BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1975

Dickson Brothers, Inc.

Phone: (972) 288-7537Fax: (972) 288-7536204 N Galloway Ave, MesquiteTX 75149-4324 Send email to Dickson Brothers, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1975

BBB has determined that Dickson Brothers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dickson Brothers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dickson Brothers, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dickson Brothers Inc. sold me 6 polished brass escutcheons that were defective. They have refused to supply a new set of escutcheons.

I purchased 6 polished brass escutcheons assemblies (part No. HZ-XX-XXX-XXXX) from Dickson Brothers Inc. on 27 March 2015. The escutcheons were installed in an acrylic garden tub. The polished brass coating started to flake off exposing an underlying polished chrome surface. I took one into Dickson Brothers and made Mr. Patrick Obriant aware of the problem. The item is under a 1-year warranty.
Mr. Obriant contacted their distributor and got them to replace the escutcheons. I received the replacements on 6 June 2015. I noticed a different problem with the new set of escutcheons shortly after installation. The exposed plates surrounding the water jets were displaying a mottled appearance.
I took one of the escutcheons back on 16 July 2015 and discussed the problem with John (?) the sales manager. He took a photograph of the escutcheon and gave it to Mr. Obriant. Mr. Obriant called me on 23 July 2015 and told me that he had discussed the problem with their distributor and that the escutcheons would not be replaced because they had been damage by an abrasive or a harsh cleaner that had been used by me.
These escutcheons were installed in an acrylic garden tub. They were exposed to bubble bath, shampoo and hand soap. No abrasives or a harsh cleaners were used to clean them.
I asked Mr. Obriant to give me the name of their supplier and the contact at that company so that I could follow up on the problem. He told me that the escutcheons were purchased from Balboa Water Group located in Tustin, CA (Susan XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 6280). I called Susan and she checked for the order and informed me that the items had not been purchased from Balboa Water Group. I called Mr. Obriant to get the correct name of their supplier. He refused to give me that information.
The product sold to me was defective.

Desired Settlement
The product sold to me was defective. I am asking that Dickson Brother Inc. reimburse me for the cost of the escutcheons and all shipping charges.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to re-state information that has already been discussed with Mr. *********. He purchased 6 escutcheon assemblies from Dickson Bros. on March 27, 2015. This was a special order. We do not provide refunds on special orders and the customer signed an acknowledgment of this on the invoice when he paid for the product up front. Please see attached invoice with customer's signature.

When the customer first brought the escutcheon back to the store to show the problem with the escutcheon, we contacted the distributor from which we purchased the escutcheons for the customer. The distributor looked at the problem and determined that it was not a manufacturer's defect and was not a warrantable condition. However, as a favor to Dickson Bros. in giving the best service possible service to our customers, the distributor agreed to replace them even though they were not covered by the warranty.

The second time the customer brought the escutcheon in, the distributor looked at the photo of the escutcheon and determined again that the problem was not a warrantable condition. The problem was not with the escutcheon but was with what the customer was doing with them. From the photo, it's clear the customer (or someone at his location) is using an abrasive or chemical that is causing the problem. Therefore, the distributor said that the parts were not covered under the warranty and that they would not provide replacement parts yet again. The distributor does not warranty for abuse, only for manufacturer defects. The problem is not from a defect, but from abuse or mistreatment of the product.

The customer states that the only thing the escutcheons were exposed to was bubble bath, shampoo and hand soap and that no abrasives or harsh cleaners were used to clean them. However, it is clear from the photos of the escutcheons he brought in to Dickson Bros. that the escutcheon is scratched significantly. Only an abrasive could have caused this. Please see attached photos of the escutcheon the customer brought in.

When we informed the customer that the escutcheons would not be replaced a second time because the problem was from misuse, not a manufacturing defect and that the manufacturer's warranty did not cover misuse of the product, he was not satisfied. The customer then asked for the contact information of the manufacturer, which is Balboa Water Group. However, Balboa sells through distributors. As a company policy, we do not provide information on our suppliers, as they do not deal with the public. Balboa would not have information on the purchase of the escutcheons. If the customer had simply asked the manufacturer for a second opinion on the problem with his escutcheons, Balboa would have likely looked at the photos of them and determined there was abuse and that it was not a manufacturing defect, just as the distributor determined from their vast experience with this product.

Our distributor has also written a letter explaining the problem with the product and the cause of such problem. Please see attached letter from the distributor.

In conclusion, the customer purchased a custom product for which no refunds are provided and he agreed to such when he purchased them. The product is warrantied for manufacturer defects only. The customer, or someone at his location caused the problem with the product through using an abrasive or chemical on them that caused the significant scratches and damage to the product. Instead of taking accountability for his actions, the customer would rather blame Dickson Brothers for a non-existent defect. The problem with the product is not covered by the warranty because it is not caused by a manufacturer's defect. As a result, Dickson Bros. does not owe a refund or a replacement of the parts to the customer. Copies of purchase invoices, product pictures and supplier email communication is attached.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree with Dickson Bros. response and contention that the polished brass escutcheon assemblies purchased by me were damaged through the use of harsh cleaning solutions, abrasives or scrubbing. I also disagree with the contention made by Horizon Spa & Pool Parts, Inc., Sales and Customer Service Team Lead, Mr. Bruce Johnson that the escutcheons may have been damaged by "water chemistry." I again restate that the escutcheons are installed in an acrylic garden tub where bubble bath, shampoo and hand soap were the only product used.
I'm sure that Dickson Bros. and Horizon Spa & Pool Parts know you do not use harsh cleaning solutions, abrasives or scrubbing to clean an acrylic bath tub. This garden tub was installed in 1987. The original polished brass escutcheons still had their shiny polished brass finish after almost 30 years of use. The only reason that I decided to replace them was because they had some calcium buildup and we were preparing to sell our home. This proved to be a mistake because of the shoddy product sold to me by Dickson Bros. and purchased by them from Horizon Spa & Pool Parts, Inc.
I had Dickson Bros. test a sample of the potable water used to fill the bath tub. The chemistry came back as normal drinking water. These results negate the contention by Mr. Bruce Johnson that water chemistry could be the issue.
The polished brass escutcheon assemblies consist of two main polished brass parts. The surface of the escutcheon plates shown in Dickson Bros. photos are the part that shows damage. They do not show scratching. Their surfaces appear either mottled or there are areas where the brass plating has sluffed off to expose a polished chrome finish. Surprisingly the polished brass jets show no damage. I would think that these parts would also show some evidence of damage caused by use of harsh cleaning solutions, abrasives or scrubbing.
I will not tolerate Dickson Brothers' accusation that "The customer, or someone at his location caused the problem with the product through using an abrasive or chemical on them that caused the significant scratches and damage to the product. Instead of taking accountability for his actions, the customer would rather blame Dickson Brothers for a non-existent defect." The defect is not "...a non-existent defect." The product supplied by Dickson Bros. is of sub par quality and is defective.
Two sets of 6 polished brass escutcheon assemblies showed signs of damage within months of purchase and installation. This is unacceptable. The product sold by Dickson Bros. is of poor quality and workmanship, and should be either replaced under the 1 year warranty or all monies paid by me, including shipping costs, should be refunded immediately. I do not plan on going through an accusatory back-and-forth with Dickson Bros. on this issue. I will pursue other actions if this matter is not resolved to my complete satisfaction through arbitration.


Final Business Response
In light of Mr. *********'s response, I have been in contact again with both our distributor and also Susan at Balboa, the manufacturer, with whom Mr. ********* has also spoken. They still maintain that from the pictures, the nozzles appear to be failing due to abuse, but are willing to take a look at the actual nozzles, rather than just a picture. This is a quote from Susan's email "Whoever has the parts will send them back at their expense (normal procedure). We will determine once received if it is our quality or if the end user mistreated the part. If it is our quality then we will replace and ship back at no charge. If it is end user abuse, then no replacement, no credit. Thanks! Susan DeLair, Customer Service, Balboa Water Group."
Balboa, like Dickson Brothers, has been in business for many years, providing quality products. If Mr. ********* agrees, he can bring the nozzles to us, we will return them to the manufacturer for final determination. This is more than fair.
Thank you, Mary


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate that Dickson Bros, Balboa Water Group and Horizon Spa & Pool Parts are trying to resolve the defective product issue. Their proposed resolution, however, is unacceptable.

I would like the representatives of these companies to explain to me why I would:
1. install the new escutcheon assemblies,
2. proceed to damage their surfaces, according to the seller and supplier, by using "...an abrasive or chemical ..." in an acrylic tub,
3. remove the defective escutcheon assemblies and replace them with the a new set provided through Dickson Bros, and
4. then again proceed to damage their surfaces by using "...an abrasive or chemical ..."
Does this make sense?

I believe that the seller or supplier can only provide a reasonable interpretation of the cause of the problem by seeing the garden tub with its installed polished brass fixtures. I am willing to meet in my home and show them the acrylic tub and fixtures.

I still maintain that the two sets of 6 polished brass escutcheon were defective. They showed signs of damage shortly after purchase, installation and normal use in a bath tub. This is unacceptable. The product sold by Dickson Bros and supplied by Horizon Spa & Pool Parts is of poor quality and workmanship, and should be either replaced under the 1 year warranty or all monies paid by me, including shipping costs, should be refunded immediately. I will pursue other actions if this matter is not resolved to my complete satisfaction.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Fountains - Garden, Display, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1975Business started: 01/03/1973Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Traveland (President)Customer Contact: Mr Allan Crocker (VP)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Fountains - Garden, Display, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dickson Brothers, Inc.

204 N Galloway Ave

Mesquite, TX 75149-4324

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 204 N Galloway Ave 

    Mesquite, TX 75149-4324(972) 288-7537

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dickson Brothers, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.