BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1994

Wallace Roofing

(972) 480-89881913 Place One Ln, GarlandTX 75042-4563 Send email to Wallace Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wallace Roofing provides honest, integrity based roofing and construction. We handle Commercial, and Residential services of many types.
Such as concrete, painting, and repairs. Call for details. Free inspections and estimates.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1994

BBB has determined that Wallace Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wallace Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wallace installed a roof on my home with new turbines The level of service from beginning to end has been horrific & now they refuse to honor warranty
I have been waiting approximately 1 month for Wallace Roofing to come repair my roof turbine. I have contacted Royce Wallace personally numerous times regarding the turbine blowing off my roof that his team installed. He requested pictures on 3-10-2014 and has to respond with when he will send his team back out. He asked me to get him out of the loop on this and contact ***** in his office. My experience with Wallace Roofing has been horrific from the start and has yet to see a good day. ALl I want is the 14 inch hole in my roof to be covered.

Desired Settlement
REPAIR THE 14 INCH HOLE IN MY ROOF PROPERLY, HONOR THE WARRANTY THAT IM SUPPOSED TO HAVE WITH PRODUCT AND WORKMANSHIP!

Business Response
Wallace Roofing has attempted to resolve this complaint on 3 recent occasions.

We have contacted Mr. ****, and notified him of times we could re-install the turbine.
This turbine blew off his roof due to high winds.
Which is not covered in our warrantee.

The turbine in question, was a lesser quality that was purchased by Mr. **** against our recommendations. Also not covered in our warrantee.

We told Mr. **** we would do the repair free of charge as a courtesy in the interest of keeping our customers satisfied.

The turbine that needed to be installed was kept inside the customers home, and since the customer choose not to be present during these attempts, and chose not to allow us access to the part, it has been physically impossible to satisfy the customers needs due to customer unwillingness to leave us access to repair part.

When roof was installed by Wallace Roofing originally, we suggested using a higher quality turbine that would not have blown off in the wind.

Mr. **** wanted to choose a lesser quality turbine.

This turbine was a customer bought product that we did not recommend using, and therefore provide no warrantee on the product itself.

We have in good faith, attempted to resolve this issue on several attempts. Without customer participation this could not be done.

update : 4 9 14
Customer finally left part outside for our access, our crew installed it this morning.
Issue resolved
This should noted as an invalid complaint.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all the response from Wallace Roofing is inconsistent with what actually transpired. In fact the entire response from Wallace Roofing is not true. After I received the response for the BBB I was contacted by **** who represented himself as the roofing foreman / coordinator who made an appointment and cancelled. In fact I will copy and paste how this entire experience played out by text messaging. This whole experience with Wallace Roofing was exhausting, unfortunate and not necessary. Mr. Wallace has finally gotten my roof repaired but the response to my complaint is not consistent with the facts of the truth. I would certainly caution anyone from choosing to do business with this company and I certainly hope that I never have any further issues with my roof. Once the turbine was replaced the roofer showed me that the screw holes were stretched out which caused it to loosen and come off. The turbine was not cheap in quality however the installation could have been done better took 29 mins to repair after all of this unbelievable!! see attached

March 10, 2014

Me
Royce what is your email address again I have the pic

Mr Wallace:
Who is this?

Me:
***** ****

Mr. Wallace:
**********@yahoo.com

Me:
I sent the email and i have the replacement turbine. Home depot swapped it out

Mr. Wallace:
Ok. I will send someone

No one ever came or contacted me!!

March 22, 2014
Me:
Royce this is ***** ****. I was wondering if you had any idea as to when your guys will come out for this turbine replacement

Mr. Wallace:
I am sure that I gave it to one of my crew to do. I will call in an order now to the office line, so it will get attention on Monday.

Me:
Please know that I have an uncovered hole in my roof

No repsonse no one contacted me

March 28, 2014

Me:
I was wondering if you have an idea on when the guys will get me squared away?

Mr Wallace:
They went there On Monday or Tuesday and called you several times, but got no answer. If you want to know more, ask ***** at my office XXX-XXX-XXXX

Me:
No one has called me, Sir I have been patiently waiting, If they did call no message was left ..I have voice mail!!!

Mr Wallace:
Please call robin at my office ad get me out of the loop. She has been talking to jose when he was there and she tried to call you and told me yu never answered. I am not in the office right now, but will check on it when I get back

Me:
Whats ****** number?

Mr Wallace:
XXXXXXXXXX

Me:
Thx- I just reviewed my call log no missed calls from that number

((Later the same day))
Mr ******* I was wondering if there was going to be any update from Robin today I know with a storm coming in the big 14 inch hole in my roof I was wondering if from if there was a way to get it done sooner the next week. Also ***** advised that they stopped out at my place on Thursday but no one ever called me she told me that no one ever called I guess it was assumed that I would just be at home

((No repsonse Resend))
Mr ******* I was wondering if there was going to be any update from Robin today I know with a storm coming in the big 14 inch hole in my roof I was wondering if from if there was a way to get it done sooner the next week. Also ***** advised that they stopped out at my place on Thursday but no one ever called me she told me that no one ever called I guess it was assumed that I would just be at home

((No repsonse resend a 3rd time))
Mr ******* I was wondering if there was going to be any update from Robin today I know with a storm coming in the big 14 inch hole in my roof I was wondering if from if there was a way to get it done sooner the next week. Also ***** advised that they stopped out at my place on Thursday but no one ever called me she told me that no one ever called I guess it was assumed that I would just be at home

((NEVER RESPONDED TO ME))

I FINALLY got Mr ******* on the phone and he advised me that he was too busy doing estimates and couldn't rake care of me , he stated that he was having a tough week and why cant I understand that. He stated that he does not normally have warranty issue and is not prepared for that asked me to see if I could climb on my roof and cover the hole until he can get someone to do it. I lost it!!! I became enraged and cursed at Mr ******* I told him you having a tough week Im having a tough week as I juat lost my mother who was recently passed **** and he death was classified as a homicide. I apologized to hom for having a rough week dping estimates but his lack of preparedness should not constitute disregard of my issue. He ASSURED ME that he would follow up with me on the following Monday or Tuesday the latest. I accepted and our call ended. I did not hear from Mr ******* again so after 14 days I filed a BBB Complaint! ! I then received a call from **** the Roofer at 956am who stated that he would be coming to fix my roof. JOSE ask what time is a good time because the repair would only take about 30 mins. We agreed on 615pm-630pm on April 7, 2014. At 556pm **** called and cancelled as I was approaching my home. I am livid at this point! So I sent Mr ******* a text message.

April 7, 2014

Me:
An absolute waste of my time your guy calls me scheduled appointment I told him I be home by XXX XXX he calls me a 10 minutes to 6 and tells me that his guys have already gone home for the day that he can't do it today I had to leave work today cut my meeting short to come all the way across town to be disappointed yet again this is absolutely not the way business should be conducted a very very disappointed very disappointed no no respect for my time no respect for my business dealings no respect for anything or me as a customer

Mr *******:
Why don't you leave the turbine where the can get to it and put it on whether you are there or not? This crew starts working at 6:30 to 7AM every day and finish a roof by 3 PM. They are tired and just want to go home. They get up at 5am every day

Me:
When the young man asked me what time do I want him to meet me at the house I told him he should have never made an appointment for a specific time and then I keep it I am a businessman I have many things to do many people I'm responsible for he should not be wasting my time this whole experience is absolutely disgusting I can't trust that I'm going to get quality if I'm not there if this is all that I have to measure my experience by

Mr *******
Leave the turbine where they can get to it & they can do it tomorrow while they are in Mesq roofing a house. They first pick up the shingles and start the roof Will you leave the turbine on the front porch for my guys tomorrow?

Me:
Mr ******* for once I would like someone in wall is roofing to keep their word and do what they say they're going to do I do not want them on my property if I am NOT there I am NOT leaving my dogs locked up in the garage all day it's unacceptable do what you say you're going to do do what you say you're going to do that's how old school business was done this is unacceptable.Your guy should have never call me and made an appointment and then cancel at the time he was supposed to be there I left work early I left work early to keep the appointment because I kept my word

Mr *******
You are right, but in their defense, they have to roof a whole house in about 6-7 hours, because of the April rains. They don't need in your yard. They just need the turbine and if you will leave it on the porch early tomorrow, it will get done Will you leave the turbine for my guys? They are working in Mesq tomorrow near I-30 and Beltline and they will fix your turbine if you leave it out for them

Me
Im not paying. .that isn't an option

Mr *******
What do you suggest and I will try to work with your schedule. Late in the evenings is a bad time, because my crew works very early

Me
What is the earliest you can guarantee your guys can be here?

Mr *******
9am. Will someone be there or will the turbine be where we can get it?

Me
Can it be sooner I want to be here. Can you have them here by 7am since jose wasted my afternoon today already. That way I wont lose that much of my morning

Mr *******
My phone battery is getting weak. Please respond before I have to put it on the charger

Me
Sir, that doesnt work for me. Im not trying to be difficult but I have been inconvenienced and my day was wasted. At some point in this my problem should be a priority. I can understand why **** poor management and planning on **** part had to be my need for inconvenient flexibility and unearned trust.

Mr *******
I need to be able to do this between 9am to 5pm like every other business in town, so I need access to the property during those business hours. Let me know what time during those hours will work for you and we can get you fixed up. Have a good night

Me
Mr *******, ******* Roofing has not kept thier word one time so ******* Roofing

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roof Decks, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Roof Repairs

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/28/1994Business started: 01/01/1985
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Royce D. Wallace (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roof Decks, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Roof Repairs

Products & Services

Metal standing seem, all metal roofing types, green roofing systems, modified bitumen smooth or granular, asphalt shingle, ceramic, glass, wood, tile, terra cotta, EPDM, TPO. Dimensional.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Service Area

All DFW and surrounding counties.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wallace Roofing

1913 Place One Ln

Garland, TX 75042-4563

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1913 Place One Ln 

    Garland, TX 75042-4563

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wallace Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.