BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/2013

AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care

Phone: (972) 633-1590Fax: (972) 633-16902601 K Ave, PlanoTX 75074-5305 Send email to AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/2013

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty never Honored. Every time the repair would start as warranty and end with with $1000's in charges.
In 2012 my 2006 Dodge charger was at AAMCO Transmission in Plano, TX 4 times! Each of the 4 times, it was the same issue (Tourque Converter). Supposedly covered under warranty, I continued to take it back there because I figured they knew the car well enough to help me figure out my problem with the car. Everytime I took there under warranty, they would charge me for something else that was "Wrong" with the car. Not just a couple of hundred dollars here and there. They were going for the kill everytime at least $1000.00 per visit. In January 2013 I took my car there again, still under "warranty". They said that it was under warranty and that they would take care of it. A couple days later, they called and said that they had found more problems and that it would be around $1000.00 to fix. I reluctantly gave in to having the work done. The day after I gave them permission, they called again and said something else was bad and now I was up to $3800.00 in repairs. I told them that I could not afford the repairs and to just fix the warrantied part and put it back together. They said that they couldn't do that.

At this point, I had to take loans to pay for the repairs. They called threatening to charge me for storage fees if I didnt come and pick up the vehicle that had been sitting there for 2 weeks at this point. I tried to explain to them that it was initially supposed to be fixed under warranty and then I got hit with a $3800.00 bill and that I needed time to come up with the money. Very unpolitely they gave me until the end of the week.

Fast forward to my last straw with AAmco Transmission. In July 2013 I took my car there again because it was acting up again and just maybe it will be covered under the "warranty"! Again, something else was wrong with the car and it was not covered under the warranty. This time they told me it was the Transmission control module and that it would be $941.00 to replace it. Not willing to give them one more dime of my money I called the dodge dealership to price the part and check how much they would charge to replace it for me. The service department could not believe that they told me the Transmission control Module needed to be replaced. They said that they would check it for me and reprogram it if nessissary. The technician said that in his 20 years he had never seen one go bad. The DODGE DEALERSHIP charged me $195 to fix the issue with my transmission compared to the $941 AAmco Transmission wanted.

They are ripping customers off at that location and I will never use or recommend them again. I believe they have been charging me for services not done and causing me more problems with my transmission than I had before. I have a bad feeling that the loans I took out in February to pay for the repairs just went into someone's pocket and they were laughing at the fact that it was so easy to get over on me. Please DO NOT use this location unless you have bottomless pockets and don't mind giving money away.

Desired Settlement
I would like to at least get my money back for the loans I took to pay for the bogus repairs.

Business Response

Quick Response:
Mr. ****'s Dodge Charge was never in our shop in 2012. We never collected any money for warranty repairs from him. We have collected money from him twice; the first repair was paid for by his warranty company, the second time was due to water damage.

Full Response:
Mr. **** had his Dodge Charge transmission rebuilt in February of 2011. We did two minor repairs to his vehicle in 2011 at no cost to him.

In January of 2013 He again had his car in our shop for transmission issues. We found that his transmission cooling system had failed and resulted in water getting into the transmission which voided the warranty of his transmission. We rebuilt the transmission and it took the customer almost two months not two weeks as he claims to pickup the vehicle. That repair was $3380, not $3,800.

Fast forward to July with some old shifting issues, we reset the Transmission Control Computer multiply times at no cost to the customer and after each reset the transmission would shift perfectly for a short period of time, then it would start shifting strange again. We then recommended that the Transmission Control Computer be replaced to fix his issue. If the dealer had never seen one fail in twenty years, then why did the dealer have the computer in stock? Also the computer is unique to 2006, so I don't know how the 20 year history of computers matters.

Summary:
Mr. ****'s report is full of lies and half truths. We expect the transmission to start acting up again soon and will need the Transmission Control Computer, and he will never update this report that he was wrong and we were right.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was at AAmco Transmission on July 24th 2013. I took my receipt from February this year to the owner by his request. To my surprise he showed me a false receipt where his employee Paul had forged my signature, entered a 1 year warranty on my behave when I had paid for the 3 year warranty. So Paul made the receipt lessor than the amount I paid and must have pocketed the rest. My question to the owner is, if you don't know what is going on in your shop, how can you be sure that the work is being completed and/or properly done? The mishaps happening in YOUR business is being afforded at the cost of YOUR customers. I was told the bill was $3800.00 and I could only come up with the $3600.00 I paid to ****. He said that because I was paying in cash that $3600.00 would be fine. My car was at the shop from January 20 something until February 16th. So that was between 3-4 weeks (not 2 months). My next step in this matter is filing with the police department for forgery and theft and I will update my reports from that as well!

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
repairs caused significantly more damage to vehicle. shop is denying any liability and going as far as claiming to have not done any work at all.
mid-late Jan: clutch failed on my 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse
aamco's estimate was $1050.00 for the repair

I decided to shop around to find a better price while looking for a buyer that would meet my asking price for the car.

The manager from Aamco called me back (paul) and provided me with a second estimate of around $700.00

I accepted and dropped the car off later that week and received a contact number for Paul directly stating "your welcome to call or text this number for updates"

after the repairs were "completed" on the vehicle I noticed a considerable amount of fluid leaking underneath it.

took it back to aamco where Paul inspected my vehicle and advised me he didn't know where the leaks were coming from but it appeared to be oil and the oil levels were not low. he stated "its just overflow oil and will stop whenever it gets to the right level"
later that night I heard a LOUD scraping noise from my car. after taking it back to aamco for a third time Paul advised me that one of his tech's must have left a huge chunk of metal in my car by accident and that it shot back into my trans and scored alot of "hairline fractures" in the case.
and that the "Throwout bearing and syncros" would need to be replaced and that it would cost me about $450.00 more to repair the damages. It didnt seem right to me that he was asking me for more and told him that this new estimate would place me well over the original $1050 estimate that I originally received And that I would like to speak w/ his boss. He quickly backtracked and apologized for the inconvenience and brought the new cost down to $225.00 which I reluctantly paid out of desperation and need of a functioning vehicle.

on April 6th 2013 I was advised that the repairs were yet again "complete" and that the syncros, throwout bearings, transmission case, and the new clutch have all been replaced and that it was "driving great"

I picked my car up from the shop and drove it home and was impressed with how well it drove. (noticed a little "clattering" noise while cruising but was tired of dealing with it so let sit go)

The next day I drove to a gas station, pumped gas and started my car back up and it would not go into gear. after contacting Paul yet again he said he would call me right back after he get finished with a couple of other customers. 2 hours later I decided to text him instead of waiting for his call. He suggested a couple of things for ME to do including "bleed the slave" and "replace the slave cylinder".
At this point I advised him that I would need a second opinion and started hunting around online for an alternate contact number for aamco other than the one he gave me.

I spoke with ***** who advised me that he has no record of my car being worked on and that paul must have been doing the repairs on the side and asked me to provide him with a description of what was done to my car (which I did)and advised me that he was terminating Paul and to not bring my car back into the shop until after that matter was addressed.

I ***** has taken a second look at my car and stated that the "slave cylinder is leaking, we can replace it for $380.00". I don't know a great deal about cars myself so I asked ***** to let me do some research and call around and I would get back to him.

I verified through a master mechanic that in order to do the work that was done on my vehicle then the slave cylinder would need to be removed and is often times damaged whenever a tech is not as careful as they should be with it (seeing as they just "forgot" a chunk of metal in my car I somehow seriously doubt they were being careful)and that if something like that were to happen in his shop then he would be held liable for replacing it at no cost to the customer.

after advising ***** of this and asking him to repair the damages his shop caused he stated "our shop has never touched your vehicle and without a receipt you cant prove that we caused those damages"

Desired Settlement
Repair master cylinder, check transmission and ensure there was no significant damages done by the chunk of metal and if so repair or replace damaged parts at no further cost on my part.

Business' Initial Response
This person is not a customer of AAMCO of Plano. We have never worked on his vehicle.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was obvious that I was a customer of AAMCO of Plano. I have proof that shows his tech did work on my vehicle. If he wasn't aware of the repairs then it is between him and his tech and not between his shop and myself.

01/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my car towed there and he lied to me about having my van and doing the warantied work when he let another shop tow it and do the repair.
I had a new transmission put in my van a few months ago by a different Aamco shop. 8000 miles later and it went out again. I tried to call the shop that did the work and the number I had gave me a choice of 3 locatations. So, I called all three and chose to have it towed to the shop in Plano. Ken called and told me what was wrong with it and then told me I had to have it fixed at the origional shop since it is still in business just not under Aamco. I called corporate and got approval for the shop in Plano to do the work. And Ken told me he would do it even after the origional shop called me telling me they wanted to do it. I said "NO" I don't want my van moved. Well, Ken let the origional shop tow it and do the repairs. I didn't find out that it was moved and repaired elsewhere until it was already done being repaired. In towing it they also ran up charges on my toll tag because the tow truck took toll roads to get there. When the origional shop did my initial repair the never even offered me a choice of a longer warranty. I got just 12 months or 12 thousand mmile.....now there is less than 4 thousand miles left on my warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like an extended warranty, at least 36 thousand miles. And I would like one hundred dollars for the un-authorized use of my toll tag and for not doing what I the customer requested in the first place.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@aamcoplano.com
This customer had his transmission repaired at the AAMCO in Addison originally in August of 2012. Since then the AAMCO in Addison left the AAMCO chain. Their exit agreement required all warranty work to be authorized and/or performed by the same location if any failure occurred locally. It is not an ideal situation, but I had no choice due the agreement that was made between the owner of the location in Addison, and AAMCO Transmissions Inc. in Philadelphia PA.

As far as what the customer requested:
1) Extended Warranty: I cannot extend a warranty for work not done at my location. That would have to be done by the original repair shop.

2)$100 for toll use: We did not use the vehicle on the toll way. The charges would have occurred either during the tow to our shop which was arranged by the customer or by the location in Addison when they drive the vehicle to their shop for repairs.

Business' Final Response
This customer had to work performed at my shop, and I collected no money at all from this person. There is no reason this should be reported as an complaint against my business.

By the definition of Customer he was not and has not ever been a customer of this business.

Please call me to discuss at XXX-XXX-XXXX

****** ******

04/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/28/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Transmissions - Truck, Tractor, Radiators - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/24/2005Business started: 12/01/2004Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2004, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Gorham (Owner)
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services, Transmissions - Truck, Tractor, Radiators - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches

Products & Services

Complete Auto Reapir

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

All work covered by a Nationwide Warranty

Service Area

Collin County

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care

2601 K Ave

Plano, TX 75074-5305

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2601 K Ave 

    Plano, TX 75074-5305(972) 633-1590

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.