BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1925

DPL Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 433-8500Fax: (937) 331-4990View Additional Phone Numbers1065 Woodman Dr, DaytonOH 45432View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1925

BBB has determined that DPL Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DPL Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on DPL Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
June 23, 2016






From: Ms. ****** ** ***** (Ameren Acct: # XXXXXXXX)


To: Better Business Bureau/Dayton Ohio


Re: Refusal of Reimbursement of Payment


On June 3, 2016, I contacted Ameren Power Company to pay my power bill in the amount of $261.00. After selecting the option to pay my bill via telephone; I was then connected to the Western Union Speed-pay (third-party payment center) and informed of the $2.25 convenience fee. I agreed to the stipulations and proceeded to the requirements of completing this transaction.

I was then connected to a representative of Western Union in which I provided all the requested and necessary information for this transaction to be completed. In attempt to ensure that she had all the correct information, I informed her that I would repeat the information to her. She agreed.

After doing so, she provided me with a confirmation number-XXXXXXXX. I documented the number and repeated it back to her and once again she agreed that I had the correct number and my payment of $264.25 had been received and the transaction was complete.

Late in the evening on June 6, 2016, I was checking my personal email account. I noticed an email from Dayton Power and Electric. I was oblivious as to why this company would send me a ?Thank you for your payment? statement? Immediately I had presumed that Ameren had transferred my account to another provider.

The next evening after work, I contacted Ameren and spoke with a representative. I informed her of this email and she informed and assured me that my account was still active at Ameren and had no explanation as to how such an error could have occurred. My payment was now pass-due. She advised me to contact Dayton Power and Electric which I did as suggested however the office was closed. I then contacted the Western Union Special Services and advised to contact Dayton Power and Electric.

I have spent many hours speaking with representatives from all involved parties and lengthy hold-times on the phone, it was apparent that neither of these companies was willing to accept responsibility for this costly mistake nor reimburse me of my money.

On June 15 2016, I was informed by a Dayton Power and Electric representative that a check had been processed and mailed in the total amount of $261.00 minus the convenience fee which I should receive the upcoming weekend or early the next week.

I did not receive a check and when I made contact with this company again for the up-tenth time, again no results. I then contacted Western Union and once again explained the situation. The representative then contacted a representative at Dayton Power so that the call was a three-way call. We were advised to contact the Financial Department at Dayton Power and Electric at its regular business hours.

The next morning I contacted Western Union and the representative then contacted a representative at Dayton Power. I was placed on hold for nearly a half hour only to be told by the Western Union representative that the representative from Dayton Power refused to speak with me on a three-way call stating that ?it wasn?t necessary for him to speak with me and to dispute the charges with my bank.?

I paid my bill and was at threat of having my utilities shut-off. I have numerous medical issues that it is detrimental to my health to be without power. I explained this over and over again to the involved parties and received nothing but apologies and lies.

I contacted my banking institution and was told that I could dispute the charge however it would not be resolved for at least ninety-days. I live on a very mediocre income and am disabled. I have worked a vast majority of my life until serious medical issues caused a significant decrease in my ability to maintain full-time employment and my income. I am now living below the poverty level and cannot replace the funds so wrongfully taken from me. I have become a part of a population that I served as a case manager for many years.

I have experienced extreme stress, rapid heart palpations and frustration which pose threats to my health. This is not right or fair and should be addressed. It is the innocent and poor consumers that are constantly being exploited by these multi-mega companies. Customer service is near obsolete. Companies such as these are about collecting and taking but when it is time to pay-out or pay-back, it is consumers such as my-self that are being ignored and dismissed.

The money that was wrongfully distributed *** be considered by some as a small amount but when you are trying to survive and live on the income as I am, it is impossible to ignore the fact that this bill must be paid and paid twice. I appreciate the time given to this matter and hope that your inquiry will yield results.


Please feel free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX Hm. (XXX) XXX-XXXX Cl.




Thank you,


Ms. ****** ** *****



Product_Or_Service: None
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
$264.25

Business Response
The customer paid her electric bill through Western Union Speedpay (WUCC) for her electric service in Decatur, Illinois. Unfortunately, the WUCC representative made the payment electronically to DP&L vs. the correct electric company, Ameren Power. This is a mistake of WUCC. DP&L is not at fault in this situation. Once we noticed the customer was not a DP&L customer, an email was sent to her to try to help rectify the mistake. DP&L first advised the customer a refund would be issued in the form of a check. However, due to the payment being made with a debit card, the customer needed to dispute the payment with her bank. We sincerely apologize for advising the customer incorrectly regarding issuing a refund check. Later, when WUCC contacted DP&L with the customer on the phone, they were advised to inform the customer to contact her bank to dispute the charges since the payment was made with a debit card (VISA/MC logo) and not intended for DP&L.
DP&L has been diligently working with WUCC to ensure the customer's funds are returned to her account in a timely fashion. Below is a timeline of the conversations with WUCC trying to rectify the mistake made by WUCC:
1. June 23, 2016:
Customer's complaint received by DP&L and forwarded to WUCC. DP&L spoke with management at WUCC and was informed they would research the problem to ensure this does not happen again to a customer.

2. June 26, 2016:
DP&L was advised by WUCC that a member of management would be contacting the customer, explaining what happened, and offering to complete a three-way call with her bank to ensure the return of her to her account. WUCC was also going to contact Ameren to ensure the customer's account remained in good standing despite their error.

3. July 7, 2016:
DP&L spoke with WUCC and was informed they spoke with the customer (We do not have a date as to when WUCC made contact with the customer.) The customer's bank required WUCC to send a fax on her behalf regarding the misapplied payment. Unfortunately, the customer did not have the fax number and requested WUCC to call her back the next day. According to WUCC, the Operations Manager has been trying to reach the customer by phone daily but without any success.
As of today, WUCC has not been able to make contact with the customer. A call was placed by DP&L today to the customer to try to connect her with WUCC in a timely fashion. We, as well as WUCC, could not reach the customer. However, a message was left on the customer's cell to try to facilitate a three way call to connect her with the Operations Manager at WUCC. If the customer did not receive her message from DP&L, please advise her to call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and we will gladly put her in contact with the manager at WUCC.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted by a representative ********* on June 1, 2016. She had called and did not leave a direct contact number in her message. She asked me to provide a contact name and fax number for my banking institution. I informed her that I would contact the bank to get the information as requested. She then stated she would call me back the next day (July 1, 2016). I waited at my home the entire day in hope that she would call, she did not contact me. She did not call me until July 7, 2016 while I was attending my brother's wedding. Once again, she did not include a contact number in her message. When I spoke with Ms. ******* on June 1, 2016; I informed her of my work days and hours. It appears that she attempts to contact during my working hours. I have not spoken with her due to the time of day she is calling. I am leery of her attempts to contact me during my working hours and have concluded that she would purposely note that she was uable to contact me. Her actions are questionable.


Sincerely yours,

Ms. ****** ** *****

Final Business Response
The customer paid her electric bill through Western Union Speedpay (WUCC) for her electric service with Ameren Power. Unfortunately, WUCC processed the payment electronically to DP&L vs. Ameren in error. Due to Western Union SpeedPay's (WUCC) error and the payment being an ATM transaction, the funds could not be returned immediately until we were assured the customer's financial institution would not chargeback the payment. If the funds would have been returned immediately and the customer filed a dispute with her banking institution, we would have been in a loss situation. In addition to filing with your office, the customer filed the same complaint with the Office of the Attorney General for the State of Illinois and we have answered that complaint as well.

We have spoken to the customer's financial institution to obtain a written guarantee that the payment will not be entered as a chargeback in their system. Upon receipt of that guarantee, we proceeded to issue the customer a refund check in the amount of $261. I called the customer yesterday to inform her of this good news. However, she was unavailable but a voicemail message was left on her house phone informing her the check was in the mail.

With the check being mailed today to the customer, we consider this issue to be resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
At this moment I am satisfied with the reimbursement of my funds. I received a check from Dayton Power and Electric in the amount of $261.00 on July 18, 2016.

Sincerely yours,

Ms. ****** *****

02/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I use to live at **** ****** *** *** ******* **** XXXXX. The reason I put down 6-10, is because DP&L, has harrassed me for the past (5) yrs. I have all my m.o. reicepts for the past (4) yrs. I always pay my DP&L before it's due. Their rep. (DP&L) stated to me, I did not know what I was talking- about. 1216-15) Her name was ******* Another rep. (DP&L) **** told me I'll just take you off. 12-17-15. **** another rep, told me, they are going to cut my DP&L off 12-14-15. To bad

Desired Settlement
Help me find somebody to make DP&L stop threatening me. My health is bad.

Business Response
The customer began service at her current residence on May 13, 2015 and was re-verified for PIPP on May 12, 2015 at $44 per month.

The customer's actual electric usage charges each month were less than her PIPP amount of $44. Therefore, the customer chose to pay the lesser amount which was the actual charges versus paying her PIPP amount due.

When a customer is enrolled in the PIPP program, they are required to pay the percentage of income amount each month that the State of Ohio informs them they are eligible to pay. When a customer pays less than the PIPP amount, their account is notated as past due for the difference and continues to appear as past due until all PIPP payments are brought current.

The customer made contact with the State of Ohio requesting to be dropped from the PIPP program. That request was effective with the State of Ohio as of 11/30/15. However, we did not receive the request electronically in our system from the State until 12/21/15. Therefore, when the customer received her November bill stating $104 total due, it was for $60 past due and $44 for the current month. This bill was mailed 11/19/15.

All calls between our customer service reps and the customer were reviewed. The customer first called us on November 30, 2015 inquiring about her bill showing past due. However, the bills have been showing a past due balance since June, 2015. The representative was professional and provided correct information. However, when the representative informed the customer her account was past due, the customer did not agree and became irate, cursed, and ended the call.

The customer called back on December 15, 2015 and spoke to a different rep. The rep answered all of the customer's questions and offered to mail a print out of her payment history so that she would better understand that you must pay the PIPP amount each month in order to be considered current. The representative was polite and professional and sent the information to the customer.

Per the Community Action Agency, at the time the customer is approved for the POPP Program, they are given paperwork explaining they must pay the approved amount each month. The State Of Ohio PIPP Plus rules can be found on their website at www.PUCO.OHIO.GOV or by calling the local Community Action Agency.

Since being removed from the PIPP program, the customer is current and all late notices have ceased. If the customer had not been on PIPP since May, all of her payments would have been considered paid and on time since she was paying actual usage charges each month.

07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Metor reader damaged our vinyl gate to the extent that it fell down and now must be replaced.
On two separate occasions on the meter reading date, our vinyl gate was shaken so badly that both sections fell. DP&L refuses to accept liability.

Desired Settlement
Repair of our fallen gates.

Business Response
July 7, 2015

On 2/3/2015 the customer called and requested a letter stating that Dayton Power and Light did not have an ERT meter at her home and that the meter reader enters her yard to read her meter. The CSR noted her account that she did not explain why she was requesting this letter and her account information shows an ERT meter at this address. The CSR sent the request to the Meter Reading Department Supervisor.

2/4/15 The account was noted that we do not go into the customers yard to read the meter because she does have an ERT that transmits from the road, and if the customer calls please let her know.

I checked her account and her meter is read with an electronic hand held transmitter from the road. Her ERT # is XXXXXXXXXX There have been no estimated readings or problems with getting her reading with the remote.


She could possibly be confusing Dayton Power and Light with her gas provider.

Thanks,
** ****
PUCO/Reliability

10/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrongly estimated my bill and have refused to incorporate the correct kWh in subsequent bills. Customer service is downright rude.
Billing issues account number is XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund in the amount of check for the months they have estimated my bill.

Business Response
The customers bill was estimated on June 30, 2014 with a meter reading of 9213.
The customer contacted customer service on 7/18/2014 to inquire about the reading.
I pulled the call and listened to the representative as well as the customer.
The CSR explained that there are times readings are estimated. (The Public Utilities Commission for the State of Ohio requires utility Companies to make every effort to read the customers meter, but are required to get an actual reading at least once each year)
This address has been estimated twice in 3 years.
The CSR offered to send a meter reader to get an actual reading. The recheck reading was scheduled, and the result was a reading of 9744 on 7/21/2014.
The meter was read again for the monthly billing at 10053 on 7/31/2014.
The actual readings show that the estimated reading was in line.
If the actual reading after an estimated reading is lower, the bill will be adjusted to reflect the customers actual usage.

This was not the case, since the meter readings were higher, the cusotmer was billed for actual usage.

Please let me know if you have any further quesions.

Thanks,
** ****
PUCO Liason





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their explanation for the following reasons.

Reason 1. They estimated the usage as 1330 KWH this is a preposterous estimate for my dwelling. Note that a KWH implies a 60 W bulb being lit for 17 hours straight. As an electrical engineer myself, I researched the wattage ratings for my appliances at home I cannot fathom such a high estimate!

Reason 2. The average temperature for the month in question was similar to the previous month. Furthermore, it is was similar enough to the previous years average temperature. So by the mathematical law of statistical expectation, my wattage has to be close to the previous month, which is around 670 KWH.

Reason 3. This year we have been quite conservative with our AC and have reduced the temperature from 68 F (last year) to 73 F this year, for the entire summer. This is a a good enough reason for me as a consumer to suspect and question the business practices of DP&L.

The aforementioned reasons are sufficient enough for a layman to come to a conclusion that Mr ******* explanation is illogical, and flawed.

Regards
*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies, Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1949Business started: 03/01/1911
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1911, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerome L. Mashburn (Manager of the Call Center)Mr. Chad Bocook Mr. Thomas Raga (VP External Relations)Ms Holly Wiggins (Community Outreach Manager)
Number of Employees

1200

Business Category

Electric Companies, Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

This company offers regional energy company services. DPL was named one of Forbes' "100 Most Trustworthy Companies" in 2009. It is the parent company of The Dayton Power and Light Company.

Alternate Business Names
AES Corporation
Industry Tips
Understanding Sub-Metering

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DPL Inc.

1065 Woodman Dr

Dayton, OH 45432

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1065 Woodman Dr 

    Dayton, OH 45432(800) 433-8500
    (800) 253-5801
    (800) 424-5578
    (877) 468-8243
    Fax: (937) 259-7923
    Fax: (937) 331-4990

  • 1317 Troy St. 

    Dayton, OH 45404(937) 331-3882

  • PO Box 1247 

    Dayton, OH 45401-1247

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DPL Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 253-5801
  • (800) 424-5578
  • (877) 468-8243

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (937) 259-7923
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

Understanding Sub-Metering
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.