BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/02/2014

Prime Windows and Doors

(214) 695-3555View Additional Phone Numbers3102 Maple Ave Ste 450, DallasTX 75201-1261 Send email to Prime Windows and Doors

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/02/2014

BBB has determined that Prime Windows and Doors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Prime Windows and Doors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Prime Windows and Doors' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
6-13-13 I ordered windows with sales rep. Mark King. I later decided on different kind. I sent picture of what I wanted. Did not get correct order.
Since I didn't get any response from Mark King after numerous attempts I tried calling office directly and they would take my messages to no avail. Finally, Nicky back office called and said my windows would be installed "tomorrow", July 30. I was shocked! I did not know which window would be installed.(first order: $5280 with 1/2 down $2609 bal. upon completion.) I stopped order to install until I heard from office.
Aug.1 Josh Fried,Gen. Mgr. contacted me and argued the point over and over about how the windows were ordered back in June and were ready as first ordered. I told him about Mark and how I sent picture to him. I wanted those windows not as previously ordered. Finally Josh lets me know that Mark is no longer with company. I don't think it is my fault and I want other windows. He comes by and draws up a new contract for the windows I originally want($1961.) I gave payment of $980.00 with bal. of $980. upon completion.When workers finished they wanted to collect $3500!! I immed. called Josh. He claimed that what I ordered was added to first order! No where on order #2 does it state I have to pay for first windows and 2nd order as well! He argued and argued. What would I do with a set of extra windows??? He kept on arguing with me that I owed 2609. plus $980.00. My 2nd contract clearly states $1961.00 with $980 down and "980.00 upon completion and 100% satisfied." I want my money refunded because after so much arguing back and forth I caved in and gave him a check for $2609.00 I want $1629.00 returned. He was very dishonest and extremely rude on all occassions. He said that he would loose money if he returned full amount. I think it is fair since I had no idea Mark was gone and company was not responding to my calls. I thought I was being taken care of as a customer when he wrote up 2nd contract. If you look at my 2nd contract it clearly says &980 balance.

Desired Settlement
I only want what is fair. The price of 2nd windows was $1961.00 with 1/2 down: 980.00 and 980. on completion. My notes even say that 2nd windows were cheaper than first ordered. I remember he agreeing.
He keeps insisting that he clearly stated that 2nd order was "in addition" to first order.

Business' Initial Response
We visited Ms. ****'s home and spoke with her about the refund. She has been refunded the correct amount of $61.00. Thank you for your attention on this matter.

Thanks,

Mark Torres
(prime windows)

Consumer's Final Response
As far as I am concerned, matter is settled. Monetary refund is accepted. I feel that Mr. Torres could have been a bit more professional and less arrogant. GM was more sympathetic to the matter. I am glad that this terrible incident is over and done. I will not use this company again nor do I feel I could ever refer them. Although, I must say that their workers did such a tremendous job on my windows. Their craftmanship was superb.

07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I contracted with Prime Windows and Doors to enclose a covered patio, subject to HOA approval, in April, 2013. We put down half of the total amount as required, $3717.50 The plan was turned down by the HOA, at which point we could have asked for our money back, but were assured the company could make the necessary changes, so we resubmitted and were finally approved. We called to schedule the work, were told they would let us know, and waited. We got a message to call a Mark Torres, at which point he told us that the company could no longer do our job due to the loss of a key employee and the usual installer. He did not offer any alternatives, but assured us we would get our money back. Six days later I called the person we had been dealing with previously, Mark ******* see where our money was. He claimed it would be issued on Thursday of that week, and even offered to drop it by our house. Several hours later, he called back and said the company was now willing to go ahead with the job, and that everything had been a big mistake. As far as we were concerned the contract had been terminated, and we had already contacted and set appointments with other contractors and would only reconsider PW&D if we saw our money back first. When he got back to me it was by email, saying the same thing about it being a mistake and they still wanted to do the job with a $500 discount to us. I responded that I no longer trusted them to do a good job for us, that they had ended the contract and we wanted a refund. We have not heard from them since, and a certified letter, for which we received proof of delivery, has likewise gone unanswered. 7
Product_Or_Service: enclosing a covered patio

Desired Settlement
Our desired settlement is for them to give us the refund, $3717.50, that they assured us would be forthcoming when their representative terminated our contract with them.

Business' Initial Response
We have spoken with Mrs. ****, and both parties agreed to complete the work at her home. We have since completed the work and received final payment.

12/24/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/23/2012Business started: 12/20/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2012, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Rudman (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Chris Pennington
Related Businesses
Community Improvements, Inc. - 3102 Maple Ave Ste 450, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prime Windows and Doors

3102 Maple Ave Ste 450

Dallas, TX 75201-1261

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3102 Maple Ave Ste 450 

    Dallas, TX 75201-1261(214) 695-3555
    (866) 900-8875

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prime Windows and Doors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 900-8875
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Windows & Doors - Installation & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.