BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2015

American Defense Systems

Find a Location

Phone: (817) 900-8457Fax: (817) 900-844412200 Ford Rd Ste 105, DallasTX 75234-7244 Send email to American Defense Systems

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2015

BBB has determined that American Defense Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Defense Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

41 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Defense Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 40
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 41 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)
12/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They cannot provide a technician I am comfortable with to come out and replace part of my system and I'm not paying for a system I cannot use.
I have asked repeatedly for updates on when someone can come to fix my motion sensor on my alarm. I have not heard from ********* in 3 weeks. I was told I would have 3 months of free service and was charged after 1 month. I am not going to pay for an alarm system I cannot use and they cannot provide a technician that is not rude and makes me uncomfortable in my own home to fix my sensor.I have asked repeatedly to have my new contract cancelled from the beginning of service (5 weeks) and the company refuses to cancel my service and cannot fix my system for me to properly use it. I'm tired of wasting my time calling ********* for her to not return my call or have no update or new information for me. Then I was charged after I was not supposed to be. I just simply want my contract cancelled so there is no issues for myself or the company.

Desired Settlement
I want my new contract cancelled by American defense systems.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******-President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@americandefensesystems.com
We have spoke to Ms. ***** and come up with a satisfactory resolution to the issues that were not being handled properly with a member of our staff. We apologize for the inconvenience and have provided what was promised.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Suspicious sales practice activity. They canceled my contract without my or security motoring company's knowledge. Malicious business practices.
On May 7, 2015 I called and inquired about the home security monitoring system contract specifics American Defense Shield (ADS). I did this because there was an offer given to me by a competitor that was more appealing. I was told by the installation technician that I could call and cancel at anytime. During the conversation with ADS, there were opposing arguments in which the ADS representative stated that I was "unable to get out of the contract unless I paid the full amount". She went on to tell me that all conversations are recorded and transcribed, and began to read the whole conversation of (when I first signed the contract) to me. At that point I did not cancel my contract nor was under the assumption they would cancel contract. They continued to take money out of my account for the months following (July and August showed up as pending and were then retracted).
In August, I received a phone call from a creditor, Hillcrest Davidson, stating that they were going to turn my information into creditors since my account was canceled and not paid in full. This phone call seemed very unofficial and inaccurate information was given to me by the caller. He stated that he was calling about a Monotronics account opened in XXXX-XXXX. I bought my property in 2015. Due to the casual nature of the call and inaccurate information, I believed that it was indeed a scam looking to collect money. Because of this, we had a tense verbal exchange. I informed the manager I would not be paying anything until I figured out what they were claiming was legit du8e to never cancelling my contract.
I was next transferred to another member who told me I never made a payment. That statement is not true as they automatically debited my account.
I called ADS and was told Monotronics sent the canceled contract to them and they had to send it to a collection agency. So I went back and forth with Monotronics and ADS to understand what took place. Monotronics stated numerous times that my contract was not canceled. I called ADS was told I would have to pay the collection agency in full without them fulfilling their contract, then pay $250 for a reactivation fee and sign another a $1300.00 contract for them to continue to provide service. I was told by ADS since I said the word cancel (not telling them to cancel but inquiring how and if I could) that the contract was canceled. I never told them to cancel. I specifically told them I wasn't canceling because I was not going to pay them $1300.00 and not have them fulfill their contract.
On the August 21, 2015, I went back and forth the ADS and Monotronics still under contract with Monotronic, ADS said that they are going to cancel the contract even though for a week I was telling them I did not want my contract canceled. I believe that the contract was canceled maliciously by the person I talked to on May 7th, 2015. Since all conversations are
recorded, I asked them to hear or see the transcript of the conversation we had on May 7th, 2015 and was hung up on multiple times.
I would like for the BBB to investigate these predatory and unethical business practices. Since I was rudely spoken to and all conversations are recorded and scribed, that you review the conversation to see if I canceled the contract and if I did I will go on and pay but it was done maliciously and out of spite. I am requesting that they honor the contract by providing service and I will continue to make monthly payments.

Desired Settlement
To continure to provide home security monitoring service as promised by the contract.

Business Response
Mr. ******,

I have reviewed your account and find it very confusing to say the least. ADS tried to get you to go through a survey multiple times to let Monitronics know that you did not want to cancel the services that you called and asked to cancel on May 7th because of the competitors offer. At that time, Monitronics gave ADS 60 days to get this completed with you. When ADS called you about this, we communicated with you that you signed a 36 month agreement, and if you wanted to cancel the services, you would have to pay the remainder of the agreement, as stated in the contract. It seems the misunderstanding is when you said you wanted to continue to cancel, and you would not go through the survey telling Monitronics you wanted to keep the services. We then cancelled the account because you did not indicate you you wanted to keep the services. We then placed the account with our collection agency as you were legally bound to a 36 month agreement. When you called in on the 21st, we told you we could reinstate your contract, but there would be a $250 reinstatement fee and your account would need to be set up on auto payment. ADS feels we have given you the options for the services you signed up for, and then you initiating the cancellation that happened when you called in on May 7th and not going back through the survey process. We are happy to continue monitoring your home and pick up from where we left off on the agreement. We will need to send a technician on site to resend signals to the monitoring station. We will waive the $250 reinstatement fee, and only charge the $75 trip fee for the technician to come to the property. Once we receive the $75 fee, get your system back online, and your account set up on auto pay, we will remove your contract out of the collection agency. Please let us know how you would like to proceed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will agree to the reinstatement of the contract, technichan fee, and waived reinstatement fee. Would I be able to see the transcripts of the conversation on May 7th, 2015? The ADT agent was in the room while I was having the conversation about possibly cancelling the contract with ADS. I also had multiple conversations with Monitronics and they denied ever canceling the policy that's why it was still valid on August 21, 2015 until ADS canceled the contract. I never recieved emails,literature, or voice mails stating my service was canceled. That's where the confusion comes into play because Monitronics denies ever sending ADS the notification to cancel. I appreciate and accept the offer to reinstate the policy. Are you able to use the card information that was on file? I appreciate you responding quickly to resolve this misunderstanding.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******,

We are excited you have decided to continue the service with American Defense Systems. We will contact you in the next 24 hours to get your account scheduled.
The recording of the call would need to be archived from Monitronics. Their number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Please let us know if you need any other assistance.

Thank you,

ADS


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Defense Systems cancelled my account without my consent and sent it to collections without properly notifying me of the situation.
My account with American Defense System has been closed and sent to a collection agency without my consent. No attempt was made by American Defense System to contact me in regards to this matter.

Desired Settlement
I would like my account/alarm service reinstated and the account put back in good faith with a monthly recurring payment made from my credit card.

Business Response
ADS spoke to Ms. ****** on March 31, 2015 concerning her alarm services. We have reinstated her alarm as of that date and set up on auto billing.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The security system installed does not work. I have been lied to repeatedly by ADS employees and Monitronics (their partner who monitors the system after installing). I have been asking for a member of management to contact me since before December 23, 2014 and have been told someone will contact me but no one does. I have had problems with this system since it was installed in June 2014 including a break-in while the system was supposedly on. I want out of my contract without a penalty because of false information, broken promises and defective product from ADS and their partners Monitronics and Alarm.com. I am still waiting for Mr. ****** ******* to contact me but have yet to hear from him. This company has completely destroyed my trust in their integrity and reputation as a honest company.
Product_Or_Service: ADS Security System
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want out of my contract with no early cancellation penalty. I will not accept any other settlement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
ADS has been working with this customer for the last few months. The customer has made adjustments to her security system that have caused notifications that suggest someone is in her house. (notifications on movement in front of the motions) We have been in contact with her son, which is also a customer of ADS. He has been trying to talk with their mother to get her to understand this is not any fault of ADS, nor was she ever broken into. The son wants the mother to keep the security system, and that she suffers from some sort of health issues. ADS has continued to provide service to Ms. ****** in accordance with the agreement that Ms. ****** has agreed to. ADS has not breached anything in the monitoring or service agreement with Ms. ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We agreed to nothing and I stand by my position. I will be buying out my contract and taking my business to a security company that is trustworthy, ethical and not as vulnerable to hacks. My son is not on my account and should not have been contacted. The statement above does not represent the conversation and us libel my ADS. I recommend they remove it immediately.

Final Business Response
ADS would be glad to let Ms. ****** out of her agreement if she could provide a police report of the date she was broken into and for ADS to provide the status of the alarm system at the time. Also to prove that Ms. ****** had not adjusted any of the functions that she states is keeping her system from working properly. ADS can not hack into Ms. Braley's alarm system. Ms. ****** has set her alarm notifications to detect movement inside her home when she is there. ADS does not practice changing settings or notifications for the customer. If a customer has questions on how to change these functions of the system, we coach them on how it can be done. ADS stands firm on our decision as we have provided all the services promised in the agreement with Ms. *******

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized and inappropriate use of my social security information.
On July 10th I received I called from **************, telling me my alarm system contract was due soon and he offered me to renew my contract for a better rate and an appointment was set for July 13th he confirmed my address and date of birth, NEVER he gave me nor I gave him my SS# or was I advised he was going to run my credit. Yet soon after I hang up I received an alert from my credit monitoring system that it had been ran by this company. Immediately I called back this person and I told him I never gave him permission to run my credit and that I needed that fixed he said he did not know how and hang up on me. Then I called the headquarters, where another rude person told me there was nothing he could do and that I needed to talk to the sales person (the one who had just hang up on me), I told him I did not want to speak to him cause he had just hang up on me and he said well there is nothing I can do, I then requested to speak to a manager, he not only refused but connected me to the sales person that had just hang up again. I told him he needed to get that inquiry removed as I did not gave him my information or permission to run my credit he said again he did not know how and hang up. I called again telling them once again I did not authorize that credit run and they could easily solve it by sending a letter to the credit bureau asking for that inquiry to be removed, they gave me the runaround. I am filing this complaint because it is very concerning that this people will use my information without my consent and now I have another hard inquiry for something I did not authorized or requested. If you shall have any questions, please let me know.

Desired Settlement
Remove hard inquiry from my credit bureau and proof that my personal information will be destroyed from their sytems. I do not wish this company to have my personal information nor contact me again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******adsdfw.com
After speaking to the customer, ADS has come to the conclusion that the sales rep in question had a misunderstanding between the customer and sale representative. As a customer resolution we have sent letters to the credit bureaus and to the customer. We have let the customer know that if she has any issues with the removal from he credit bureaus to contact Laura the office manager for further resolution.

Page 1 of 2
12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they installed an alarm system in my home, it does not work. it is not being monitored. we can't contact them
they installed an alarm system in my home at ***** n *** rd st scottsdale ax XXXXX. the date of installation was 4/1/2014. i was not at the house at the time and did not arrive until 4/13/2014. the system would not set when we tried to arm it. they were contact issues at a couple of doors. we tried to contact the company several times but they will not respond.

Desired Settlement
we want them to take their stuff and go away. we had a 3 year agreement that i have terminated with american express. they billed me for some work they did and 1 month monitoring. they can have that . i want my business relationship with this company to end.

Business Response
American Defense Systems was not aware that this customer was having any issues with their security system. This customer had emails, signs, stickers, and phone numbers to contact ADS at any time.
We realize the importance of the security system and make all service issues a high priority for scheduling. We have reached out to the customer to resolve the service issues.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
attached is the chain of emails and the contacts i have with this company. we were not there for the installation of this system and were promised that somebody would meet us when we arrived at our home. we made the arrangements and and waited for them from 12 noon on on 4/11/2014. we then tried to arm the system and it went off. no response on the companies part other than an email. the only time they did reach out to me was when they received this complaint. their response to this complaint is dishonest. we can not trust this alarm company

10/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
excessive contact, running credit, home visit
We were contacted by this company by phone several times, also by email on 8/27/2015 and 9/9/2015. On 9/9/2015 I spoke with the representative who had called me multiple times, and she advised she only wanted to give me a quote on their services. She went over in detail, throughout our phone call, exactly what obtaining security through their company would entail. At no point in this conversation did I provide my social security number or authorize an inquiry to my credit. The representative asked "IF" we set up services, what would be a good installation day. I advised her that before committing to their services I needed to speak with my husband. The representative acknowledged this multiple times before the call ended. On Friday, September 11, I received 4 phone calls from a local number. When I answered nobody spoke. Then, an ADS van appeared first in my driveway at 11 am and someone rang my doorbell several times. I was on a conference call and unable to answer the door- nor would I have wanted to since I would not have felt safe. After about 10 minutes the person left. About an hour later an ADS van appeared again, this time in front of my house and someone rang my doorbell multiple times. Again, the local number called- this time I called back and a man answered and said "hello" I asked if they had called previously and he said yes and that he was scheduled by ADS to set up our service. I explained I did NOT order service. He said okay and hung up. The van sat in front of my house for several minutes before driving away. On Sunday, September 13, I checked my credit report and there was a hard inquiry on my credit from ADS. This was never discussed and also never authorized, as I had never provided my social to this company. We feel there is a serious privacy breech here- with our information being used without our permission and someone coming to our house unauthorized.

Desired Settlement
I would like the inquiry resolved, and for this company to address the reason for this entire issue- the credit inquiry and the person coming to our home.

Business Response
After long review on this incident, we have already notified Mr. and Mrs. *********. The miscommunication was on our part for thinking they were ready for our technician to install a security system. We asked for all of the information needed and had an order placed. After speaking with the *********'s we have sent a letter addressed to the credit bureau about the inquiry to see if they qualified for our system. We have done training with the sales agent and staff that created this miscommunication and offer our sincere apologies for this matter, and in will assist to get the inquiry off of their credit report.

08/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had problems with my system and tried to talk to someone about it and asked to speak to a person higher up and was told that was not possible. I
October 2014, alarms kept going off even when I would put in the code, the alarm co kept calling sent anyone out. This went on for it seemed like forever, it ruined my dinner date and my mother's service dog was so upset she ran off (approx value $25,000)and it was hours before we found her. The alarm company never returned any of my calls that week or emails. Someone finally answered the phone to be told I could not change my contract, or cancel it that I was stuck. They would not transer me to someone higher up and the only phone call I got was from another sales rep. The problem was never resolved and when I went online to pay in January the website would not accept my payment. Since October there has been no service and I have not spoke to anyone from the company since November and no one has tried to write or call to try and resolve the problem with me. Yet they want to turn me over to collections without ever trying to talk it over or resolve the problem. I'm supposed to pay the contract but they don't have to provide the service. Wrong they want payment then they need to get out here and fix the problem, at no charge. The night this happened because the alarm kept going off I had to competely remove the panel you put the code in at and the Fire Alarm and it still kept going of and then had to force the batteries out of both. Which made it no useable until they came out and repaired it again they never sent anyone out nor did they ever try to contact me at any point about the problem. I was the only one who made contact with them and did not get any results.

Desired Settlement
Because they did not want to work with me in the beginning I don't see how I can trust them to provide security service to my home. If they won't release me from their bogus contract them I want them to come out and fix their system where it will work and remove the fire alarm completely. They refused to do this when I called the first time. I will resume payment to them on a monthly basis but not by auto pay, I will pay each month online. I will receive credit for the 8 months that they did not provide service since they did not want to work with me and my contract will resume less the 8 months of no service. If they do not want to do this and I still have to pay for no service I will pay once again on a monthly basis until the contract is paid in full of the original stated amount in the contract with no other added fees on it since they will not be providing any service. The collection efforts will stop and it will be removed from my credit report. I pay my bills and honor my contracts this company seems to think that honoring their end of the contract does not apply. All that was needed was someone higher up than a person answering the phone to give me a call back and resolve the issue. They would not do this.

Business Response
Customer called and wanted us to fix her alarm system that she ripped off of the wall at no cost. There was a trip fee and labor for her intentionally damaging the system. She called to cancel the services after she refused to pay for the service. ADS did not turn the system off until she was sent to collections for canceling the agreement inside of the term. ADS will fix the system for the fees we have discussed, take her out of collections, and set her back up on auto pay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The system would not turn off no matter how many times I would put in the code, it would go off and come right back on. It was not ripped out of the wall but taken off the wall and disconnected in order to get it to quit going off. Your alarm response people were of no help. All the did was keep calling adding more distress to the situation saying "Your alarm keeps going off" when explaining it wouldn't go off they offered no assistance what so ever. The only thing that needs to be done is the wires to be reconnected. Again it was not ripped off the wall. I do not want the Fire Alarm portion reconnected that is what started the whole mess in the first place. Also, no fees were ever discussed with me as to what it would be to reconnect the wires that we had to disconnect. The only thing that was discussed was a clerk saying "You have to keep the Fire Alarm portion, no I do not have to keep something hooked up in my house I do not want, The alarm system yes but not the fire alarm portion. I agreed to pay yet no one called to set up a time to come out. I was told I would be called for a time to be set up. I never refused to pay for the service, I just said forget hooking it up after not getting anyone calling me, that I would pay for the monthly fees without the service. I fully intended to pay each month without the service until the contract was paid in full. But I was not in a postion to pay for the full amount. They were going to get their money then when I went in to pay they had closed where I could pay online. I do not pay by mail. I will also set up for payment through my bank as a direct pay. But, I will not set up on auto pay.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******, we called several weeks ago to schedule the service to get your alarm back in service. Jimmy Hoffman, our Operations manager left a message. We are calling again today to find the best time that works for you. Once we have the system back on line, and payment info set up, we will remove the contract out of collections. Our contact info is 817.900.8457

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jimmy Hoffman, did not call and leave any message several weeks ago on my phone. They had my updated phone number through you and choose not to use it. He called Tuesday, 8/18, after I contacted the Collection Agency on Friday, 8/14, to make a settlement and only after I had settled with the Collection Agency. They never had any intentions of fixing my service or taking anything off my credit report. The reason I called the collection agency is that after these people never contacted me and never returned my calls last week, I wanted nothing more to do with them. They are not trustworthy, reliable or dependable. They cheat hard working people out of their money. They get you to take their system and that's that. You have a problem they don't call you and don't return your calls. I am better off without them and their services. I will NOT recommend them to anyone for their service. I'm glad to be rid of them.

07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a security system installed, the alarm went off and my information(the information given was correct) was not in their system to be monitored!
I was having suspicions the security system I had installed was not working properly.

I had called the technician and the sales representative about it, the sales representative and I purposely tripped the system in our house to make to assure that it was working properly, if so, the monitoring company would have placed a call to my telephone.

We waited for in the same room where the monitor was, the alarm was so loud we could barely hear one another talk, no call ever came through to check to see if things were OK with me.

The sales representative called the monitor station, it turned out they never had my address or my contact telephone number in their system!!!!!!

If it had been a real emergency, I would have been up creek without a paddle.

I had called on the third day to cancel my contract when I suspected the system was not working, I got a woman's voice mail by the name of Amanda, I left her a voice mail that I was canceling my contract and I also sent her an e-mail canceling.

I was told by the sales representative 2 days later (I had agreed to let the representative sign me up with a different company and to allow me everything Monitronics had given me). The representative had the nerve to come by our house almost one hour later than promised and tried to give me excuses as to what happened, I was told by the representative that the monitoring company tried to contact me via the monitor, which is the biggest lie I've heard in awhile.

The representative and I were standing beside the monitor (the entire time) and the alarm was so loud we could barely hear one another, we would have been able to hear someone or see on the monitor someone had tried to contact me.

The sales representative called the monitoring company not long after the alarm went off and the person on the telephone could not verify my address nor telephone number in their system, this person quoted some telephone number I never heard of (on my contract, my legitimate telephone number is listed).

This person finally transferred the representative over to the manager on duty, she was severely dumbfounded about my telephone number and address as the first person was!

I want out of this pathetic contract, this company could have caused me harm or death to myself or someone else, the loss or destruction of my personal property because they didn't have my information in their system and I know it was correct, because the contract sent to me shows it to be!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to not have the $49.99 charged to my credit card for the first month's service and to dissolve the 36 month contract. I actually did cancel within the allowed time frame.

I am also requesting due to the negligence of the monitoring company, that they send a technician out to remove their equipment immediately and repair completely (we will provide the paint after the repairs have been made to the sheet rock) our wall where they had to drill 4 holes to install the monitoring box and that ABSOLUTELY NO ONE FROM MONITRONICS EVER DARKENS OUR DOOR WITH THEIR PRESENCE AGAIN SOCIALLY OR PROFESSIONALLY!

Business Response
This complaint is misdirected and should be directed to American Defense Systems, the installing company. The customer is requesting to cancel service; this account belongs to the installing company. The account is still under dealer guarantee. Please remove this complaint from our count.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hi.

I understand this complaint should go to American Defense Systems, the installing company.

I'm not sure from your response if you will forward my complaint, I would like my complaint forwarded to the above mentioned company since I have not heard anything from them when I did call and request in writing to cancel my contract within the 3 day period and to have the equipment removed within the 7 day period.

The sales and install tech did not call me back to set up a time to remove the equipment until well after the 7 day return policy of the equipment (that is not my fault).

Since then while waiting, I discovered a possible short in my communications cable box where the system was hard wired, I have since spoken with the sales rep who wanted to finally have the install tech remove the equipment, I informed the sales rep, now the short has been discovered, the install tech may have caused it during the installation and until I get a specialist out to trace the short and how it happened, the equipment has to stay where it is so a specialist will be able to see exactly how the equipment was installed to determine if the short was caused by their security installation, if so, this security company will be responsible to have a professional repair the electrical short the install tech caused.

The fact the equipments integrity was questionable from the initial 3 day period I had to cancel, may have been because of the integrity of the installation.

Please forward my complaint to the American Defense System.


Thank you.
*** ******.

Final Business Response
View attchments

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The link from the business and their response is a long page of encryption. I downloaded this link from the BBB twice, I have no idea what this encryption is, beyond some type of technical error.

Until I can receive a legible response from this company, I will not accept anything I can't read let alone understand what it is I'm looking at.

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled my mo to mo contract in Oct. 14' and they are still charging me. They have not provided a contract that I've asked for 1.5 mos ago.
My problem with this company is that they failed to honor their month to month contract agreement with me, that I signed with one of their reps in 2013. I cancelled my service back in October of 2014 and moved to another alarm company who gave me more bang for my buck... I did this because I signed up for a month to month contract and not a 3 year contract as they are stating. More, it's detailed on the hardcopy paperwork that I signed. And I have a witness in the rep that signed me up.

I've called their customer service reps a number of times and finally spoke to ***** a few months ago to clear up this issue. She's the rep who has been handling my account. She initially said she'd pull the hard copy of my contract and send it to me a little over a month ago. And I haven't heard back from her, until today. In addition, she said she'd email the owner in regards to this situation but I never heard back from her. And again, she's never called me back after I left several messages with her colleagues to call me back on a weekly basis... I have spoken with ****** and a couple of women a number of times who have all said they gave my info to *******

What makes this even worse is the lack of customer service and incompetence regarding my account. I'm still their "customer" according to their records that they refuse to call/service.

More, I'm sure the recorded phone records on their end will prove that I've called 2 and sometime 4 times in a week for the last 2 months. I can also provide this information from my telephone company.

I feel as though they have stolen my money and will not give me any answers or send the hard copy of my contract as their client. *****, also couldn't find me in their system today, which makes me think that something else is going on with my records just so they can squeeze more money out of me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my money fully refunded back to me and my "Contract" that they say I still have but can't provide CANCELLED.

Business Response
We are investigating the claims for Mr. ******. ADS does not set up month to month contracts and the representative that sold this mis represented the company as an independent contractor, and illegally set up Mr. ****** with another monitoring station. We will be in touch with Mr. ****** once our investigation of this is complete

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Video Equipment - Service & Repair, Security Systems Consultants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/18/2011Business started: 09/08/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Kindred (President)
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Video Equipment - Service & Repair, Security Systems Consultants

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 10:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 10:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 10:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 10:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 10:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Curtis Kindred, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Defense Systems

12200 Ford Rd Ste 105

Dallas, TX 75234-7244

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 12200 Ford Rd Ste 105 

    Dallas, TX 75234-7244(817) 900-8457

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12200 Ford Road 

    Dallas, TX 75234(877) 287-3077

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Defense Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.