BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2000

DPL Energy Resources, Inc.

(888) 674-3753View Additional Phone Numbers1065 Woodman Dr, DaytonOH 45432

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2000

BBB has determined that DPL Energy Resources, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DPL Energy Resources, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 126 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

126 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 28 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues37
Billing / Collection Issues58
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service30
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 126

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on DPL Energy Resources, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (126)
08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told only 12 month term, it has been over 12 months and I'm being charged a $299 termination fee.
I was told when I signed up for DPL Energy in April 2014 it was 12 month term. It is now about 16 months later and I see a $299 termination fee and charge of $70.39 on my dpl bill from DPL Energy.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $299 fee taken away as I was told this was only a 12 month commitment. I will pay the $70.39 for energy usage, but would like the fee taken off.

Business Response
We have reached out to the customer and informed her we have taken steps to remove the Early Termination fee as a courtesy. She will be billed for energy usage only.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They are removing the early termination fee, which is what I wanted. Thanks.

07/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging me $299.00 for an early termination fee when I shouldn't be.
Over a year ago I had a gentleman come to my door asking me to sign up with DPL energy. I told him that I would have to speak with my husband first. So I gave him my husband number and that evening the gentleman called. My husband spoke with him over the phone and he had told my husband that we was good for one year with DPL energy and that if we were upset with it and wanted to cancel that there would not be an early termination fee. April of 2014 I had called into DPL energy and told them that I wanted to cancel my services with them and that was the first time I heard about a early termination fee and she also tried to say we sign a contract for four years. I told the lady at that time that I was never told of a early termination fee and that we was told we could cancel at any time and that we was only on for one year. That lady was very rude when that was not what we was told and that I told her that I needed to speak with my husband about it and see what he wanted to do about the situation because when we first signed up we was told that there was NO EARLY TERMINATION FEE and we was only on it for ONE YEAR. We feel like we shouldn't be charged the fee because we were lead to believe when we signed up that there was NO FEES to cancel and that we were only signed up for ONE year.

Desired Settlement
We are willing to pay the $38.59 part of the bill that we used that month but not the $299.00. We want the company to take that cancellation fee off our bill because we was told that there was NO EARLY TERMINATION FEE and that we was only with DPL energy for ONE YEAR. If we would of been told in the first place that there was an EARLY TERMINATION FEE we would of NEVER signed up with them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
A copy of the recorded third party verification phone call confirming the rate, term ending May 2017 and $299 early termination fee was provided to the customer via email. However, I was unable to locate the signed contract completed at the time of sale. The $299 early termination fee will be removed from the utility bill. I have provided details of the resolution to the customer via email.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They took off the $299.00 for the early termination fee. They did what we asked and thank you.

06/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a bill from dpl energy for $315 they misrepresented themselves as Dayton power and light. I payed dpl monthly and now have seperate bill
I had door to door salesman come to my house saying he was with dp and l energy and they were the same. I was lied to from the get go. I got phone calls monthly from dpl energy and told them I alread paid dp and l who I thought were the same. Now I have a bill for no reason and I have got no help from dpl on explanation. I feel they are not forthcoming of who the are and what they do.

Desired Settlement
I want my account cleared and no negative effects to my credit report. I feel I was lied to and they just told half truths to get residents to sign up for this.

Business Response
The customer enrolled with our services 1/9/14, at which time he initialed his contract stating he understood that DP&L Energy was not his utility, DP&L. We also have a third party verification call recorded in which, he confirmed that he understood the difference between the two companies. The $299 Early Termination fee for the breach of contract was reversed from the customer's account through our Care Center 6/10/15. The customer currently has a balance of $16.64 for energy used which can be remitted to:
DPL Energy
PO Box 9001023
Louisville KY 40290-1023

This information has been shared with the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Electric service was cancelled without my knowledge or permission.
On 4/13/15 I received a Final Bill from my electric company Dayton Power & Light. I called and they stated they received a call to put my address into another name. This was done without my knowledge or permission. This was actually done on my address in error. It should of be E 6th St not W 6th st. This cancelled account resulted in my contract with DPL energy being cancelled. When I called to get this straightened out with DPL energy I was told I would need to reenroll. They was not willing to honor my rate I had before my account was cancelled. They stated they did have that rate but it was only for current customers and since mine was cancelled I was now a new customer. I have been with this company for several years and they were not willing to honor my contract and did not care that my account was cancelled in error. DP&L stated they contacted DPL energy to let them know this was cancelled in error. This has resulted in me having to try to find another supplier and going without a supplier on my first bills. My account should never of been cancelled with out my knowledge.

Desired Settlement
I am receiving a final bill of $23.18 that I feel needs to be taken care of on their end due to the time involved with my numerous phone calls and the time having to search for another provider since they would not honor my rate at the time my account was cancelled in error. This complete mess could of been prevented if I would of been contacted prior to my account being closed. Either DP&L energy or DP&L should be responsible for this balance of $23.18 due to DPL energy since my account was closed in error without my knowledge or permission. What is going to prevent this from happening to me or someone else in the future??

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
DP&L Energy was notified via electronic transaction to reinstate the customer's account and included new account number. I have credited the customer's account for the difference in rate from her original rate and the new rate she was enrolled in at the time of the account change. Customer should see this credit on the next bill. The original rate was due to expire in May 2015. The customer recently enrolled with a new supplier. I have emailed current offers for comparison. Customer has 7 days from the date of the new enrollment to rescind the switch and remain with DP&L Energy if she chooses. There would be no break in service.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The credit is satisfactory as long as I do receive it. I still feel it was wrong for the reinstatement not to be for the original rate that I was at before this being cancelled without my permission. I had actually just renewed in March 2015 so it was not scheduled to expire for a year. DP&L Energy not helping me resolve this matter forced me to find a new supplier.

05/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 companies without proper communication or understanding of how the other works provide conflicting information which results in the customer oweing.
I had an account with both DP&L and DP&L energy resources. I lived with a roommate for a few months and because of this a few of our payments were made late. I was told by DP&L that they pay DPL energy resources in full before they take what is theirs for the late fee, but I was told by DPL energy resources the opposite information. Because of alleged "non-payment" (which late payment occurred but never non-payment) we we're unknowingly, without any warning dropped from our plan from DPL energy resources and charged $299 on out bill. Of course this occurred right when I moved to another state and my room mate was looking to put the account in her name. I was told the $299 fee would be waved one we re-enrolled (but no additional information). We cleared all balances except the $299 and my (now former) roommate worked to switch the account into her name. She called DP&L and let them know that she had to re-enroll to remove the fee and then she wanted to switch the account into her name. DP&L went ahead and switched the account into her name without warning her that she needed to re-enroll on the old account or the fee would stand. They then transferred her after the switch was complete to DPL energy resources to re-enroll. However, since the account was now in her name it was a new account number and the $299 remained on my bill. We then tried to undo the account switch and leave it in my name so that we could re-enroll and just add her to the account. But the account was already deleted and the $299 fee stands. We have talked to people on both ends explaining that we never would have changed the account over at all if we were provided with all the necessary information, but we are told it is all our fault and that they are being firm and the fee stands. I don't believe that something I do at one company without proper information should result in a fee that I was told would be waived to stick with me at another company.

Desired Settlement
I want the fee removed. I am more than willing to remain the account holder and re-enroll. I just want the company to work with me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
I have been communicating with the customer while I requested verification from the utility regarding this account. The customer has paid all usage charges in full. The $299 ETF has been credited to the account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The charge should clear on the 21st of May. I was very happy with the response to my complaint.

Page 1 of 11
07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fradulently signed up for their services by a former employee who said they came to our home on 10/14/14 during the day while we were at work.
A former employee of DPL Energy said they came to our home on 10/14/14 and signed us up for their energy service while we WERE NOT HOME, we were at work. We didn't find out at this until DP&L sent us a disconnection notice at which time I called them and was informed of what happened with DPL Energy. I called DPLE on 4/22 and spoke w/ **** at extension **** and they were to credit us $199 cancellation fee and all other payments they weren't authorized to collect, instead they have continued to take our money and didn't notify DP&L of their mistake. So since that conversation they have received a payment of $54.08 on 4/23/15, $61.00 on 6/10/15, and DP&L just informed me that they sent them a check for $123.65 because DPLE said that was our past due balance. All other past payments that need to be refunded are $75 on 3/30/15, and $148.45 on 3/4/15. I spoke today with ***** at extension **** who stated that they may not be able to credit anything before 4/22 because they provided the service that WE DID NOT SIGN UP FOR. I am not going to pay any PAST DUE balance for a service we never authorized. I want ALL money refunded back to me ASAP. This company is very fraudulent and doesn't do what they say they are going to do.

Desired Settlement
I want the cancellation fee of $199 and all above mentioned payments($75, $148.45, $54.08, $61.00, $123.65) refunded back to me. I am not paying for a service that was not authorized by me. It is not my fault that they don't have a better plan in place to hire honest employees and also to sign people up for their services.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
Since October 2014, DP&L Energy now completes a recorded third party verification call with every door-to-door or telephonic enrollment in order to ensure customer consent for the service and terms of the agreement. A refund has been issued to the customer for the amount paid toward the early termination fee. A rate difference review is being completed. If the utility price-to-compare rate was lower than the fixed DP&L Energy rate charged, the customer will be refunded for the difference in rate. No additional fees were charged to the customer while being serviced by DP&L Energy. A detailed resolution has been provided to the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this respone because a $75 refund ia a far cry from the amount of money they were paid by DPandL that was not rightfully theirs. It seems to me that the recorded third party verification system should have been in affect when they started door to door sales. This is a MAJOR problem within their company that they should have to pay for. There is no reason I should have been sent any disconnect notices from DPandL and there is also no reason that I should have to go through the hassle of fixing their mistakes time and time again. I guess will also file a complaint with PUCO. DPandL Energy needs to own up to their faulty business decisions and make things right.

Final Business Response
Suppliers are required by PUCO to reimburse a customer who was switched without proper authorization for the difference in rate had the customer not been switched, and any other fees that were charged due to the switch. A refund was issued to the customer for the portion of early termination fee paid, as well as the $5 switch fee incurred at the time of enrollment with DP&L Energy. Price-to-compare (PTC) rates were collected from the utility to assess any additional refund. All PTC rates were higher than the DP&L Energy rate of 7.19 cents per kilo-watt hour. No further refund is applicable, as the customer would have paid a higher rate per kilo-watt hour for utility-provided electric supply. No additional charges were incurred during the period of service.

06/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company deceiving customers just to get business.
Account was closed due to behind payment on account. There was a $270 termination fee assessed due to termination by DPL energy. Upon contract agreement with employee ****** ****** it was stated numerous times a fee of $199 (not $270) would be applied "only" if customer cancels program. No where in the original contract states a termination fee to be assessed if the DPL energy terminates contract.

Desired Settlement
I want to see the $270 amount readjusted with DP&L as I feel this company came onto my property delivering false information in order to get my authorization to switch to their supplier.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
The account was dropped on 4/23/15 and assessed an early termination fee of $199 per the terms of the agreement. A primary tenant of the agreement is that the customer must pay for services provided. In this case, energy had been supplied for 3 months with no payment at the time the account was dropped and returned to the utility for supply services. At this time, the account is current and I am able to remove the fee as a courtesy. The details of the resolution have been provided to the customer via email.

06/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continuous monthly harassment letters or phone calls from their computers about my bill which has already been paid thru DP&L. They do not contact DP&L to see if their money has been paid or not. It doesn't matter to me if it take's 7 days for the money to be transferred from DP&L to DP&L Energy or not they can still call and find out if the money is there and not harass me. The $.03 a kw hour is not worth the constant harassment from them.
Product_Or_Service: Supposed savings of $.03 per kwhour
Account_Number: Utility Account# 103

Desired Settlement
I wish my account to be closed immediately and NO cancellation charges to be applied to me. I wish a letter sent to me and in my hand documenting this by the end on April.

Business Response
DP&L Energy posts payments within 1-2 days of the utility posting the payment. This is done via electronic transaction. Our billing system does account for this posting period, and Balance Reminder letters and phone calls begin 12 days after the bill due date. A drop request was submitted to the utility, per customer request on 5/12/15, effective with the 6/10/15 meter reading. The early termination fee has been waived as a courtesy and the account is current at this time. Written notification, via email, was sent to the customer.

****** *********
Care and Compliance Analyst
DP&L Energy
1065 Woodman Drive
Dayton, OH 45432
Office ************
Fax ************
****************@aes.com

05/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After looking at my dpl bills i was charged from dpl directly, and then by dpl energy. i was double billed.
my dpl account number for DPL is XXXXXXXXXX. After looking through my bills to find where i got behind in my bills i realized that i have for a year been charged for not only dpl service but a huge dpl energy fee on top of it that normally is larger than what my actual dpl bill was. i was double if not more charged!!!!!!

Desired Settlement
i would like some type of refund for this!!!!! i was way overpaying!!!!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
I am in communication with the customer. After providing an explanation of the utility vs. supplier charges, the customer still believes she was double billed. I have sent a billing review inquiry to the utility in order to assess if the customer was double billed, or if any erroneous charges appear on the utility bills for the service period she was with DP&L Energy. Every customer pays these utility charges: customer charge, distribution charge, and nonbypassable or transmission charge. Usage charges are in addition to these required utility charges and are calculated per kilo-watt hour of actual usage by the supplier. If there is no supplier, the utility charges for usage. I will update the customer when I receive the utility information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
She has not given me a detailed bill with the full expli action of the charges

Final Business Response
The utility has confirmed that the customer's billing charges are accurate. I provided the customer with a detailed billing summary of supplier charges and payments remitted for supplier charges. I advised the customer that the utility could provide her with a detailed billing summary including both supplier and utility charges as well as all payments applied. Every customer pays utility charges for distribution and maintenance in addition to usage charges, which can be provided and charged by the utility at a variable rate or by a supplier per customer agreement.
****** *********
****************@aes.com

05/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As the many other complaints on here. I signed on with Energy resources. behind on my bill paid to a 0 balance and next bill.next bill 300 dollars


Something needs to be done about Energy Resources. with over a hundred complaints and more coming you would think this company would be out of business. It is the same story. This people Show up at your house telling all this stuff about saving money. I have been with a company on my vectern bill for over 3 years no trouble. I get behind on my bill make payments no trouble. I get behind on my DP&L. Make my payments the make a payment where I thought it was 0 Balance the next bill is over 300 hundred. Energy Resources has cancelled my account, I shouldn't have to pay a cancellation fee. I called them Now they are threating to cut my lights out. I just don't understand how a company can keep practicing business like this. my bill keeps going up .I just want them off my bill. Someone please tell me how to take care of this.

Desired Settlement
I just want their charges off my bill. I would love to this company put out of business. with so many complaints looks like someone could.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Email: ****************@aes.com
The customer has carried a past due balance since the beginning of service with DP&L Energy. The account was dropped for nonpayment, and returned to the utility standard offer for all utility charges. At this time, the past due usage charges have been paid in full. As a courtesy, the $299 early termination fee that was assessed due to termination of the supply aggreement will be removed from the customer's utility bill. I have provided the details of the resolution to the customer via email.

Page 1 of 15

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2012Business started: 11/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St
Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 466-3292

BBB records show a license number of 00-036 for this company, issued by Public Utilities Commission of Ohio.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2000, OH

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Krista Donefeld (Compliance Trainer)
Number of Employees

145

Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

DPL Energy Resources, which also does business as DP&L Energy, is a competitive retail supplier of electricity. DPL Energy Resources and DP&L Energy sell electricity to Ohio customers at market-based prices rather than the regulated prices offered by utilities.

Hours of Operation

8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday - Friday

Alternate Business Names
DPL Resources, DPL Energy, LLC, MC2 Energy Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DPL Energy Resources, Inc. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DPL Energy Resources, Inc.

1065 Woodman Dr

Dayton, OH 45432

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1065 Woodman Dr 

    Dayton, OH 45432(800) 319-1356
    (937) 259-7046
    (888) 674-3753

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DPL Energy Resources, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 319-1356
  • (312) 985-0217
  • (937) 259-7046

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (877) 281-1279
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.