BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Playmore Pools

Phone: (888) 325-7665Fax: (214) 276-1360

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for a Premium ***** Plaster pool remodel & my pool has dark gray, almost black large areas covering most of the surface & dark lines across.
10/25/2012 I paid PLAYMORE POOLS $5,936.40. Of this price $3,240.00 is listed for the prep and plaster with Premium ***** Marble Plaster with MetaMax and StartUp Tee. (new fittings and drain covers)(1 yr warranty for de-lamination only)(8-12estimated life)82'.
My pool has never been satisfactory, not to me or to the staff from PLAYMORE POOLS that have frequently came to look at it. They sent someone out who went under water & patched at it for over 2 hours, looked horrible. They had ***** ******* with All Tex Pool Plaster LLC come re-plaster eventually & then it was even getting worse. So next he did a acid wash which did not work either. ***** ***** & ****** came out to look at the pool on 12/5/2014 at 11:30 am. They agreed it looked awful & would make it right. On Dec 8, 2014 at 1:22 pm I have an email from ***** *****.
***** ***** <*****@playmorepools.com: This is what is written in my email.
Hi ******,
Thank you for meeting us last to discuss your pool. In summary, we decided to proceed with the next step of giving your pool an acid wash. We will drain your pool, acid wash and refill. PlayMore Pools will reimburse you for the lost water, 2 filter cleans, and chemical balancing afterwards. If before 6 months after the acid wash, you wish to replaster, we will replaster at no charge.
Please let me know if you have any questions.
Thanks,
***** *****
PlayMore Pools
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Mon, Dec 8, 2014 at 1:49 pm. My Reply was:
To: ***** *****<*****@playmorepools.com
*****,
Yes, I agree with this proposal. I very much would like to see this problem come to an end & do hope some thought & research goes in to this before these attempts are made. Mainly that if it does come to a re-plaster it is not sealed & the plaster done on the same day. I don't know this to be the problem but would like to know we are taking every step possible to have a positive result. We did not discuss this but if there is a higher grade of plaster that might cover or be less likely to have these issues I would be very interested in discussing paying the price difference with you.
Thank you for standing behind your product during this very challenging situation.
Sincerely,
****** ********
After all this I have made numerous attempts to contact ***** & he has not answered or returned any of my phone calls. I did speak with ****** once on the phone & she said she was going to pick up ***** & they would call me back. Never happened.

Desired Settlement
I would just like for them or someone to re-plaster my pool so that it looks nice. If they are not capable of doing this then they should refund me at the very least the $3,240. for the plaster job I paid them for.
I can't help but feel that ******'s Swimming Pool Supplies is partly responsible for this due to the fact that I originally was given the brochure by a employee at the ******'s store here in Frisco for PLAYMORE POOLS that has "Proud to be the Preferred Pool Builder/Re-modeler of: ******'S SWIMMING POOL SUPPLIES. I still have the brochure & this is still on PlayMore web site. I have my receipt & email from ***** ***** to prove exactly what I have stated in this complaint.

Business Response
There is a long story behind this situation, but we will schedule a replaster for Ms. Deborah ******** this month. We will contact her via email to inform her and coordinate a schedule.

Respectfully,
Rachel Sandoval
Office Manager
PlayMore Pools, LLC
(XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
"There is a long story behind this situation, but we will schedule a replaster for Ms. Deborah ******** this month. We will contact her via email to inform her and coordinate a schedule."

I accept their response and expect them to fulfill their promise.

****** ********

Final Consumer Response
September 30, 2015

I am requesting my complaint against Play More Pools be re-opened. As of today they have not even attempted to contact me. They said they would have my pool re-plastered this month, did not happen. They said they would contact me via email & this was not done either. They have done nothing toward resolving this situation. I believe they have made another false claim they failed to deliver. By doing this I have certainly lost faith in not only their ability to provide a quality service but even to make a simple phone call or e-mail contact as indicated in their previous reply to this complaint.
In regard to a hopeful resolution to this long & unpleasant connection with this company I am requesting they please just return to me the $3,249.00 I paid for the prep & plaster.
I am at least thankful to The Better Business Bureau for attempting a fair resolution to these type of problems.

****** ********

06/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plaster discoloration, delamination, and coarse texture problems. The stone is fracturing and the mortar is discolored&separating. broken equipment
Invoice#1341 Paid in full on 03/31/14 by check. Sales Rep Brad. We paid Playmore $15,000.00 for a complete plaster redo with new stone and coping. What we now have is a mess! We first contacted them in August 2014 with problems. The plaster is discolored, delaminating and coarse. The stone is fracturing and separating. The stone mortar is discolored and separating. Their agents/employees broke several pieces of our pool equipment and left them broken. In their "repair attempt" a large amount of chemicals were left in our pool without any instruction. We paid for optional "stone sealer" and a "plaster start-up" service. These chemicals (we believe) damaged additional pool equipment. They have inspected the pool and to date nothing has happened. Very disappointed!!!

Desired Settlement
$15,000.00 I DO NOT WANT THEM ON MY PROPERTY! NO FURTHER REPAIR ATTEMPS WILL BE ALLOWED!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@playmorepools.com
On behalf of PlayMore Pools, we are completely confused by our clients complaint. Once we were notified of the complaint, we requested a day to view the current status of his pool. The issues referenced by the client were the plaster discoloring, broken equipment and the flaking stonework. The plaster looks absolutely perfect. I wish all plasters could look this good. The client even referenced that it looked better than it did. We can not confirm that we broke one valve but our offer to fix it was turned down. We are really confused by mr *****' issue with the stonework. Mr ***** selected Austin Stone for the stone around his spa. Mr ***** was informed multiple times that Austin Stone can easily flake and crack around a pool. In fact, our contract with Mr ***** states "cracks and flaking are not included...in warranty".
On behalf of PlayMore Pools, we don't like to have disagreements with any of our customers but I am not sure how we could have done anything different in this situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately PLAYMORE POOLS does not see the value in doing what they were paid for! PLAYMORE continues to offer NO help with resolving my defective pool remodel problems. We still have a $15,000 mess!!! Contrary to their response, the plaster is discolored, coarse, and delaminating from the pool wall. The stone PLAYMORE installed is in worse shape than the 18+ year old stone they replaced. After their "CHEMICAL REPAIR ATTEMPT" the stone mortar is deteriorating and discolored. The color of the plaster changed as well. We paid extra for sealing and start-up prep that appears to be worthless. PLAYMORE's confusion is apparent when I look at my pool! Unfortunately, this ultimately will be resolved in District Court.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools - Public, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pools - Removal, Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Kits, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.