BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/2006

Window Expo

Phone: (800) 980-3976Fax: (972) 234-1411

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to resolve leak in screened patio cover despite numerous contact with company.
In approx 2009 my wife and i contracted with win expo to build a screened patio enclosure. This was a major financial purchase but we were won over by the salemans guarantee of the materials used and the installation. On their website it says verbatim
And We Back it Up with a LIFETIME WARRANTY
On Materials AND Installation. Approximately a year or so later when it rained water practically poured down the inside wall. This was especially scary because an electrical outlet was installed at the same time as the patio enclosure right below the area of the leak and we were concerned water would seep into the socket causing a short and catch our home on fire. I contacted the company and spoke to a gentleman who i remember meeting when i first drove over to the business. As memory serves he was like a mgr or higher. He said i would be contacted. No one ever contacted us to make arrangements to come fix the problem. In the last 4-5 years this very same response occurred each and every time my wife and i would contact them. In the meantime my wife and i have done what we can to try and prevent water from seeping into the electrical outlet with limited success. Now another leak has started in another corner of the patio cover. I then took the scary step of climbing on top of the cover in an attempt to try caulking the areas where the leaks without any success. In addition, the gutters appear to be starting to leak. It boggles the mind how this company is able to have an A+ rating with the BBB. We paid thousands of dollars for this screened enclosure and we have not heard from them not one time since the enclosure was constructed. It is not like they are dodging our calls... we speak to someone each and every time we call and each time an empty promise is given and no further contact occurs. 2-3 of the instances in which i called and spoke to someone i offered to pay for them to come and resolve the problem.Basically i was given the impression that wouldn't be necessary and i would get a call to schedule someone to come out. That would be the last we would hear from them until the next time we called. Let me add that my wife and i were very happy with the product once built and didn't worry when the leak first started because of their lifetime guarantee. We expected someone to at the very least come out and look at the problem and either fix it, make an attempt to fix it or tell us something but what we keep getting is complete disregard for our issue. We are at the point now where we have no choice but to seek other ways to have the repairs done at our expense. One last item i would like to mention. Not any of the 5 or more times we contacted them were we rude in any way because we believe you shouldn't have to be rude or mean spirited to get an A+ rated company to honor their guarantee. Thank you for allowing us to file this grievance. We hope no one else has to experience this level of bad business practice. Thank you..

Desired Settlement
It is pretty simple... we want this company to fix the problems and in the future honor their warranty or reimburse us to have someone else fix the problems.

Business Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,

I purchased Window Expo in September of 2012 and can assure you that we are responsive to our customers and their concerns. The project with Mr. ***** was completed under the prior ownership and I am unsure as to why the company was initially not responsive.

When we recently became aware of the concerns we scheduled a service call and resolved Mr. *****'s concerns. He was very satisfied and pleased with the repairs. I personally visited with Mr. ***** and gave him my contact information. Should he have any concerns in the future he will be able to contact me directly.

Please let me know if you have any questions.


**** ********
Owner - Window Expo

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Salesman did not return my phone calls regarding promised financing of windows.
On October 24, 2013 a sales person from WindowExpo named Chase came to my house to give me an estimate on 5 new windows. I explained to him I needed financing but did not think I could get financing through Wells Fargo, GE corporation or Citbank. He had said they had alternative financing that his boss had for clients with small amounts. He said mine installation was a small amount. He then told me he would contact his boss and call me back on Friday, October 25th, 2013. I waited all day for a phone call and never got one. I then tried to call him back as he had given me his card. He did not return my phone call. I still have not heard if this company will give me financing for windows I desperatly need.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the alternative financing that Chase said I could get and get my windows installed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Paul Dietzler, Owner
Contact Phone: 972-234-1413
Contact Email: *********
Dear Ms. ******,

I would like to apologize for my sales representative not responding to options regarding alternative financing. It is unfortunate that credit approval could not be obtained. Unfortunately we do not have in house financing options at this time.

I appreciate you giving Window Expo an opportunity to earn your business. I would like to meet with you to explore other options for getting your project done. Please let me know if this will be agreeable with you.

Best regards

Paul Dietzler
Owner - Window Expo

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have a leaking screen porch roof which they installed. The issue is not resolved after 5 months.
My complaint involves a leaking screen porch roof and many attempts to fix the leaks, some of which still exist, as well as slow responses, or lately, no response to my notifications. I have notes, but this is a condensed version. I refer to my "job manager" as my main man, and to the installers as the crew. Each time leaks appeared I called the office ASAP. The installation began on JUNE 3, 2015. Many of the leaks are repetitive. On JUNE 9 and JUNE 17 their were leaks. The crew came on JUNE 29 to fix them. I was told by the main man that the crew had not brought the tape needed for the installation. After rain I had leaks JUNE 30. The crew came JULY 1. On July 2, after the grout had 24 to dry, I hosed off the roof and found 6 leaks. I called the office and found that my man was out for a week. On his return, I called him and he said he was not aware of the leaks.
I had a contract from June with a floor tile installation co. for July 17, which I kept. They said standing water could damage the porch floor.
On JULY 28 the crew fixed some leaks, but said that all could not be fixed then because the caulk had shrunk. The main man said to put a metal covering over the areas. On AUG. 10 that was done. Then 2 previous leaks reappeared. On AUG 31 the main man and crew came. After repairs, they hosed the roof and it leaked. On SEPT. 4 they put sheets of aluminum down over the leaks. They hosed the roof and found no leaks. After 3/4 in. of rain, I had a few leaks. After not hearing back, I called again Sept. 14. The main man and crew came SEPT. 16 and repaired. On OCT. 23 a heavy rain caused multiple leaks. On OCT.29 the crew put Cool Seal in the openings where it leaked. On OCT. 3O and OCT 31, after rains, the areas leaked again. On NOV. 2 the crew put more Cool Seal in some of the openings. The crew chief said he couldn't fix them all, and will return and remove the flashing and tape and cover the porch roof with tar! I asked that he call me and tell me when he will do that. NOV. 10 and no calls. I called the office and left a message for the main man to call and give me some idea when they would come. On NOV. 11 a one square foot piece of aluminum blew off the roof. I called, and described that. NOV. 13 and no call back for 12 days. I have been very polite throughout this ordeal, and want a resolution.
I got calls to pay the final payment on July 10, Aug. 10, Aug. 18, Sept. 9, and Sept. 23. I told the finance people that I still had leaks, of which they were unaware. They said they would tell my main man each time. During the Sept. 23 call I said that I had been told that if leaks occurred, I had a 15 year warranty for that. They agreed. He said I would be mailed the warranty after the final payment, which I paid at the office on Sept. 24. They mailed the warranty, but it WASN'T the one which said a 15 year installation warranty. However, I printed the correct one out after downloading it from the icon on their web site.

Desired Settlement
Do whatever it takes to fix the leaking roof, and quickly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** CS Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********
We understand there have been some issues with the roof of this room. That is why Window Expo has responded within 24 hours whenever we were informed of any problems.

We stand by our warranty and will resolve this to the homeowners satisfaction. We have an appointment with the homeowner on December 4th with our installation manager and production manager to determine the cause of the leak and resolve the issue as quickly as possible.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as their response goes, it is alright, but I have not received the service they promised, that is fixing 3 of my old leaks which reappeared. They did come out today, Dec. 4, but must make another appointment with me to try to fix these leaks which appeared Nov. 27.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.