BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

iKonix Studios, LLC

(972) 668-3130View Additional Phone Numbers1918 University Business Dr STE 512, McKinneyTX 75071-5805http://www.ikonixstudios.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

iKonix Studios, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered iKonix Studios, LLC's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised iKonix Studios, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on iKonix Studios, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
iKonix Studios and Mr. ***** we sign a contract 5 months ago four web site to be re located and also redesign,web site is not completed 4 month later.
iKonix Studios and *****, it has been 5 months since we sign a contract to relocate and redesign our web site, 4 months later is not completed, only 80% with plenty of mistakes that are costing my company money daily. I have approached Mr ***** and all I get is BAD attitude and excuses. I make phone calls to him and he would not answered my phone calls, he text me telling me that he will promises that he would call me the next day, no calls at ALL.
iKonix Studios and ***** also keep changing my web host 3 times already for the WORST.
I gave Mr ****** plenty of opportunities for him to complete my web site, I told him before that would place a complain wit the BBB, so I gave him two other chances to do good on his contract...But he wants to ignore the fact that he need to complete my job, he has been paid $1500 out of $2500.00 he wants to collect $1000.00 and I'm not willing to pay him the remaining amount until job gets completed NOW...First payment was done Feb/03 that's already 5 months ago and that's way to long.
Mr ***** is very unprofessional he wants to talk his way out of doing his job and keeps giving me excuses and blaming every one else, without taking any blame for him self.
I want to my Web Site completed now, it has been to long and to much money paid, and is costing me money daily!!I would not recommend anybody to do any business with iKonix Studios and Mr. *****.

Desired Settlement
I want my web site completed as we had agreed on...With no excuses...and I need this completed NOW, it has been to long!! 6 months ago from the first payment.
I do not want iKonix Studios and ***** to hold my web hostage or make any un authorize changes to sabotage my web.
Im loosing money daily because my web site is not completed.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

I am responding to the complaint made by Mr. ****** ******** on July 1st, 2014.

I met with ****** on 2/3/14 to discuss issues he was having with a current web design company (Frisco Websites) who I know and I have worked with that team off and on over the years with different clients. Bill the owner of Frisco websites made it known that ****** and his wife were very difficult to deal with. I accepted the job thinking we could turn it around and over the next 4-6 weeks I worked with Bill from ****** Websites to move all data. ******'s website was setup under Adobe Business Catalyst platform and I informed ****** that my company would need to move his site under a partner platform and I would need to pay the licensing fee to Adobe ($1999.00). I informed him that I would basically charge him $2500.00 so he is getting the website for $500.00 and I would get other Adobe Business Catalyst clients to sign up to help recoup my costs on this issue.

Within weeks of starting development we would constantly receive harassing phone calls from ******. For instance he could not get into his email on numerous occasions. This issue every time was they were being locked out for not entering the password ** correctly by Adobe.

Then when we moved his site we moved all of his videos into a NEW Vimeo account away from Frisco Websites. Well there is an option to not show the Vimeo logo that was not checked so ****** would go off that he will file a complaint to the BBB. Which we fixed.

During the design ****** repeatedly made threats to fire us, file a complaint with the BBB and even going as far as telling us he would make it his passion ** bad mouth us all over the internet. His emails, his constant threats, his phone calls were beyond un-professional. We launched his website 45 days ago (http://www.aplusfii.com/ ) and needless to say we have only received $1500.00 dollars and now he wants more stuff done that we never agreed upon and is holding money demanding this stuff be done. The final issue was on June 26th which he threatened yet again that he would contact the BBB and file a complaint. Finally my team and I had pretty much had it with dealing with ****** so we informed him he needs to find a new web design company, but the design remains the property of iKonix Studios until we are paid in full.

I reached out with **** ****** from Frisco Websites and he kindly provided me with some of the dealings with ****** ******** which I have attached and Bill has also agreed to talk to a BBB representative in regards to his dealings with ****** ******** if the BBB would like some clarification. As the owner of iKonix Studios we strive to deliver a quality product to each and every client. However, there is just so much anyone can take from constant threats and intimidation while doing business. We have developed projects in the tens of thousands of dollars and I have personally NEVER dealt with someone as difficult as Mr. ****** ******** and his expectations for what he is wanting versus what he is actually paying is not even close to being realistic.

I am offering to turn over the entire site once iKonix Studios is paid the additional $1000.00 that is owed to us. Once certified funds are received we will kindly release our design. We also request that Mr. ****** ******** start looking for a new web host to host his site away from iKonix Studios. I feel that this complaint is without warrant as we have done everything within reason to ensure this project was completed and to the customers satisfaction, but we no longer see that as being feasible.

I am available via phone or email if there is anything that needs to be addressed more in depth. Also, please see attachment.

Sincerely,
***** R *******
President/Owner
iKonix Studios Web Architects
Office: ************
Mobile: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Toll Free: ************
*****@ikonixstudios.com
http://www.ikonixstudios.com

see attachment



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To begin response to this complaint, I have to say that my wife, ****** has never called or emailed ***** in regards to complaints or trouble that we encountered. His first comments are incorrect about that. The only conversation ****** has ever had with him was on an occasion he came to our office and she was explaining the TABC addition that we were wanting to add after the initial contract was completed.
Let's now discuss the contract.....
The contract clearly stated that the project would be completed with 3-4 weeks. We are now going on the 5 month and it is still not completed. In all actuality, there is not much left to finish. Yes, I did mention that I was going to report him to the BBB and I did when he has still failed to complete the website. I have the remaining balance of his money and all I ask is that he complete the last few changes so he can get paid and I can have my completed website plain & simple! I have not been verbally abusive, but my patience has been stretched thin.
In response to Frisco Website comments, I am the one who terminated my contract with them due to poor communication and completing my website request as asked. I was never verbally abusive with them, I was unhappy with their lack of communication and results. This is when I decided to go elsewhere for my website service. This experience with Frisco Websites was explained to Derik on our first initial meeting, because I did not want to run into the same issues.
My request is simpleI need my website completed as was discussed. I have a small list of items that need to be completed. I have contacted my lawyer and they will send a letter to ***** with the list of items that will need completion in a two week time frame (starting July 18). Otherwise, I will hire another web designer to complete the work and pass *** cost to ***** and Ikonix Studios Web Architects. Ikonix Studios Web has access to our web site and I do not want it sabotaged as he has threatened before. And I have proof of text messages that he has sent threatening to do so. I have paid in full for a year of web hosting.
If Ikonix Studios Web Architects completes the agreement of completing my website in two weeks (by August 1, 2014), I will retrieve all complaints and law suites and he will be paid final balance in full. This is non-negotiable.

Please feel free to contact me if needed.
XXX-XXX-XXXX
****** ********

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have paid $9950 to Ikonix Studios for a website that we have never recieved. We have nothing to show for the money we have given them over a yr ago
We sought out Ikonix Studios LLC to build and develop our website. In the contract that both parties have signed it states the website will be built and developed within a reasonable time and it has been over a year since we started this project. It has been 10 months and 2 weeks since we signed the contract. It states in the contract that website should be developed in 3-4 months and we are way past that timeline. ***** the owner has stayed in contact with us giving us excuse after excuse on why it has not been completed until recently. The last 2 months we have called him, emailed and text him several, several times to get some updates and we have recieved no response. At this time we would just like a full refund since we have absolutely nothing to show for the money we have given him. We have nothing to view, preview or test out. A few months ago he sent a few links with a non-working website to show that he was working on our website but he took those down about 2 months the same time he stopped making contact with us. At this point we are extremely frustrated with the service and lack of professionalism in running a business and contacting your clients from time to time. We do not want the website built anymore and would like all our money back

Desired Settlement
We want a full refund of $9950 from Ikonix Studios.Payment schedule below-
$3600- September 30th 2013
$1400- November 1st 2013
$4950- November 27th 2013
Total- $9950

05/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. ******* promised to set up my web site at $1000.00 down and 3 months finished at $3000.00. He got the thousand but now 8 phone numbers no contact.
On January 31,I met and gave ******* $1000.00 dollars to design my wen site. The thousand was a deposit with $3000.00 dollars when the job was finished. Nothing has been done on my web site and I have 8 phone numbers for him that he does not answer. They only have recorded messages that he promises to answer. To date he has never returned any of my calls and I keep finding new phone numbers on his web site for contact.

Desired Settlement
I only want a refund in order to get someone else that will set up my web site.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@ikonixstudios.com
I have spoken to Mrs. ***** and the reason why we have not completed a website is because we have not received any assets from the customer. We were supposed to get a video and other items to build the website and to date nothing as been received from customer. She did show us some Poster boards that had quite a bit of information on it for roughly 30 minutes when we first met, but nothing was ever sent to us to start building the website. We have to have content, pictures, videos to build a website.

The reason why Mrs. ***** kept getting different numbers is because we use a block of 50 numbers on our website to track where inbound leads are coming in from. Every time a site visitor views our website a new number is displayed and those get routed to our sales team and if no one is available then it gets sent to voice mail.

After my phone call with Mrs. ***** we are issuing a refund for $1000.00 as we both agreed that was the best solution.

Thanks
***** *******
President/Owner
iKonix Studios, LLC.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******** reviewed www.incyberspacewithelohim.com which has an acting demonstration of the web site he was to build for me. He agreed on X-XX-XX that this was enough for him to get started building my site but he still did not move forward. On X-XX-XX we did talk. In light of the 50 phone numbers, his busy schedule and his forgetfulness of information to move forward, we agreed on a refund of my $1000.00 deposit. I have not received the refund which he said that his CPA was to issue on X-XX-XX and I should receive in 7 days.

Final Consumer Response
Did you see where the company refunded my deposit of $1,000.00? I did not receive it. This is the last agreement that I had with this company. Did you review my web site at www.incyberspacewithelohim.com to see that Mr. ******* had all of the information that he needed to complete the web site? Now since it is well pass *** seven days that he promised to refund my deposit and the fact that I do not have a web site, it seems to me that Mr. Veil on never intended to build my web site but only intended to keep my thousand dollar deposit. I have read the other complaints about him on the BBB and see that his work has been unsatisfactory and that he has not refunded other clients money. I only regret that I had not checked him out before hand and it seems to me that when you say that he did all that he reasonably could have done to do the work you are allowing him to continue taking other people's money without evaluating his work ethic rightly. Mr. ******* did absolutely nothing with the information that was provided him about my web site and he also has not returned the deposit as he promised.

***** *****

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Web Design, Marketing Consultants, Graphic Designers, Internet Marketing Services, Internet - Web Hosting, Search Engine Optimization Services, Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Marketing Programs & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/30/2013Business started: 11/01/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Veillon (President)
Business Category

Web Design, Marketing Consultants, Graphic Designers, Internet Marketing Services, Internet - Web Hosting, Search Engine Optimization Services, Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Marketing Programs & Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for iKonix Studios, LLC

1918 University Business Dr STE 512

McKinney, TX 75071-5805

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1918 University Business Dr STE 512 

    McKinney, TX 75071-5805(972) 668-3130
    (888) 668-3130

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*iKonix Studios, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 668-3130
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Web Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.