BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1987

Smith Thompson Home Security

Phone: (972) 526-8500Fax: (972) 526-8510View Additional Phone Numbers6652 Pinecrest Drive, Suite 500, PlanoTX 75024-4221 Send email to Smith Thompson Home Security

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1987

BBB has determined that Smith Thompson Home Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smith Thompson Home Security's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smith Thompson Home Security

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 28
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 28 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i feel that i was miss informed about this company
when i got the system i told the installer that this was just a temporary residence,and that i would be moving to Waxahachie Texas.at no time did the installer tell me the company did not cover waxahachie.i learned about this when i was attempting to set up my service at my new residence.if i would have know about the coverage of the security co. i would not have selected the system.

Desired Settlement
i am not seeking a full refund of money.just compensation for some of my money.i have not had the system for a full year which i signed up for.

Business Response
We hardly see where this is a valid complaint, in fact, it's a little silly. We get calls all of the time from people wanting our service in areas that we don't currently service and when we inform them that we don't service that area, they don't go crying to the BBB! The customer enjoyed our service for some time in his current address and is moving. Are we missing something here? It sounds like a bad case of hurt feelings here. While we're thrilled that he wanted to have our service in his new address, we really don't feel it was necessary to file a complaint over something so ridiculous. We can assure him that when we do start servicing Waxahachie soon, we will certainly take a hard look at whether or not he ever becomes a customer again. This is really a ridiculous waste of the BBB and our time. We also listened to the voice recording of when he called in originally, and there is of course, no mention of him moving to Waxahachie.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
first of all my feelings are not hurt. second i did tell the technician who installed the system that i would be moving to waxahachie and that i would love transfer my service. now if he was listening to me or not i cannot tell you. because he was telling me how to transfer the up link box. i called your office and no one was trying to help me get the situation resolved. i don't know about you people, but if you spend money on something i think that you deserve some type of customer service. i just needed someone to help you resolve the issue. i spent exactly four hundred s and twelve dollars for the system, which may not appear to be alot of money to you, but to only use the system for three months, and you paid for twelve months that's an issue.. however i see when someone has an issue with your company, its ridiculous. i guess that's customer service. if i were told by you guys that you did not service the Waxahachie area, i think it would have been really stupid on my behalf to get the service and waist your time and mind.mam or sir,i do work that normal people would not even attempt to do.so, communication is everything. because without it, you don't come home...

Final Business Response
And yes, we still very much maintain that this is in fact....ridiculous. We don't, as a matter of policy, question our customers on 'where' they plan to live for the rest of their lives and most customers choose our service based on where they live at the present time, not where they plan to live down the road. We reviewed the salespersons recorded phone line and no where is there any mention of this person moving to Waxahachie at any time. He did mention however that this was a rental property and since we are one of only a few alarm companies that actually even do rental properties, we require and he agreed (three times actually) to the one year nonrefundable monitoring. The customer also signed and initialed our paperwork agreeing to the one year nonrefundable payment required, on 12-9-14. 'Customer service' has nothing to do with someone agreeing to something and then wanting to change the rules three months after the deal was made. (We can only imagine what some landlord is having to deal with now right now as well.) Again, we must ask, "why in the world would someone make a decision on their current alarm service based on where they might live a year from now?" It's a monthly service and you may have to go with some other company in your next town just like cable service, power, or internet service. They may or may not service your area! This is just a case of someone agreeing to something and then wanting their money back after THEY changed their living arrangements. Why did the customer agree to in writing and pay us for one year if they didn't plan on using it for one year? This has nothing to do with 'customer service' from 'you people'as you say. We did our job, without any flaws and did exactly what our agreement said we would do. And for a rate he will probably never find again. And in closing, we still need written notice that he is cancelling, also part of the agreement he signed. Sadly, we do plan to start servicing Waxahachie in the next few months, however, anyone who goes to this length and files a BBB complaint over something so ridiculous, we do not plan to ever do business with this individual again.

12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Smith and ******** does not maintain their wireless modems. If one goes out, they fall to replace them.
This company is fine when your alarm is working. However, you get what you pay for. Since the service is so cheap, they cut corners on their staff. If you have any problems whatsoever, the Smith and ******** people are very unprofessional. When our alarm went out this summer, I contacted S&T. One of their technicians called and said he had no answers other than to check out the outlet, so I did. It was fine. I also replaced the battery and AC adapter (something their Technician never even mentioned, which shows just how well trained these guys are lol). However, the alarm still did not work due to their wireless modem being inoperable. After S&T sent me a bill, I informed them I would not be paying for an alarm service where the alarm was inoperable. When I told them I would resume staying with them if they could get their wireless modem to work, I was informed that my account was not to be reactivated. I still have their modem, which apparently does not work. However, how hard is it to swap out a wireless modem? Apparently too hard for Smith & ********.

Desired Settlement
I am a HOA President. My settlement will be steering future customers away from Smith ********. Therefore, I am not requesting a settlement. I just want people to know that if they a problem with their alarm, Smith ******** will not address the matter. The amazing thing is that Smith ******** will not even replace one of their wireless modems when it goes out.

07/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TO BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU:

RECEIVED A CALL FROM **** **** ON 5/27/2014
ABOUT THE CORRECT ADDRESS TO BILL PAYMENT.
WE BOTH AGREED THAT SHE WOULD CHECK FOR
SURE AND GIVE ME A CALL NEXT WEEK. SHE DID
I INFORMED HER THAT WE ARE AT **** *****
******* ****** *** *** **** ****** ** XXXXX.
WE MOVEDTO **** FROM **** IN MARCH ,2014
AND IS NO LONGER THERE.
SHE INFORMED ME THAT SHE HAD ON FILE 7600
SOUTH LOOP 12 AND 3232 GREAT TRINITY FOREST
WAY. THIS IS 2 ACCOUNTS FOR THE SAME
BUSINESS.
I TOLD HER WE MOVED FROM **** ** **** ** **
**** ***** **** ** IN 2008 . THERE SHOULD BE
NO 7600 IN EXISTINCE. SHE TOLD ME THAT
ACCOUNT WAS STILL ACTIVE AND J HAD BEEN
PAYING SINCE THE START WHICH WAS 2004 TILL
THE PRESENT. I WAS SHOCKED AND ASKED HER
HOW IS THAT AREA BEING MONITORED AND AT
WHAT PHONE NUMBER WHEN WE HAVE NOT HAD
SERVICE THERE SINCE THE MOVE TO **** IN 2008.
ON 6/5/2014 RECEIVED CALL FROM COLLIN THE
SERVICE MANAGER THAT I WILL BE REIMBURSED
FOR $118.00 FOR SERVICE PAID ON 7600 SINCE
2008 AT $16.95 PER MONTH. THIS IS 6 YEARS
APPROXIMATELY TOTALING 72 MONTH X
16.95=1220.40. I CONSIDER THIS ROBBERY
ESPECIALLY SINCE I HAD BEEN WITH SMITH ********
FOR 10 YEARS. I FEEL THAT THE AMT
OF 118 IN NOT A FAIR AMT FOR THE TIME.
DISCONTINUE SERVICE WITH ST ON 6/6/2014
COpy TO SMITH ********-LORI **** in billing Security
PO Box XXXXXX
Plano, TX XXXXX

Business Response
The customer was contacted by ***** ******** and a refund agreement was reached.

04/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
-Company provided no service but charged me
-My old equipment did not jive with their system but they still charged me by not telling the truth
I signed up with the company after recommendation from my friend. I have an old system from another provider. The sales guy from Smith ******** told me they can monitor my house with the current system and don't need any other extra equipment. After couple of years of service, we checked and tested their service and equipment.It did not work. There were times when the alarm will go off but no calls would come in. This is huge break in trust and confidence in this company. We decided to change provider so started to bring in other providers. Everyone of them told me the system I have is an old system and Smith ******** could have never monitored my house with the current set up I have.
During this time, I stopped paying them. Later I told them to tell me how they were monitoring me. They could not answer me and could not test my system. They wanted my past due amount of about $74 before speaking with me.
I want all my money back that I paid them. That's why I am asking for the amount above. If this complain don't get resolved, I have to take further legal step to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement
I just want all of my money back from the company and the punitive damages that I paid for years thinking that they were providing me the service but they weren't.

Business Response
His old system 'jived' (as he put it) just fine with our cellular transmitter. The only requirement if that the existing system must be working in order to simply attach our cellular transmitter to and function properly. This is nothing more than a case of someone who got tricked into switching to another company and just stopped paying us instead of properly cancelling which only takes an email or even a phone call since we don't require long term contracts. He did not do this, he just stopped paying us. The system worked just fine and there was never any problem with our transmitter. If their was, how come he never called in for service? We checked and there were never any requests for service. This is all recorded. He even admits "I stopped paying them". Yes, he must pay the past due balance and No, we will not take them back as a customer as his wife called us and requested this. She even said her husband would go online and pay the past due amount but he has not. As far as the 'Consumer's Desired Resolution', we don't always turn these over to collection and Experian Credit Services, but in this case, we will most assuredly. In fact, note to BBB here, he mentioned on the phone "I will turn you in to the BBB and they will make you pay". This is his quote. This is a ridiculous 'complaint' and is nothing more than a customer who stopped paying his bill and now is trying to force us to take him back as a customer without paying by using the BBB. This will not happen.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These guys are not telling the truth. We tried several tests but they never responded. About the cellular device, they didn't put a thing in my house. They were not monitoring me, period, end of the case. On us trying to get their services back, we were testing them if they could get our signal with current system. They couldn't and kept telling me someone needs to come and hook up once again. How come? If they were already monitoring me, shouldn't they be able to do it? Never said anything about going to BBB. Even if I did, so what? Next, I am talking to my lawyer to either prove they were monitoring me or give me my money back.
I supported these fools thinking they were local but they cheated me. Resolve the issue!!!


Final Business Response
We're sorry this past customer is 'Dissatisfied' with our response. It's probably because we are going to require him to pay his past due bills and we are never going to take them as customers again. This is a complete misuse of the BBB system when a customer attempts to use them to somehow force us to take him back as a customer after he just stops paying his bill, never notifying us he is switching to another company, and how wants to come back.....and has the audacity to somehow justify not paying us what is owned. And a small amount at that! What is sad here is that their credit score will suffer over their own irresponsibility. And this is really all this 'complaint' is about, just wanting to come back. It is not going to happen and yes, we plan to turn this over to collection and if not paid, will automatically be reported to all three credit bureaus. His address has also been flagged since it is not uncommon for another member of the family to attempt to reactivate the service in another name. The only persons 'cheated' as he states.....is us!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This complaint could have been easily resolved and I would pay the remaining amount with interest BUT the company has to prove to me that they were monitoring me with my current device. If they can't, they have to pay back my money. It's as simple as that.
No threat of credit bureau will work since I will tell Bureaus the truth as well. I am already speaking with my lawyer. I will further let my HOA know about the company. I write blogs on many media outlets so I will HIGHLIGHT the company and its practice.
Company needs to stop cheating and pay back my money.

03/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The unit was not tested upon installation, and not working correctly. When I requested a refund, I was mocked and harassed by the customer service.
I scheduled alarm installation for the afternoon of February 18, when I did not have patients scheduled. The installer requested to come early, to fit his day, which I was ok with, but I didn't realize meant he could not test the unit since I was in session with patients. The unit was miswired, which meant that it had false alarm triggers, and this was not resolved by Smith Thompson, ultimately my husband had to rewire it. I requested to terminate the service because Smith Thompson did not test nor repair this unit. When I requested a refund of my installation, I was told that a transponder had to be returned. I asked for this to be arranged with my husband, as I am busy with patient care. I received a partial refund, and was told that the rest was contingent on the transponder, that they never picked up despite speaking with my husband. When I called to question this, Ryan, the customer service person, called me names and mocked me on the phone, repeating back what I said to him in a childish, sing song voice. He then called my husband and was very pleasant to him. Perhaps this is sexism, perhaps this is just unprofessionalism, but I would hate for any future customers to have to face treatment like this.

Desired Settlement
I did receive a partial refund. However, I am still waiting on the remainder. I also had to take time out of my day (billable by the hour) to resolve this, as did my husband (also billable by the hour) to return the transponder to them. I would like a full refund, as well as an apology for not testing the unit, not repairing the unit, and for their treatment of me on the phone.

Business Response
This is one of the stranger 'complaints' we have ever encountered. This was not a system that we installed and we are not really sure who installed it and when it was done. Nevertheless, we simply added a cellular modem at a cost of $ 45 one time fee to their existing system to redirect the signals to us. It began false alarming immediately. We sent out a technician (at no charge of course) to check it out and he discovered that the store front rental space this therapy clinic is located in, had been modified and they had combined some other doors from some other adjoining spaces into this alarm system and someone was simply opening that door triggering the alarm. We simply didn't know that this particular door was tied in to their system. It was somewhat confusing and of course, the customer was never charged for any service calls, obviously not our fault as we didn't even install the system! The very nice (and most reasonable) husband actually discovered it and even fixed it himself as he is obviously fairly technical himself. Now this is where it gets very strange.....the wife called in using the F word in every phrase as she was livid. What for, we have no idea! The facts: This is NOT our system, we simply connected an existing system to our monitoring. It only took a day or so to figure out what was causing this false alarm, and a simple fix at that. If every technical problem we experienced was this easy, our lives would be easy! For whatever reason, she was must have been having a bad day. She screamed at Ryan liked he was a child (all recorded of course) and Ryan worked with her husband quite easily. Very easily in fact. As far as the refund issue is concerned, this never was an issue. We had already scheduled our tech to simply drop by and pick up the cellular unit and a refund would be issued. Pretty simple actually. We're really baffled as to why the customer would go ballistic over something so simple. Perhaps she was just having a bad (really bad) day. One bit of advice though,and these people being 'therapists' should know this better than anyone, with your next alarm company also didn't install this system, you might want to consider working with them to correct any little technical issues (and this one was very little) instead of calling and immediately cursing them out when they (like us) had nothing to do with the original cause. Electronics of any kind will need service from time to time and calling and using the 'F' word to get your way is not the way to remedy a situation. This is what we have service people for and they will very happily solve your problem!For Free!

03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I want a full refund of my installation fee and all fees paid for Security since I signed up.
Smith ******** Security is a fraudulent company who does not provide security services to your home.
The alarm went off at my house,m and they called me, but refused to dispatch police because they could not find the permit number in their system. The permit number was not only provided to them at the time on install and is on my original paperwork, but the updated permit was mailed to their business location, return receipt requested. Their customer service was a joke, they actually hung up on me twice, and failed to have any solution to having the police go to my house to investigate the alarm, despite me having a paid security permit. Due to their incredible lack of organization, and losing jot only my original paperwork but subsequent follow up paperwork, my house could have been burglarized. I will immediately be switching security companies to one who has their paperwork organized and who cares a little bit about providing customer service. Te problem I spoke with could not have cared less about my house or the fact that they misplaced the permit, the offered no solution and no help to the issue and just hung up. I want my installation refunded, and all paid security monitoring fees as they have nor provided the service advertised and could not protect my home.

Desired Settlement
I expect my full fees refunded or I will see them in court.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@smiththompson.com
Not having a Dallas Alarm permit on file does not constitute 'fraudulent' activity. We need to point out what actually happened here so there is no misunderstanding plus perhaps the customer can redirect some of this anger towards the real culprit. The City of Dallas requires an alarm permit, something we highly disagree with and always have. This is nothing more than double taxation to a homeowner. They also require the customer to fill out a notification form that we are required by law to send them stating that we started alarm service at the customers address. This is not the actual permit! The customer then must apply for the permit (we cannot do this for them)and phone in, email, or mail the permit number to our office as soon as they get the permit. We don't have any evidence of any of these and we want to make sure the customer understands that we will be more than willing to refund all money paid if it is determined that we somehow lost the permit number. We rarely receive a permit by certified mail, but please by all means, provide us with the signed receipt and we will then immediately refund their money. It just seemed strange to us that we would misplace something so important as a permit number, especially if sent certified mail, something that has simply never happened here before. After reviewing the recorded phone calls, we did not hang up, we simply could not dispatch. Actually what did happen was, we contacted the Dallas Police and attempted to dispatch but unless we read back the exact number, they will hang up. The ridiculous part here is that the Dallas Police are looking right at the customers actual permit on file when they pull up the address, and STILL REFUSE to send help. This is what we mean by the actual culprit. Customer pays their money (a tax) to the city, city has the permit number of file right in front of the city dispatcher, they then refuse to send simply because the alarm company doesn't have the number. This is reckless and stupid. In fact, the alarm company AND the customer can actually be fined up to $ 350 EACH for continuing to dispatch without a valid permit on both ends! The customer mentions that they provided a permit at the time of installation. We searched over all of the signed and initialed paperwork, and there are not permit numbers written anywhere. We will also attempt to find out when the permit number was issued, probably sometime after the installation. Again, in 38 years, we have never misplaced anyones permit number. We just wanted everyone to know here, that we are only doing what we can under the law and again, we will be more than pleased to refund their money when we can determine positively that we did misplace this number. The customer initialed the paperwork stating that they would provide us the alarm permit number as soon as they received it as per the Dallas law. The return receipt and alarm permit expiration date should clearly show this. It is our opinion that we did everything as instructed and in good time as well. Their house was never unmonitored. And since we are now under their threat of "see them in court",as well as she told us numerous times that her husband is an attorney, we will notify our attorneys as well. Again, we really feel like the city and their ridiculous alarm polices are really to blame here and we think the customer knows this full well. Thankfully there was not an actual criminal act taking place at their home! They mention that we lost 'subsequent follow up paperwork'? If they will let us know what this is, we will certainly address. Please have then email the receipts, paperwork, etc to ****@smiththompson.com and we will get this wrapped up right away. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** denies any fault for the terrible customer service from Smith ********, denies having the permit number, which is on our application, and denies his customer service reps hanging up on me twice. I have phone records showing I was forced to call back to them more than twice that night, and proof that my permit number has been in place since we bought our house in 2004. Smith ******** is trying to deny their culpability in this issue by placing the blame on Dallas for requiring a permit number. In fact, the blame in this incident lies with Smith ********, who not only lost our permit number twice, they then refused to provide any kind of assistance or customer service when our alarm went off. They have ONE JOB, which is to protect our home. They not only failed at that, they were rude, unhelpful and ignorant of our distress and offered no help at all when we were asking them what else we could do. I certainly will provide our signed paperwork, (which I notice they failed to provide because it would prove my point) but not to ****, I will be providing it to the Better Business Bureau, Angie's List, Yelp, Google, Yahoo and every other location I can possibly find to show people that they should not ever choose Smith ******** as a security company. I can't wait to switch to a company that will not only provide security, but who actually gives a **** when their customer's alarms go off and does not hang up on them and leave them to their own devices.

Final Business Response
We offered a full refund if the customer would simply send us the receipt for the 'certified mail' (she also said she emailed us the same permit) she says she used to send us the Dallas Police required permit. This is required by the City of Dallas, not us. We're not sure why she would not accept this since this is what she asked. We have no reason to believe they didn't have the permit, they just failed to send it to us. In fact, we phoned the Dallas Police and to show you who is really responsible here, they would not give us ANY information about this permit. This is how cooperative they are! The reason the customer had to call back is they were hung up due to calling our dispatcher a f***ing idiot multiply times. We will continue to hang up on anyone who acts like this and uses vulgar language. Let us spell this out clearly for the customer, WE DID NOTHING WRONG, in fact, we did everything perfectly. And the customer mentions they provided their permit on their 'application'. There was only a document that shows them required to get a permit, but the city issues the permit number later, usually within a few weeks so it's impossible for us to have it. We have all of the paperwork where the customer signed and initialed stating they would provide the permit number to us. This is a case of a customer getting mad over something that is entirely their fault. The alarm worked perfectly, the dispatchers did their job perfectly, and now the customer is mad. We didn't lose anything! We don't 'lose' permit numbers. The only person who was rude was you, the customer! And very rude we might add. They say they cannot wait to get another company. We're going to help with that. They have already been mailed a cancellation letter with our termination notice. And just so you know, you will be required to provide the permit number to your new company just like you were supposed to provide it to us, this doesn't change by changing companies. The same City of Dallas policy applies to every alarm company. And our attorneys at Haynes and Boone have already been notified of the exaggerated and misleading reviews posted. The recorded phone calls have been provided as well and will be used if necessary to prove everything we are saying here.

01/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had Smith ******** Security put in an alarm system in 2011. I had existing pre-wire and the technician came out and checked all equipment and notified me that the front and back door the wiring was faulty and he was attaching their own monitoring equipment. I had a false alarm go off on the front windows and in October 2011 Smith ******** came out and replaced the three sensors on the front windows at a cost of 15 a piece at that time he never mentioned anything about faulty wiring and I was assured the problem was fixed. I told him how the front door also triggered false alarms he checked that out and said it was okay. I then fast forward year to date and have had 9 false alarms due to this equipment from the front door and the windows sensors. I called the state because they allowed me 5 free service calls and are now charging me 75 for each service call and they makes a total of 345 that they state I now owe. I can not afford to pay this. This is more than the monitoring company charges me for the alarm. In good faith I asked if we could work out a agreement and I would be responsible for half as I can't afford to pay that and I was told NO and that if I didnt pay it would go to collection and be assessed additional fees and they be put on my credit report.

Desired Settlement
I want the 345 removed from my account. I will not be renewing my alarm company because they can not provide service to my home and I will not be renewing my alarm permit. The fact that they are more than willing to charge me additional fees and penalities is crazy and when I asked for a settlement offer they refused as I can't affored to pay 345 is even crazier. They do not even want to work out payment plans with me just tack on more fees. I will fight this from showing up on my credit report

Business Response
This is probably one of the worst cases of "It's always someone elses fault" we have ever seen in over 37 years. First, we didn't 'put in' anything! We simply took over an existing alarm system that apparently the builder installed which is very common. We simply started the monitoring and she was only charged for Cellular transmitter that we attach to any system to make it send signals to us which has no bearing on the wiring whatsoever. The windows (that we did not wire!) started falsing almost immediately. We sent our tech out and replaced three contacts (that we didnt install) at $ 15 each, less than they cost us. No labor charged! She only called us after she had several more false alarms, and we told her to let us know if it continued, she did not let us know. Our dispatchers don't track problems like this, no alarm company does, the customer needs to alert us to continuing problems. We then told her (several times) to seriously consider removing the problem zone and replace it with a glass break sensor. She got furious (many times) and demanded that it was our fault and we had to pay for it, AND PAY HER FINES TO THE CITY. We tried to explain that this had nothing to do with our monitoring service, we only respond to your existing system. AND THE MOST DISHONEST AND MISLEADING THING ABOUT HER STORY, WHEN SHE SAYS 'FAST FORWARD', She was disconnected nearly 4 years ago! Why are you just now rehashing this whole thing now? Why does she say "I will not be renewing my alarm company or my alarm permit"? She hasn't been online in nearly 4 years! Of course we are not going to work any payment plans, she doesnt owe us anything. Perhaps she owes the city for the fines but not us. And what fees are we 'tacking on'? She doesnt owe us anything! She is either trying to intentionally deceive us here or something. We have no clue what she us wants to pay for her irresponsibility in not paying her bills to the city. And frankly, why is the BBB even accepting a crazy 'complaint' like this when she hasn't even been a customer in years? We are not even close to being in anyway responsible for this nonsense.

10/15/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At the time of installation, one window sensor not connected and said it was builder's issue. Builder checked and said working.
At the time of installation, one window sensor not connected and said it was builder's issue and if builder fixed it, security system would be automatically connected without any issues. We called builder and they checked and confirmed it is working. When I contacted ***** ******** support to verify, they asked $59.00 to send a person and check. I clearly told them there is no issue from builder side and fix the sensor. Spent around $900.00 for instruments only for initial installation. Now Support person is saying, they are ready to cancel my service if I am ok. He was not willing to listen our concerns.If I would have known earlier with these kind of technical support, I could have chosen different company without one upfront huge fees.

Desired Settlement
I would like to fix the issue and technical support person to talk polite.

Business Response
It is very common for a builder installed alarm system (the wiring specifically) to have multiple problems with cut wires since the wiring is telephone type wiring and not as durable during sheetrocking, etc. In fact it is rare whenever we see a system that was installed during construction that does not have some kind of problem. A wire is either bad or it's not, this one was bad. In fact, in this case, the builder didn't even finish the job that the customer paid for! Plus the customer DID NOT pay anywhere close to $ 900 with us, he in fact added many extra devices to his existing wiring including monitored smoke detectors, motion detectors, and a cellular alarm transmitter, all options and not required. THIS PROBLEM HAD ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO with any of our work and we do charge a small labor charge to correct someone else's work, and in this case, his abusive attitude had much to do with that. There are no 'huge fees' as he states with our company, you only pay for what you want and our monitoring is still just $ 16.95 per month for cellular monitoring with no long term contract. We did explain to him that he is free to go with any company he desires. Again, with builder wiring, a wire circuit either is good or it's bad, there is no in between. This customer is not being truthful in his complaint and he is also being very misleading about our 'huge upfront fees' because there are none but we will be happy to correct any problems for a small charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your reply. I would like to explain my statements.
1) I meant "Huge upfront costs" is for all the products I bought it from you.
2) I was told to pay ~$59.00 for checking the connection you made. This is not small amount for me.
3) If you need anything from builder about the issue, I will try to get it from builder.
4) I paid $1059.18 in one check - Check no 164 dated 03/13/15 (This covers all the products I bought and one year fees).
5) You said "We did explain to him that he is free to go with any company he desires". Not expected these kind of answer from customer support, after I spent $1059.18.


Final Business Response
We will try once again to explain some basic electronics here. A wire from the control box to the window sensor is either good or it is bad, it either works or does not, it either has continuity or does not, there is no in between. The builder wired circuit did not work when we there and you cannot hook it up or it will render the system useless. It has to be left out until it is corrected before it can be added to the loop. THIS IS VERY COMMON (ALMOST ALL OF THE TIME!) with builder installed wiring. In fact, we can't remember the last time we connected a builder installed system up without a problem. We have to pay our tech to go back out the house and reconnect the circuit, something the builder's alarm company could have done when they supposedly went out to do, but DID NOT. In fact, it wouldn't surprise us if the circuit is still no good, we've seen that many times too. We will not attempt to get reimbursed from a builder either as this is next to impossible! The fee stands and if he doesn't want to pay it, this is his choice. In fact, we are currently re evaluating this customer anyway due to abusive behavior towards our staff and in fact, if we get one more screaming, demeaning, abusive call from them, we will terminate the account immediately. His system (with exception of the Uplink Cellular unit) is completely compatible with any alarm company and we certainly invite them to consider another company as this would be best for everybody. Again, this is very sad, considering this HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH ANY WORK WE DID. This is only at attempt to bully us into providing free work. The amount paid for the system has nothing to do with what is right or wrong. If the builder had done the work properly in the beginning, this would not be an issue. The complaint should really be directed at them instead.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark S. Thompson (President)
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smith Thompson Home Security

6652 Pinecrest Drive, Suite 500

Plano, TX 75024-4221

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6652 Pinecrest Drive, Suite 500 

    Plano, TX 75024-4221Fax: (972) 526-8510

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smith Thompson Home Security is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 393-2000
  • (800) 728-6906
  • (972) 661-8585
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.