BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1973

Auto X-10D, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 878-1267Fax: (937) 878-1526View Additional Phone Numbers1448 Kauffman Ave, FairbornOH 45324

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Auto X-10D, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1973

BBB has determined that Auto X-10D, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auto X-10D, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto X-10D, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: Rust Treatment not fully applied. Cracked door jam near hole drilled for rust treatment. Refused to accept responsibility.
I paid for an initial rust protection for my vehicle on May 22, 2013 (Order #XXXXXX). This job was sub par as well but was taken care of by Ziebart after I returned to complain about overspray on certain areas.

This year I returned to Ziebart to have my annual rust inspection/treatment. I picked up my vehicle Monday June 2, 2014 and didn't notice any issues initially (I trusted that things would be done right this time). A week or so later I was working on an unrelated item on the vehicle (replacing the sway bar links) and while underneath the vehicle I noticed that the entire front of the frame was not treated whatsoever. After seeing this I began to inspect the rest of the vehicle for unsatisfactory work, and once again, my exhaust & muffler had been coated in rust protection as well as my differential. I also noticed a 5 inch crack on the passenger side door jamb located near the hole in the door jamb where rust protection is sprayed. Through frustration I continued to work on the sway bar links and eventually had to take it in to my mechanic to finish. I was unable to call Ziebart that day and eventually forgot about the issue as this vehicle is my secondary vehicle and is rarely driven or worked on.

A couple of days ago I began to get the jeep ready to sell, and in the process re-discovered the crack and the sub par rust protection job and decided I was going to take action on it.

This morning I took it into Ziebart and they looked at it. I explained my frustration and showed them the crack. They refused to accept responsibility for it and said it could have been caused by anything. I am 100% certain the crack was caused by them. She told me the employees there are not responsible for any damages and will bring them to the attention of management if anything occurs, for some reason this was not brought to the attention of management (some people don't like to own up to mistakes, or don't want to risk losing a job, etc.). I understand how it is possible that this wasn't brought up. She did not accept responsibility of the crack, however she was happy to check out the sub-par undercoating job (which I elected not to do due to frustration.) She then said I have waited too long anyways. I have the entire event recorded. After two bad experiences, I do not want Ziebart in Troy to touch my vehicle again.

I would prefer not to take Ziebart to small claims court but will if necessary. I am not asking for much, just to have these issues fixed.

Initial Business Response
Good afternoon,

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service that you received at one of our locations. We will be happy to go over the vehicle with you and address any areas of concern as we previously offered. However we will not agree to any repairs to the vehicle. We have reviewed the photos submitted with management and our technically department and I can say with certainty that this damage was not caused by the service that we performed on your vehicle. It is simply not possible that products or tools used to reapply rust protection inside the panels would cause a crack clean through the metal like shown. The service that we provided was performed on 6/3/14. The vehicle was released back to you on the same day, yet we were not notified of any problems or concerns until 7/12/14, almost 6 weeks after servicing the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I had a navigation put in my 2014 Tahoe and have had it back 4 times and it still doesn't work right!
I bought a 2014 Chevy Tahoe from **** ********* two weeks ago the dealer had Ziebart put the navigation in. From the start I had trouble with Ziebart not doing what they said they would do. Every time I got my car back something was wrong with the navigation that they were putting in. The manager **** told me one thing in the beginning and then something totally different each time I talked to him. The navigation has never worked right and now the CD player doesn't work. I have had it back to them 4 times and the last time I talked to the manager we got into a heated discussion because of him lying to me and the navigation not working right. The navigation and camera are working now, but now the CD player is not hooked up. **** has done everything they could to resolve this issue but Ziebart has failed to fix it 4 times now!

Initial Business Response
Mr. *****,

I was involved a little bit in resolving the issue of getting the Nav and camera functioning correctly, so I am a little familiar with the situation.

I want to finish getting this resolved for you, and I have a couple questions to make sure we get a chance to fix this.

You are stating the CD player isn't hooked up. I need clarification on that. Do you mean it is not functioning properly? If you put a CD in the slot above the screen, does the display give you a weird error message? Will it not accept a CD? Also, what kind of CD are you trying to use (i.e. Store bought, home produced with label, DVD)?

And lastly, are there any other issues with the unit that you can tell at this point? Please understand that the Manager was just relaying information being given to him by the manufacturer of the unit. I will do my best to get this resolved for you.

Please let me know exactly what the CD player is doing and/or not doing.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried to call Friday and I ask for ****** because that's the name that was on one of these BBB emails. But the girl said that no one was there with that name. I then called the Poe Ave. Ziebart and the guy I talked to said he would talk to ***** the manager and have him call me and I haven't heard from him or anyone else. Along with the problems I'm having with the CD player the radio has decided to work only sometimes. The XM will work one minute and then not work. The AM and FM works all the time but not the XM. It has happened 6 times by now.

Final Business Response
I am sorry about that. ****** works in our main office, not one of our retail locations. I will have him give you a call to get you scheduled at the location you would like to go to.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I WENT THERE TO GET WINDOW TENT DONE, AND IT WAS NOT DONE RIGHT, NOW WAS IT FIXED LIKE THEY SAID.
I WENT TO ZIEBART FRIDAY THE FIRST OF FEDUARY 2013 TO GET WINDOW TENT DONE ON MY CAR. THE TENT LOOKED REALLY GOOD UNTILL I GOT HOME AND LOOKED MORE CAREFULLY AND NOTICED THE BACK WINDOW TENT FILM WAS COMING OFF.I WENT BACK THE NEXT MONDAY TO GET THE PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF. THE GOT ME IN RIGHT AWAY AND GOT IT DONE IT A GOOD TIMLEY MANNER, BUT WHEN I WAS THERE THEY TOLD ME THE WERE REDOING THE WHOLE BACK WINDOW AND THE GUY EVEN EXPLAINED TO ME HOW WINDOW TENT IS DONE AND SO ON. I LOOKED AT THE WINDOW TENT FROM THE OUT SIDE AND APPEARED OK.

WHEN I GOT HOME I THE GOT IN MY CAR AND LOOKED MORE CLOSLEY. I NOTICED THAT THEY DID NOT REDO THE WHOLE BACK WINDOW BUT THE JUST STUCK THE TENT BACK ON. IT DOES NOT LOOK GOOD AT ALL AND LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE AT HOME DID IT IN THERE OWN GERAGE. THEY REST OF THE CAR LOOKS REALLY GOOD BUT FOR SOME REASON THE DID NOT DO AS WELL ON THE BACK WINDOW BOTH TIME I WENT THERE

Business' Initial Response
Good morning Mr. ******, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Window tint can take up to 30 days to fully cure. You message doesnt specify what exactly about the tint looks back, but if it is bubbly or steaky you may need to allow more time for it to cure. If it is peeling, I recommend that you come by the store and speak with the manager. His name is *** *******. He is off on Mondays, but any other day would be fine.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: Ziebart chipped and scratched my paint and left black overspray on many body panels. I've since found the paint ground off the edge of a front door.
On 4/17/14 I took my 2012 Nissan LEAF to the Ziebart location at 7030 Poe Avenue, Dayton, Ohio, for my appointment for rust protection and paint protection. After arguing with ***** and ***** about a fair price for rust protection (since the LEAF has a plastic undercarriage, requiring considerably less material and labor), I was given a discount of only $50 off the quoted Special Price of $350 (paid by credit card on Order# XXXXXX). (I had pre-paid for the PROTECT-A-SHINE on 1/14/12 (on Order# XXXXXX), and provided a copy of that invoice to *****.)

***** did a pre-service, walk-around inspection of the vehicle with me, pointing out "a couple chips" on the left rear door panel (which I explained were only "paint rubs", removing one by scrubbing it off with my fingernail). He mentioned a gouge out of the paint on the right quarter panel and I showed him an additional gouge on the lower, left, front bumper. Following the service, which took hours less time than I had been told to expect, while standing at the front desk, ***** introduced me to the young man who had done the paint protection. (I thought it was odd that the guy didn't make eye contact with or acknowledge me in any way, which caused him to seem to appear guilty or ashamed of himself.) ***** and I went outside and generally looked at the vehicle again, which was shiny and clean-looking. After returning home, while looking at the vehicle that evening, I found a chip in the paint and a scratch on the top of the left fender, indicating something had hit the fender and slid off.

I called Ziebart the next morning, shortly before 10:00 a.m., and spoke with a lady (at the answering service (?)), telling her they had chipped the paint, and asked to speak with *****. She said she'd give him a message to call me. At around 3:00 p.m., after not having received a call, I called and spoke with *****, who said he could put some touch-up paint on the chip if I'd bring it back on Monday, 4/21/14. ***** called me later in the afternoon, I explained the problem, and he said the chip must have been caused by a rock or something during my drive home or at my home.

Following the after-service instructions I'd been given, I waited 3 days to clean the vehicle (until Sunday, 4/20/14), whereupon I found heavy amounts of greasy rust protection material along the bottom edges of the two front doors, black globs of material on the bottoms of the right and left front and left rear wheel well lips, as well as a black, misty overspray all over the right front door, on the right quarter panel (at the right front door), on the lower front side and top right side of the left quarter panel, on the rocker panel under the left front door, and under the plastic door panels on the left front and rear doors. Of course the polymer sealant had been applied on top of the overspray, so it was difficult for me to remove with my all-purpose cleaner.

I told ***** that when we looked at the vehicle after service, I didn't know I was supposed to be looking for paint damage. On 4/20/14 it took two trips to the service area to do so, but most of the overspray and black gunk was removed (and I've cleaned much of the remaining overspray off since then). When ***** started to hand me the key (a $210 "Intelligent Key" fob transmitter), he dropped it onto the blacktop instead of into my hand.

I had decided there was not much I could do about the incompetent service, overcharge and paint damage, other than go to a different Ziebart location when it's time for my annual Renewal Services. On 5/30/14, however, when starting to apply a door edge protector to the left front door, I found that apparently the guy who drilled the holes in my doors (to spray rust protection material into them) ran the drill over about 2.25 inches of the door edge next to the top hole, grinding off the paint and primer down to the shiny metal. That's when I decided to let the BBB know what kind of work and damage they do there.

Initial Business Response
Good morning, I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the product and service that you received at one of our locations. We are unable to agree to any compensation without first being given the opportunity to see and access the alleged damages. Please stop in the Poe Avenue location at your convenience so that we can come to a resolution.

Consumer Response
(Waiting for an updated response)
***** inspected the paint damages to the fender and door areas this afternoon (6/26/14), taking pictures which he said he'll send to "******"(?). He didn't take a picture, though, of the chipped paint and scratch on the left front fender (which was my original complaint), understandably denying any of the paint damage was caused by their personnel. I showed him overspray still remaining on an outside door panel and on an inside door panel and he did admit he didn't understand why the black overspray wasn't cleaned off the body panels before the polymer paint protection was applied. He offered to do the touch-up paint work himself and have someone clean off the overspray, but I declined his offer. I'll finish the cleaning and do the painting myself.


Business Response
If you would like to send photos of the areas that you believe he should have taken photos of I will be happy to review them. However, the photos that were submitted clearly show damage from the door being opened into something grinding the paint on the door edge. This is not related in any way to the services that we provided.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Don't they realize how Totally Ridiculous it is to refer to "damage from the door being opened into something grinding the paint on the door edge"? The section of the Driver's Upper Door Edge (which would Not make contact with another surface when the door is opened) clearly shows grooves in the metal from a spinning drill bit (next to a hole drilled into the door panel) or from a metal-grinding wheel! Besides that, the damage to the right rear door area isn't even on the door! It's on the quarter panel, Again, next to a hole drilled into that panel.

I want a refund.


Business Response
We will not be providing any additional refunds or discounts beyond the discount that was agreed to at the beginning of the transaction and already applied


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe the facts stated herein accurately depict Ziebart's services. The "discount" was actually a negotiated price reduction due to the plastic undercarriage on my Nissan LEAF, which eliminated the need to undercoat the entire chassis. My total payments of $441.59 for services apparently included the black mist overspray on several body panels (and on a couple interior panels), as well as paint damage to four different areas. I'll be sure to tell everyone who asks me about my 100% electric vehicle "If you buy one, Don't take it to Ziebart" and I'll show them pictures of the damages.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: **** ******* ***
******* ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

May 3,2014

Better Business Bureau of Dayton & Miami Valley
40 W. 4th St.
Dayton, OH 45402

Dear Representative:

January 7,2014 I took my 2000 Honda CRV for its annual Ziebart inspection, which included (among other things) an Inner Guard Renewal at the cost of $79.99 (the total bill for all inspections and environmental impact surcharge was $198.82, Order XXXXXX). This "Inner Guard" service simply means they clean the interior and treat it for stain/spill resistance.

For the 14th year in a row (after initial Ziebart applications/services were performed through Hidy Honda where I purchased my car, new) I have used the **** ******** ********* ******* of ****** facility, currently located at **** *** ******* ******* ** ***** (phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX). This most recent annual visit in January, 2014, I dealt with ***** ****, Manager.

Ziebart is the only entity that has had access to the interior of my car since the last time (or anytime, for that matter) I had this work done. I have kept this car in excellent condition - exterior, interior, engine, all moving
parts, everything, all these years. My mechanic has remarked that it could go on a showroom Roor. In fact,because I am meticulous about my car is whv I take it to Ziebart for annual inspections and renewals.

I was dismayed, however, to discover April 12,2014, that when my vehicle was at Ziebart in January a technician (presumably) had damaged the cargo cover within my car, did not inform me (nor, apparently, his supervisor), and then arranged the headrests in the car such that he was able to hide the evidence. Now that I have reported and shown the manager the damage, he is dragging his feet on making reparations.

Saturday, April 12, I needed to fold the back seats of my car down to extend the cargo area for the first time since having Ziebart do their work in January. In order to put the seats down, I had to remove the cargo cover and headrests. Normally the headrests pitch slightly forward, with their posts holding them a couple of inches or so
above the seatbacks. However, the headrests, I observed, were not a couple of inches above the top of the back seats nor pitching forward, but, rather, were pitched toward the rear of the car and were seated directly atop the backseats with none of the posts visible, making it nearly impossible for me to access the release buttons next to the posts. When I finally managed to pull the first of the two headrests loose and I removed it, I was shocked to see that the loops that normally hold the cargo cover in place were torn off, and replaced, instead, by a shoddy loop of black plastic-coated wire threaded through the torn fabric of the cargo cover. (The other set of loops from the second headrest was intact.)

I suspect what happened is that, through lack of knowledge about how the headrests/cargo cover system works, a technician at Ziebart had attempted to remove the cargo cover by trying to yank it free rather than removing the headrests, but through his ignorance, tore the cargo cover/loops, then tried to create a makeshift
repair. He then not only failed to tell me about the damage, but attempted to hide the evidence by positioning the headrests backward so that the loops (including his makeshift one) would not show.

Page 2

Upon discovery of this damage April 12, I drove immediately to Ziebart and showed the manager the
damaged property and explained what I believed had happened. Not only had the workers damaged the cover, but they had lied (by omission), covered it up (by seating the headrests backward so that the wire would not show), and then the manager tried to deny responsibility - he said he "knew his guys," and they would "never do anything like that." He also said that since "so much time had passed" he doubted there was anything Corporate
would do about it. Yet I had no reason to discover this damage and the cover-up until I needed to get the headrests off this Spring. I remember thinking to myself when I picked up my car in January that something had looked vaguely different, but it never dawned on me that Ziebart had been trying to cover up damage - I just figured they hadn't put the headrests back on the same way that I always do. No crime in that. Then I forgot about it (which, apparently, is what the technician was counting on).

But there is a crime in destroying property, hiding the evidence, denying responsibility, and now, I suspect, trying to ignore my complaint - the manager ***** **** had said he would file a report with Corporate, contact me by Tuesday (April 15), and that "probably" what would happen is that they would order a new cargo cover and
he would install it for me. I did NOT hear back by Tuesday, however, so I placed a call Wednesday April 16 at 4:50 p.m. to Ziebart. The woman who took my call asked for my name, and I gave it to her. She came back on the line and said she had tried to put the call through but no one was answering, so she asked for my number and said
they would call me back (they close at 5:30). I gave her my number, but did not hear back from Ziebart Wednesday, nor Thursday morning. Thursday at about noon I called again and ***** **** answered; he said he had not heard back from Corporate yet. It's now three weeks after April 12 (my initial discovery of the damage) and I still have heard nothing. I am beginning to believe I never will.

I have asked that Ziebart replace the torn cargo cover with a new one. I would have greatly appreciated an apology and their insistence that they make things right without having been asked to do so (and then doing it), but obviously that was not what happened. As a loyal (15 years) customer I think nothing less is due me. (I
confess I have wondered why Corporate must be the least bit involved? The Poe store is the one responsible.)

I am shocked that in this age of social media (and the ability to share information with multitudes of people nearly instantaneously) a company would even think to risk conducting business in such an irresponsible way. I had been a loyal customer of Ziebart until this happened; now I am reluctant to take my car to them for fear of what further damage they may do -and hide.

I suspect continual calling will produce no results, and I refuse to beg them to treat me properly. Your assistance in resolving this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** ** *********

Cc: Dayton Daily News

Initial Business Response
Good morning,

I am sorry to hear about your dilemma. However, as you stated we completed service on the vehicle 1/7/14. The damage was not brought to our attention 4/12/14, over 3 months after we had last serviced the vehicle. I have spoken with the store manager, and he informs me that he has tried reaching you by phone to gather some additional information and he is willing to work with you to get your part replaced. Unfortunately, we are unable to accept full finanancial responsibility for damages brought to our attention 3 months after service.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Two things: 1. I fail to see what discovering Ziebart's damage to my car exceeding some (arbitrary?) time period has to do with anything relevant. I did not SEE the damage until April. They HID it from me. (Had I brought it in two weeks after service, would THAT have been too long?) 2. Furthermore, Ziebart has NOT tried to call me that is an out-and-out lie. I have received no calls, no messages. I would not have ignored either. What "additional information" might be required? I am happy to provide it but I need to know what Ziebart needs to know. Write me a letter if phone calls don't work for you. Again, I suspect/believe I am being ignored in the hope I will go away. I may but it will be to take my business elsewhere. And not without first informing the public about the kind of "service" Ziebart provided me.



Final Business Response
Failing to report the damage for 3 months is completely relevant because we have no way to know that we caused the damage when the vehicle has been back in your possession and in use. Any number of things could have happened in that time frame to cause the damage. In addition to the previous attempts phones calls were made both yesterday and today in an attempt to reach you. In an attempt to try and come up with an acceptable resolution we did make some phone calls. The part in question has been discontinued and is no longer available. As previously stated, we are not able to accept responsibility for damages brought to our attention several months after services have been completed. With that said, we are willing to provide your next annual rust and paint inspection at no charge for the inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
But only because I have no plans to return to Ziebart both because of the way I was treated this time, and for the fact that I plan to sell my car before the next Ziebart inspections would be scheduled to occur. However, I countered Ziebart's offer of free inspections with the request to be reimbursed the $79.99 plus tax for the "service" performed that caused the damage to my cargo cover in the first place, and Ziebart agreed. I stopped in Friday, they credited my credit card with the funds, and as far as they and I are concerned, we are "squared away" now.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased a remote starter and was told I could transfer it to another car if I so desired. Upon request they "no longer offer that service."
On 1/14/2012 I purchased a remote starter from Ziebart. At the time of purchase I was told that if I got a new car, I could make an appointment and have the starter removed and transferred to the new vehicle FREE OF CHARGE. This was a MAJOR selling point. I paid $420.38 at the time of service.

On 5/8/2014 I called to set up an appointment, as I was purchasing a new car. At that time I was told that they "no longer offer that service." I explained that I had purchased the starter when the DID offer that service, and I should still be covered. They told me that the service was discontinued "last summer" and that "it would cost the same amount to just have a new one installed on the new vehicle. They effectively denied me service because they "no longer offered it."

I contacted ****** ******* at Ziebart on 5/12/14 who told me that the service was NEVER offered (a direct counter to what the store had told me days earlier.) After trading emails, Ms. ******* offered to install another starter for $200.00. Which, is $200.00 more than I was originally promised, as I was promised that the original starter was transferrable.
Finally, while trading emails with Ms. *******, her emails got increasingly aggressive and rude, in which she stopped addressing me with any kind of respect, and did not sign the emails. When I mentioned going to the BBB, Ms. ******* scoffed at the fact that correspondence with the BBB would "just come to her."
Added to the fact that Ziebart broke it's promise to me, it's made it very clear that they ONLY care about the customer BEFORE and DURING the sale. The AFTER THE SALE care is abysmal, and all buyers should BEWARE. There are PLENTY of other places to go.

Initial Business Response
As I explained to the customer the service to remove and reinstall a remote start from on vehicle to another was available and as since been discontinued. However, when it was available it was never a free service. The fee for removal was $50 and reinstallation in into the next vehicle was $150. We have offered to install a system into the new vehicle for the same fee of $200 that would have been charged if we were still offering the remove and reinstall service.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This service was a selling point with the remote starter. Of all the people I spoke to at Ziebart, none of them denied the service existed - WITHOUT CHARGE - until I reached Ms. *******, who told me it would cost $200.00.
Additionally, the other people I spoke to told me it would "cost the same to just put a new one on" now that that service had been discontinued. EVERYONE ELSE said they stopped offering the service last summer...without mention of charge or cost.
When I purchased the starter the service was included, much like a warranty. Even if they stop offering the service to NEW CUSTOMERS, they service WAS included at the time of my purchase. Just because they don't want to honor their promise, doesn't mean it didn't exist at the time of my purchase.

Final Business Response
They offer we have made ia final. We have never offered removal and reinstallation for free and we will not be installing a new system on your new vehicle for free. Since we do not offer the removal and reinstallation at all now when you were told "it would cost the same as a new one" they were referring to the $200 fee that we have always had on remove and reinstall purchases before they were discontinued.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is still an unacceptable resolution. Ziebart, and Ms. ******* are once again making claims that previous emails directly contradict. Ms. ******* told me previously that the $200 was an offer that they were making FOR ME for this "miscommunication" as they call it...yet says here that it's something they "always offer" before it was "discontinued."

Obviously a resolution will not be met, as I want what was promised, and they refuse to honor what they told me.

BUYER BEWARE the SHADY, DISHONEST practices of Ziebart! They'll say anything to make the sale, and quickly decide that fooling the customer is in their best interest.

Save yourself the trouble, purchase elsewhere! There are LOTS of better businesses! They'll never see another dime from me/my friends/family/social media outreach!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Service - Rust proofing Shops, Truck Bedliner - Spray On, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Truck accessories, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Coatings - Protective

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1966Business started: 01/01/1966
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Mongaraz (District Manager)
Number of Employees

64

Business Category

Auto Service - Rust proofing Shops, Truck Bedliner - Spray On, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Truck accessories, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Coatings - Protective

Products & Services

This company offers rust proofing, truck bed liners, remote starts and accessories.

Alternate Business Names
Ziebart, Dave Marshall, Inc.
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto X-10D, Inc.

1448 Kauffman Ave

Fairborn, OH 45324

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 8919 Kingsridge Dr. 

    Centerville, OH 45458(937) 433-6244

  • 7030 Poe Ave 

    Dayton, OH 45414(937) 719-4002

  • 1448 Kauffman Ave 

    Fairborn, OH 45324(937) 878-1267

  • 2650 Elida Rd 

    Lima, OH 45805(419) 229-2205

  • 2433 W St Rt 55 

    Troy, OH 45373(937) 573-4271

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto X-10D, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 412-0378
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Service - Rust proofing Shops

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.