BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

ASP Dallas

Phone: (214) 503-7171Fax: (214) 503-7371View Additional Phone Numbers17714 Bannister St STE 3, DallasTX 75252-3022 Send email to ASP DallasView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

BBB has determined that ASP Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ASP Dallas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ASP Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The requested repair service was not completed as originally requested
Requested service for pool vac not functioning. I specifically asked if they were capable of clearing vac line in pool as thought this was the issue and was assured they had the ability. Service tech came to location and said my vac line was fine but acknowledged he did not have the capability to clear the line. He told me to buy a new pool vac. After purchasing a new pool vac (model recommended by tech), it will not function on vac line due to obvious lack of suction (new vac works fine if plugged into skimmer line). So now I have paid for new pool vac and service call and still do not have my vac line cleared. I contacted ASP on 2/19 about my concern and was told they would send someone out but would have to call me in a few days with schedule. I never heard back so replied to their billing email about the situation and to reverse my charges. I sent this email on 2/25 and never heard back from the company (and they still charged me for the (non) service)

Desired Settlement
Fix the issue or refund my money.

Final Consumer Response
Issue has been resolved after discussion with the business and this complaint can be closed

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shoddy unsupervised work leading to numerous problems
ASP is short for America's Swimming Pool Co. They were selected from a number of Dallas Swimming Pool companies quoting to repair and rebuild our pool based on the fact they would be using epoxy and staples to repair numerous cracks and one major leak as well as replastering and installing new tile. They convinced us to also add new coping to the deck on the pool to make it look better. My wife was motivated to also install a large colorful tile sun decoration in the center of the pool. It became obvious almost immediately they were using sub-contractors to do all the work. The problem was there was absolutely no supervision of the numerous sub-contractors as they did they work.
The first problem started when they exposed the crack in the gunnite as they cut away the deck for the coping. Instead of fixing the crack the sub-contractor just covered it up with tile and some plaster. I had taken pictures when I realized the work was being all done by sub-contractors. I took pictures of the crack in the gunnite. The next morning the worker covered up the crack without any attempt to repair it, I called Darren at ASP and had him come out. I provided copies of the pictures of the crack and it being hidden by the worker behind some tile and plaster to Darren. Darren told me to not worry about it because their company provided a one year guarantee that the pool would not leak after all the work was done. Nothing was done to fix the crack and leak area. Two days after all the pool work was finished and the last check collected the pool leaked down 7".
The next problem is the workers cut not only the deck to accommodate the new coping but they also cut all the rebar that held the deck to the pool base. The stone for the coping was put into place without any replaced rebar holding the pool deck to the base of the pool or the coping to the deck. This caused the pool deck to move to the point it cracked the top skimmer ring in a number of places. The deck including the top section of the skimmer has moved more than an inch to the point the skimmer hole is now an oval and it is impossible to take out the skimmer basket to empty it.
The next problem is they replaced the main pump with a pump that can be set to different speeds and pressure. The original pump had run for a couple of days with no problem. The new pump was set to run at a low speed for 12 hours and then to double the speed and pressure for the next 12 hours. As this cycled on the 2nd day the shift to the high speed cycle blew out the pipe by the skimmer. It was fixed at an additional $900 cost and since then it leaves a ring of sand dust in the pool every day.
When they came out to fix the leak a second time, the workers who spoke no English cut out the plaster in a 3" to 6" band across the width of the pool plus a 3' strip to one side. When asked why this was done, because it the cutout had nothing to do with the leak, no one spoke English. Darren was called again and he explained it as they were searching for the leak.
The next problem was they were supposed to cut a three inch groove along each crack and fill it with epoxy so it could fill the crack and stop any other unknown leaks. They charged me for 65' of crack repair but never used any epoxy as was originally agreed. They installed 37 staples and plastered over the cracks and staples. The worker installing the staples was asked about the epoxy and he said he had no epoxy.
The owner of the local ASP franchise came out after I wrote a review outlining the above to Angie's list and also to the Google Review of Contractors. He spent a couple of hours trying to convince me nothing was his fault. Before he left he said they would do a check for leaks and fix the nasty looking scar they had cut out across the pool. A day before they were supposed to come out to do the work they sent me an email that they had changed their mind and they weren't going to do anything and that they had turned the compl

Desired Settlement
Before he left he said they would do a check for leaks and fix the nasty looking scar they had cut out across the pool. A day before they were supposed to come out to do the work they sent me an email that they had changed their mind and they weren't going to do anything and that they had turned the complaint over to their insurance company.
The CNA insurance company called a week later and said they had received a complaint from a ******** Pool Service that I was claiming Poor Workmanship. I told them I had never heard of ******** Pool Service. They said that ******** Pool Service and ASP were the same company and that a file was being set up and I should send in whatever complaints I had. I told them that Darren who I understood was the manager for ASP had made numerous promises to me that all workmanship was covered and he used both terms of guaranteed and warranted for a year after they finished the work. Before I had submitted anything to the CNA insurance company as a claim and even before the guarantee year was up, ASP not only did not honor any of the promises made but I also received a letter from the insurance company they had declined the claim. I had never heard of an insurance company denying a claim before it was submitted.
In my opinion ASP / ******** Pool Service should not be in the pool rehabilitation business. They not only do not know what they are doing but do not supervise any sub-contractors they hire to do the work. It's also obvious they don't honor their one year warranty/guarantee or promises made before they receive the final payment. The one year period ended this week. I need them to either fix all the problems or refund the $25,000 it has cost me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ********, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@asppoolco.com
.
My name is ******** ********. I own ASP of Dallas. Here are my responses to the complaints the customer raises:
1. The pool was empty when we arrived to give an estimate. The customer did not remember me but I had been out to look at the pool about 3 years previously. At that time three years ago the pool was empty and in very bad shape. It had cracks that had been sealed by another company sometime in the past and due to being empty for so long and being such an old pool (approximately 40 years old) it was obviously in very poor condition.
2. Regarding the crack by the skimmer which the customer pointed out to Darren, it was in a spot where the pool curves and in the tile line it is difficult to adequately bend a staple for that spot. That crack did reopen and we did pull up the coping and tile and seal the crack and we put in a small staple. So that issue was resolved but the homeowner does not mention this in his complaint.
3. After speaking with a CBP (certified building professional certified by APSP is the Association of Pool and Spa Professionals), Mr. Bob Iovinelli, he confirmed the following: the procedure we used for cutting away the cantilever deck is normal and customary. Deck movement in Dallas, Texas is quite common. I have experienced it in my own deck at home. Additionally, our observation initially was that the deck had cracked quite a bit and moved before we began our work. Expanding and contracting soil in Texas is common and there is no evidence that the skimmer becoming oval instead of round had anything to do with our work.
4. We replaced his pump with a standard multispeed pump manufactured by a well known manufacturer of pool equipment. The horse power is well within parameters for pool plumbing (1.5 HP full rated). Additionally, when we found the leaking pvc part, it was a cracked fitting. Any competent pool professional will agree that it is impossible for a pump to cause a crack in a pvc fitting. Cracks of this kind only happen as a result of tension applied to the pvc part because of ground movement or tree roots or some other force or torque applied to the pvc. The pump had absolutely nothing to do with the pvc crack beneath the deck.
5. As mentioned before, the pool had multiple cracks. In trying to make sure we sealed all of the cracks that were leaking, the cut in the plaster was done. This caused no damage to the gunite structure of the pool. The crack was patched and I told the customer we would replaster the whole pool so that crack would not show. However the pool was possibly leaking and a leak detection needed to be done. I proposed that if the leak detection showed that any of our crack repairs were leaking that we would pay for the leak detection and the repair. I also proposed that if our cracks were not leaking and the leak or leaks were somewhere else in the pool structure or plumbing that he would pay for the leak detection and the repair. He turned away from me very unhappy and walked away. He did not agree to the terms and we never scheduled the work. He was coming across in a threatening manner so we decided to contact our insurance carrier and have them investigate. I have a letter from my insurance co. dated February 4, 2015. The letter lists a claim number and the customer's name as the Claimant. I have another letter from the insurance company dated March 25. The letter stated that the case was still under investigation. So the case was open for at least 7 weeks. I am not sure when the case was closed but as far as I know the insurance company concluded that we were not at fault.
We are still prepared to replaster the pool under the same conditions. And we do in fact warranty certain things as long as the customer is cooperative and reasonable and not coming out with complaints and demands and threats about things that are clearly not our fault.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******** seems to have his facts all mixed up, is only telling part of the facts, and some of his response is just not true. Item #1, In 2010 I had a company redo my pool with a replaster, retile and to fix a leak. The company who did the work failed to use a binder/sealer for the replaster and retile work they did. Both the tiles and plaster pealed off over two summers and the leak at the skimmer increased. I had a number of companies give me bids to redo the work the following spring. If Mr. ******** gave me a bid at that time it was with a different company name. I left the pool empty for two years and saved my money for the rework. This time Mr.********'s salesman, Darren, gave me an estimate as ASP for repair and also to remove the pool. He told me that I did not have to take the pool out because for about the same money they could make it look great and repair the leak. They quoted me #16,000 which ended up being $25,000+.
Item #2 Part of my complaint is that there was no supervision or oversight of the sub-contractors. Mr. Foresters comments here show how bad the lack of management was. Mr ******** says they couldn't put in a staple at the leak area. The truth is they put in three staples on the first repair and added another staple on the redo. Item #3 The deck was tied to the base pool with rebar and the deck did not have any significant cracks and had certainly not moved before they cut all the rebar connecting the deck to the base. The movement is obvious since they cut the rebar and as the deck is moving it is cracking and crumbling in the movement areas. I have had numerous pool professionals provide second opinions and the consensus is the cutting of the rebar ties to the deck and not replacing any ties are the cause of the movement, cracking and crumbling of the deck. The skimmer was connected to both the base and the deck and as the deck is moving it's crushing the skimmer part protruding into the deck. Item #4 I called the manufacturer of the pump and they told me the new pump switches speeds and when its at low speed and switches to high speed it will slam the piping with twice the pressure and can break the piping at the first 90 degree pipe joint. The broken pipe was at the first 90 degree joint and it broke the joint in half. Item #5 Mr. ******** is doing double talk drabble here. Plaster is not what leaks, cracked gunnite is what leaks to the outside of a pool. He says they cut the plaster and this caused no damage to the gunnite. They were supposed to cut into the gunnite along the cracks into which they were supposed to inject epoxy. The epoxy is what seals the crack and stops the leak. ASP gave me two documents that says their crack repair was the use of both epoxy and staples and Darren explained in detail how they do the repair. They short changed the epoxy and did not use epoxy anywhere on the pool. This is why the pool leaked 7" two days after they finished their work. They came back and had to redo their crack repair at the known leak site and again did not use epoxy. Mr. ******** says ASP did not offer to do any further repairs> I have emails from ASP where they agree to do further repairs and schedule a repair date. I also have a copy of their email where the day before they are supposed to come out they cancel the repair and say no repairs will be done because they have turned the problem over to their insurance company. I have since filed a claim with their insurance company that includes 10 pages of descriptive complaints, 3 documents, 3 pages of a professional pool companies second opinion, 3 pages of an estimate to restore ASP damages, 10 pages of emails covering the issues between ASP and I, and 57 pictures I took while the work was being done or not done as it was supposed to be done.
I am happy to make copies of the claim available to anyone who wants a copy just send me an email at ***@redcarpetcompanies.com and mention pool repair.

Final Business Response
In my July 10 response I offered to cut a square around the skimmer and remove that portion of the deck that is pressing against the skimmer. Once again, I am offering to cut a square around the skimmer, remove the deck in that area, replace that portion of deck and thereby relieve the pressure on the skimmer. Why has the homeowner not given us authorization to do that?

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools - Public, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pools - Removal, Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/28/1998Business started: 04/01/1992
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Herschel Forester (Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools - Public, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pools - Removal, Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Americas Swimming Pool Co. of Dallas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ASP Dallas

17714 Bannister St STE 3

Dallas, TX 75252-3022

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 17714 Bannister St STE 3 

    Dallas, TX 75252-3022

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ASP Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 957-5934
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.