BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2002

G L Dart General Contracting Co.

(937) 321-3278View Additional Phone Numbers74 E Franklin St, BellbrookOH 45305

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2002

BBB has determined that G L Dart General Contracting Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised G L Dart General Contracting Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on G L Dart General Contracting Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*************************
*************
******************
************
******************************

TO: BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
FROM: **********************************
SUBJECT: **** ****
DATE: 4/1/2014

We have called and sent the attached letter to ********* concerning the ceiling in our sanctuary.

As of this date we have had no response from Mr. **** or his company.

As of our last conversation with Mr. ****, he felt he had no more responsibility for the damage to the ceiling in our sanctuary.

As to our position:

G L Dart replaced the roof (due to wear)

Insurance replaced ceiling due to water damage.

Multiple calls on the ceiling continuing to leak-Mr. **** responded and caulked, removed vents, and light fixtures, etc -leaks continued.

This past yr. (2013 fall) Mr. **** removed the steeple of the Church. (Church paid the original agreement price for this work)

The leaking has stopped but there was the continued damage to the ceiling, which had replaced after the roof was replaced by G L Dart, as stated above.

Mr. **** has seen the interior of the sanctuary on almost every visit.

Page 2

We are willing to work with Mr. **** but do believe that this is not an issue for our insurance to cover. This is directly related to the fact the leak still continued after the roof was replaced, in the same location as before. The damage to the ceiling is very evident.

During our original discussions with Mr. **** it was noted that we believed the steeple was the issue and that was the reason for the agreement that was executed this past fall.

We are looking to meet with Mr. **** to see if we can work out an agreement to correct this issue.

Thank you for your help in this issue.

cc. GL Dart.

Sincerely

**** ********



Page 3

Copy of letter to *********

*************************
*************
******************
************

TO: *********
From: Trustees
Subject: Sanctuary Ceiling
Date: 1/22/14

**** we would like to meet with you concerning the ceiling at *************************. As you have seen the ceiling has black staining caused by water and my supposition is that the insulation is also saturated. We want to work with you on this issue, but need to meet and have an understanding of your position on this issue.

We understand that your schedule is busy but we do need to resolve this matter.

Please give us options when we can meet you can call ************, please leave a message if no one is available.

Sincerely,


Trustee

*************************

Desired Settlement
We understand that your schedule is busy but we do need to resolve this matter.

Business Response
Response to letter/case number XXXXXXXX

The correlation between GL Dart, replacing the roof due to wear and the ceiling continuing to leak is not relevant. I am also confused as to why a ceiling was fixed while a leak existed. Regardless, replacing the roof due to wear is one issue. Repairing the steeple from leaking is a completely separate issue. GL Dart did not build or construct the church originally. We simply did repairs and remodeling to an existing structure. All this was explained to the trustee during the last conversation we had. As noted in his letter, the request which states "we are looking to meet with Mr. **** to see if we can work out an agreement to correct the issue" is a very confusing statement to me as I have already expressed my opinion on this issue.
I discussed with the trustee in the early winter that GL dart would not be responsible for any of the staining of the ceiling. I discussed this with the trustee via the telephone and, explain that our work at the facility was finished. I explained to him that we did not build the church or the steeple. We simply did a re-roofing project. The new roof that we put on due to wear had nothing to do with the leaking from the top of the steeple. We attempted every option that was provided, except for the removal of the steeple. Once the church and Gl Dart agreed to remove the steeple the problem stopped. GL Dart on many, many many occasions over several years came to the facility, and at their own cost free of charge. Uppon doing so free of charge we removed vents/lights/shingles and supplied material and labor to proform the work at no cost to the church. GL dart never billed for the services. When in fact what was needed was the price that GL dart gave originally to have the steeple removed. We also performed other task in the attempt to try to save the steeple so that the steeple would not have to be removed from the building. These attempts did not correct the problem and therefore ultimately the steeple had to be removed. The mention of the saturated insulation is not a concern as I explained via the telephone to the trustee because insulation is made to dry out and will not continue to stay wet. As for the staining of the ceiling it is not GL Dart"s fault that the steeple continued to leak. We did the work that we agreed to for the price that we agreed to. The leaking is now stopped. The reason that the trustee would like for me to meet with them is so they can try to convince me to fix the staining of the ceiling for free, which I am unable to do. I understand that is not the insurance companies responsibility to fix the stains, but is also not GL Dart's responsibility either. I've talked to the trustee via the telephone and expressed my opinion and I have no need to come back to meet another time to discuss something which I am unable to fix.
Again I must state that GL Dart and myself have gone over and above to address and repair this issue. once finally given permission to remove the steeple which ultimately resolved the leak. GL **** is not asking for payment for service calls and unnecessary work related to the leak. It is the church's responsibility to have the stains fixed. I am unsure as to how they would like the stains fixed. We are willing to contract with the church to fix the stains, but it appears by the letter that they are asking us to do this for free. You suggest in your letter that the insurance paid to have the stains fixed. Where is this information? WHo did this work? how much did it cost? Was the a reason it was fixed before the leak was 100% stopped? I am unwilling to comply with this request but I am willing to achieve a resoluton and be paid for my services at the same time. I've explain this multiple times. Our work has been completed per our estimates. I am also unsure as to why the ceiling was fixed before it was determined for sure that the leaks had stopped.
This concludes my response to the complaint.

Consumer Response
***** ******, Church Administrator, contacted BBB to continue with arbitration.


Business Response
Mr. **** contacted BBB. He and ***** have discussed a settlement offer.


Business Response
BBB staff talked with Mr. ****. The parties have discussed a settlement.

02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GL Dart poorly installed my roof and gutters, thereby allowing water to leak between the fascia and gutters when it rains.
I moved into my residence in August 2012. I noticed when it rained, that water poured between the gutter and fascia, instead of pouring directly into the gutter. It was visible to even a layman like myself that the shingles did not overshoot the gutters, so instead of the water draining from the roof and into the gutters, it drained partially into the gutters and also in between the fascia and the gutters. My neighbor who installed his own roof looked at it and confirmed that in his opinion, the shingles were not overlapping the gutters enough for proper water drainage off of the roof. I called GL Dart, the contractor who installed the roof to let them know of the problem. This company replaced the roof and gutters in November 2011, according to the ******** ****** *********** ******** Profile, when this property was listed for sale with them. When I moved into the house, this roof was not even a year old yet. I repeatedly called GL Dart complaining of the problem. They would insist that they had been out to the property and fixed the problem, but the problem was not fixed. They never called to let me know when they would be on my property, so I assumed nobody came out because the problem was not resolved. Whenever I would call them, they would say something like, "Oh yeah. We fixed that." I'm paraphrasing but it was pretty much how it went. I repeatedly called and the above was always the same response that I would get. After numerous phone calls, I was home one time when they came over (the end of 2012). They said they would fix the problem but couldn't because the weather had turned bad. So, I waited until this Spring (2013) to follow up again. Again, they said they had already sent someone out to fix the problem and again, I wouldn't have called them if the issue had been fixed. I spoke with a employee of the company (****) approximately three months ago. He said he would come to my home on a certain day, between a certain time frame, so I came home from work and waited but he didn't show. I called him and he said that he had come earlier in the day, when it was raining, and saw the problem for himself. He said that he tried to save the company money with his earlier fixes but the only choice was to do the "expensive" fix, even though his boss wouldn't want to hear it. I asked him when that expensive fix would take place and he said he would get back with me. I told him that I want to know when they planned on making the fix because I wanted to be home when they were on my property. I did not hear anything from the company so I called again (approximately early October 2013) and left another message, stating what **** told me and asking when the fix would take place. I said on the message I left that I wanted the roof repaired correctly before it went through another winter. Nobody got back with me so I called again today, 23 Oct 13, and spoke with whomever answered the phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX and told him what **** said and asked when this fix would take place. He not only refused to discuss the matter with me (insisting on giving **** the message to call me instead) he also refused to give me the name of anyone in management with whom I could speak. After we hung up, I decided that I have had enough of their obvious run-arounds and called them back. Nobody answered the phone, even though I had just spoken with someone so I had to leave a message. (I know they have caller ID because when the person that I did speak with told me he would have **** call me, he read my cell number back to me to verify this was the number **** should call to reach me.) In my message, I threatened to take them to court if a manager, or someone with authority to make a decision, did not return my call within 24 hours to resolve this issue. Before I engage my attorney, I would like to see if the issue can be resolved the the BBB. GL Dart clearly installed a poor roof and are not honoring their warranty.

Desired Settlement
The settlement must be a fix that does not detract from the look of the property. It is already clear where they attempted to pull up shingles in a couple of areas and the shingles don't lay properly now. The only acceptable settlement is an attractive fix - attractive being defined as not looking as though as fix was done - or, an entire new roof (both options at the expense of GL Dart) and the fix must be done BEFORE Dec 2013, regardless of the weather. They must call me before ever going out to my property so that I can be home when they are there working on it.

Business Response
AS OF 10/30/13 THIS ISSUE WAS RESOLVED. We already knew about this issue and we were addressing it and staying in contact with the homeowner. We had informed the homeowner previously many time that this would be resolved. She did not answer the phone one time when the service tec called. We must note we did not have a contract with Mrs ******* The contract was with the previous owner. Regardless we told her we would get her issue resolved. Most companies will not do this once a property has changed hands. Mrs ****** exaggerated this issue and compliant. We did what we said we would do just as we always do. This case should be closed as there was no reason to file the compliant.

Final Consumer Response
UPDATE AS OF 10 Dec 13: To date, my roof still has not been fixed. On Wed., 20 Nov 13, GL Dart employee (or subcontractor), ****, came to my home with another worker. Business owner, **** ****, was also supposed to be there (according to ****) so **** could show him what was happening but apparently, Mr. **** had to be somewhere else and did not come to my home. I showed **** a brief video that I had recently taken of the water leaking between my gutters and fascia during rain. The other worker who came with **** used a hose from my yard and got on the roof and ran water on the roof. In the small area where the hose water was running, we were able to see water leaking between the gutters and fascia in a few areas. **** offered some reasons why the water was leaking, even after he tried to do the previous fix with drip pans, but admitted that his fix did not work. He also said that he was not one of the roofers who originally installed the roof. **** said that during the original roof installation, that the drip edge and something he referred to as "Ice Guard" was put on in reverse order, which meant water could get between the gutters and fascia. We scheduled **** to return on Friday, 22 Nov 13, to do the entire fix on my entire roof and get the roof fixed before another winter came to our area. He was going to bring drip pans that were the same color as my gutters as well "Ice Guard" so he could make the appropriate fix. **** also said that I should not give up on him because he would make this right for me. He also mentioned that he would like to get Mr. **** to my house before 22 Nov 13 so that Mr. **** could see the problem and possibly offer another solution to fix the problem.

I waited the entire day on Friday, 22 Nov 13, for **** to arrive but he never showed. There was a light rain so I thought he might possibly call to reschedule, but he never called. So, once again, I did not receive a phone call or anything to say the company wasn't coming to fix the roof or to even reschedule. I tried to give **** the benefit if the doubt because he said that he would make it right, but I am completely fed up with this company now. In my opinion, there is absolutely no reason for not even giving the courtesy of phoning me to say he wouldn't be there; there is absolutely no reason for not having the courtesy to reschedule the work that was supposed to be completed on 22 Nov 13; and, lastly, there is absolutely no reason that my roof isn't fixed yet. I said the only acceptable solution was to either make a workable fix that did not detract from the look of my home or to replace the entire rood - BEFORE another winter got here. Obviously, with about six inches of snow on my roof now, GL Dart did not come close to resolving this issue in an acceptable manner. I am very concerned that with another winter upon us, with water getting between my gutters and fascia (repeatedly freezing and thawing) that the fascia will begin to rot - all because of poor workmanship by GL Dart when they originally installed the roof. What is even more frustrating is that there was some warmer weather in the last couple of weeks, before this heavy snowfall, where GL Dart could have come out to my home to fix my roof.

At this point, I would like the opportunity to have an independent inspector (of my choosing) examine my roof next Spring, at GL Dart's expense. If the inspector finds any indication that any area of my fascia has water damage, then the fascia will be replaced at GL Dart's expense. The replaced fascia shall be the same color and uniform looking so as to not detract from the look of my home.

As of today, 10 Dec 13, my house still has the eye sore of the previous fix that **** attempted with the bright white drip pans (that I previously wrote about) that have not fixed the problem. So, the only thing GL Dart has accomplished to date was to add an eye sore to both the front and back of my home my home (by partially installing bright white drip pans that don't even match any color on my house). They certainly have not resolved the original problem.

I would hope that the BBB will remove GL Dart's A+ rating that they currently have with the BBB. Again, in my opinion, this is the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. They acknowledge that they failed to properly install the roof and they agreed to fix the roof. After a year of trying to communicate with this company and get the roof fixed, it still is not fixed. They schedule times to come to my home and work and then don't show and don't call. I am totally at a loss as to how they can even stay in business and would love to put a big sign in my front yard that says, "Ask me what I think about my roof installed by GL Dart." Prior to moving into my current home, I live in Centerville (about 5 miles from my current home). My roof on my previous house also had to be replaced around the same time as my current house (much like many homes in the area due to a hail storm that damaged most roofs in the Centerville area). I had absolutely no issues with the roofers who replaced the roof on my previous home and I worked well with them so I'm not asking for anything special from GL Dart by expecting them to fix a problem that they created by poorly installing a roof that allows water to leak between the gutters and fascia.

01/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Windows, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Mason Contractors, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair, Concrete Contractors, Chimney Builders & Repair, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/03/2001Business started: 10/01/1989Business started locally: 05/01/2001New Owner Date: 05/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, OH

Business Management

Mr. Greg Dart is also the owner of A1 Painting & Drywall and A1 Roofing. Separate reports are available for both companies.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg L. Dart (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Contractors - General, Windows, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Mason Contractors, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair, Concrete Contractors, Chimney Builders & Repair, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers general contracting, painting, drywall, roofing, siding, plumbing, windows, gutters, concrete/paving, masonry and remodeling.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for G L Dart General Contracting Co.

74 E Franklin St

Bellbrook, OH 45305

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 74 E Franklin St 

    Bellbrook, OH 45305(937) 848-5736
    (937) 321-3278

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*G L Dart General Contracting Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 848-5736
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.