BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/06/2010

Shoebacca.com

Phone: (888) 446-1788Fax: (972) 579-09752205 E Pioneer Dr, IrvingTX 75061-8805 Send email to Shoebacca.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/06/2010

BBB has determined that Shoebacca.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shoebacca.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
01/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ive placed an order to shoebacca website last nov.26 and i couldnt track my order.they already got the payment thru my card
ive placed an order to shoebacca website last nov.26.after that i received an email from i-parcel confirming the order(with tracking no.).i made an account to shoebacca before i place my order.the problem is i couldnt track the order.i already sent an email to shoebacca cuthey been prealerted that parcel on nov.26 and ill not be able to track ituntil theyreceive the parcel in their facility.hope u could help stomer service but they said that unfortunately they were not able to pull any orders under my acct.i-parcel advised me that me. they already got the payment but i dont know where to track my order. thanks

Desired Settlement
i just want to know where is my order. how to track it. coz its not clear until now even i always follow up with them. i didnt get any clear response.

Business Response
Shoebacca.com has partnered with I-Parcel to provide our international customers with fast and reliable shipping. For any questions regarding products, we ask ******** to contact us, Shoebacca.com directly by either phone or email. When customers have non product related questions or concerns regarding Shoebacca.com international orders with services provided by i-parcel, we ask them to contact i-parcel directly via email at *************@i-parcel.com as they would be able to provide more details.
In this case, I was not able to find any past communication with the ******** showing that she had reached out to us before. I reached out to i-parcel on behalf of the ********, however, as I understand her situation and want to help her as much as possible. Once contact was initiated, I received the following correspondence from i-parcel:

Hello ****,
I hope this email finds you well. Please note the only shipment I could find for this order was i-parcel tracking #: XXXXXXXXXXXXUS. This shipment is showing to be delivered on Dec 16th to SpeedEx (Moderline) Operations awaiting contact from the ******** to arrange delivery. The ******** can contact SpeedEx Couriers at the contact details below so they can provide the proper delivery address and arrangement for delivery. Thank you.
Modernline Distribution LLC (Member of Postaplus group)
P.O.Box XXXXX, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Tel: +XXXX XXXXXXX Fax: +XXXX XXXXXXX, +XXXX XXXXXXX
email: *******@postaplus.com
www.speedexcourier.com

# : XXXXXXXXXXXX
Service Type : Export Non Documents - Retail
Shipped on : 10 Dec XX XX:XX
Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Destination : United Arab Emirates Othe - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Status : Proof of Delivery

I also received delivery confirmation/proof of delivery:
Delivered On : Tuesday, December 16, XXXX XX:XX
Signed By : CATHERINE

Tracking Details
Date
Time
Location/Supplied via
Activity

16 Dec 14 15:00 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Delivered
16 Dec 14 11:07 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Out for Delivery
14 Dec 14 09:35 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Ready for Routing
13 Dec 14 18:27 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Shipment Forwarded to Operations
13 Dec 14 18:26 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Attemped Delivery - Mobile Switched Off
13 Dec 14 08:04 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Out for Delivery
11 Dec 14 02:37 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Out for Delivery
11 Dec 14 00:28 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Arrival Scan
10 Dec 14 00:00 Dubai - UNITED ARAB EMIRATES Uplift


I would love to have been able to reach out to the ******** directly, unfortunately we do not have her contact information, but I do hope this information helps. For now I recommend she contact SpeedEx Couriers since her package is already in the shipping country, they *** be able to offer better solutions for her at this time. If she does need any further help and i-parcel is unable to help her, I want her to feel comfortable and free to contact us any time, she *** even ask for **** personally if she prefers.. I look forward to providing any additional assistance she *** need.

02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 01/14/2014 I have order online Sneakers for 39.99$ from Shoebacca (order # XXXXXXXXXX).The sneakers was narrow for me and the heel shock absorber was fake . I print online Return Authorization Form for order # XXXXXXXXXX and on 01/22/2014 , I return the sneakers in brand new condition with original box TO:Return Shipping Addres; Attn:Returns **********; Shoebacca.com ; 2205 East Pioneer Drive ; Iving, Texas XXXXX . I used USPS Priority Mail with tracking number # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX . Shoebacca received the package on 01/24/2014. The PROBLEM is when I try to contact them with Email, They send message "When we received your package ,YOU will receive your refund back"...AND nobody answer ******** service phone number (XXX)XXX-XXXX . Sincerely, ******* ********
Product_Or_Service: sneakers
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: SKU: DVF XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I Like to see my REFUND (39.99 $ ) back in my Debit Card . Thanks, ******* ********

Business Response
SHOEBACCA has received the above referenced ******** complaint and appreciates the opportunity to respond. We are very sorry for any confusion regarding Mr. ********'s recent return. We did in fact receive his return on 1/24/2014 and as stated in our return policy, http://www.shoebacca.com/returns, returns *** take 2-5 business days to process. Our records indicate Mr. ********'s refund was issued to his original payment method on 1/30/2014 and an email was sent to the email address provided when his order was placed. We would also like to state that our ******** service ********** is available by phone Monday through Friday, 7AM to 7PM CST, and any messages are answered within 24 hours. We recommend Mr. ******** contact his bank directly if he has any further questions regarding his recent refund.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received my Refund on 02/04/2014 ,OR after 10 business days .The Refund I received ,because of YOURS( BBB ) help. You can find many angry customers in different internet forums,talking about SHOEBACCA.com , way to doing bussines.Anyway,better late than never I already received my money back,BUT I NEVER EVER WILL BUY SOMETHING FROM THEM IN THE FUTURE..........
Thanks for YOUR help....
Sincerely,
****************

12/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company provides a price match gurantee. The item in question was purchased for 53.99 and can currently be purchased from sane for 47.99 today
Customer service states price match policy does not apply because they are running a 20% off special. They contend that item 4 on their price match policy excluded matching coupons. However, in the begining of the setnace in item 4 it states "outside site or manufacturer" . I do not read item 4 as refering to teir own website.

Desired Settlement
The $6.00 difference as their price match gurantee should supply.

Business Response
SHOEBACCA has received the above referenced customer complaint and appreciates the opportunity to respond. We are very sorry to know the above named consumer was disappointed with our Price Matching Policies. As stated in the link provided, http://www.shoebacca.com/policies-pricematch.html,
under Price Match Guarantee, it is clearly stated "if we lower the price on our site of any products in your order within 14 days of your order date, we'll refund the difference". It also goes on to explain "if you have found a lower price on our site or a competitor's site within 14 days, Request your refund", meaning if for any reason the price of the shoe were to drop within 14 days of the order being placed, we match the price and refund the difference between the previous price and the new price of the shoe.

In this case, I would like to further explain that the original order was placed using a 10% discount code on a shoe with the price of $59.99 as shown in the link provided, http://www.shoebacca.com/vans/authentic-vn-0tsv8on.html?ac_term=VN-0TSV8ON, bringing the costumer's final payment to $53.99. On 11/29/2013, our site launched a one day, Black Friday promotion offering 20% off our entire site. This is when we received a call from the customer inquiring about a Price Match for the item he purchased and was informed that the actual price of the shoe was still the same at $59.99, the price had not changed and therefore his order did not qualify for a Price Match Guarantee and no further inquiries were made on customer's behalf.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this confusion may have caused. We have, as an extended, one time courtesy, issued a refund of $6 (for a total discount of 20%) to Mr. *******'s original payment method as he is a first time buyer and we would like to show our appreciation for his business. Mr. ******* has also been contacted by phone to be informed of his refund and to answer any additional questions or concerns in this matter.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchant is refusing to refund my purchase.
I made a purchase on shoebacca.com on 7/25/13. Prior to placing this order I spoke to a ******** service represenative to inquire about shoe sizing for the Jordan brand. She helped me determine I would need a 9.5 for this shoe:

Nike Jordan Sky High Retro Low
Color: White/Grey/Black
Gender: Men
Width: D
Size: 9.5
SKU: XXXXXX-XXX

Upon arrival I tried the shoes on and took a walk with my children to see if this shoe would work. It ended up being too small. I followed their return protocols and received an email stating that my shoes have been deemed worn and no refund will be applied:

Dear ***** ***,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience with your recent return. Although your return is within the 365 days return time frame, upon inspection this item was deemed worn. Unfortunately, we will be unable to accept and process a refund due to the item being in worn condition. We will be happy to ship this product back to you, please provide a prepaid return label. Please let us know if you have any further questions.


I'm completely baffled by what they consider worn. They were still clean and brand new. Haven't been worn more than 5 minutes before I took them off. Now they are refusing to refund my shoes and are requesting that I provide a prepaid return label. Shoebacca.com currently has my %69.99 AND my shoes. Their customer service department basically called me a liar and said I had worn the shoes for an extended period of time. They would not even except an exchange and it seems like they are more than happy leaving me with a pair of shoes that do not even fit. They offered to send pictures of the shoes to prrove their point but I know for a FACT that these shoes were still in brand new condition when I returned them. Theey do not value their customers and at this point seem to be going above and beyond to keep my money. I work as an Operations Manager for a large retailer and know how the returns process works. Shipping items back to vendor's for defects is a standard thing. In this case it seems the size of this shoe has been falsely advertised.

Desired Settlement
Refund or an exchange would be accepted. What am I going to do with shoes that do not fit?

Business' Initial Response
Shoebacca's return policy indicates that "...you can return your merchandise in *"unworn condition" . In addition, it defines it as: "Unworn Condition" means the product is in its original condition (including manufacturer's box), and with its original tags. Any product deemed in worn condition will not be accepted." See returns website link: http://www.shoebacca.com/resources/returns.html
Since the shoes were worn outside, the soles were soiled with dirt on the soles, which is not the "original condition" they were sent in to the customer. For this reason, the return was not able to be refunded, and since we paid for the return of the shoe that was returned to us in "worn" condition, we asked the customer to please supply a prepaid return label to send his item back. In good faith and as a onetime courtesy, we have refunded Mr. *** despite the shoes returned not being returned in "unworn" and re-sellable condition.

07/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Website failed to indicate that shoe runs 1 size bigger than the size indicated (i.e., not true to size). Company refused to incur any shipping costs.
The shoes ordered were indicated to be 10.5; the shoe does indicate this size, however, the shoe is not true to size; it measures at 11.5 inches. The website did not explain/indicate that this is the case, i.e., that the shoe runs one size bigger. There was no indication to order a size down (like other websites that sell shoes often do).

The cost of the shoe: $24.99 + $5.00 shipping charge (non-refundable as explicitly stated by the website) came to $29.99.

Upon receiving the shoe and finding it one size too big, I called ******** service and they explained that I would lose the $5.00 shipping, I would have to pay another $5.00 shipping charge to return the item, and yet another $5.00 to have them send me the appropriate size.

I asked if they could provide me either a first-time ******** courtesy and/or some ******** service satisfaction courtesy and/or meet me halfway so I would not have to ultimately pay $15.00 in shipping charges to receive the shoe that actually fit me.

Both the agent and the supervisor remained adamant about store policies and kept referring me to their return policy; this return policy says nothing about shoe defects, shoe sizing issues, and/or any other potential problems. I complained that this was clearly not my fault: how was I to know without any kind of indication on the website. I explained that as a ******** I was not at all please with the product or with their lack of commitment to ******** satisfaction.

Sounding clearly frustrated and impatient (though I remained calm and apologetic as I've worked in ******** service for over 15 years), the supervisor threatened to "flag my account" and to finally accept the return with return shipping charges dropped. I was told that "no more such courtesies" would be extended to me.





Desired Settlement
Ultimately, I only want the shoes that I paid for: the cost of the shoe and the $5 shipping. As it stands, if I were to re-order the shoes in the appropriate size (after the return and after the re-order), I would have paid $15 in shipping costs; this means that the shoe advertised at a low price of $24.99 would have ultimately cost me $39.99.

All I want is to be able to buy the shoes that fit at the originally agreed price: $24.99 + $5.00 shipping.

As it is my account is now "flagged" ---as though there was something I did wrong; and I have lost my time, energy, and $5.00 with nothing to account for but very poor customer service.

Business' Initial Response
The customer placed an order for and received a size 10.5 shoe from our "Outlet" section. Our "Outlet" section items are deeply discounted and therefore, have separate return policies. Our return policies are listed on the following link: http://www.shoebacca.com/resources/returns.html and we do indicate that worn items may not be returned, however manufacturer defects are not considered worn (therefore are eligible for return). When asked about the concern, Mr. ****** indicated to us via phone call that the shoes were not defective; therefore, we could not treat the return as a defect.
In response to the shoe not being true to size and other websites indicating such issues, other websites address it with customer reviews and although we have customer reviews, this product in particular has not been reviewed on our site by our customers. Most stores/websites do not review products or make recommendations on sizing because each person's foot size is unique and manufactures shoes sizing's can be different from brand to brand and style to style. They do provide size charts so that customers are aware of Euro to US or Men's to Women's size conversion, etc. This was explained to Mr. ******.
In addition, it seems Mr. ****** did not understand how our Outlet Return Policy was explained to him. We informed the customer that he would be responsible for return shipping as per our Outlet policy. We did not specify the amount he would need to pay for return, since the customer is responsible for the return and may choose the carrier and method of their choice. We did inform the customer if a return was processed, the $5 shipping charge would not be refunded, as per our policy.
Because of Mr. ******'s firm request that we pay for return shipping, after a reminder of our policies, our supervisor agreed to make an exception as a one-time courtesy to send him a prepaid return label to pay for the return of the shoe. Mr. Ncdao was also informed that his account would be "flagged" noting that we did this as a one time-courtesy and that no additional "such courtesies" would be provided. Again, if there was some confusion in this, let us clarify, we did a one-time exception for Mr. ****** in paying for the return of his outlet purchased shoes per customers request, therefore, the account was "flagged" for internal purposes noting that this was done and we would be unable to repeat this for any future outlet purchases, which is what ""no more such courtesies would be extended" to him means.
Mr. ******'s ultimate request was to receive the shoes he paid for and Mr. ****** did receive the shoe he ordered. Mr. ****** was clearly not satisfied with the order and we have done what he has asked in providing a prepaid return label to return the product he purchased that was too big for him. Since we cannot recommend the right size for him, we suggest that the matter be closed with a full refund including shipping once the item is returned.

Page 1 of 3
02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I attempted to order various sizes of the same boot and when I tried to utilize the company's return policy serious confusion ensued.
Order #1 - 11/12/2013 (**********)
We ordered the Tony Lama Ostrich boots, I don't remember the size/width of this order and their screen doesn't tell me. I paid $287.99, less a discount of $43.20, for a total of $244.79. This order was paid through my Amazon account.
These boots did not fit, we initiated a return. Your warehouse received the return on 12/2/2013 and my Amazon account refunded the entire $244.79 on 12/5/2013.
That should be the end of this order.

Order #2 - 11/18/2013 (*********)
We ordered a different size/width of the Tony Lama Ostrich boots. I again paid $287.99, less the same $43.20 discount, for a total of $244.79. This order was also processed through my Amazon account.
These boots "kind of fit" but we wanted to try one more size/width combo to see if we could find the right fit. The company offers such an awesome return policy and we can't find these kinds of boots in stores near us, this seemed a perfect way to try all sizes/styles.
I found these boots for cheaper at a different online store and initiated a price match on 11/19/2013. This price match was approved and processed through my Amazon account on 11/25/2013 for $66.04.
That should be the end of this order.

Order #3 - 12/04/2013 (**********)
We ordered another variation of the Tony Lama Ostrich boots and a pair of women's Tony Lama boots. The order was done using my Paypal account.
I again paid $287.99 for the men's boots, less a discount of $28.80, for a total of $259.19.
I paid $179.99 for the women's boots, less a discount of $18.00, for a total of $161.99.
I initiated a price match for both of these boots on 12/04/2013, and both were approved. I received the price match for the women's boots on 12/31/2013 (18 +/- business days later and after numerous emails about it), to my Paypal account and in the amount of $42.94. I have emails with ******** service about both of these price matches, because they didn't process in a timely manner, but by that point we planned to return the men's (we were sent the wrong boot size/width), so we pushed for the price match for the women's boots and lets the men's boot price match go.
We then returned these boots on (12/27/2013) and a great deal of time elapsed before a refund was issued, through all the correspondence with them about this order/return, another partial refund in the amount of $19.80 was placed in my Paypal account on 01/17/2014, which I believe to have been for the price match on the men's boots. I didn't need it though, since I was just waiting for the full refund.
The men's boots we were returning were received by their warehouse on 01/03/2014. The following week I had them telling me the boots were not received. They then admitted they were, it was confusion in the warehouse, and that's when all of a sudden the price match on this order came through. We're almost a month since the boots were received by them and I'm waiting for the rest of my refund, into the account I paid for it from (as is their policy). Nothing. Today I am finally informed that the refund was issued to my Amazon account (how I paid for the first two orders, but not the third), which it was, but it wasn't the proper amount. They refunded me only $178.75 and even if you factor in the price match refund, I should've been getting $239.39, which leaves me with $60.64 still outstanding. I cannot continue to waste my time emailing with these people. I informed them I would be contacting the BBB and they seemed unconcerned. I believe they have incorrectly "returned and refunded" the boots from the second, but I have the authorization from them and everything on my end saying I was returning the boots from the third order.
I'm sure it also doesn't help that the boots we received for the third order were the wrong size/width, but they never acknowledge this to be the issue when I continually told them that is what happened.

Desired Settlement
I just want my $60.64 back and an apology. It's all very shady. They assure me the price match is done, it's not and then on sly the money goes back into my account. No apologies for them. They don't even acknowledge it. They just keep telling me I got all my money.

Business Response
SHOEBACCA has received the above reference customer complaint and appreciates the opportunity to respond. We are very sorry for any confusion regarding Ms. ******'s orders and refunds. We have broken down her returns, discounts, and refunds in the chart below for a clearer understanding of how her refunds were processed:

Account Type Subtotal Discount Amount Price Match Discount Final Amount Paid Total Refunded
XXXXXXXXXX Amazon $287.99 $43.20 Not Requested $244.79 $244.79
XXXXXXXXXX Amazon $287.99 $43.20 $66.04 $178.75 $178.75
XXXXXXXXXX PayPal $467.98 $46.80 $62.74 $358.44 No Return Received


**Please note our customers have the option to checkout with existing Amazon or PayPal accounts if they do not wish to use our regular credit card process.**

We were first contacted by Ms. ****** on 1/27/2014 at 10:06 a.m. inquiring the following:

"Again, let me lay out for you what happened. I've adjusted this to show the most recent partial refund we received.

Order #1 - 11/12/2013 (**********)
We ordered the Tony Lama Ostrich boots, I don't remember the size/width of this order and your screen doesn't tell me. I paid $287.99, less a discount of $43.20, for a total of $244.79. This order was paid through my Amazon account.
These boots did not fit, we initiated a return. Your warehouse received the return on 12/2/2013 and my Amazon account refunded the entire $244.79 on 12/5/2013.
That should be the end of this order.

Order #2 - 11/18/2013 (*********)
We ordered a different size/width of the Tony Lama Ostrich boots. I again paid $287.99, less the same $43.20 discount, for a total of $244.79. This order was also processed through my Amazon account.
These boots "kind of fit" but we wanted to try one more size/width combo to see if we could find the right fit. Your company offers such an awesome return policy and we can't find these kinds of boots in stores near us, this seemed a perfect way to try all sizes/styles.
I found these boots for cheaper at a different online store and initiated a price match on 11/19/2013. This price match was approved and processed through my Amazon account on 11/25/2013 for $66.04.
That should be the end of this order.
Order #3 - 12/04/2013 (**********)
We ordered another variation of the Tony Lama Ostrich boots and a pair of women's Tony Lama boots.
I again paid $287.99 for the men's boots, less a discount of $28.80, for a total of $259.19.
I paid $179.99 for the women's boots, less a discount of $18.00, for a total of $161.99.
I initiated a price match for both of these boots, I received the price match for the women's boots on 12/31/2013, to my Paypal account and in the amount of $42.94. By that point we planned to return the men's, so we did not worry about it, but through all the correspondence with you about this order/return, another partial refund in the amount of $19.80 was placed in my Paypal account on 01/17/2014.
We initiated the return for these boots and as I said previously, they were received by your warehouse on 01/03/2014.
To date, we have not received the refund of $239.39, that we are due."

In this email, Ms. ****** breaks down her orders the same way we broke them down above except for the third one. We have broken down the orders on an item level as well to further elaborate:

SKU Size Width
XXXXXXXXXX Tony Lama Chocolate Vintage Smooth Ostrich 11" 10.5 2E
XXXXXXXXXX Tony Lama Chocolate Vintage Smooth Ostrich 11" 10 D
XXXXXXXXXX Tony Lama Chocolate Vintage Smooth Ostrich 11"
Tony Lama Clay Santa Fe 10
6.5 2E
B

It is important to understand that when an order is placed and an item shipped, it is scanned in the warehouse and recorded along with the order number it is shipped with to avoid any confusion in case it is returned. Ms. ****** placed 3 separate orders for a total of 4 items. Out of the 4 items ordered, 3 are the same, but different sizes. Order XXXXXXXXXX is for the Tony Lama boots size 10.5 2E (extra wide width), order XXXXXXXXXX is also for the Tony Lama boots in a size 10 D (standard medium width), and order XXXXXXXXXX is, again, for the same Tony Lama boots, this time in a size 10 2E (extra wide width), along with another item not in question at the moment. In another email sent to Ms. ****** on 1/28/2014 at 12:01 p.m., we asked which size she had kept and not returned. In her response in an email sent to us on same day, 1/28/2014 at 12:07 p.m. she acknowledged she'd kept the size 10 2E (extra wide width, PayPal order).

As shown in the charts above, the size 10 2E (extra wide width) boots belong to order ********** (PayPal Order), the one in which Ms. ****** used her PayPal account to pay. Although Ms. ****** did mention that she initiated a return request for her PayPal order, the item we received was not for that order. Our return policies (http://www.shoebacca.com/resources/returns.html) clearly state we are only able to refund our customers in the original payment method used to place the order. When we received her returned items, they were scanned and the appropriate orders came up. It is possible Ms. ****** returned the shoes under the wrong account but because of our system, we were able to locate the correct order numbers for the corresponding items.

In the email above, Ms. ****** does mention she received the wrong boots. Unfortunately, this was not mentioned to us before and we were not able to look into it sooner. In an email sent on 1/28/2014 at 10:30 a.m., we sent Ms. ****** a screenshot of her PayPal invoice, showing the boots she received, were in fact the item ordered. Even so, we have advised Ms. ****** that she is more than welcome to return the boots she claims to be the wrong size for either a full refund or an exchange with free return shipping.

On 1/27/2014 we attempted to contact Ms. ****** by phone using the only number that was provided in either of her accounts. Because there was no answer, we left a voicemail and sent her an email at 11:31 a.m. to let her know we were trying to contact her by phone to better explain the situation and to please give us a call back at her earliest convenience. We understand Ms. ****** *** not have had time to call during the day, however, and preferred our communications remain via email.

To conclude, we again apologize for any confusion with Ms. ******'s returns. We would be more than happy to assist Ms. ****** in returning her PayPal order for either a full refund or an exchange. In order to do so, however, we will need to have the item returned to us. We'd also be happy to answer any further questions or concerns she may have whether it is by phone or email.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
January 27th was obviously not the first time they were contacted by me, as the email they quote begins with the word "Again...". I have all the emails between us.

I can no longer return the boots that we kept, because they have been worn. Besides the fact that my husband wants to keep them.

Every email I send to them from my yahoo email address has a signature line on it with my phone number. I apologized that somehow my husband's number got put into the order information (I had an issue with the autofill feature in my internet browser), but I gave them my correct phone number and asked them to call me on it.
I have an email sent on January 16th, where I notified them that the items were being returned because the wrong item was delivered. Additionally, when I went through the return process, I believe that I selected the reason for return being due to receiving the wrong item. If that option was available to me, I know that I would have chosen it. I cannot confirm this in anyway, because I am recently locked out of both my Shoebacca accounts (Their system creates them based on the email associated with method of payment, so I ended up with two accounts, one for each email address (associated with Paypal and Amazon).
Additionally, perhaps they should have asked why a return was initiated for one order but shoes for another order were returned, before they assumed what was happening. I don't know why the default would be to automatically change my return to an order I never initiated a return for.
Finally, the issue here is with three different pairs of the exact same shoe, regardless of which pair were kept or not, wouldn't it just be good form to allow the ******** to pay the cheapest price for the boots? Why put me through all of this?
They are obviously convinced that we are liars and that I somehow enjoy this whole process. At this point, all I can do is refuse to give them anymore business, which I obviously will be doing.
I think it's ridiculous that I can no longer log into either account and verify anything anymore. I'm glad I didn't give this company direct access to my credit or bank accounts. I'm sure I'd been even further dissatisfied than I am now.

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought a pair of Clyde breakpoint puma 10.5 green they sent me a pair of black puma that someone had worn I sent them back
They said I wore the shoes but I never put the shoes to my feet I called them the same day when they came and the man sent a label to send the shoes back I order another pair of the shoes I order in the first place there sending people used shoes then don't want to refund people money back when they make mistakes we pay for it

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back from those shoes and I will never shop with this company again because they are scamming people out of money letting there workers Mister treating customers

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ********* initially called us to inform us that that she ordered green shoes and she received black shoes and would like to return them. Ms. ********* had placed an order on 04/02/13 and 04/05/13 for the same shoe in green in size 10.5. At that point, she received the last green shoes in 10.5 that we had in stock. On 05/01/13, when Ms. ********* placed the order in question, the green shoe was no longer available. Despite all records indicating she ordered the black shoes, we informed her we would accept the shoes for return as long as they were in unworn condition and provided her a prepaid label for the return of the shoes.
Once the shoes arrived, the shoes had obviously been worn. Ms. ********* contacted us to check the status of her return and we informed her that we would not be able to refund her due to the worn condition of the shoes. Prior to this second call, Ms. ********* did not inform us that the shoes were in worn condition. We informed Ms. ********* that since the shoes were in worn condition we could not refund her and she would be responsible for the return charges of the shoes to her. Ms. ********* was not happy with the decision and informed us to keep the shoes, because she did not want them. She indicated to us that we sent her the shoes in worn condition. Our response to her was that it would not have been possible for the shoes to have been sent worn and we did not understand if they were worn, why she did not inform us of this in her initial call. After the call, we sent her an email on 05/08 confirming her request but received no response.
It is standard policy not to accept worn products, unless there is an error on our part. Once the products is used, accepting it is a financial loss for us. We feel strongly that the customer was not sent worn shoes, but had the initial complaint been that the shoes she received were worn, we would have certainly accepted the return of the shoes and provided a refund, however, at no point prior to the second call was this mentioned during the initial return request.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Like I said before I called the same day I got the shoes I never took the shoes out the box cause it was the wrong shoes I order some black shoes but those are not it I have the black shoes I ordered right now and I can give you a picture of the shoes they are the same as the green ones I ordered I ordered the green shoes again because they told me it was only one pair left so i wanted to get it before someone else get them I ordered about 30 other pairs of shoes from them never sent them back the pair they refunded me for I had Warren them cause they where defected came apart so how do they not take shoes someone has Warren its just the fact that they are wrong I never touch those shoes on my feet I just don't think they should get to keep my hard earn money for a mistake they maid the shoes look like they was some big bubble head shoes when they was in the box if they was the shoes I ordered why didn't I keep them the shoes cost $42 come on now they need to watch there workers taking people shoes and giving them there's

Business' Final Response
Although, we have not changed our stance in regards to the shoe being returned in used condition, in order to resolve this matter, we have refunded this ******** for the return. This ******** should see the refund on the card used within the next 3 - 5 business days.

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to previous black slip-resistant shoes having molded, this current pair is all that I own, and it is not slip resistant.

The boots are not slip resistant and I sent two e-mails to Shoebacca through their system indicating such. I work at Olive Garden and must have slip-resistant shoes, as I work in the kitchen. I ordered these Dickies raiders on 05-16-13 as they were waterproof and slip resistant, thinking that I would get a good shoe, but that was not the case. Since this is my fourth order with Shoebacca, I trusted the company. Evidently, that was a mistake. I called today, 06-02-13, as I did not receive any e-mail responses, and quite frankly, I was beyond angry. I spoke to supervisor named Elda, who told me that I had to return the shoes before I could get a replacement pair. I told her that these are now the only work shoes that I have as the others molded, and I threw them away. At this point, these insufficient boots are all that I have and I asked her if that meant that I was stuck with them. Evidently, that is the case, as I cannot go to work without black shoes. I told her that I would be more than happy to give the shoes that I have now to UPS when new ones are delivered, and as a representative of the company, she refuses to do so. At this point, I am very dissatisfied, having been a customer since 2011. I am stuck with a pair of boots that cannot keep me safe, I have to wear overshoes over them, which makes them mold.

Desired Settlement
All I want is what I ordered, waterproof and slip resistant boots.

Business' Initial Response
Our Return/Exchange policy requires that in order for a refund or exchange to be processed, we must receive the shoes that the ******** is requesting a refund/exchange for. The shoes shipped out to the ******** were described as slip resistant by the manufacturer, and we can certainly understand an exchange or refund request if the ******** feels the product is defective. We offered to send a prepaid label for the return of the shoes, however, as ******** stated in her complaint, she refused to return product until we send a replacement pair. If the shoes are defective, the defective shoes must be returned to the manufacturer in order to get the replacement shipped out to the ********. This is standard return/exchange practice with most companies. Again, we are more than willing to provide an exchange and sending the ******** a pre-paid return label; however, we must receive the defective product prior to replacing it. We have emailed this ******** a prepaid return label to assist her return process.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I have mentioned in both the complaint to Shoebacca and the BBB, this is the only pair of work shoes that I have. I cannot go to work barefoot. I have to go to work with black, slip-resistant footwear, and I am in violation of this policy. On the bottom of the shoe, it clearly is imprinted "slip resistant." It is reasonable to me that they send out the shoes and I return the old pair when UPS comes. They don't seem to understand that I have no other work shoes. Not only that, it will take 10 days to get another pair. What am I to do? I am between the proverbial rock and a hard place, and Elda stated that she understood that fact. "Policy" needs to change, as this is the fourth order that I have placed, so I clearly have a customer history, as well as verification that this footwear is substandard.
"
I also gave them the name of my employer and contact info for managers to verify the matter, so there is no "feeling" that these shoes are defective. Both Richard and Emily can verify this at the Olive Garden, as they watch me sliding around on a daily basis. I cannot wear the rubber overshoes that they gave me for temporary relief, as it causes the footwear to mold due to not having an airtight seal. Elda, a manager at Shoebacca, claimed that they did not receive these e-mails via their company e-mail.

According to numerous complaints on sitejabber.com, not answering complaint e-mails is common practice for Shoebacca. Perhaps it should now be investigated as to whether or not the Dickies Raiders have a history of this problem. There was a packing slip in this order from Kodiak Footwear Company, which tells me that Shoebacca assumes responsibility for reselling someone else's material.

07/17/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shoes - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/15/2008Business started: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1998, TX

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ryan Schlaphter (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mr. Marc Schlachter (Owner)
Contact Information
Ms. Maria Castillo (Director of Customer Experience) Customer Service Department
Business Category

Shoes - Retail

Products & Services

Online shoe store

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

365 Return Policy on "unworn" / in manufacture's condition for non-outlet items.

Outlet items have 30 day return policy on "unworn" / in manufacture's condition for non-outlet items.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shoebacca.com

2205 E Pioneer Dr

Irving, TX 75061-8805

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2205 E Pioneer Dr 

    Irving, TX 75061-8805(888) 446-1788

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shoebacca.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Shoes - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.