BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Innovation First Labs, Inc.

Phone: (903) 453-0804

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Robotic kit has incorrect parts manual instructs to use parts that will not fit and manual is difficult to interpret. Not a good present for kids!
I purchased one of your robotic arm products for my son for
Christmas. We had some issues while building this product. My son and I being Lego builders for
years had trouble with the instruction manual and how the pictures are difficult to interpret. The manual instructs you to utilize incorrect pieces for the build and the kit comes with parts that do not
fit because they are not the right parts for the kit. In the end after "I" not my son(cause he was frustrated) finished building the structure I was very disappointed as the engineering behind the
product was not tested enough to produce the consistent failure of the unit while under operation.
Not a good Christmas or any present !
Just wanted to let you know !
Target (Albany,CA) $79.99 + tax
REC#X-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X
VCD#XXX-XXX-XXX Date 11/22/XXXX XX:XX PM

Desired Settlement
I would like them to send out a recall for
a bad product and I would like our money back
for a poor product...

Final Consumer Response
I have used my own tools to build the parts needed to repair product. I feel since I have repaired the product it is not necessary to receive a refund, however I feel they should be responsible somehow. I believe that before shipping out vast quantities of product to 8+ year old children there should be no doubt that an 8 year old can in this case build said product. I am a shipwright and it is extremely rare that I come across plans that instruct you to use the incorrect parts for the job at hand. I also feel that an 8 year old should not have to visit any website to build a product that already contains the instructions. I am disappointed that this company does not invest more time in there product. I have fixed the issue with the product using materials I work with and now my son is happy, that is what matters to me.

05/22/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Better Business Bureau Greenville, Texas Wrongfully treated by Hex Bug, accompany that you endorsed on your show Feb 13, 2015 Thank you for your time.To: Can you PLEASE Help me In reference to: ****** is a registered trademark of Innovation First Labs, Inc. Order ******** (placed on February 13, 2015). On Feb 13, 2015 I was watching your Show on Channel 26, WAGT in Augusta, GA as I often do. This day I was so excited about the STEM/robotics by Hex Bug for my 13 year old granddaughter who lives in Acworth, GA. I placed two orders, #XXXXXXX for $34.98 and #XXXXXXX for $89.99, both for her. A few days after ordering them, a large brown box arrived which contained both orders; I placed the box in my granddaughters room to await her return for Spring break to August for her. I was so very excited to have received these two items for her, I could hardly contain my excitement to surprise her with the Spider, $34.98 and the Vex Robotics Construction Set, $89.99. However, much to our surprise, we only had the Spider. The box containing to Vex Robotics Construction Set, only contained lots of empty plastic bags. I cannot express the sorrow emptiness, disappointment of not being able to surprise my granddaughter with the Vex Robotics Construction Set. During my granddaughters stay with me, for Her Spring Brake, she would frequently voice her disappointment in not having the robot to work on, and how she Wished she could be assembling her robot; she also asked when they would send the real robot kit? It really made me feel helpless, that something that was to bring SUCH JOY CAUSED SO MUCH PAIN for us. On April 14, 2015 I spoke with Cesar, the HEX Bug Companys representative, who asked me to give him two days to check ion to what had happened. After the third day, I called to speak with ****** but he had stepped away from his desk. I left my information and asked that he please return my call when he returned; however, after an hour, ***** had not returned my call. I called Cesar back in about an hour an 15 minutes. Cesar apologized for his delay in returning my call. After I reached ****** he informed me that there is a two week return policy period; however, this was not stated on any of the order forms or on their website. ***** went on to say that there was a 5 ounce weight noted at the time the order was mailed out, which explained the reason for the multiple plastic bags, ***** went on to acknowledge that I had not received the Vex Robotics Construction Set that I has purchased. He then informed me again, that they have a two week return policy period. He added that I May be required to sign an affidavit that I did not receive the Vex Robotics Construction Set. I replied again, I am telling you what had transpired I just want to be made whole, why cant you send me a replacement kit? I know that you give away items all of the time. He then informed me again, that they have a two week return policy period. I informed him that I would notify the following 1. The Queen Latifah Show. 2. The Better Business Bureau. Since my introduction of Hex Bug was only because I am a Fan of The Queen Latifah Show and I trusted them because of YOUR endorsement for Hex Bug is there any assistance that you can give me in get my correct order of the Vex Robotics Construction Set? PLEASE Help me...... AgainThank you for your time. Respectfully, ** ******
Product_Or_Service: ******
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: Sku: XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
To be made "WHOLE".. A HexBug Vex Robotic Construction Set Standbeast, Giant Marching Robot, with over 400 pieces and Seven electronic elements VEX Robotic Pieces. Snap pieces, Gears, Motors and Brain, which I paid $89.99 for.

Business Response

The customer contacted us on 04/15/2015, almost 2 months after receiving the kit, stating there was nothing but plastic bags inside of the kit.

The order was delivered on 2/17/15. The tracking number is 1ZA09RXXXXXXXXXXXX. The weight of the package sent was 5 pounds, per UPS, Which is consistent with the weight of a VEX Strandbeast Kit, which weighs in at 4.9 lbs.

When we attempted to communicate this to her, she became very irate with our team member and hung up.

Please let us know if you need any other information on this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If I hung up as they report, how do I know the person's name of whom spoke with, not one time but twice, and how do I have "ALL" of the information that I was able to provide you? This robotic set was purchased for my 13 year old granddaughter who does not live with me, but only visits, she lives over 400 miles away. I first spoke with Cesar on the April 14th,.He asked me to give him 2 days to look into the matter. So he will call me back in 2 days. But 2 days, passed, then on the 3rd day, I called, but, ***** had "stepped out for a moment" and was not available, I left my name, and phone number, with a message for him to return my call. After about an hour and 15 minutes, ***** had not returned my call, I called him. After I reached ****** he apologized for his delay in returning my call, then informed me that there is a "two week" return policy period; however, that statement was not on any of the order forms or on their website. ***** went on to say that there was a 5 ounce weight, not a 5 pound weight noted at the time the order was mailed out, which explained the reason for the multiple plastic bags, ******* went on to acknowledge that I had not received the Vex Robotics Construction Set that I has purchased". He then informed me again, that they have a "two week" return policy period. He added that I "May be required" to sign an affidavit stating that I did not receive the Vex Robotics Construction Set. I replied again, I am telling you what had transpired I just want to be made whole, why can't you send me a replacement kit? I know that you give away items all of the time. He informed me again, that they have a two week return policy period. I informed him that I would notify the following 1. The Queen Latifah Show. 2. The Better Business Bureau. Since my introduction of Hex Bug was only because I am a Fan of The Queen Latifah Show and I trusted them because of YOUR endorsement for Hex Bug is there any assistance that you can give me in get my correct order of the Vex Robotics Construction Set? How would I have this much detained information if Cesar and I did not have in depth conversations?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Toys - Retail, Toys - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Internet Shopping, Manufacturers & Producers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.