BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2013

Vault Security (Headquarters)

Phone: (214) 235-0621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continued Unresolved issues of equipment working at the church.Dishonesty of sales Represent And Horrible customer service.
Our church as had issues with this service from day one of signing up May 2014. ***** assured us that this was a great system and they we were under warranty and if anything happened they would come out to replace or fix the problem. We have had ongoing continued false alarms. ***** informed me that because it was for our church that it would be under our Church information. He asked me ******** for my personal information and insured me that they just needed a contact, but a week later I received call they needed my SS# to run credit check. The cameras have gone down repeatedly and each time we call they have been very rude. We had thermostat installed with them as well, kept having problems after that with our A/C units not working and in the summer it was very hot. We expect when we get to church that our systems function properly. When they came out Daniel was very rude to the Pastor wife talked so crazy to her that was asked not to return to our property, but due to he is the only one to work the cameras he had to return. We ended up having to call Air conditioner repairman to see about unit not working and we were informed that the Thermostats installed where not for the commercial units we have. It cost us over $1,000 to get a new thermostat when what we had prior to Vault installation worked fine. When we called company they took $5 off the bill. Our church was broken in on September 8, 2014. The cameras as usual not working caught absolutely nothing. Our cameras have been down now since beginning of October and we can't get them to come repair because they seem annoyed with us; however if the equipment was working properly we would not have to. We call and call and still can't get our issues resolved. There is no reason we have two alarm units and we have to have members continually drive by the church to check because our systems stay down. Although we have two unit one in Sanctuary and one in fellowship hall Vault submitted the permit to City of Dallas as two separate orders causing us to have to pay double. We have alarm system that stays down more than it does up we would not recommend this company to anyone for how they handle there customers and there lack of concern towards us.

Desired Settlement
At this point we are so dissatisfied with the company and its employees we just would like for them to come get their equipment and cancel out our contract. We are a church business in a high crime area and we can't afford to have alarm equipment that does not work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@vaultsecurity.us
issues are taken care of and the customer should have taken off the complaint. they were upset and put it on before talking with us. we have responded to any and all issues they have had since they got the system. (we have all the service call receipts from every time we have been out there) and the customer is now happy!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We disagree with statements made that we did not contact the company or representatives handling our case and again our camera system was down for a month. We were very upset on system continually being down and having hard time getting someone out. At this time they are working to resolve with new terms that we are satisfied with, but we Do Not agree we filed this complaint before trying to reach them on several occasions.

Final Business Response
the first statement made by us was communicated improperly. what was meant by the previous statement/response is that we were in process of speaking with the customer to resolve the issue. We apologize if the first response offended Mrs. *****. However, since then, we have removed one of the two systems at the church, fixed the current system to cover both buildings, and we will be going to the church on 12/3/14 to install new dvr camera system to fix the issue with the cameras going down. We are sorry for the inconvenience and will strive to fix all of the issues as promptly as possible.

10/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesman who came to our door uninvited misrepresented the contract we were signing.
The salesman assured us that we could cancel the contract at any time without penalty. We were in the process of selling our home, and even had a for sale sign on the lawn. We were very clear with the salesman that we were moving withing 2 months and would have to cancel the contract. He said that it would not be a problem.

Once we moved, and called to cancel the service, we were informed that we were bound to a 3 year contract.

I am now trying to reach them by phone and have been on the line for 45 minutes on hold waiting for a representative to assist me.

Desired Settlement
I would like my contract cancelled as per my request, and in line with the way the salesman represented the contract.

Business Response
Customer is removing complaint completely... He understands that he signed an agreement and it is hearsay that the rep stated he could cancel at anytime. we also do two compliance calls to insure the customer understands the term of the agreement. we are going to give the customer a new system in his new house in south carolina. please remove the complaint as soon as possibe. i dont even want it to show up as a resolved complaint.

06/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales representative was dishonest by assuring me that my credit would not be ran and would not be possible with only my name and birthdate.
On Saturday afternoon, May 31st 2014 a young girl approached my home offering free installation and equipment to a Vault home security system, so long as I advertised their sign in the front of our home. When asked how much this would cost me monthly, she explained that they would have to see if I "qualified" for the system. I specifically asked if this would reflect on my credit and if this was a credit check. This girl responded no and that they could not run my credit without my social and they would never do that. Oh well, 2 days later, I've been notified by my credit monitoring company that Vault Security Systems has placed a hard inquiry on my credit. I'm extremely upset. I will make sure that every one of my neighbors and other homeowners know how deceitful this company and their sales rep are. I don't appreciate being lied to!

Desired Settlement
I want a request to the 3 credit bureaus on behalf of Vault Security Systems to remove the hard credit inquiry placed on my credit report.

Business Response
Spoke with customer and we are in the process of removing the credit inquiry from the bureaus and have reprimanded the representative so this issue does not happen again

06/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesmen for this company ran a credit check without my permission. They also embellished the "special deal" they were offering.
Two salesmen from Vault Security came to my house on Sunday, June 17. They claimed to be offering an amazing deal to me if I would display a sign in my yard to advertise for them. I mistakenly decided to hear them out. They were offering me a "free" system, and because they were new to the area, they would not charge for installation and activation. They asked for my name, phone number and birth date to check to ensure I was the home owner. Not once did he say this was a credit check. I received an alert later on that Vault Security had run a credit check on me. I was appalled by the deceitfulness of this salesmen. I would have never authorized a credit check. After running what he called a "homeowner verification," he then told me that the service cost $100 a month, but if I "kept it a secret" he would let me have it for $50 a month. There really is no "special deal" involved for displaying a sign in your front yard for them because I know that many alarm system companies will provide you with a free system and monitoring service for around $50 a month. I would not have been interested if I would have known up front that the monthly service charge was $50, and I surely would not have authorized a credit check regardless. This companies sales tactics are shady and people should be very aware.

Desired Settlement
A written explanation of why a credit check was run when they simply call it a homeowner verification and someone to reach out by email to me.

Business' Initial Response
issue resolved: had email correspondence with customer and resolved all issues and concerns.

06/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
may XX XXXX Andrew from vault security went door to door asking if home customer can put signs in thier yard! For free they will give you a basic security system! starting in june is when the $50.00 payments will start! He said I still need a card to take the money out! He called a beth at the table from vault security She said that will be fine! The payments will be set for the 5th of every month! te signs wil be in our yard for 5 months! But andrew and his boss from vault security lied! They took out the money with in minutes ! I got a notice from my bank! I called vault security on Friday The l;ady said the money would be taken out of the account! ob friday it was not! She said the sales men should of told you a 30 day trial period!She said if not happy to contuine for paying. But I told her andrew had signed us up for 5 years with out telling us this! I called on saturday vault security is closed So call the X-XXX XXX-XXXX To work it out! montoring electrnoic! They said they do not deal with billing, but it says on there recording! I talk to a christine! Shesaid vault security only handles the billing and should be open on saturday because phone rep and salesmen come to the homes! I told her they are closed!
Product_Or_Service: security syatem
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
They need to tell the sale person that a thirty dat trial Have the customer set up the billing on how they want! give our 50.00 back! have thier system talk to he montoring system be open on saturdays! if the customer decides not to keep it take it out!The sales men also said that are neighbor have purchased one to! no they have not! just to get us to buy one! I found out that are homeasscation is asked by the county to put no soltaion signs up! mailer in the mail be better because of scammers!

Business' Initial Response
Issue Resolved on 5/29/2013... Spoke to Customer and noticed that the first month payment came out earlier than she initially thought it would and unfortunately put the customer in a financial bind. we resolved this issue by compensating the customer for the financial burden placed on her by the first months charge coming out early and explained how all future payments will occur. Customer stated that all issues have been resolved and they will be writing back in to withdraw the complaint.

04/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wife thought she was signing for a 1 yr. contract was slid a 5 yr got reduced to 3 yr and want away from their horrible service. Very poor
Wife signed up for Vault security services believing it was a one year deal. Later when I called because I was disappointed in the service and installation I found out it was a 5 yr contract. I talked them down to a 3 yr contract, but the equipment quality is very bad and nothing is going to fix the cheap plastic equipment they installed that is constantly needing adjusting and repair. I asked to get out of the contract and they slammed me with an awful reality they want 80% of the cost of the remaining contract. No business should treat customers this way. 3 and 5 yr contracts with huge termination fees that is not appropriate. At least be reasonable and charge a reasonable break fee.

Desired Settlement
Cancel our contract and reduce break fee to $200 not $1200. We will all go our separate ways and I will withdraw the complaint as I believe this resolution is reasonable.

Business Response
we understand the concern of the customer. However, the term of the agreement was explained over the phone and in person with the customer before the installation of their equipment. Also, the customer signed 2 agreement documents clearly stating in multiple locations that the agreement term was initially a 60 month agreement. When the customer called in the first time stating that they felt the term was too long, Vault graciously lowered their term to a 36 month agreement. Vault can not lower the term of the agreement any further than 36 months and we have a signed contract stating that the customer agrees to all terms of the agreement. Attached you will find the signed Alarm Monitoring Agreement.

07/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Equipment they install doesn't work half the time.
Garage door open only works when it wants to. One day or two out of seven it might open the door. The door locks don't work at all.

Desired Settlement
Fix my equipment, they spend two days working on the garage opener to get it to work and it failed the next day. Either fix it or make it right.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Harley ****** - President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@vaultsecurity.us
spoke with customer, we are having technical issues with his garage door opener. We have dispatched the tech to resolve all issues. once the issue is fixed, the customer is satisfied

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are now telling me, that the garage door can't work and it is the main reason I got their system. I just want them to come take out their equipment since it doesn't work.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I bought new garage door opener and installed it. Nobody has been out to fix system they told me sometime next week or so. I am done I want the system out.

Final Business Response
Vault has been in constant contact with the customer. We have hooked up the garage door and all of his other automation products. This has been an inconvenience to Mr. ******* and we sincerely appologise for the issues. However, the security portion of his system has been functioning properly since day one. We have been out to the customers house on multiple occasions to fix the automation items but it seems that the system has issues staying connected to his internet. this could be due to a number of different things and we have been trouble shooting it to make sure that the customer gets the system he initially wanted. Last time we spoke with the customer, everything was installed and working properly. We will followup with him in a couple days to make sure everything is still good.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unresolved issues post installation.
I've had issue from the early start of the installation including not showing up for service and specific items not delivered as promised.
The primary problem that I've been having since installation is ongoing false alarms. When first installed, this was blamed on tweaking the system but after that was completed the false alarms still continue. In one of their recent visits, this was blamed on a faulty image sensor. This was supposedly fixed but the false alarms starting all over again.
Now they are telling me the image sensors are too sensitive and that this is causing the false alarms.
Since the image sensors were part of the deal it's a little disturbing to me that this standard equipment appears (from what they're telling me) to be temperamental. They have been responsive by trying to address the problems of late and also giving a video cam and one free month of service
I just want the service to work properly without all these ongoing false alarms that take up my time and creates anxiety not to mention wasting law enforcement's time as well.

Desired Settlement
I want the system fixed properly once and for all so these issues will not reoccur.
Vault is scheduled to service the system again this Saturday.

Business Response
These issues has been resolved on 7/12/14. customer is happy and signed off on the service that was completed! The service call was already scheduled before the customer sent in the complaint and we fill that the complaint is invalid since we met all of the customers needs before the complaint posted. Please remove from BBB.

07/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rep said that the system and monthly fees for the advertising house they would pay for.
The rep from Vault Security said that they would install a system for free and pay no monthly fees if we would allow them to use our house as an "advertising house". We invited him into our house and he explained that if we allowed them to install this system amazing system in our house and put a sign in our yard to help advertise then they would cover the cost of equipment and installation and monthly fees. He later said that we would have to pay for the fee to monitronics, which is a monitoring service that they had no control over the fees. The fee for this service is $50.99 a month. He said that is to connect us to local fire, police, and healthcare. I contacted another security system company and they said that they would do the exact same thing for 49.99 a month which includes free system and system installation.
If Vault Security was truthful they would have had a different terms of agreement for the advertising house than the normal subscriber. This was not the case, he showed us the same agreement as the "normal" subscriber would have. All in all it is an advertising scam to get you to subscribe to their service.

Desired Settlement
A totally free system (installation included) with no monthly fees from them or monitronics.

Business' Initial Response
we would like to apologize to the consumer for making them feel misled but the way the system was marketed to them is our Advertising strategy and there was no misrepresentation that i can see from the complaint. we do offer free installation for homes that help us advertise our brand by putting a sign in their front yard and all the customer has to take care of or pay for is the monitoring fee of $50.99. Also, any company that is called with a comparison price will do what they can to match the price or beat it to gain a customer. The way we market to homeowners is not a scam to have people sign up but a way to gain visibility in new markets.

06/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
45 days to get security system installed correctly. Ignored emails and phone calls. Impossible to get contract canceled sure to lack of communication
Had a security system installed, 4/12/13, monitoring service was not working that evening, so the install was completed the next day. On 4/16/13 I emailed the company about non functioning of the motion sensors. We emailed back and forth trying to set up a time. My emails quit being answered. I attempted to phone the office. Left a message, no return call. 5/28/13 was when the system was finally repaired. The motrin sensors were mounted upside down. I requested the termination of my contract because I did not feel comfortable with them as my service provider. They have no sense of urgency, and do not care about the customer once the system is installed. I have no confidence in their ability to perform their job securing my home

Desired Settlement
I want my contract canceled with no penalty. I would like to pay for the equipment at the current rate, otherwise I will purchase a set of the exact provided items to return to them. I do not want them as my service provider.

Business' Initial Response
Issue Resolved. Spoke to Customer on 6/7/2013 and customer has agreed to remove the complaint completely once he verifies that we have complied with his requests.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Security Systems Consultants, Security Cameras, Consultants - Security, Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Smoke Detectors & Alarms, Home Automation, Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.