BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2009

J & M Pool Plastering, Inc.

Phone: (214) 227-4498Fax: (214) 227-44981127 N 1st St, GarlandTX 75040-5101 Send email to J & M Pool Plastering, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2009

BBB has determined that J & M Pool Plastering, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J & M Pool Plastering, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on J & M Pool Plastering, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid ************* a total of $3920 for replastering my pool with Pearl Brite which has a guantee of 5yrs. Plaster is peeling within 1yr/4mths.
On 4/9/13 Mr. ********* gave me a proposal on resurfacing my pool, which among other things included -Applying two coats of new plaster trowel, by hand until smooth
-apply bond coat to entire pool surface

On 4/18/2012, I submitted a payment of $1960 in form of a cashiers check and the following week submitted the other half which totaled $3830.00
I spoke to Mr. ********* today (10/09/13) and explained that the plaster was showing corosion. When he gave me the proposal on 04/09/2013 He explained that by adding Pearl Brite which included an extra $500.00, I would be guaranteed for 5 years (plaster). I am extrememly dissapointed to say the least. I asked him to come out and look at it and he said he would have to charge a service fee to come out and I would also be charged for repairs because it was passed *** 1 year guarantee. I told him " the guarantee on the plaster is good for 5 years and he said he has nothing to do with it. So then why did I pay an extra $500.00 if he will not honor the Pearl Brite plaster he used to resuface my pool. He stated I needed to contact PearlBrite.(Which he provided no number for)
My wife ****** called him shortly after and had him on speaker phone. She asked how much time would PearlBrite plaster last and he said 8 to 12 years, depending on how the pool is taken care of then she proceeded to tell him who she was by introducing herself and explained the corrosion on the plaster and he stated we needed to contact PearlBrite. He was the one who purchased the product poured it into my pool and used it to resurface my pool. He should be the one honoring his work and contacting them. I have proof and paperwork that prove my pool gets treated and is properly maintained. I do not neglect my pool in any way. Mr. ********* charged $2100.00 for Plaster plus $500.00 for adding PearlBrite and $1000.00 for tile and $230 for sico flex. I am requesting repairs or refund only on the plaster and PearlBrite used to resurface my pool ($2100 plus $500, a total of $2600) I am willing to submit picutres and or paperwork of all receipts including pool maintaince over this past year.
Additionally, I would like to add:
Mr. ********* told us to contact PearlBrite, my wife told him "he should be the one contacting them since he was the one who used their product on our pool. He then stated, "He wasn't supposed to be telling us anything about PearlBrite or even telling us that we should be contacting them because he was not suppose to. This made no sense to us. My wife and I tried to come with an agreement with Mr. ********* but he cares less. He received the money last year and that is all that matters to him.
I will be contacting a reputable company for a second opinion and will take legal action if this issue does not get resolved.
Thank you for your time in reading this letter.

Sincerely,
****** ****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like for him to repair the corosion on the plaster or a refund of $2600

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********/ President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@yahoo.com
To whom it may concern. We plastered the pool over a year ago. We only give a one year warranty on our work. After the first year they will have to go through the manufactory depending on what kind of material they used. If he was still under warranty with us we would be more than happy to help. The $500.00 that they paid was because the material they used was an upgrade. We gave them the warranty information when we finished our job. They are suppose to register with the manufacture in order to get warranty from them. By going to their website www.sgm.cc and here is the number for the manufacture XXX-XXX-XXXX. Also here is the batch number of the material that we used TXXXXXXXXXX in case they missed placed it. They will need when they talk to the manufacture. I have been trying to explain to them that the manufacture has a plaster rep. to take a look at their pool. Once again I just want to clear that the $500.00 they paid is not for extend warranty with us. It was just a charge for the upgrade material. However they still have warranty through the manufacture.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted sgm.cc by calling the toll free number provided in the response from bbb. Sgm.cc stated the pool company (J&M -**** *********) or someone who works for him should have registered for the warranty to be valid. This is the first I hear about registering for the plaster to be under warranty. **** ********* verbally said I was guaranteed for 5 years by using PearlBrite. He never once told us about registering the product. He certainly never gave us such batch number. On the contrary when my wife spoke to him last week he stated he wasn't suppose to tell us of such warranty. This all sounded very odd to us...my wife had him on speakerphone when he said this.
**** ********* should have registered the product since his company performed the job on our pool. I left a message for the pool plaster representative from sgm.cc who works the Dallas/Fort Woth area and now I'm waiting on a call back. I was able to speak to a different representative today who basically said that this product should have been registered when the job was completed by the company who used the product They may/may not send someone out to evaluate to see if it was a defect of their product or if it was plastered incorrectly. This is all emotionally exhausting. I should not have to do all the leg work. That's why I paid what I though was a reputable company to plaster and remodel my pool. I will communicate with BBB when I get an estimate on plaster repair or when the plaster representative from sgm.cc contacts me. This should be later this week.
I still ask that j&m honor the product they used and do the right thing and fix the problem which is to fix the corrosion of plaster.

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company failed to honor their contract and has provided very poor customer service
We contracted *&* **** ********** in October of 2013 to repair a crack in our pool. They completed their work after 10 days of starts and stops. The weather was NOT a factor. During this time, they left the pool with no water in it which resulted in the plaster drying out in some areas and cracks developed in the plaster of those areas. They also left the acid wash on the plaster for too long which caused significant staining in those areas.

This June 2014, we noticed that the crack repair that they had done had failed and we were (are) losing water at the rate of 1 inch per day. In their contract they clearly state that there is no warranty on cracks that reappear, however, they also clearly state that they will fix cracks if the pool is losing water. I have called the business 8 times and have only received 2 call backs from the receptionist. A worker finally came to inspect the crack and promised to return in a couple days to re-plaster the crack. It has been 10 days and nothing has been done and no explanation why. I will NOT recommend this business to anyone!

Desired Settlement
Nothing more than what they promised ... to repair cracks that are losing water.

Business Response
This issue has been resolved. Costumer was notified that warranty does not cover problems caused by acts of nature. However we pride our selves in providing the best service possible. And took care of the matter

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue is NOT RESOLVED! They have only promised (once again) to come out and repair the leak caused by the crack reappearing. THE ISSUE WILL NOT BE RESOLVED until they do what they wrote into the original contract which was ... " There's no warranty on cracks reappearing. We will go out and fix crack if pool is losing water"

Final Business Response
Good morning I have spoken to Mr. ****** and have resolved the issue. He mentioned that he had already had written the back to the BBB and cleared it all up please change the unresolved to resolved. Being that this matter has been resolved with Mr. ******

01/16/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Landscape Lighting, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/17/2009Business started: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2002, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Hernandez (President / Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Landscape Lighting, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J & M Pool Plastering, Inc.

1127 N 1st St

Garland, TX 75040-5101

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1127 N 1st St 

    Garland, TX 75040-5101(214) 227-4498

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J & M Pool Plastering, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.