BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2002

WesBanco Bank, Inc.

Phone: (800) 328-3169Fax: (937) 327-1128

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brand new atm not func. and complaint about it not acted on.
For eight weeks in a row either on sat or mon. I tried to use the BRAND NEW ATM at the wesbanco bank and was repeatedly not able to use the service of depositng a check. I called customer service and the bank itself and was told I was wrong it worked fine. so on the 9th week in a row I tried to make a deposit again didn't work again I have a job where I don't have the ability to get there when they are open so I count on the atm to work. on this 9th week in a row not being able to dep. a check and the following mon. it caused my account to have insufficient funds thus costing me two fees of 33.00.

I called the bank again and they wern't willing to do anything but tell me if the machine doesn't work (which is brand new mind you) that I could use a dep. window on the building that gives you no rec. or any proof that you made a dep. which to me is not taking care of the problem. Since this inncident they have admitted their is a problem with the machine but haven't fixed it. And havn't been to concerned whether they keep my business or not and havn't reeturned my calls so this friday I will go ahead and close the account. I just believe this is not right what so ever thanks for your time.

Desired Settlement
At least 2 of the 33.00 charges returned for the inconvience and loss of time and gas money to take care of their bad ATM

Consumer's Final Response
They resolved the problem that I had with the ATM and returned the money they charged me in fees 66.00. I do thank you for your help if they did'nt get this complaint from you they would of done nothing cause I had alreday called and talke to 3 different people about this and not one of them offered to return the fees. So Thanks once again for your help and as far as I'm concerned the matter has been taken care of. Thank you ****************

04/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WesBanco is refusing to issue a two-party check to pay for service rendered by painting vendor ******* ******** from insurance settlement escrow funds
This is in reference to Loan No. XXXXXXXXXX

***** ***** of the WesBanco Credit Resolution Unit somehow is managing my account which is not in default. He has constantly harassed me for documentation beyond the scope of my loan agreement. He filed a "Notice of Default and Demand for Cure" through attorneys ****** and ******** for the unreasonable claim that the loan is in default for failure to pay real estate taxes due on the property. Real estate taxes are due on the property through a normal billing cycle to Butler County Treasure ***** *** on a normal billing cycle. Additionally the property taxes are currently under review by the county for refunding of previous past due penalties and interest that WesBanco forced me to pay to purchase the property under a loan funded by them. The previous loan recipients included a WesBanco bank officer, bank employee and two other individuals. These individuals defaulted on the loan payment. As a condition of receiving a new commercial loan WesBanco forced me to pay back property taxes and land lease fees that the previous loan recipients failed to pay. This included back penalties and interest. These past penalties and interest are currently under review with the Butler County Ohio Treasurer ***** ****

Lastly, ***** **** refuses to pay an invoice totaling $10,201 to ******* ******** for repair, restoration and painting services under a claim payment issued by ********** ********* ******* the insurer of my property ****** *** located at **** ******** ***** ********, ** XXXXX. ***** **** stated that, "The disbursement request **** not be considered further until:
1) a satisfactory accounting of the most recent request is provided
2) the loan default, as documented in the attached letter, is resolved"

***** **** is not authorized to maintain or withhold these funds. He is affecting my business and is harming my contractor who has completed services under the contractual agreement we agreed to (Mr. ******* and I).

Desired Settlement
Request that Mr. **** be removed from any and all dealings with my account immediately.

Request that the check for Mr. ******* be issued in the amount of $10,201 per the invoice ******* ******** has provided me with. This action needs to be taken without haste.

WesBanco shall provide a 1% late fee to ******* ******** for unnecessarily delaying this action out of WesBanco not Insurance Escrow Funds.

Withdraw and remove from the loan records the ****** and ******* *** Notice of Default and Demand for Cure letter dated October 27th, 2014.

Credit past due late fees in the amount of $3,386.39 back to my account due to WesBanco's late crediting of loan payments.

Assign a new loan officer to Loan XXXXXXXXXX.

Business Response
WesBanco

April 9, 2015

Ms. *** ******
Better Business Bureau
15 West Fourth Street, Suite 300
Dayton, OH 45.402

Dear Ms. *******

This letter is in response to complaint reference number XXXXXXXX, dated February 27, 2015. The complaint concerns the handling of his commercial loan account by WesBanco Bank, Inc. (the Bank).

The complainant filed an exact copy of this complaint with the FDIC on February 26, 2015 in which the Bank submitted a detailed response on April , 2015. The Bank provided written documentation which included a copy of the signed Note, Loan Transaction History, and the signed Business Loan Agreement with the response. All of which reflected that the Bank has acted in accordance with the contract in which the complainant signed. As that information is confidential for the customer we cannot provide details of that response in this forum.

If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please let me know.

Sincerely,
***** ** *********
SVP & Chief Compliance Officer

WesBanco Bank, Inc.
1 Bank Plaza
Wheeling, WV 25003-3565
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bank took money from account that was left there because of pending premium notices during account closure.
I went to wesbanco on 2/13/15 to remove my name from a joint checking account. As I was closing the account I was told I needed to cover pending premium notices from western southern life due 2/15/15. I left 150.00 in the account to cover these charges. The woman gave me paperwork stating that I was no longer responsible after 2/15/15 to make sure the notices were paid.
After I left the bank, the woman called the other person on the account (***** ********) and transferred the money she had told me needed to be held to pay western southern life to open an account in ***** ********* name. MR. ******** thought he was funding his new account from his paycheck and had no idea that they were transferring money from our old account.
Returning to the bank on 2/17/15, ******* ***** the manager seen Mr ******** and myself. We told him what had happened, Mr ***** said I had not signed all the paperwork. The bank never once tried to contact me regarding the paperwork they needed signed and knowing these funds were left for pending charges, transfered these funds to someone else's name. Also, since Mr. ******** thought the funds in his account were his for his oay. On 2/17/2015 I had to deposit into the account to cover the western southern charges I had left the $150.00 there to begin with.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $150.00 that was for my premiums

Business Response
March 18, 2015

Ms. *** ******
Better Business Bureau
15 West Fourth Street, Suite 300
Dayton, OH 45402

Dear Ms. *******
This letter is in response to complaint reference number XXXXXXXX, dated February 20, 2015. The complainant claims that WesBanco Bank, Inc. (the Bank) transferred funds that were left in an account she held jointly with another owner to a different account although she left those funds in the account to cover an anticipated debit. She would like a refund in the amount of 150.00, the amount she left in the account.

The funds in the complainants joint account were transferred with the authorization of the other account holder. As stated on the Consumer Deposit Account Agreement in which the complainant agreed to when she opened her account jointly with another account owner, all the money in this account may be withdrawn by anyone named on this account. This means that either owner of the account had the authority to remove any and all of the funds of the account at any time even if one account owner had left funds in the account to cover an anticipated transaction. As such, the Bank must decline the complainants request for a refund in the amount of 150.00.

If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please let me know.

Sincerely,
***** ** *********
SVP & Chief Compliance Officer
WesBanco Bank, Inc.
1 Bank Plaza Wheeling, XXXXX-XXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wesbanco has been taking money out of my childrens accounts each month. I was not notified of this and it has been going on for at least 2 years.
We received a bank statement on 10/1/14 stating that my daughters account had been closed.Went to bank to inquire since we did not close account and they told me it was closed in March that they have been taking 5$ out each month until they depleted her account. So I checked on my sons account and the same thing has been happening. This has been going on for at least 2 years with no communication to us until 10/2014. The bank manager was called and simply said cant be refunded.

Desired Settlement
I want the money that Wesbanco took from my children replaced

Business Response
This letter is in response to complaint reference number XXXXXXXX, dated October 8, 2014. The complainant claims that WesBanco Bank, Inc. (the "Bank") charged dormancy fees to her accounts Without notification. The complainant requests that these fees be refunded.

The Bank has contacted the complainant and has resolved the complaint to her satisfaction. If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please let me know.

Sincerely,
***** ** *********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Financial Services, Mortgage Brokers, Loans, Financing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.