BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

CONEXIS

Phone: (214) 596-6927Fax: (214) 492-8740

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues9
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service15
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)
08/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I disenrolled for this service in Nov 2014, yet they continue to bill me to this day.
I disenrolled for Hyatt Legal plans for the 2015 calendar year, yet they continue to bill me for the service.

Desired Settlement
I owe them NOTHING. They should stop billing me.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your July 23, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of Marsh & McLennan Companies ("Marsh & McLennan") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations imposed upon it by FirstEnergy's establishment of one or more health plans for certain individuals ("Participants") for which premiums are collected by means other than payroll deductions ("Direct Bill"). Our contracted duties include, among other things, distribution of required notifications on behalf of the plan administrator, addressing Direct Bill Participant inquiries, and premium billing and collection.
In this capacity as a contracted agent of Marsh & McLennan, CONEXIS' contractual duties are strictly ministerial in nature. CONEXIS' provision of services is generally performed in accordance with the terms established by Marsh & McLennan, its instructions to CONEXIS, and/or standard operating procedures.
In light of these contracted duties, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (877) 722-2667 to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with Marsh & McLennan, in compliance with Marsh & McLennan's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance.
Furthermore, CONEXIS mailed a letter directly to the complainant on July 27, 2015 to provide additional assistance in resolving the issues that form this complaint.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Conexis cancelled my subscription without any further nonsense.

07/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scamming the public by making people spend time to account for obvious Medical FSA purchases
This company scams the public by making people continually justify medical purchases over and over. Even when the purchases are at obvious known medical facilities and one has used the facility before they still have to go back to the medical facility and get broken down bills of what service was purchases. They do not accept names like East Valley Family Medical or Sonora Quest ( the only company in the Phoenix valley that does bloodwork outside of hospitals. Or how about TLC Pediatrics. I have had to run back to the Doctors offices more times than I can count to satisfy these crooks. And when you call them out on it there customer service (and that is a joke) simply states their company motto: "We are highly regulated by the government" In reality, I believe they actually thrive on making their customers so frustrated that they walk away and not use the FSA account which then becomes a windfall for this crooked company who get the funds at the end of the year scott free. The company that I work for had enough complaints about Conexis to the HR department that they were dropped after just a single year. As a parting gift, both of my final transactions have been denied with thhem seeking once again to get justification of the services that I purchased.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like them to pay the two final services that are outstanding, one to Sonora Quest for $60.11 and one to East Valley Family Medical for $13.68. But more importantly, I would like someone to truly investigate the practices of the crooked company because I do not believe they serve the public's interest but rather the interest of their own pocketbooks. I the have tainted my FSA experience so much that I will never ever use a FSA account again. The XXX-XXX dollars in tax saving that I saved in no way compensate for the hours of agrevation that I have experienced with this company on the phone and running around chasing after bills at known medical facilities. Caveat Emptor

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your March 18, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), provides assistance to Orion Health, Inc. ("Orion Health") in satisfying certain administrative obligations under one or more of its established healthcare reimbursement account arrangements ("FSA") and - in part - providing assistance to Orion Health in its compliance with the Internal Revenue Service ("IRS") and applicable regulations.
As such, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed ** part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with Orion Health, in compliance with Orion Health's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance. Furthermore, we contacted the complainant directly on March 20, 2015 informing him of the actions taken, what actions are required on his part, and offering any additional assistance he may require.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is just another example of the shoddiness and deceitful practices of this company which hides behind the cloak of government statutes rather than address the real issues. There is absolutely nothing in my complaint that requires that they release any PHI data. But that being said I give them full permission to provide any data that they like on my behalf and about my account and PHI and ANY interactions that I have had with them. They refuse to address the problem which is that they make people jump through hoops to be able to use the money that they (Conexis)are handling for our FSA accounts in hopes that we get so frustrated by having to repeatedly justify our medical spending that they hope we walk away from the account so that it becomes a windfall for them at the end of the year. For them to make me go back to a doctors office and get an itemized receipt not once, not twice, but every time I have a transaction for medical spending is ridiculous. I go to a Doctor that has "Pediatrics" in it's name and still, I have to go back and get itemized receipts because they "Can't justify the amount" every time. I'd like to challenge this fraudulent company to find a company that one might go to that has "Pediatrics's" in their name and who is not a Doctor's office of some sort.

Final Business Response
As previously referenced, CONEXIS provides provides assistance to Orion Health, Inc. ("Orion Health") in satisfying certain administrative obligations under one or more of its established healthcare reimbursement account arrangements ("FSA") and - in part - providing assistance to Orion Health in its compliance with the Internal Revenue Service ("IRS") and applicable regulations. These contracted duties include providing Orion Health's FSA participants access - in conjunction with a third party engaged by CONEXIS who issues and/or processes electronic payment cards - to pre-tax contribution funds electronically through the use of a stored-value card ("CONEXIS Benefit Card").
On March 17, 2015, CONEXIS mailed to the complainant advising him that two transactions using his CONEXIS Benefit Card required transaction verification. This is in accordance with IRS regulations (i.e., Prop. Treas. Reg. Section 1.125-6(d)(6); Rev. Rul. XXXX-XX, XXXX-XX I.R.B. 935; and IRS Notice XXXX-XX, XXXX-XX I.R.B. 107) requiring that every claim paid with an electronic payment card be reviewed and substantiated. Such expenses require appropriate independent third-party substantiation describing the date of the service or sale and the amount of the expense.
As part of our complaint resolution attempts, a senior CONEXIS Participant Service Advocate spoke with the complainant via telephone on March 17, 2015 and informed him that - while the funds for the services received had already been paid to his provider - the substantiation was still required to ensure complaint adminisration of Orion Health's FSA plan (as required by applicable law and our contractual arrangement with his employer).

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree that I had conversations with a manager and was told that they were going to pay the bills to the Doctors. I do believe that they have done so as I have had no further dealings on the matter. I no longer use them nor does Orion Health. I do feel that the BBB can ***** this complaint. But my real concern is the shoddy business practices of this company in making those who use it spend massive amounts of time justifying their medical expenditures. Once again, they hide under this government "regulated" blanket and choose to make people waste more time than it is worth to chase after documents and signatures, knowing full well that the companies/medical practices/etc that have provided medical services are legitimate medical operations that would qualify as and for medical expenditures. All I can say is Caveat Emptor to anyone that has dealings with CONEXIS, their subsidiaries or whatever they change their name to following enough complaints about them.

03/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took money out of our checking account after we discontinued health ins. Told us we have to wait a month to get our money back when it shouldn't have been done in the first place. still waiting for the check since Jan. 2. thanks **** and ***** *******
Product_Or_Service: health insurance

Desired Settlement
need it now

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

We are in receipt of your February 6, 2014, correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.

CONEXIS Benefits Administrators, LP ("CONEXIS") performs ministerial tasks for FirstEnergy Service Company ("FirstEnergy") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations imposed upon it by FirstEnergy's establishment of one or more health plans for certain individuals ("Participants") for which premiums are collected by means other than payroll deductions ("Direct Bill"). Our contracted duties include, among other things, distribution of required notifications on behalf of the plan administrator, addressing Direct Bill Participant inquiries, and premium billing and collection.

In this capacity as a contracted agent of FirstEnergy, CONEXIS' contractual duties are strictly ministerial in nature. FirstEnergy retains the sole responsibility and liability for establishment and operation of the group health plan(s), construing and interpreting the provisions of the group health plan(s), and deciding all questions of fact arising under the group health plan(s).

In addition, in this in this capacity as a contracted agent of the employer, CONEXIS does not serve as the "Plan Administrator" or "named Fiduciary" as defined by ERISA, whether or not ERISA is applicable. It remains the sole responsibility of FirstEnergy to ensure compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. CONEXIS' provision of services under the terms and conditions of its contract does not relieve FirstEnergy of this obligation or resulting liability related to non-compliance. As such, CONEXIS' provision of services is generally performed in accordance with the terms established by the employer, its instructions to CONEXIS, and/or standard operating procedures.

The following is a detailed narrative concerning the Direct Bill coverage of the complainant:

1. As of December 1, 2013, the complainant was - based on information provided to CONEXIS by FirstEnergy - enrolled in Direct Bill coverage for himself and his spouse. CONEXIS assumed billing administration for the complainant's Direct Bill coverage effective September 1, 2010; the complainant had paid premiums for this coverage through December 31, 2013 via Automated Clearing House ("ACH") transactions from his banking account.

2. On December 27, 2013, CONEXIS received the complainant's premium payment of $247.56 via ACH and applied it to his account. This payment satisfied the total premium indicated as required by the plan for the January 2014 coverage period.

3. On January 2, 2014, CONEXIS received notification from FirstEnergy that the complainant "waived coverage for 2014." FirstEnergy instructed CONEXIS to "waive his coverage effective 1/1/2014 and issue him a refund for January."

4. On January 3, 2014, CONEXIS processed FirstEnergy's request to cancel the complainant's coverage as of December 31, 2013. This resulted in an unapplied credit of $247.56 on the complainant's account.

5. On January 17, 2014, CONEXIS issued a refund check to the complainant (check number XXXXXXXX for $247.56).

6. Also on January 17, 2014, the complainant's spouse spoke with a CONEXIS Participant Services Representative ("PSR") via telephone to inquire as to the status of the aforementioned refund. CONEXIS call documentation reflects that the complainant's spouse was advised that the refund check had been expedited and was released on January 17, 2014.

7. On January 27, 2014, the complainant's spouse spoke with a CONEXIS PSR via telephone and indicated that she had not yet received the refund check. The According to CONEXIS call documentation, the complainant's spouse was informed the check was mailed to the last best address on file with CONEXIS: **** ******** **** ***** ************ **** XXXXX.

8. Also on January 27, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for First Energy received a request from FirstEnergy via Web site (www.conexis.com) to update the complainant's address:

Please update address..
*** D ******** ******
**** ******* ** XXXXX

9. Also on January 27, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for FirstEnergy updated the complainant's mailing address as instructed by FirstEnergy.

10. On January 28, 2014, the complainant's spouse spoke with a CONEXIS PSR via telephone and advised that the address as provided by FirstEnergy (see Line Item 8, above) was incorrect and should be indicated as "932 D Savannas Point."

11. Also on January 28, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for FirstEnergy advised the CONEXIS Participant Services Representative that - for auditing purposes - all requests for address changes must be initiated in writing.

12. On January 30, 2014, a CONEXIS PSR contacted the complainant's spouse via telephone and requested that she or the complainant send a written request (e.g., via e-mail to ****************@conexis.org) to update their address to ***** D ******** ********

13. Also on January 30, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for FirstEnergy received notification from FirstEnergy that the complainant's address was incorrect and should be corrected:

*** D ******** *****
**** ******* ** XXXXX

14. Also on January 30, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for FirstEnergy amended the complainant's address as instructed by FirstEnergy.

15. Also on January 30, 2014, the CONEXIS account manager for FirstEnergy issued a research request to the CONEXIS Finance department concerning the status of the complainant's refund check. The Finance department confirmed that - as of that date - the refund check had not been cashed.

16. On February 3, 2014, CONEXIS Finance voided the previously issued refund check and mailed a replacement check (check number XXXXXXXX for $247.56) to the complainant's updated address.

17. On February 7, 2014, CONEXIS Finance received notification from Comerica Bank that the complainant's previous ACH payment (applied to his account on December 27, 2013) had been rejected due to a revocation of ACH authorization. The previously applied credit of $247.56 was debited from the complainant's account. This, coupled with the refund check mailed on February 3, 2014, resulted in the complainant's account reflecting a paid-through date of November 30, 2013.

18. On February 12, 2014, CONEXIS Finance voided the reissued refund check (see Line Item 16, above) to restore the complainant's correct paid-through date of December 31, 2013.

19. Also on February 12, 2014, a CONEXIS Support Services representative attempted to contact the complainant via telephone to advise him of the sequence of events delineated above and to offer any additional assistance he or his spouse may require. According to CONEXIS call documentation, neither the complainant nor the complainant's spouse was available. The CONEXIS Support Services representative left a voicemail message requesting a call back.

We regret any inconvenience or frustration the complainant or his spouse experienced during this time.

As of today, the complainant's account correctly shows a paid-through date of December 31, 2013 and that any funds received for periods of coverage after this date should be restored to his banking account. As such, we believe the issues that form this complaint have been resolved to the best of our ability within the scope of our contract with FirstEnergy.

Sincerely,
'
CONEXIS Benefits Administrators, LP


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
would not take address over the phone and have not lived at that address since 2008. they did have the correct address because we sent a voided check for them to take out automatic from checking account for payment.

Final Business Response
The address on file and in our system was provided by FirstEnergy on regular data files. As previously stated, any changes to the address - for security and data integrity purposes - were needed in writing from the client or the complainant (again, CONEXIS informed the complainant's spouse on January 30 that address change requests must be submitted in writing and provided her with all of the contact information to facilitate the change; we received an amended address from FirstEnergy in writing on January 30 and processed the change on the same day). We cannot process address changes based solely on an address listed on a voided check.
We again reiterate that the cancellation of coverage was processed as soon as practicable following notification from FirstEnergy. The refund check was issued to the address on file provided by FirstEnergy. Address updates were processed as soon as practicable following receipt of the information. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the complainant experienced; we believe these issues were addressed to the best of our ability and within the scope of our contract with FirstEnergy.

04/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues
08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
03/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Health care benefits cancelled with provider as of 11/30/2015 though Conexis paid in full YTD
Conexis claims they are sending eligibility file to Aetna and it is Aetna who is not performing. Aetna claims there is something wrong with the file being sent as it continues to cancel my health coverage. Conexis has been non-responsive in resolving the issue.

Desired Settlement
Need to have health care benefits on a monthly basis and the eligibility file repaired permanently

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your January 25, 2016 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of Tyco International, Inc. ("the Client") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations under the provisions of the federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as subsequently amended (COBRA), and certain obligations for billing and collecting health coverage premiums through means other than payroll deductions ("Direct Bill") for certain eligible employees, retirees, and their respective dependents for coverage under one or more group health plans. Our contracted duties include, but are not limited to, distribution of required notices on behalf of the plan administrator, addressing qualified beneficiary and Direct Bill participant inquiries, and premium billing and collection.
In this capacity as a contracted agent of the Client, CONEXIS' contractual duties are strictly ministerial in nature. The Client retains the sole responsibility and liability for establishment and operation of the group health plan(s), construing and interpreting the provisions of the group health plan(s) maintained by the Client (the "Plan"), and deciding all questions of fact arising under the Plan.
In addition, in this capacity as a contracted agent, CONEXIS does not serve as the "Plan Administrator" or "named Fiduciary" as defined by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA"), whether or not ERISA is applicable. It remains the sole responsibility of the Client to ensure compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. CONEXIS' provision of services under the terms and conditions of its contract does not relieve the Client of this resulting liability related to non-compliance. As such, CONEXIS' provision of services are generally performed in accordance with the terms established by the employer, its instructions to CONEXIS, and/or standard operating procedures.
We conducted a thorough audit of the complainant's account in response to his request for assistance. On February 2, 2016, a discrepancy was discovered on the complainant's record in which his record was incorrectly associated with the Client's COBRA qualified beneficiary population ("ACS179") instead of the appropriate Direct Bill population ("SIMPLEX TIME RECORDER RETIREES").
Due to this configuration error, the complainant's group health plan carriers were unable to correctly process the standard weekly eligibility reports previously transmitted for purposes of updating the complainant's eligibility information to receive benefits.
This configuration error has since been corrected and eligibility reports sent on the complainant's behalf to his group health plan insurance carriers have accurately contained his Direct Bill eligibility coding information as of February 8, 2016.
Furthermore, we have contacted the complainant's group health plan carriers directly to verify coverage for himself and his eligible family members is active and up-to-date.
Also, CONEXIS call documentation indicates a Participant Services supervisor spoke with the complainant directly on January 25, 2016 to confirm we were working directly to address and correct any unresolved issues concerning his account and to provide a direct telephone number for the complainant to call if he needed additional assistance in the interim. Call records also reflect a subsequent call was placed to the complainant on February 17, 2016 to affirm his group health plan carriers had confirmed the updates to his respective records and to provide any additional assistance he may require.
As such, we believe we have addressed the sequence of events surrounding the complainant's request for assistance to the best of our ability and within the scope of our contracted service agreement with the Client.
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or require additional information.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS

01/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NOT sure why they're denying these claims the merchants are: Las Vegas Urgent care, Scripps Encinitas hospital, & Dr. ** **** Med. Ctr. All medecal
October 2015 medical reimbursement of charges.

Desired Settlement
A call, explaining why they are denied. Using an FSA, I did not sign up for it for 2016 there is no phone number to contact these people and they only send you letters and give you a fax number I don't even know what they're asking for a while its denied if there was a phone number I could call so someone could explain it to me it would be very beneficial.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your December 17, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of DEI Holdings/Directed Electronics ("the Client") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations under one or more of its established healthcare, dependent care, or other reimbursement account arrangements and - in part - providing assistance in its compliance with the Internal Revenue Service ("IRS")) and the Internal Revenue Code.
As such, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with the Client, in compliance with the Client's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance.
Furthermore, a senior member of the CONEXIS Participant Services department attempted to contact the complainant directly via telephone on December 18, 2015 to provide additional assistance in resolving the issues that form this complaint and to explain the applicable provisions of federal law governing the sequence of events surrounding the complainant's request for assistance. As the complainant was unavailable, the CONEXIS employee left a voicemail message providing a direct telephone number so she could discuss the particulars of the complaint and for CONEXIS to provide her with all the information she may require to address her concerns.
As of today, we have no record of having received a call back from the complainant. We will make another attempt to contact her and provide assistance.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS

12/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In short....I have been trying to get my refund check of 1402.29 for over a month now and they giving me the run around and all kind of excuses. Was told on 11/19/15 that my refund check would be mailed out on 11/30/15 so I called them yesterday Monday 12/01/15 and now being told that is was not mailed out that there is another issue. They withdrew my funds from my checking account on 11/10/15. I just want my money refunded to me. So if any way possible that you can help it would be greatly appreciated. I can not get Heath insurance until I get my refund

Desired Settlement
Just want my refund of 1402.29

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your December 3, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of Excel Industrial Services, LLC ("Excel") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended (COBRA). CONEXIS is not a provider of insurance benefits.
As such, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (877) 722-2667 to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with Excel, in compliance with Excel's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance.
Furthermore, a senior member of the CONEXIS Participant Services department spoke with the complainant directly via telephone on December 16, 2015 to provide additional assistance in resolving the issues that form this complaint.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a grace period for continuation of my coverage but the company closed my account prior to that date.
I was fired from my employer and wanted to continue my health care while searching for another job. My company chose Conexis as the company to handle my elected COBRA coverage. Conexis requests that you create an online account to manage your transactions. I was sent a letter indicating that I had a grace period on my account that was good until 3/3/2015. I attempted to make a payment on 3/2/2015 only to be advised that "coverage has been canceled". I immediately sent an email (as directed) requesting instruction for resolution. I also called them and was told by one of their representatives that I should send a payment by mail. I did so, actually paying two (2) months of premium. It took them several weeks to respond to my email. I got a letter from them indicating that my coverage had been terminated due to lack of payment. I filed an appeal as I tried to pay, but due to their actions I was unable to access my online account. I also mentioned that I took the actions as directed by their employee and sent a payment. I got another letter stating they were upholding their prior decision. They did not acknowledge that the proximate cause of the issue was one that they created. They did not offer any considerations for their actions which placed me at risk of losing my insurance coverage. To date, I am still trying to resolve the issue but with similar responses and no acknowledgement of the errors on their end or how this is affecting me.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to reinstate my coverage for which I will be happy to resend the returned check and pay for the months in question.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your November 25, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of Property Damage Appraisers, Inc. ("the Client") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended (COBRA).
As such, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed ** part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with the Client, in compliance with the Client's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance.
Furthermore, CONEXIS mailed a detailed letter to the complainant on or around December 2, 2015 addressing the specifics of his complaint and providing instruction as to how he may submit substantiating documentation for review by the Client as plan administrator.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS

12/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've had ongoing problems with Conexis crediting my monthly premium to keep my account instated. Just logged on their site and it now says that my 10/15/15 dental cleaning won't be covered: I'm ineligible because my plan expired.This isn't possible, because I've made all payments, they're shown as posted on their site, and I've received no notices about end of coverage. Conexis also reduced coverage without prior notice (and my dentist said it happened to other current and former customers at my former employerperhaps all of them). Conexis lowered the maximum allowable charges and sent me a letter on 11/11/15 saying that change in coverage was effective 10/1/15. This affects the bill from my dentist for a routine cleaning, which was double the amount I've paid in the past. I've already received a bill for and paid my dentist for the 10/15/15 service, which makes it especially strange that Conexis's website says I'm ineligible for coverage.
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like Conexis to show my coverage as current on their website. I would also like for them to cover my 10/15/15 dental service at the previously agreed-to rate, since I was not notified about the change in coverage until 11/11/15.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
We are in receipt of your November 24, 2015 correspondence regarding a complaint affiliated with Case # XXXXXXXX.
CONEXIS, a division of WageWorks, Inc. ("CONEXIS"), performs ministerial tasks on behalf of Hallmark Cards, Inc. ("Hallmark") to assist it with satisfying certain administrative obligations under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended (COBRA). CONEXIS is not a provider of insurance benefits.
As such, CONEXIS is subject to certain restrictions on uses and disclosures of protected health information in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), passed ** part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).
We cannot discuss the details surrounding this complaint without the complainant's written authorization. The complainant may contact CONEXIS at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to request a HIPAA authorization form.
While we cannot discuss specific details surrounding the individual's complaint without the complainant's written authorization, we can confirm that we have addressed the concerns to the best of our ability within the scope of our contractual agreement with Hallmark, in compliance with Hallmark's instructions to CONEXIS, and in accordance with applicable regulatory guidance.
Furthermore, a senior member of the CONEXIS Participant Services department contacted the complainant directly via telephone on December 7, 2015 to provide additional assistance in resolving the issues that form this complaint. We have also verified the complainant's applicable insurance provider has verified her account is current and the complainant is eligible to receive benefits for the current benefit period.
Beyond that, we require written authorization to further discuss.
Sincerely,

CONEXIS

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Third Party Administrator of Employee Benefits, Employee Benefit Plans, Billing Service, Health Savings Administrators

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.