BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2007

Beauty & Hair

Phone: (214) 855-1212Fax: (214) 722-12302501 Oak Lawn Ave Ste 400, DallasTX 75219-4045 Send email to Beauty & HairView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2007

BBB has determined that Beauty & Hair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Beauty & Hair's rating include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Beauty & Hair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received wigs they did nit fit sent email they asked for pixs I sent the pixs then they wanted Diffrent pixs the wigs r too small
See above

Desired Settlement
Refund my money

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, CFO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@wigs.com
Unfortunately Ms. ***** did not order from wigs.com. Our customer services manager, ********* ****** contacted Ms. ***** and confirmed that her order was placed with a competitor. We hope she will consider wigs.com for her future beauty and hair needs and allow us to serve her.

03/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have written a couple of emails, lack of response from customer service.
I have sent a couple of emails to Wigs.com about the status of my order. I order a couple of items on Thursday 3/13/2014, totaling $56.70. My order has been in the processing status since then. If they do not ship the order soon, it will drop off my bank account...hopefully. My issue is the LACK OF RESPONSE from customer service. I just want to know what is going on with my order and why it has been in the processing status for five days, including Saturday and Sunday.

Desired Settlement
A response from customer service about this status of my order. I will proceed further if I am not happy with that resolution.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, CFO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@beautyandhair.com
Ms ********** purchase was processed on 3/14/14 and shipped on the next business day, 3/17/14 via UPS, (tracking # 1Z1W80AXXXXXXXXXXX). We hope she enjoys her purchased items and she allows us to serve her again in the future.

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've returned a wig that my mother purchased because it was defective and looked used. I returned it to wigs.com, got the run around, never got $ back
On September 29th I've placed an order for a Wig for my mother, when the Wig arrived she informed that the wig looked used and the front hairs of it were burned. When I got a chance, 5-6 days later I called wigs.com about this issues and they told me to return the wig, once they inspect it they will call me and refund me the money.

Approximately on October 20th I received an email stating that the wig was burned and looked used and I will not be be getting my refund (wigs.com did not ship me back the wig either)

I called about that issues stating that the reason for my return WAS because the wig looked used and burned.
I was told that wigs.com will contact the manufacturer about this situation.

I was not contacted back and it skipped my mind.
I remembered few days back that I still did not get my money back (nor did I get the wig shipped back).

Called wigs.com again about this issues, customer service rep told me there is nothing she can do for me and transferred me to a voice mail of her supervisor *********. I left a voice mail for the supervisor. The supervisor never called me back.

Very disappointed with wigs.com, considering my mother conducted many purchases in the past year and did not expect such poor customer service from them. Did not get my money back and also they did not ship the wig back (if they claimed they will not be refunding the wig, why would they not ship it back)

Original order #: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my money refunded for the purchase.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and have agreed to issue a full refund. The customer paid for the order using a PayPal account. Unfortunately the customer closed the PayPal account and we were unable to issue the credit electronically via PayPal. Therefore, we have issued a check to the customer representing full reimbursement of their purchase price.

12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wigs.com knowingly charged for discontinued merchandise. When I asked for a credit, they hung up and now I am getting the runaround.
charge from my credit card. To date this credit has not been received. When I call Wigs.com, I get increasingly convoluted 'explanations', 1. Revlon discontinued the product. 2. No Revlon just is just changing the name of their wig lines. I am being charged for merchandise NOT available to be shipped. Please help Wigs.com stop charging for merchandise that they DO NOT have and expedite a credit when notified of their error.

Desired Settlement
An immediate credit to my Credit Card(s) for 1.218.40 and 2.171.75. Total credit, $390.15.

Business Response
We have contacted Ms ******* and have agreed to issue a full refund of her purchases. We were able to refund $171.75 to her credit card for one of the purchases however, for her second purchase, the credit card used has expired. The banking system will not allow us to credit an expired credit card therefore we have issued a check for $218.40 representing a full refund of her second purchase.

06/19/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Where is my product?
I irdered my product on May 5th. There site did not mention that my prodcut was backordered, but fine, I could deal with that. What I cannot deal with is constantly having to email them asking them when they expect to recieve and ship my item. Their policy clearly states that they must give a customer an approximate shipping time on back ordered items. I have emailed them 3 times and they refuse to answer me. They already credit my account of the money for the product and I can prove this. I want to know when they expect to ship my item because I amnot going to wait the entire summer for this.

Desired Settlement
I want my item. I want them to asnwer me to tell me when they expect to send this to me. I do not want to wait forever for this. It is ridiculous tohave ot do so. They did not mention on their site that my item was back ordered.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Jerry Sims
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@beautyandhair.com
Ms. ********** was contacted by our customer services manager, Christina Jones, in an effort to assist her in selecting another item or another color that was more readily available from the manufacturer. Ms. ********** selected another color, which was shipped to her, however she did not feel the new color was quite what she wanted. She has returned the item and has chosen to wait until the original item is available later this month.When received the item will be shipped to Ms ********** for her inspection.

Page 1 of 3
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Beauty and Hair will not accept return or exchange of my wig. They say it us damaged.
I am a loyal wigs.com( beauty & Hair) customer as well as also do orders for my clients for them. I am a hairdresser and we do not have a good wig shop in our area. I have never been un satisfied with their service or product. That is why I am so shocked and devastated about my loss of this money for a wig that is too dark and the waves just didn't look right on me.
I ordered the by Heidi Jon Renau . The girl on phone I ordered from recommended that color o match the nutmeg -h I was wearing in Noriko. When I received it I tried it on once during the day and again that night for my husband .I promise I did not brush, spray , lie down, dance or whatever they think I could have done. I simply tried it on for 10 mins total of both times. Then put in box. I did take some photos of myself in it.
When I called to do an expedited exchange and get color help on the phone the girl that answered talked to me about 2 minutes and then said hold on and then another gir WIGFB25 l said can I help you??? I said " did the other girl get tired of helping me" she said" she had to do something else.
She then wouldn't help either , insisted I just order a color ring and mail the wig in instead of going ahead and placing the order.
Then the next week I get an email that my wig exchange is denied . I call and finally after 2 phone calls they say it was severely tangled.
Two girls say they will send it back through for re inspection.
One girl says it could have been shuffled in box in mail and that done that.
I swear to them I didn't do anything to it. I'm wanting to exchange for a Cortney that is the same price so I'm not wanting money back . They finally tell me they have sent it to the company and they say it is un repairable . I ask" what is their to repair" I didn't do anything? I tell them I have photos I have just found trying it on. I tell them I will report this. They say well Mam have a nice day. I'm still shocked. I've recommended to so many clients that I'm embarrassed and now I've got to try to remember who I've recommended to. Thanks for your time with this. I have just been sick over it.

Desired Settlement
I would love an exchange. If not an answer to what happened to the wig once it left my house.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, CFO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@wigs.com
We are very sorry Mrs. ****** was not satified with the product she purchased. Our Customer Services Manager, ********* *****, has been in contact with Mrs. ******. We returned the wig Mrs. ****** originally purchased and we are working with her to identify a more suitable selection.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have NOT offered me a more suitable selection yet. ********* ***** has been emailing me after I sent emails to 5 different email addresses at Wigs.com about situation after my complaint. The latest email requests that I mail the wig in for her to send it to
To be inspected by Jon Renau ( the Wig company) designer to figure out a resolution since they sent my wig back and claimed it was un returnable due to being un repairable. That was just 2 days ago and we have had a snow storm and she has not sent me the address to mail it to, but I did make sure to ask the following questions to make sure she asked the new inspector or whoever is deciding my case- I hope you are trying to figure out by referring to John Renau Designer is : what or where is the repair needed or un repairable part?
6) if there is in fact a place that would need a repair whether could be done or not, how in fact would I be liable to keep a defected product that I received and tried on 2 times and returned exactly same as I received?
7) I returned for a color and style change. Did not notice or examine the wig close enough while in my possession to comb through for defects like possibly the short pieces I now find when I seperate at roots. That's what I wonder if they are calling "needing repairs"?
8) am I being accused of cutting short chunks out at roots all around scalp of wig? What would be purpose?
I will gladly mail it back just wanted to make sure you are asking them the right questions. Please send me address.
Thanks again for your help,
......................This is her email to me. ....................I spoke with Jon Renau and they would like to have the wig inspected by the designer herself. If you would like, I can have UPS pick up the package and get it to them for further analysis. We will move as quickly as possible and get you a resolution. I look forward to hearing back from you!

********* *****
Sales Manager / Licensed Cosmetologist
wigs.com extensions.com hairpieces.com

Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. 128
Direct (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Email *********@beautyandhair.com


Industry Comparison| Chart

Wigs & Hairpieces

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/2004Business started: 08/01/2000
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Sims (CFO)Mr. Jorg Moltkau Ms. Carliz Teague (Owner)
Business Category

Wigs & Hairpieces

Products & Services

This company offers wigs, hair pieces and hair extensions.

Alternate Business Names
Wigs.com, The Wig Experts, Beauty & Hair Products International

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Beauty & Hair

2501 Oak Lawn Ave Ste 400

Dallas, TX 75219-4045

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2501 Oak Lawn Ave Ste 400 

    Dallas, TX 75219-4045(214) 855-1212

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Beauty & Hair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Wigs & Hairpieces

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.