge (let alone the desire) to perform the work that is needed to right this situation. We feel the only recourse is a refund that would allow us to hire another company to right their wrongs. They received a lot of money to do very little work at a very inferior level.

Business Response
Bell's PRC in fact did enter into a contract with Mr. and Mrs. **** to perform services as spelled out by the Farmers Insurance Company estimate. This was a flood job where all affected drywall was removed and replaced, extra framing, floor leveling, mold remediation an many other items not spelled out on the Farmers contract was done at no charge to the ****** The ****'s chose all material, ie...paint colors, floor coverings, sump pump backup....we have correspondence from the ***** indicating how pleased they were with our work, one statement from Mrs. **** documented is "Wow it all looks great!" All forwarded pictures and correspondence between the ***** and our company is documented including pictures sent to the *****. Mr. **** did final walkthrough with our owner and the only items Mr. **** found not completed was the painting of the back of one door, painting of the furnace room double doors and cleaning of the furnace room. Mr. **** told Mr. **** he would take care of these issues only to have Mr. **** explode and threaten to sue us. He basically kicked Mr. **** off the property. Shortly after this encounter Mr. **** started threatening to sue for forgery, and many other bogus charges only to find his own insurance agent verified that Bells PRC followed Mr. ***** explicit instructions every step of the way. Mr. ***** behavior was totally unexpected and very bi-polar like, so we started our own background check on Mr. **** only to find out he has sued many people and is habitual for pulling people into court.
At the end of the day, our work was found to be done correctly and satisfactory by Farmers, thus final payments were made. Mr. **** has gone as far as to threaten to sue the Insurance adjusters and the Insurance Company as well.
It is our sincere belief that Mr. **** somehow thinks that the insurance company builds in to their estimates large profits that can be kicked back his way. There is not large profits contrary to his thought process, and at the end of the day not enough money left to initiate the kickbacks he is seeking. We simply do not operate that way.
Our company literally does hundreds of insurance repairs each year and there has never been a single customer accuse our company of such bogus complaints.
Perhaps if you perform your own background check on Mr. **** you will find a long list of people and companies he has either attempted to sue or has sued for whatever charges he can dream up.
Bell's PRC would be more than happy to paint the doors and clean the furnace room as indicated, what we are not willing to do is to pay Mr. **** the "kickbacks" he is seeking.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/11/2011Business started: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Bell (Owner)Mr Bob Adams (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing

Products & Services

This company provides insurance repairs and home improvements including roofing and gutters.

This company provides carpet and rug installation. Upholstery, carpet and tile cleaning and restoration are available.

Alternate Business Names
Preferred Carpet Care, Preferred Restoration Care, Bells Preferred Restoration Care, Prefered Carpet Care

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bell's Preferred Restoration Care

360 Gargrave Rd., Ste. A & B

West Carrollton, OH 45449

To | From


1 Locations

  • 360 Gargrave Rd., Ste. A & B 

    West Carrollton, OH 45449

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bell's Preferred Restoration Care is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 559-4778
  • (937) 559-4778

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.