BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1985

True Joy Pools, Inc.

Phone: (972) 539-7946Fax: (940) 497-17125002 S Stemmons Fwy, Lake DallasTX 75065-2773 Send email to True Joy Pools, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1985

BBB has determined that True Joy Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised True Joy Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Besides terrible service and never being able to communicate with the owner of Joy Pools, they would not return $250.00 from a $22,000 remodel job.
***** the maintenance guy specifically called me and left message saying that the filter did not need new parts so we would be getting a $250 refund. Never received it after repeated attempts.

Generally a horrible experience throughout. I would never recommend this company and will specifically do my best to help other consumers avoid Joy Pools. They are really bad.

Too many issues to list, but I will say that every day I found myself doing the job of the supervisor. They made a great deal of money off our $22,000 job yet treated me like it was a waste of their time.

Desired Settlement
$250.00 Plus a personal apology from the owner. Since I asked over 10 times to speak with him during the process and he would never respond.

Business Response
Dear Sirs:

With respect to the complaint filed by Mr. ******* ******** we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Mr. ********'s remodel project was a large remodel project and, although it took a little longer than normal, Joy Pools proceeded with the job in a very timely manner completing the project in 30 days from start to plaster. Mr. ******** was also having extensive remodel work done to the inside of the home causing a lot of commotion at times.

We would also like to have taken into consideration, that in addition to the contracted work, we also had to replace a skimmer that was not in the original contract. We were, however, contracted to move the equipment from it's present location to a more aesthetic placement discussed and decided upon with the homeowner. After the equipment was moved, the homeowner decided that they did not like it there and asked that it be moved further away. We accommodated the homeowner's wishes and, in addition, did not charge for the extra work. These items added additional time to the project.

Along with consistent supervision by a Job Supervisor, the owner of the company, Mr. *********, paid two visits to the property. One on June 26th to check the plaster for color and quality after receiving notice that Mr. ******** was unhappy with the job, and the other to inspect the job for completeness within a week later. Mr. ********* would be more than willing to apologize to the homeowner for any inconvenience that was placed on Mr. ********.

The refund for the non-replaced grids has been issued and mailed to the homeowner on July 22, 2014. Only one attempt had been made by the homeowner in an e-mail dated July 15th. We confirmed with the service technician that the grids did not need to be replaced and issued the refund.

We regret that Mr. ******** is dissatisfied with the project but Joy Pools stands behind it's professionalism and it's work. The project is complete and to the agreed upon contract between Joy Pools and Mr. ********.

04/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/21/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1985Business started: 08/01/1981
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Truesdell (President/Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

This company offers Sales, Service, Remodeling of Swimming Pools

Alternate Business Names
Joy Pools

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for True Joy Pools, Inc.

5002 S Stemmons Fwy

Lake Dallas, TX 75065-2773

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5002 S Stemmons Fwy 

    Lake Dallas, TX 75065-2773(972) 539-7946

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*True Joy Pools, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.