BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/13/2005

Modern Office Methods, Inc.

Phone: (937) 436-2295Fax: (937) 436-1747

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $160.88 for a person to come out and give me a quote. No mention of a charge when I scheduled the appointment.
In early February 2014 I called Modern Office Methods to inquire about upgrading our copier; or leasing a new copier. Our company wanted to be able to print from 4 computers to 1 copier.
Immediately there was confusion. The receptionist was asking for our account number and when we purchased the existing copier. I explained that we had never done business with Modern Office Methods, we were interested in a quote. A few days later a service tech called me in route to confirm our address. On the phone; he asked me what was the problem with our copier; and what was our account number. I again explained that we didn't have an account; and that we wanted a quote to upgrade or lease another unit. The service tech said he would come over and take a look to gather information since he was almost here. The service tech arrived; and after looking at our unit explained that he'd have to send somebody from the sales department to quote us a new copier. A few days later; two gentlemen from Modern Office Methods (one being **** ***** arrived to look at the unit and to quote us either an upgrade or replacement. I received the quote via email on February 21st. In the email from ***** he wrote; "unlike most of our competitors....we examine how your company's documents are created, distributed, stored, presented, retrieved, communicated and destroyed. We then evaluate all of the costs associated with your office equipment including copiers, faxes and printers. All at no cost and no obligation."
At no point in any conversation with the receptionist, the service tech or ***** were we told there was a price to obtain a quote. And as the quoted email above suggest; we were lead to believe a quote would certainly be "no charge". I have called Modern Office Methods at least 5 times trying to clear up their invoice for $160.88. I have been told repeatedly that Modern Office Methods charges for their employees to come out and give quotes. If this is the case; then I should have been told upfront.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to dismiss their invoice #XXXXXXXX for $160.88.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing to my attention the matter of your case number XXXXXXXX. I am aware of Ms. *****'s complaint and the facts surrounding the complaint. Ms. ***** called Modern Office Methods, to come out and look at their equipment to see if it could be networked. That call was indeed a service call, and a service call report was completed and signed by Ms. ***** in the amount of $150.00. From that service call it was requested by *********** ******* and ******* that MOM come out and give them a quote on new equipment or a new solution to meet their needs.

**** **** did come out and provide them with a quote and per his e-mail, there was no charge for his service, and this is where Ms. ***** is confused. Ms. ***** claims that **** **** told her there would be no charge for the quote, but she is applying that to the service call also. She claims that MOM should honor ******* commitment, but what you need to realize is that the response and e-mail from **** **** occurred after the initial service call, for which she signed and was charged, so it probably goes to reason that Ms. ***** wanted to make sure the call from **** **** did not have a charge, and per her understanding that call did not.

The service call and follow up marketing call are two separate calls, one was billable, and a signed statement of work was received, the other was for a quote and was not billed per her conversation with **** **** MOM further offered *********** ******* and ******* a credit in the amount of the service call if the decided to move forward and purchase goods or services from MOM. I am unaware if *********** ******* and ******* has taken any action, and as such the invoice is due. I have enclosed a copy of both the signed service order and the invoice for your review. If you feel that this matter is still not clear, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,
**** ******
***

01/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
************************ is filing a complaint against Modern Office Methods for a breach of contract.
************************ has a contract with Modern Office Methods (Contract # *********** to maintain our copier. According to the contract the company agreed to maintain all equipment listed, in a normal operating condition. (Attachment#1) We have been paying $583.22 every year as maintenance fee for the copier "Xerox WCPro416" to Modern Office Methods, since the company took over our contract from Document solutions. (#2) On June 21st 2013, our copier began to have printing problems and Modern Office Methods was contacted to inquire when a technical representative could be dispatched to investigate the problem. A technical representative arrived on June 25th to diagnose the problem and informed our company that the problem can be fixed, but a new part needs to be ordered.

On June 26th the technical representative arrived at our office again, with the new part and tried to fix the machine but was not successful. The technician informed us that he will come back with another part, since this was not the correct part he had ordered.

Upon several phone calls and request for an update on the status, we were informed that the part was ordered and our copier should be fixed soon. Therefore, we requested a loaner machine from Modern Office Methods, to use since our copier was out of order. The loaner copier was delivered on July 18th. After several phone calls to MOM regarding the status update, MOM's Service manager called and tried convincing me to buy a new machine from them and abandon the old machine since it is getting old. Being a small business with limited resources, I requested to that I would like for them to fix the copier for now (as per the maintenance contract we have with MOM) and we will look into buying a new copier in future.

After several additional phone calls and leaving phone messages, I receive an e-mail with an attachment of our maintenance agreement we have with them and stating that 'What we cover under this agreement is part, labor and toner. There is no guarantee of the device serviceability" (#3). According to the (Attachment #1) under their contract Clause #1, it clearly state they agree to maintain all equipment listed in a "Normal operation condition." In addition, clause # 14 states that their "liability is limited to 1 year cost of service" Therefore we requested that if they cannot fix the copier they should refund us, 1 year cost of service which is $ 583.22.

After several additional phone calls on August 28th 2013, MOM's Vice President, Client Service send me an e-mail letting me know that "the parts needed for your Xerox WCPro416 are no longer available to Modern Office Methods. As a result MOM is cancelling your current service agreement". I was threatened that either we buy a new equipment from them or they will pick up the loaner they had delivered on July 18th and if we do not allow them to do so they will then file a "False" report for the copier being stolen and report it to the law enforcement authorities. (#4). On August 29th, I replied to them telling them that the loaner can be picked up any time and requesting again to refund our 1 year maintenance fee $583.22 according to the terms in their contract. I added that we as a small business will seek assistance and advice from Better Business Bureau, if needed (#5).

On August 30th the VP again tried to sell me a new copier or rent one from them, admitting that MOM as a company were aware of the fact that the parts of our copier were unavailable since last 3 years or so. I am disappointed to hear that MOM knowingly continued to charge us the service fees for years. (#6) I replied on August 30th again requesting a refund of 1 year service fee according to their contract. (#7) On Sept 4th VP send me another e-mail stating "We will schedule pick up of the loaner machine and mail you a check" (#8) The delivery man named picked up the loaner machine on September 5th; please see the attached pick up receipt (#9A&9B)

Desired Settlement
As a small business, ************************ would like to seek your assistance in recovering our balance of $481.39 that Modern Office Method needs to refund according to the terms of their contract with ************************

Business Response
(BBB note: Please open attachment to view original letters from company.)

Dear BBB,
Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We at Modern Office Methods pride ourselves on our service and our treatment of our clients. In response to your letter we asked ***** ******** Modern Office Method's **** ********* of ******* to review the information provided by **** ******/******** ********** **** and we have attached his response to the above referenced complaint. As you can see ***** and his staff are aware of the situation and have offered various solutions to ******** ********* to assist in solving their problem. Again thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, if you should need any further assistance or information in this matter please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
**** ******* ***
==================================================
******** ********* had a quarterly labor and part's maintenance contract with Modern Office Methods to support their Xerox WCPro416. The contract had been in effect for a number of years. The current active contract dates were 6/3/13 to 9/2/13. ******** placed a service request for their Xerox on 6/21/13 due to misfeeding. The Modern Office Methods technician responded and determined the paper feed assembly was worn out and submitted a request to the parts department to order a replacement. An order for the part was placed with our supplier.

A few days later, the supplier notified us that due to the age of the machine, more than ten years old, the part was no longer available. Our parts department sought the part from other suppliers with no success. The technician returned to ******** and tried unsuccessfully to repair the worn part since a replacement part was not available. The technician requested a loaner be delivered so ******** would have a machine to use until an account representative could meet with them and present their options. The account representative attempted to schedule a meeting with ******** several times but they refused to meet with him so he escalated the account to the service manager.

The service manager contacted ******** and let them know the machine could not be repaired and the account representative was trying to schedule an appointment to present them some options. ******** said they did not want to meet with the representative and demanded their machine be repaired. The service manager again explained that the machine could not be repaired due to lack of availability of the part and explained that our maintenance contract does not guarantee serviceability. The service manager offered to refund the unused portion of the maintenance agreement that had been paid. ******** continued to insist that Modern Office Methods needed to repair their machine. At this point, the service manager exclaimed that we cannot leave the loaner at their office indefinitely and said we will need to pick up the loaner machine. ******** replied that they were not going to allow us to pick up the loaner.

The service manager escalated the account to the VP of Service. The VP of Service contacted ******** ********* and offered some options including placing a newer machine under a rental program, which would actually cost ******** ********* less than they were paying for their current maintenance contract and supplies. ******** ********* stated they either wanted their machine repaired or 12 months of maintenance refunded. The VP of Service stated we would refund the unused portion of the current maintenance contract and pick up the loaner. The loaner machine was picked up 9/5/13, three days after the end of the current maintenance agreement expired. Modern Office Methods mailed a check to ******** ********* for $101.83, 66% of the paid portion of the current maintenance contract even though Modern Office Methods has provided them a functional machine through the end of the maintenance period.

Modern Office Methods fulfilled its obligation under the current maintenance contract and went beyond that by refunding two thirds of paid amount of the current contract. Modern Office Methods made numerous attempts to contact ****************** and to meet with them to create a win/win solution but found ******** ********* would not return phone calls nor allow us to present and options for a solution.

Consumer Response
Attached is the General Terms document provided by Document Solutions. Number 14 states "Company agrees that Document Solutions shall not be liable for damages resulting from an alleged breach of this agreement beyond the cost of one years service and maintenance under this agreement."

This is how Modern Office Methods responded to that portion of the terms - the last two paragraphs of their response to the BBB.

"The service manager escalated the account to the VP of Service. The VP of Service contacted ****************** and offered some options including placing a newer machine under a rental program, which would actually cost ****************** less than they were paying for their current maintenance contract and supplies. ****************** stated they either wanted their machine repaired or 12 months of maintenance refunded. The VP of Service stated we would refund the unused portion of the current maintenance contract and pick up the loaner. The loaner machine was picked up 9/5/13, three days after the end of the current maintenance agreement expired. Modern Office Methods mailed a check to ****************** for $101.83, 66% of the paid portion of the current maintenance contract even though Modern Office Methods has provided them a functional machine through the end of the maintenance period."

"Modern Office Methods fulfilled its obligation under the current maintenance contract and went beyond that by refunding two thirds of paid amount of the current contract. Modern Office Methods made numerous attempts to contact ****************** and to meet with them to create a win/win solution but found ****************** would not return phone calls nor allow us to present and options for a solution."

Modern Office Methods refunded the unused portion of the current maintenance agreement. ******** is asking for a year of service to be refunded per the terms in the General Terms document as the copier was unserviceable by MOM due to the age of the copier. ******** continued in contract in good faith believing that if there was an issue with the copier that it would be repairable by MOM. MOM should have notified ******** at the time of service renewal that the copier was getting to the age when it would no longer be serviceable by the company.

Since MOM was not able to keep the equipment listed in normal operating condition (Attached General Terms number 1), ******** cites this as a breach of contract.

If ******** would have known the date the copier was unserviceable by MOM a revaluation of the contract by ******** would have occurred.

******** stands by our previously stated desired resolution:
"As a small business, ******************, Inc. would like to seek your assistance in recovering our balance of $481.39 that Modern Office Method needs to refund according to the terms of their contract with ******************, Inc."

If you have any questions, please contact ***********.
*********************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Copiers & Copier Supplies, Computers - Supplies & Parts, Copy & Duplicating Service, Office Furniture & Equipment, Office Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.