BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (972) 470-9991Fax: (972) 470-9992101 E Park Blvd Ste 600, PlanoTX 75074-8818http://www.dhei.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to comply with arbitration decision or mediated settlement.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Surface beneath the siding and around window frames not completely sealed. Improper flashing as well. Allowed seepage over 8 years, causing big damage
Although this company also goes by Energy Star Windows, it is the parent or sister company with which we have an issue: Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc. (Note they both share same address and have same owner: ***** *******). Dallas Home Exteriors installed siding on our home in June, 2005.

The siding was not flashed correctly (despite us being billed extra for this), so water has been leaking behind it, unnoticed, for the last 8 years. Only the continued cracking of our inside walls and then one window pane led us to have the problem checked out. It was then that we discovered the source: rotting due to water seepage and moisture accumulation over all that time.

Much insulation was never installed; The frames around the large windows were not sealed; The entire area did not have a moisture barrier; The holes where electrical wiring came out were not sealed or insulated.

Most of the improper installation and consequent damage centers around the atrium area. But there are areas other than the atrium where improper installation and damage is also noticeable.

We had Mr. ******* come out to show him the work his crew had done -or, rather not done. Although he could not overcome the argument or our contractor, he still refused to accept responsibility.

We then had our insurance company come out to assess the damage. They, in turn, brought out their own experts. In their written report to us, they agreed with our contractor that "the vinyl siding installed by ***** ******* of Dallas Home Exteriors in June 2005 was installed improperly."

Desired Settlement
We want a full refund, $9450.00. We don't think that is too much to ask; replacement 8 years later will cost us 3 times that much. Plus, we will have very high expenses on the inside of the house, replacing at least 2 columns in the atrium which have rotted through, reframing all the windows, taping & bedding, resurfacing and painting. This guy's irresponsible installation has caused us untold discomfort and a lot of financial pain and suffering! The sad part is that we chose him, primarily because of his BBB rating and the neighborhood association recommendation. Goes to show...

Business Response
In response to the consumer's complaint # XXXXXXXX

Vinyl siding is a product designed to cover a home's existing wood to prevent future paintings.
It has never claimed or will ever claim to seal off a home from water.
Roofers flash and gutter is necessary to direct water flow.
We just cover the wood.

During heavy rains, water is surely seeping underneath the siding and around the windows.

This particular has a home with an interior atrium with no overhang. A design flaw by the builder. There is simply no where for the water to go.
This is the only place where they had issues.
I came out on 3 occasions. Offered my services to help with replacing some rotted wood issues.
Their insurance agent stood me up . I asked them to please have her call me to re-schedule. Never heard back from anyone.
Even my siding guy who offered to help replace wood asked why he never heard back from anyone.
We replace rotted wood when we originally completed project over 8 years ago proving they had issues long before we did their siding.
They had rotten wood issues then.
The home has old leaky windows as well which will , over time, lead to interior water damage.

They had a relative down from Colorado who claimed to be an expert on siding. He wasn't.
As soon as he said he used to remove the windows prior to installing the siding , I knew he wasn't what he claimed.
No company in the history of siding companies has ever removed the windows (unless they were getting new windows) to install siding!

This is the first complaint in 17 years against Dallas Home Exteriors.
I am sorry for the problems they have incurred from water damage over the past 40 years . I'm dealing with the same issues myself at my house.
(But I'm not blaming the roofer who replaced my roof 9 years ago.) time passes, roofs leak, homes aren't water proof. My house is old.
But they had these issues long before we completed the siding project.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have reorganized the company owner's arguments in order to make our response more clear and concise. Here is what he says, and how we respond:


1. "...vinyl does not seal off a home from water." And later: "During heavy rains, water is surely seeping underneath the siding and around the windows."
RESPONSE: That is precisely why it is so important to make sure the areas to be covered by siding are properly sealed, wrapped and flashed before siding is installed:
CITY OF PLANO BUILDING INSPECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Per section R703, 2003 International Residential Code, all weather-exposed surfaces shall have a weather-resistive barrier* to protect the interior wall covering. Ex. Waterproof building paper or asphalt saturated felt.
The weather resistive barrier* may be omitted when a water-repellent panel sheathing is used. If the sheathing is not specifically listed for such use, the Building Inspections Department will determine if the sheathing has characteristics that are water-repellent. Ex. a "non-porous" covering.
Unless otherwise lapped 2", all horizontal joints shall be taped to complete the weather resistive barrier.*
* What Is a Water-Resistive Barrier System? It is a system that includes water shedding materials and water diversion materials. Water-resistive barrier systems commonly consist of a combination of exterior cladding, flashed wall openings and penetrations, water-resistive barrier material, and sheathing. Effective water-resistive barrier systems will shed the water initially, control moisture flow by capillary and diffusion action, and minimize absorption into the wall structure. The level of water resistance required is determined by the applicable building code and structure.
Best Practice: To achieve designed performance, vinyl siding must be installed over a water-resistive barrier system that includes (1) a continuous water-resistive material, and (2) properly integrated flashing
around all penetrations and where vinyl siding interfaces with other building products such as brick, stone, or stucco.

2. "Roofers flash and gutter is necessary to direct water flow."
RESPONSE: Agreed. And we paid this man an extra $150.00 when he said this was necessary, although we felt it should automatically be part of the expensive installation.

3. "We replaced rotted wood when we originally completed project."
RESPONSE: We have photographs showing where siding was installed over old rotten wood, which was not replaced. Many of the same photographs show that no waterproof wraps or insulation were placed over the wood prior to them being covered by vinyl.

4. "Offered my services to help with replacing some rotted wood issues." And later: "Even my siding guy who offered to help replace wood asked why he never heard back from anyone."
RESPONSE: Seems like this installer is admitting that there were rotten wood issues... We didn't want him to replace rotten wood; it was too late for that. We wanted him to help with all the damage that his improper, negligent installation caused. We had no reason to have any contact information for HIS EMPLOYEE, the 'siding guy'. But we certainly would not want his crew to touch our house again unless they were supervised by OUR contractor -who needed to be paid by the company owner. This is what we proposed to him in our Certified Letter #XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX, dated 5-9-13. Either that, we said, or reimburse us for repairing the areas in question. It was THIS OWNER who did not respond!

5. "This the atrium is the only place where they had issues.
RESPONSE: False. We have photographs of missing wrap/insulation and improper installation in many other areas away from the atrium as well. Who knows what we would see if we would have had to remove all the vinyl that was installed...

6. "The home has old leaky windows as well which will, over time, lead to interior water damage." And later adds: "No company in the history of siding companies has ever removed the windows (unless they were getting new windows) to install siding!"
RESPONSE: Why would he say he replaced rotten wood on the walls and not replace rotten wood around the windows? Incidentally, photos show he only replaced a few rotten planks on the walls -see #3. Why would he place protective barriers on walls and not around windows? On walls, erratically (#3); and on windows (by his own admission) not at all.

7. "This particular has a home with an interior atrium with no overhang... ...There is simply no where for the water to go."
RESPONSE: There is ample drainage on the ground, or else we would have had a problem with flooding. Never had any trouble. This is just a 'cop-out'.


The rest of the points brought up by the owner of this siding company are also debatable, but not sufficiently important for us to risk going 'over' our allotted number of words.
TO SUMMARIZE: Here is a paragraph in a letter to us from Nationwide Insurance, based on their expert's opinions:
"Our review showed that both contractors, ****** ***** and **** ****** of Way Construction, concur the vinyl siding installed by ***** ****** of Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc in June 2005 was installed improperly. Specifically, the correct flashings and house wrap were not installed. This improper installation has allowed water over time to seep through causing wet and dry rot to the wood framing, wood siding, interior drywall and finishes on the interior walls as well as ceiling surrounding the atrium."
***** ******** Nationwide Lloyds Insurance Co.,
One Nationwide Gateway, Dept. 5574,
Des Moines, IA XXXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/16/1997Business started: 11/01/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Burrows (Owner)
Business Category

Siding Contractors, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc.

101 E Park Blvd Ste 600

Plano, TX 75074-8818

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 101 E Park Blvd Ste 600 

    Plano, TX 75074-8818(972) 470-9991

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dallas Home Exteriors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.