BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1964

Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

Phone: (937) 898-5894Fax: (937) 898-8865850 W National Rd, VandaliaOH 45377

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1964

BBB has determined that Smedley's Chevrolet Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smedley's Chevrolet Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer refuses to change oil in car. Vehicle's manual says it's time for oil change.
My mom, **** ****** bought Chevy Cruze on 09/21/13 from Smedley's in Vandalia, OH. I am also the owner of car too. Current mileage is under 800 miles, car hardly ever driven. Manual & On-Star states car is due for oil change. Mom takes car to dealer, they pretty much laugh at her stating there's not enough miles put on the car for the special synthetic oil that's used. Man first name was *****. She wanted fluids checked too while they had it for oil change, they said we only do that when we change oil, come back when car has more miles on it. This was in Sept 2014. I, a few days later (Sept still) call the place up about it & he told me car has special synthetic oil that car doesn't need oil change until 5000 miles. They won't change oil because it's stupid when there' only 500 miles (at that time) on the car. Dealer said that was a waste of perfectly good expensive oil to change it right now. I contacted MG headquarters from a computer & used the Chevy link to file complaint. I submitted on-line form on 10/20/14, have not heard back to E-mail supplied (same one I using for this complaint). On 10/21/14 I call 1-800-222-1020 (GM Headquarters in Detroit) & speak with a man also named *****. He says before they file a complaint against Smedley's, I have to contact another dealer(to get 2nd opinion) to see what they say about the oil change. Then he'll file a complaint & it'll go to his senior adviser. So I contacted **** in Centerville, OH. on 10/20/14. They say the oil should be changed being 1 yr old no matter what the mileage or kind of oil. They will do it, no problem. I have not contacted ***** at the-1-800 number to inform him another dealer says the oil should be changed yet.

Desired Settlement
We are going to sched. a time to take the Cruze car up to **** in Centerville, OH. one day to get the oil change & we demand Smedley's refund our money because we were to get so many free oil changes with the purchase of that car. Smedley's seems to want everything to expire so nothing is under warranty anymore. We do not trust Smedleys for any work on the vehicle as we feel they'll do some kind of damage to something under the hood that won't show up until weeks or months later. This has happened in the past some ___ yrs ago, but it was not Smedley's who done that. This is telling why we fear to trust Smedley for anything else.

Business Response
Smedleys has contacted the consumer by phone to apologize for the incorrect information provided and to provide the correct information.
Chevrolet's free maintenance with the purchase of a new vehicle provides up to four oil changes within the first 2 years or 24 thousand miles.
The oil changes are still available to the consumer.Smedleys has not received any form of payment for an oil change from the consumer and cannot offer any type of refund.

05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1. On June 7th, 2013 (auto 1 week old) told dealer car drifting to right. Check on alignment machine told to drive for 1500 miles

2. Same problem at 1400 miles alignment

3. problem still exhibit drifting to right, was told by tech that car was not aligned properly as steering wheel was not straight realigned again Oct 2013. Took trip to South Carolina automobile still drifting to right, started making a loud noise.

4. Smedley's replaced front wheel bearings

5. still drifting to right. Smedleys said they forgot to align after replacing wheel bearing, alignment done, still drifting right.

6. Took car to White Allen Chevy to be checked out (see enclosed sheet).

Automobile taken to White Allen Chevrolet

On Jan 20, 2014, as recommended by Chevrolet Company (address White Allen Chevrolet
*** ***** **** ***
Dayton OH 45405

White Allen called Smedley to ask about the problem was told they never serviced this automobile. White Allen calls me to tell me this. I gave White Allen invoice number of work performed at Smedley's when they called Smedley's with prove they admitted they serviced the car, but had not submitted these to General Motors. White Allen aligned car and said that the alignment was way out.

The automobile is still drifting to the right mileage now at 4850

My trying to resolve with Smedley's

1. Service Manager - **** ******

2. Sales Manager - **** *******

3. Dealer Owner - *** *******

Attachment(s)

Desired Settlement
1. Compensate a monitary amount to be able to dispose of vehicle

2. Buy out remaining loan and keep automobile

3. replace with new automobile with same feachers & model

Business Response
We have reviewed the customer's complaint,the documentation provided by the customer and our internal service history relating to the vehicle. For clarification purposes, these internal and warranty documents reflect two vehicle alignment adjustments performed by us and one adjustment performed by another dealer. In previous conversations with the customer, we have offered to reinspect the alignment and steering systems and confirm they are set to factory specifications or adjust if necessary. As this is the only offer we can provide, we must decline the customer's requested resolutions.

Consumer Response
In Responce to Smedley Chevrolt on April 14, 2014, here is my final offering to settle this matter.

1. $2500 cash compensation from Smedley Chevrolet. I keep 2013 Impala and release Smedley's from any further claims. Action to be taken by April 29, 2014.

2. If the above action is not acted upon, I will go to arbition with the following as my compensation. Replacement with a new 2014 Chevrolet with all same equipment that I now have on my 2013 Impala.

Respectfully,
****** ******
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
==================================================
As that Smedley Chevrolet continues to lie about service performed on my 2013 Impala including the replacement of wheel bearings, which almost caused an accident on my trip to South Carlina. I am revising my request for compensation.

1. $2500.00 cash compensation for not fixing said automobile as the problem still exist.

OR

2. New 2014 Impala if we go to arbition.


Business Response
Smedleys Chevrolet continues our previous offer to inspect alignment specifications and steering system and adjust to factory specifications as necessary.We decline the customers desired resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1984Business started: 06/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vernon C. (Bud) Smedley (President)Mr. Tim W. Wright (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

76

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers new and used cars, trucks & vans.

Alternate Business Names
Smedleys Chevrolet

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smedley's Chevrolet Sales

850 W National Rd

Vandalia, OH 45377

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 850 W National Rd 

    Vandalia, OH 45377(937) 898-5894
    Fax: (937) 898-8865

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smedley's Chevrolet Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.