BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/1993

Bob Ross Auto Group

Phone: (937) 433-0990Fax: (937) 428-4083

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received poor advice from service repair department, leading to further repair that could/should have been prevented. They take no responsibility.
On 3/31/15 I had repairs done at Bob Ross GMC in Centerville. Invoice GCCXXXXXXX Customer #XXXXXX
$1700 worth of repairs were completed that day, one of which was to replace LT Rear Shock (roughly $600 parts/labor). I was advised by the service manager ***** ********** that the shock replacement was needed to keep the suspension compressor from running continously and going bad. He informed how expensive it could be to replace the compressor. In the Tech's notes it states that it was undetermined whether the compressor was already damaged or not. My first complaint is why wouldn't they figure that out right then? If a bad compressor puts shocks at potential risk for damage or repair, shouldn't that have been determined before replacing the shock? Secondly, why advise to only replace the one shock when most mechanics recommend replacing them as a pair?
On 8/1/15 I had the truck in a different dealership for an oil change/tire rotation special they were having. They informed me at that time that I had two busted shocks and a bad compressor. I was frustrated by this news to say the least, as the repair for this is right at $2000.
On 8/3/15 I went to Bob Ross in Centerville with my paperwork from their original repair and also the notes/paperwork from the other dealership. I explained my frustrations to them and said I hope they make this right.
They looked at it and I was called back by ***** who explained that the shock they had replaced had ruptured again and that now the other shock was now also ruptured and it was all because of the compressor going bad. This is my third and biggest complaint.
***** had originally advised me to replace the shock to PREVENT damage to the compressor. It not only failed to prevent damage to the compressor, but ultimately led to the OTHER shock blowing out. If they had originally figured out whether or not the compressor was functional back on 3/31 I wouldn't be dealing with, now, 2 shock replacements in addition to the compressor. This could have all been prevented had they given sound advice and actually made a determination that first day whether or not the compressor was working.
***** explained that they would cover the cost of parts and labor on one shock but that the compressor and other shock would fall on me. I told him that this was not acceptable since his poor advice led to the ultimate need for repair of both shocks and the compressor.
***** then led me to ***** ******** who heard my complaint but offered no real solution. I asked him what he could do to make this right and he only then suggested 10% discount. So roughly a new repair bill of $1800 instead of $2000. Frustrated, I expressed how disappointed I was with their handling of the situation. I've been a good customer for a long time, driving 40 minutes, past 2 other GMC dealerhsips just to make it to Bob Ross for no real good reason other than old fashioned morals and loyalty. That's just how I was raised. At that moment, it became very clear to me that I was just another faceless invoice number to them and that there was absolutely no sense of loyalty in return to their customers. I will never go back.

Desired Settlement
I have a service repair bill coming to me now for 2 shock replacements and the replacement of the suspension compressor. One shock is covered under parts warranty. I want Bob Ross GMC to refund the expense of repairing the other shock absorber with labor $554.97 ($95 labor plus $459.97) plus tax. Their initial diagnosis, advice and repair led to the need for now repairing all of these. I would like for them to refund my expense of the compressor $815.00 (plus tax) as well since they failed to "determine" whether it was functional or not on 3/31. That very determination would have prevented 2 blown shocks.

Business Response
We have come to an agreement with the customer to reimburse him expenses related to the air compressor.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm not sure whether it was the BBB or the Attorney General's office, but one of the organizations leveraged Bob Ross into full reimbursement on my repair. Naturally that is satisfying to me. However, Bob Ross has a lost a loyal and routine customer for good.

04/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer sales manager used "bait and switch" tactics in effort to sell vehicle
Received a letter from Sales manager, *** ****** wanting to discuss trading in my near term lease vehicle. I spent nearly teo entire days at the dealership working out a deal on a 2014 CLA 250 Sport. In addition to Mr. ****** I was working with **** *******. Mr. ******* was NOT part of my complaint and seemed very uncomfortable with the way things unfolded. On day one (3/27/14), Mr. ***** came up with an offer of $794.00 to drive the new vehicle home, which quite honestly, I thought sounded too good to be true. Later that day I was called to say the number was not correct and that the correct number would be closer to $1300 to which I agreed. I was never given anything on paper confirming the offer which should have been a red flag. On 3/38/14, I received a call from Mr. ******* saying the dollar figure had gone up to $2000 downpayment. I was not at all happy, but eventually agreed. I was told to pick up my new car at 12:30 at the dealership. As **** and I spoke and made preparations on the new car, I was kept waiting what seemed a very long time for the finance manager. Eventually, Mr. ***** came out and told me that he would NOT sell me the car unless I was willing to put down at least $6000. I was told that this was due to Mercedes-Benz excluding the CLA 250 from a previously promised sales promotion that would allow me to trade my car four months early without penalty. I let *** know that as a sales manager I did not feel it was appropriate that he was unaware of M-B sales promotions and that the whole affair was handles in a less than professional manner. He offered to make me "a great deal" on an E class or another C class, but I told him I expected him to keep his word on the CLA. He refused. I feel I was drug into the dealership under false pretenses, was offered one thing only to have the offer withdrawn and try to sell me something entirely different.

Desired Settlement
The only settlement I would consider as acceptible is for Mercedes-Benz of Centerville to honor the original offer deal without further modification on the CLA model in question or another similarly equipped CLA. Given the situation, I do not feel this is an unreasonable request, as all I am asking for is for them to honor their original offer on a CLA. Offering me a "great deal" on another car I do not want, just isn't a fair resolution. I feel it is very unfair to penalize me if the sales manager was not doing his job and unaware of the correct terms of Mercedes-Benz sales promotions. The idea behind the "Four Forward" program is customer retention. I'm afraid this experience has had the opposite effect on me and left a very bad taste in my mouth for Mercedes-Benz of Centerville and Mercedes-benz in general. It is worth noting at this point that I am unable to have my current 2011 Mercedes-Benz serviced at Mercedes-Benz Centerville. Three years ago when I moved to Dayton, *** ******** the service manager at M-B Centerville, informed me that since I did not purchase my car there he was not required to warranty service on it. Again, this should have been another huge red flag.

12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GMC is aware that the gas tank is defective in the exact model vehicle I had repaired, but would not give me full coverage to cover the repairs.
According to various internet sources, GMC recognized that the gas tanks in 2004 GMC Envoys had leakage issues. I called GMC to inquire as to coverage to fix the issue, and was told by the service rep, ***** to have the vehicle diagnosed by my local GMC dealer. I took the vehicle to Bob Ross, and was told by the service manager, ****** it was not a faulty tank, but rather, a fuel pump module, and that the repair cost would be $975 at worst. The cost to diagnose the vehicle was $380 so that if I chose not to have the repair, I would have to pay $380 and still have the problem. Or, I could elect the repairs and the $380 would be waived. During this time, I requested that GMC cover the $975 repair cost. The person I spoke with the first time promised to call me back, and never did. I tried several times to talk to someone at GMC, but they would not speak to me, stating that only the original rep could talk to me. A week later, I was told that the original rep had personal issues, and did not come to work for a week. I was soon directed to the rep's supervisor, who began to find out if GMC would cover the repair costs. In the meantime, and once I authorized the repairs, Bob Ross called me to tell me that upon doing repairs to the fuel pump, they discovered that the tank was, IN FACT, cracked and would need replacement. The new repair total was over $1900. I had no choice because the vehicle could catch fire or explode if the fuel continued to leak, and they had already disassembled the fuel tank, etc to start the repairs. So, believing that GMC would cover the repairs, I authorized the replacement of the fuel tank as well. Bob Ross kept the vehicle for 5 days, telling me that they had to have the part sent in. During this time, I had to make other arrangements for transportation. The day I was to pick up the vehicle, I was told that GMC would only cover $713 of the total cost, leaving me with a bill of $1143.65. I asked Bob Ross to please help me explain to GMC that the tank and fuel pump module was a defect in parts, and that such was not normal wear and tear on the car. The service manager at Bob Ross spoke to his district manager, who refused to authorize any further assistance because the recall/special coverage on defective fuel tanks had expired. The fact is that GMC is well-aware that the fuel tanks in their 2004 Envoys are defective, and they refuse to cover the repair costs of the vehicle because they claim the vin number was not included in any special recalls or special warranties, and even if it was, the recall has ended. However, the problems associated with the leaking tanks are well-known to GMC and they should cover the full replacement cost of the defective tank, just as they did for the fuel pump module. This is especially true where they told me I would have to have a diagnostic done, I had the diagnostic done and was told the "worst case scenario" was $975, and then later was told that the repair costs would be $1900. I didn't feel I had a viable option, given that they were going to charge me $380 just to look at it to see if the vehicle was eligible for repair coverage. Added to that is the hours I spent on the phone with GMC customer service trying to get some help, promises made and broken regarding calling me back or helping me, and Bob Ross having the vehicle for a full work-week requiring me to make other arrangements.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that the full repair cost that I paid be refunded. I paid $1,143.65, and want that amount refunded to me.

Business Response
Since Ms ****** had filed this complaint on her vehicle that was not under warranty, General Motors has since come out with a special policy reimbursement for this repair. The policy number is XXXXX and will cover this repair for up to 15 years or 150,000 miles. We are in the process of providing the documentation to Ms ****** for full refund from General Motors.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.