BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1964

Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

Phone: (937) 898-5894Fax: (937) 898-8865850 W National Rd, VandaliaOH 45377

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1964

BBB has determined that Smedley's Chevrolet Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smedley's Chevrolet Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer refuses to change oil in car. Vehicle's manual says it's time for oil change.
My mom, **** ****** bought Chevy Cruze on 09/21/13 from Smedley's in Vandalia, OH. I am also the owner of car too. Current mileage is under 800 miles, car hardly ever driven. Manual & On-Star states car is due for oil change. Mom takes car to dealer, they pretty much laugh at her stating there's not enough miles put on the car for the special synthetic oil that's used. Man first name was *****. She wanted fluids checked too while they had it for oil change, they said we only do that when we change oil, come back when car has more miles on it. This was in Sept 2014. I, a few days later (Sept still) call the place up about it & he told me car has special synthetic oil that car doesn't need oil change until 5000 miles. They won't change oil because it's stupid when there' only 500 miles (at that time) on the car. Dealer said that was a waste of perfectly good expensive oil to change it right now. I contacted MG headquarters from a computer & used the Chevy link to file complaint. I submitted on-line form on 10/20/14, have not heard back to E-mail supplied (same one I using for this complaint). On 10/21/14 I call 1-800-222-1020 (GM Headquarters in Detroit) & speak with a man also named *****. He says before they file a complaint against Smedley's, I have to contact another dealer(to get 2nd opinion) to see what they say about the oil change. Then he'll file a complaint & it'll go to his senior adviser. So I contacted **** in Centerville, OH. on 10/20/14. They say the oil should be changed being 1 yr old no matter what the mileage or kind of oil. They will do it, no problem. I have not contacted ***** at the-1-800 number to inform him another dealer says the oil should be changed yet.

Desired Settlement
We are going to sched. a time to take the Cruze car up to **** in Centerville, OH. one day to get the oil change & we demand Smedley's refund our money because we were to get so many free oil changes with the purchase of that car. Smedley's seems to want everything to expire so nothing is under warranty anymore. We do not trust Smedleys for any work on the vehicle as we feel they'll do some kind of damage to something under the hood that won't show up until weeks or months later. This has happened in the past some ___ yrs ago, but it was not Smedley's who done that. This is telling why we fear to trust Smedley for anything else.

Business Response
Smedleys has contacted the consumer by phone to apologize for the incorrect information provided and to provide the correct information.
Chevrolet's free maintenance with the purchase of a new vehicle provides up to four oil changes within the first 2 years or 24 thousand miles.
The oil changes are still available to the consumer.Smedleys has not received any form of payment for an oil change from the consumer and cannot offer any type of refund.

05/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1. On June 7th, 2013 (auto 1 week old) told dealer car drifting to right. Check on alignment machine told to drive for 1500 miles

2. Same problem at 1400 miles alignment

3. problem still exhibit drifting to right, was told by tech that car was not aligned properly as steering wheel was not straight realigned again Oct 2013. Took trip to South Carolina automobile still drifting to right, started making a loud noise.

4. Smedley's replaced front wheel bearings

5. still drifting to right. Smedleys said they forgot to align after replacing wheel bearing, alignment done, still drifting right.

6. Took car to White Allen Chevy to be checked out (see enclosed sheet).

Automobile taken to White Allen Chevrolet

On Jan 20, 2014, as recommended by Chevrolet Company (address White Allen Chevrolet
*** ***** **** ***
Dayton OH 45405

White Allen called Smedley to ask about the problem was told they never serviced this automobile. White Allen calls me to tell me this. I gave White Allen invoice number of work performed at Smedley's when they called Smedley's with prove they admitted they serviced the car, but had not submitted these to General Motors. White Allen aligned car and said that the alignment was way out.

The automobile is still drifting to the right mileage now at 4850

My trying to resolve with Smedley's

1. Service Manager - **** ******

2. Sales Manager - **** *******

3. Dealer Owner - *** *******

Attachment(s)

Desired Settlement
1. Compensate a monitary amount to be able to dispose of vehicle

2. Buy out remaining loan and keep automobile

3. replace with new automobile with same feachers & model

Business Response
We have reviewed the customer's complaint,the documentation provided by the customer and our internal service history relating to the vehicle. For clarification purposes, these internal and warranty documents reflect two vehicle alignment adjustments performed by us and one adjustment performed by another dealer. In previous conversations with the customer, we have offered to reinspect the alignment and steering systems and confirm they are set to factory specifications or adjust if necessary. As this is the only offer we can provide, we must decline the customer's requested resolutions.

Consumer Response
In Responce to Smedley Chevrolt on April 14, 2014, here is my final offering to settle this matter.

1. $2500 cash compensation from Smedley Chevrolet. I keep 2013 Impala and release Smedley's from any further claims. Action to be taken by April 29, 2014.

2. If the above action is not acted upon, I will go to arbition with the following as my compensation. Replacement with a new 2014 Chevrolet with all same equipment that I now have on my 2013 Impala.

Respectfully,
****** ******
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
==================================================
As that Smedley Chevrolet continues to lie about service performed on my 2013 Impala including the replacement of wheel bearings, which almost caused an accident on my trip to South Carlina. I am revising my request for compensation.

1. $2500.00 cash compensation for not fixing said automobile as the problem still exist.

OR

2. New 2014 Impala if we go to arbition.


Business Response
Smedleys Chevrolet continues our previous offer to inspect alignment specifications and steering system and adjust to factory specifications as necessary.We decline the customers desired resolution.

02/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
smedleys sold me a car that is a mechanical nightmare, using dishonest sales practices & misrepresentations & high pressure sales tactics
I went into smedleys chevrolet on june 25, 2012 to look at a 2008 chevrolet impala ss,after riding pass the dealership on my way to another dealership,from the beginning they used high pressur sales tactics to sell me this car,using words like "let me get you into this car today","what do I have to do,im willing to do whatever it takes,to get you into this car today","how can i get you into this car today"

i informed the salesman & the sales manager(used cars)that i was looking to buy a impala ss, but from a different dealership which was around the same year, same color, less miles & a cheaper price(about almost 5,000 cheaper)then pressure to buy the car got even more intense,after i began talking *** *******(used car mgr)telling me to take the car for a drive and compare,so i drove it,seemed o.k. at first, then i started to notice things wrong with this car, things didnt work, the car shook real bad when you drove it and put on the brakes, the roof opened but wouldnt close, power locks didnt work correctly,it only had one key fob(remote start,etc..)and it was in bad condition,the pin stripes were put on crooked & they told me,assured me that they would take care of it and fix anything & everything that was wrong with the car(including new key fobs)

now as he continued pressuring me to buy the car,saying he was gonna beat the other dealers price,im willing to do anything to get you in the car tonight,kept saying he was gonna give me 3,000 for my car & I drive it home tonight,he says(which isnt what I got)when everything was said & done,i had bought a bogus warranty(2,000 extra)paid 3-4,000 more for the car than i was supposed to,I didnt get 3,000 for my car(blue book 3900.)as promised,I was only paying 13,500 & down to 10,500 for the other car just like it,with 20,000 less miles,which was the same deal I was supposed to have with *** *******(smedleys used car mgr)the salesman was basically his back-up,because he was mainly doing all the talking & negotiating,saying sign this,that we agreed on the this,well,that went on for about an hour or two(3-4times)

i kept backing out saying that ill just wait till tomorrow & think about it overnight,because i was in the process of getting the other car(my intention)& i didnt want to regret this in the morning(which is exactly what happened)as well as my concerns about the problems with the car,which i thought(at that time)were minor,then we wear supposed to had deal on 10,000+tax/title,about 11,000 give or take a few hundred,supposedly to beat the other guys price,then he(***) started harping on the warranty,you should get the warranty, you dont know what can happen,it got almost 80,000 miles on it,so i asked him,is there something i should know about,he said nope,nothing & we gonna fix anything & evrything wrong with it,so after all that pressure,it was getting late,they were about close to closing time, so i said yes(thinking I got a decent deal)

took it home that night & the next day,after going through the paperwork,i had been shafted,as well i discovered the previous mentioned things wrong with it,but it had new things wrong with it,like a real bad moldy smell,so I took it back & said to him,i want you to give me my car & you take this car back & he said its to late you done bought the car,we cant do that,in other words you stuck with it,so i told him,I said last night that I didnt want to regret this in the morning & I only put 35 miles on it & I got 3 days to change my mind & he said no you dont & i cant take the car back & I have been fixing this car every since(to the tune of about 3,500 b/c it needs a converter)& thats out of pocket,Ive taken it back 8 times(least)the warranty covers nothing(worthless)everybody Ive taken it to says it been in a flood,it had body work done on it(that i didnt find out,till weeks later)& the paint is pealing,Ive only had the car 5 months,I just had to spend 600 more to them for some more work,I have 5 more years to pay for it & i got taken for a ride.

Desired Settlement
The settlement Im looking for, requesting, or should I say demanding, is the 2,000 back for that worthless warranty, for which I was forced to buy, because, they knew something was wrong with the car. The 3,500 for my out of pocket repairs expenses, that I have had to make on the car. The around 2,000 for the difference in price that I paid for the car, from what I was supposed to pay for the car. That can be paid on the loan that I got through them or to me personally, which ever one they want to do. I will leave that choice up to them.

Business' Initial Response
The extended service contract purchased by Mr.***** is non refundable as stated in the contract agreement.Smedleys has contacted GWC warranty corporation and inquired as to whether they would make a customer goodwill exception on Mr. *****s behalf and allow a cancellation.GWC has agreed to calculate a pro rated refund based on time and mileage usage.The amount of refund per GWC would be $1058.00.The refund would go to Mr. *****s lienholder and reduce his balance owed.

Based on the service records at Smedleys Chevrolet,Mr. ***** has spent $639.87 from the original purchase date of 6/25/12.Mileage at purchase was 78089 with current mileage as of 1/21/13 of 88141.

The allegation By Mr.***** of a $2000 price discrepency cannot be substantiated.The price is clearly disclosed on purchase agreement and finance contract signed by Mr. *****.

*** ******* from Smedleys Chevrolet will contact Mr.***** to offer assistance with the service contract cancellation.No other assistance will be offered by Smedleys Chevrolet.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
first of all there was way more miles on the car than the stated mileage(about 5-600 miles more, it was closer to 79,000), the price discrepancy, is real for when I tried to return the car the next day, Mr. ******* tried to put a band-aid on it by offering me money back over discrepancies, just like he's trying to do here, "too little, too late", and as far as the money that I have spent with smedley's to fix stuff they knew was wrong w/car like the warped rotors(they said were warped) that they just replaced supposedly, that problem was there when I bought the car & they lied saying that they had fixed the problem w/front end alignment(which didn't)& when taken to another repair shop to be checked out, a different result was pronounced and the oil pressure part was also there not long after I purchased the car, I paid them to program a remote that they were supposed to had supplied(fully functional), bought from another dealership, as well as the evaporator core, which they wanted to charge me $1,800 to fix, but got it ***e cheaper & tune-up which he said had already been ***e, the only reason I agreed to letting them fix the brake & oil sensor problem< b/c they were supposed to pay half, according to what *** told me, "we'll split the down the middle", just another lie in a string of lies told by this guy, who is operating w/the full knowledge & permission of the dealership & I know that I'm not the only one that has been subjected to these unscrupulous sales practices, when I brought the car back to return it the next day after finding out I got shafted, I overheard someone calling this guy, about another vehicle he had sold them, that had stop on them & was stuck on the side of the road, so basically this shows a pattern on deceitful sales practices by this dealership, I paid(including my trade-in about 17,000 for this car, that was actually only worth 8,000 & for that type of money with 5 years to go on the hook, I shouldn't have had to spend a dime on repairs for this car for at least a year or two, or at least 20,000 miles or more, most GM cars are guaranteed 100,000 miles for first tune-up, other shops found rust on top of struts, that only happens when car has been submerged(under water), as well as debris under engine cover on top of engine, moldy smell, power seat tracks rusted(when they shouldn't be), leather wrinkled up on back seats(as with being submerged), but he pulls up clean car fax report, then confesses the car had body work ***e much later after I bought the car(on 1 of many trips to smedley's repair shop), again not on car fax report, so they knew what was going on with the car, before they sold it to me & knew that the price was ridiculously high for the car w/all the defects it had, but knew they wouldn't be able to sell it if they disclosed that or marked it to low, b/c no one(including me) would have considered buying it with all those problems or that type of price marked, the first question would have been what's wrong w/it??? & then they would have to fess-up about the car, but instead they ran a sham(on me), b/c they knew that was what I was looking for & wanted(as the old saying goes, "a car salesman can see a sucker coming from a mile away"), well I turned out to be the sucker b/c I didn't know any better at the time & dealt with a real slick talker(*** *******), who turned out to be a deceitful, unscrupulous, car salesman & got taken for a ride, instead of the other way around(taking the car for one), as far as the price discrepancy being substantiated, "it can be substantiated" & *** ******* knows, good and well, what he did & how he did it. Therefore, no I do not accept their response at all & I should have received all my money back from that warranty & I was told by *** ******* that I could cancel the warranty any time I wanted & I didn't even receive the paperwork for the warranty till much later, after I bought the car, b/c they knew that they are worthless & I was told by other employee's that they sell a way better one, around the same price that does cover a lot of things, so the fact that he sold me that "FAKE" warranty was done(in my opinion) maliciously, as well as the repairs, equipment & tuning, that I had to pay for myself, which most was promised to me but reneged on by this dealership, after paying that much money for this car, I shouldn't have had to do anything to it, for at least a year or two(as stated before), but I'm out of pocket, around 2,600 so far not including the converter that they knew it needed as well, when I bought it, for all claims can be substantiated by dealerships & shops for which I have taken it to & received estimates, paperwork, receipts, etc... for(for the fact that I could not trust this dealership to be honest, so I took it for second & sometimes third opinions on problem with this car), so tallying up the damage to me by this dealership comes to, close 20,000 for a car that I was only supposed to had paid around 12,500 for, which was truly only worth around 8,000-8,500 at most for, according to estimates & statements I received. Therefore, their little so-called gestures are NILL & amount to nothing...

No!!, I Do Not Accept There Response!!
I still want what I stated in the original complaint & No these little Band-Aid gestures that they call themselves doing are not amounting to anything...

07/25/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1984Business started: 06/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vernon C. (Bud) Smedley (President)Mr. Tim W. Wright (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

76

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers new and used cars, trucks & vans.

Alternate Business Names
Smedleys Chevrolet

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

850 W National Rd

Vandalia, OH 45377

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 850 W National Rd 

    Vandalia, OH 45377(937) 898-5894

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smedley's Chevrolet Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.