BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 438-3670 (Disconnected)Fax: (937) 438-3670View Additional Phone Numbers270 Regency Ridge Dr Ste 107, CentervilleOH 45459View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted ***** *** of Centerville Pipestone Chimney Service to replace an chimney and fireplace, which they were paid a total of $5,075 at the end of April 2013. ***** *** returned on Aug 10th to recaulk around the chimney, due to the fact that I had rain water entering the interior of my house (attic). On Sept 13th 2013 this company returned and installed a coller around chimney pipe that still did not fix the water problem. On Oct 21st I made an appointment with the receptionist for Oct 25th, but nobody showed up. I made contact with someone from this company, again on Oct 25th, Nov 18th, and 12/4 and each time I was told that they would send a professional roofer to fix the problem. To this date, this company has failed to do so, and I still have water entering my attic.

Desired Settlement
This company needs to have a professional roofer fix the water problem that is occurring around there newly installed chimney pipe.

03/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company provided a damaged unit and has not replied to our emails or phone calls.
We accepted a proposal from ***** *** (Pipestone Chimney Services)to install a wood burning stove (Napoleon Oakdale EPI-1402), with a new liner and cap, plus a second flue liner. The cost of this proposal is $4150.00. The work was done on November 24, 2015. At the time of installation the front plate was damaged and we were told it would be replaced shortly. We paid with a check. We e-mailed on December 10 asking for information on the replacement part and asking about the air flow control that did not work as described in the owners' manual, and the reply was that they would check on it. I e-mailed them again on January 10, January 29, and February 12 with no reply. I called on February 9 and 25, and left messages but have not received a reply.

I contacted the manufacturer and their reply leads me to believe the air control unit does not function properly.

Desired Settlement
We are asking the company to reply to our calls, replace the damaged piece, and repair the air flow control so that the wood burning stove will operate according to the manual.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pd in Full VISA - Total $1,750.00

Crack in concrete crown replacement needed creates water problems - open space creating gap between concrete work & bricks.

Repeated calls to company

since 2/14 have failed to have results.

Owner ***** *** has called 3 X & said he will come out & make repairs but has never shown .

Desired Settlement
Replace crown with new concrete, make connection between crown & brick tight & water proof.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Builders & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/15/2006Business started: 01/13/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management

Mr. Chris Lux was formerly affiliated with Centerville Chimney Works. A separate report is available.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris A. Lux (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Builders & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers chimney cleaning services including chimney rebuilds, chimney caps, stainless steel liners, waterproofing, flashing repair, firebox repair, concrete crowns & stianless steel chase covers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC

270 Regency Ridge Dr Ste 107

Centerville, OH 45459

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 270 Regency Ridge Dr Ste 107 

    Centerville, OH 45459(513) 443-5865
    (937) 609-0429
    (937) 438-3670
    Fax: (937) 438-3670

  • 442 W Loveland Avenue Suite 1 

    Loveland, OH 45140

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Centerville/Pipestone Chimney Services, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 443-5865
  • (937) 609-0429
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Chimney Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.