BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lewis Auto World LLC (Headquarters)

(937) 223-9400View Additional Phone Numbers5101 N. Dixie Dr., DaytonOH 45414

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Lewis Auto World LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lewis Auto World LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I feel I have been over charged for a faulty vehicle that has put my children in danger and was out of service more than I was able to drive it.
I got the car in march of 2014 from ******* ***** payment I put a down payment of 3500 the total price was $5000 which exceeded the amount of blue book value. I was to pay $200 a month. Her late fee was $25 if payment was more than five days late. I was late on several occasions and was always triple charged late fees and extra $3000. Since months of having the truck everything started to fall apart to the point where professional auto repair shops denied me service or was unable to fix the damages that was caused by previous repairs done by the place of purchase. I had front ball joints done by mrs. ***** repair shop, I was charged for both sides which she only repaired one side which caused the back shocks to go out in the middle of me driving my kids down the street which could have ended in fatality. Within the two years of having the car it was disabled majority of the time. I had to very often start the vehicle with metal to screws under the hood due to more misswired and unprofessional mechanical work in which she did nothing to resolve the problem. Now the vehicle have been over paid and I haven't received a title and I am being threatened of wage garnishment of money I do not owe.

Desired Settlement
I would like either a replacement of the vehicle at equal value, or for my repairs to the original vehicle provided by the auto dealer.

Business Response
Ms ******* purchased a 2000 Ford expedition in 2014 from Lewis Auto World not Mrs. ******* ***** as she stated. Ms. *******'s last payment was on Feb 11th of 2016. Ms. ******* down payment was $2700 not $3500 as she stated. We have attached copy o her receipt for your records. Ms. ******* truck was sold as is. A copy of that is attached with her signature acknowledging it bought as is. Lewis Auto World LLC can not do anything after you have had a vehicle over 2 years. Ms. ******* never paid her vehicle on time. Her truck should of been paid off on August 8th of 2015. A copy of payment plan is attache for your review. Ms. ******* was not charged $1300 extra in late fees as she stated. We tried to work with Ms. ******* on her late payments. By right her truck should have been repossessed long ago. We have attached a copy of the repossession agreement for your review. We did not over charge Ms. ******* as she stated. Her truck is still valued between $4000 and $5000 now and she has had her over 2 yrs. Lewis Auto World LLC does not have an onsite repair shop. The repair shop that worked on it is in Huber Heights where she had it would not let her leave it there because she didn't have the money to pay for it. So she had it towed over to us expecting us to repair it. We said now!! Ms. ******* will not receive a title because she has not finish paying off her truck. Sometimes it would be up to 6 months between payments from Ms. *******. She now complains about her truck whenever she would bring her payment in. She was always driving it. Ms. ******* owes $670 plus $100 in late fees for 4 months late. A total of $770 is past due. The last 2 payments she made was on Sept 8, 2015 and Feb 11, 2016. Several attempts have been requested of Ms. ******* for payment the last attempt her husband said she was not paying anything. We told her we may be forced to take legal actions against her. If no response in 10 days this matter will be turned over to our attorney. Lewis Auto World feel we have been more than patience and fair to Ms. *******. We don't want to repo for $770 nor do we want to garnish her wages, but we may not have a choice.

03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

swindle ******* ****** out of her $500.00 of social security check for down payment on a vehicle for my son drove home one night had to bring it back the next day for inventory inspection and they kept the vehicle the down payment and $1200.00 for an broken tail light we request my money back they said they didn't keep money in the office
Product_Or_Service: jeep grand cherokee 4d utility
Order_Number: ***
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
want a refund or the vehicle settlement

Business Response
***** Auto World
531 N Main St
Dayton Ohio XXXXX

Re: Case #42051510: ******* ***** ******
First of all Ms. ****** son ******* ****** purchased a 2001 Jeep Cherokee. Ms. ****** was a co-signer. 2 or 3 days after he purchased the vehicle he had an accident and damaged the passenger **** panel and light on his vehicle. Then he told me he lost his job the day before. I asked him how was he going to make a payment without a job. He said he would make it he hoped. I told him the best thing to do is for me to let him out of the contract, and when he got another job we would get him another vehicle. I said because if he misses the payment they would repo the vehicle and put that on his credit. He agreed. He did have insurance, but the damage was $2200 dollars. He had a $1000 deductable which meant he would still owe $1000 on SUV so we deducted his $500 down payment from that $1000 which meant he only owes $500 now. Which we never asked him to pay. We did not swindle him out of any money. He still owes us $500.00. The offer still stands when he gets another job we will get him another car. We were trying to help him because that Finance does not play when it comes to their money. He's young and we were only thinking about his credit history.
Lewis Auto World

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My daughter and I purchased a 2001 Dodge Durango from ***** Auto World some time in October. I was initially approved for the car loan on Oct. 16th, to later find out I wasn't. My 20 yr old daughter had to cosign for us to purchase the vehicle. The first day I was to take the car home, the headlights and power locks didn't work. The dealer agreed to repair the problem, I was also informed that the car had to be returned because the inspector would be taking a count on the cars. The 2001 Dodge Durango had not been paid for, and the dealer would have been penalized, I knew then I was dealing with dishonest people. After approx. 2 wks, the car was returned, the kids and I smelled strong fumes coming from the car. It smelled like gasoline, there was also black smoke coming from the exhaust. I contacted ******* ***** and she told me to return the vehicle. It was placed on a diagnostic and it read the car needed a fuel compressor. We were given a loaner car to drive while our car was being repaired, we drove that for almost 2 wks. After we picked the car up the third time, I thought the problem had been resolved. A few days later, I was taking my daughter to work and the car began to stall. I tried to accelerate the car wouldn't exceed 20 mph. A tremendous amount of black smoke began to come from the exhaust. I again contacted ******* ***** and explained what happened, she told me to, "Crack the windows!" My daughter and I were stranded! I had to call a friend to follow me home with our hazards on, praying the whole time. The car was picked up the next morning, at this point, I no longer wanted to get back in a lemon! I have had several panic attacks dealing with ***** Auto World and the defective vehicle. When I asked Mrs. ***** if she could fins us another vehicle, she said, "NO, you're stuck with the one you have". I told her we were "OPTING OUT" OF THE CONTRACT. I contacted CREDIT ACCEPTANCE and spoke to ******* ******* the Legal Assistant. I informed her of the experience with ******* ***** and the defective car they sold us. She let me know that I did the right thing and that she would be discussing this with ***** Auto. I have not received a call from Caprice regarding this matter, I have left messages on her voice mail. As a single parent with two children, a car is a necessity. We were without transportation for 9 wks, when we finally get a car, this happens. We deserve a SAFE/RELIABLE VEHICLE, and I refuse to settle for a piece of junk! I wanted to contact the Attorney General's Office about this dealership, because it's wrong and unfair to the consumers. If I can help someone else that may have gone through a similar situation with the, maybe we can resolve this issue. I want nothing to do with ******* ***** or ***** Auto World. I regret my daughter and I ever met the, she's 20 yrs old and is establishing credit for the first time. I will not jeopardize her credit or mine paying for a defective car!

Desired Settlement
Satisfactory Solution:
I would like to "OPT OUT" of this contract with Lewis Auto World. I DO NOT want this to be on me and my daughter's credit. I want other consumers to be notified prior to visiting Lewis Auto World so that they won't have to go through what my family and I had to go through. It's poor Customer Service and its merely unfair! I found out the blue book value on the 2001 Dodge Durango is $3,500, we were overcharged. The selling price they charged us was $5,475.00, Total sale price was $8,20.60. These people are con-artists and it's wrong what they did to my family and I.

Business Response
Thursday, December 23, 2013

****** ******

RE: Complaint Activity Report Case #*******

To Whom It May Concern:

In response to Ms. ****** ****** Complaint #******** on the 2001 Durango, Ms. ****** ****** did purchase a 2001 Durango from Lewis Auto World, LLC. Ms. ****** ****** went to over ten (10) different dealers and was unable to get credit approval from any dealer. Lewis Auto World, LLC was able to secure credit approval for Ms. ****** ****** through our Finance company. Ms. ****** ****** stated that the loan was approved and then it was not; she is correct. All loans are approved based on the customer telling accurate, consistent, and truthful information. ****** ****** told us her monthly income was $1,100 more than her actual earned income. ****** ****** did not tell the truth about her income, therefore; the finance company could not approve that income. But, we didn't give up on securing financing for Ms. ******. We put our reputation on the line with the finance company and begged them to take her. The finance company agreed to take Ms. ****** provided she had a co-signer. Ms. ****** ****** parents refused to cosign with her, so she asked if she could use her 20 year old daughter. We asked the finance company and they stated they could use her 20 year old daughter after reviewing her income. It took us over two (2) weeks to get ****** ****** completely approved because she couldn't verify all the information she had provided to us. Had Ms. ****** been truthful and had all her paperwork, her loan could have been processed the same day. The first day she said the headlights didn't work and it was getting dark, therefore; we told her to leave the vehicle and we'd put new lights if that was the problem. So she left the vehicle. We also told her to leave the vehicle and we'd put new lights if that was the problem. So she left the vehicle. We also told ****** ****** we needed to keep it because it had not been paid for because her loan was having problems. We did not want to be penalized for letting her take a vehicle without it being paid for. She said that we were dishonest, but what we stated was true. Before, any vehicle leaves the dealership it has to be paid for or in the process of credit approval and hers was neither one at the time. As far as the truck was concerned we agreed to repair it. Most dealers won't repair anything. During this whole process we provided her with a loaner car. Most dealers make you rent a vehicle at your own expense or do not provide you with one at all. She complained that the truck had black smoke coming out of it. We told her there was nothing major wrong with the truck, however; it had a carbon build up that would require the vehicle to be driven to eliminate the smoke. Approximately, four (4) or five (5) days later, Ms. ****** ****** called and said her truck was broken down. We told Ms. ****** ****** to stay where she was and we would send a courtesy vehicle to pick her up and have the truck towed. I asked for her location, she told me. Then Ms. ****** said she had called her friend to pick her up. She said she was going to take her daughter to work. I stated that if Ms. ******'s friend was coming let her take her daughter to work, so, we wouldn't if we had any problem make the problem worse. She agreed. After, I got off the phone with Ms. ******; I called the place where she said the truck was broken down. The manager said he had not seen a Durango in that color, he had been there all day, and if one had come in or broken down, he would've seen it. I called ****** ****** back to tell her what the manager had said. She then told me that her mother had paid AAA to come and tow her truck home. This was not true. She lied. Ms. ****** in her own words said she drove the truck home with a friend following her. If the truck was as bad she said it was, how could she drive from West Dayton to her daughter job in Huber Heights and back to West Dayton? We finally got ****** ****** loan approved for that vehicle. Ms. ****** asked if we could change her truck. I said no, it took over two (2) weeks to get that approval. I was not going to risk having them say no on another vehicle. Ms. ****** complained that the vehicle was a lemon. Nothing about the vehicle makes it a lemon. Ms. ****** ****** verbally attacked Ms. Lewis and Lewis Auto World, LLC when all we did was plead with the company to get her approved. Ms. Lewis did not even sell the truck to ******. A representative of the finance co has seen that the truck does not smoke and is not unsafe as Ms. ****** claims. Ms. ****** claims we over charged her, but the truth is Banks and Finance Companies will not let Dealers charge more than the value of the vehicle. Again Ms. ****** ****** did not tell the truth. Ms. ****** is an angry, selfish, customer with buyer's remorse who will say and do anything to get out of this contract including sacrificing her 20 year old daughter's credit. It is very sad because they need the truck and the daughter can actually pay for it. As for as the resolution, she wants to get out of the contract. Lewis Auto World LLC cannot do that because we do not own the vehicle anymore. It belongs to the finance company and they are not going to let her out of the contract itself. 12 yrs in business 5-6 complaints. We are not dishonest dealers. Dishonest dealers do not repair anything, offer loaner vehicles, or work tirelessly for two (2) weeks to secure financing for someone with no credit. Our advice to ****** ****** is pay for the vehicle. The company will still let her pick up where she left off. If she does not pick up where she left off, her daughters credit will definitely be negatively affected. ****** ****** told us her daughter said to her, "I hope you will not mess up my credit too". Her mother is headed in that direction and that is probably why her parents refused to sign for her. This will not affect ****** because she has no credit. Lewis Auto World can not let ****** ****** opt out of a loan, they don't own anymore. The finance company owns her truck now. We are storing the vehicle for the company.


Lewis Auto World, LLC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want no communication with ************* or anyone else at Lewis Auto World! I am a Christian woman and have no reason whatsoever to lie about anything. The young lady that followed me home from Huber Heights can definitely agree to the BLACK SMOKE that was coming from the exhaust on the 2001 Durango. ************* is a Con artist and a person that I NEVER want to see or talk to again. I have been a self employed Hairstylist for 30 yrs, and my income fluctuates. I explained to Lewis Auto that I was in the salon part/time, which is why my daughter agreed to cosign. I have witnesses that have walked this HORRIFIC journey with my daughter and I. We have SUCCESSFULLY OPTED OUT of this contract with Credit Acceptance. My family and I are moving forward and I want NO FURTHER CONTACT WITH *************/LEWIS AUTO.

05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/17/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 13857 for this company.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1999, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Lewis (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers sales of used autos and trucks.

Alternate Business Names
Jim City Auto

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lewis Auto World LLC

5101 N. Dixie Dr.

Dayton, OH 45414

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5101 N. Dixie Dr. 

    Dayton, OH 45414(937) 608-1367

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lewis Auto World LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 559-1872
  • (937) 608-1367

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.