BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

Stanford Roofing

(972) 837-4500View Additional Phone Numbers5435 N Garland Ave Ste 140-196, GarlandTX 75040-2785 Send email to Stanford Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

BBB has determined that Stanford Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stanford Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stanford Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At the mid august this year 2013 I was looking for a remodeling contractor to repair my kitchen, flooring and few other stuffs in my house.I came
across stanford Remodeling advertisement on craigslist for remodeling services. The advertisement specified that it is A+ rating on BBB, family owned and 0% financing available as well as no credit check required and loan up to 20years with no interest rate lower than most major credit cards". I was attracted to all this services and became very interested since I was trying to remodel my house for sale and did not have all the required cash @ hand to do it.
At around august 12 2013, I contacted ***** @ this company and spoke to him about my interest in the services that their company has to offer on home remodeling and that I am interested in using this services of refinancing after they have come out to do a free estimate as listed also in their business advertisement on craigslist.
Toward the end of month in august 2013, about 21st; per my discussion with ***** on the phone he told me that he will have a project manager by the name of ***** to come out for measurement and estimates on my projects and on august 21st, ***** ******* came for measurements and estimates. On august 28th 2013 I contacted the project manager via text with the choices of the carpet that I picked from home depot and I did not hear back from ***** until the september 2,2013 in which he told me that i have to pay for cabinet refurnishing upfront. I asked why him about the financing options that we had agreed on per their advertisement. He respond back that they will need to do a credit check and i told him that it was not stated on their advertisement on credit check criteria for a loan approval. But ***** told me that he will talk to me more on the financing criteria when he and his workers will come by on september 5th & 6th 2013 to work on my kitchen cabinet refinishing/restaining.
on september 6 2013, ***** came to my residence and demanded for check for an incomplete job, my kitchen cabinet staining was not completed as per our job agreement, Under the kitchen sink was not repaired, the restaining of the kitche cabinet was poorly done and the Laborer that they hired to do this job did not speak no english. He stole my drinks without asking for permission.
On the same date september 6 2013, ***** ******* now informed me that his company is not going to be able to finance the rest of my remodeling house work unless they run a credit check and that the only limit of loan amount that they can give is $5000. so I asked ***** why did his company put an advertisement that they are not able to fulfill that their advertisement is fake and false just to attract someone like me who is in need to get stuffs done but hoping to use a company like stanford and pay it back installmentally.
As we were sitting in me dinning areas table discussing about all the fake and false advert from *****'s company, He suddenly told me that " I like you and I can finance for you personally" Then I told him that i do not need him to finance any of the project from his personal fund that i only contacted Stanford Remodeling based on the advert that it ran on craigslist but know it appears that all the ad is not real since everything had changed from having me to pay for cabinent restaining and requiring that my credit check run before they are able to finance my house remodeling. ***** did not have any answer for me at a time why they run all this false advertisement and disappoint the customer at the end. ***** ******* started had different agenda in his mind. He was very unfocused, he asked me to come to upstair of my house for another measurement that he lost the previous that he had. As I went upstairs with ***** for him to remeasure the flooring; my children bra was on the floor and i reached down to remove off the floor; "***** said to me "I thought that was yours; without any kind of warning, I was in disblief and shock that He(*****) reached across front of my left shoulder and lifted my shirt and touching the upper part of my left breast. I was in worst

Desired Settlement
shock of my life because there was nothing to facilitate the touching and the harassment from this Individual. After the Incident I was in shock,upset, angry and @ this time in disbelief that a company that is BBB+ accredited have someone who preys on women to go out harass and try to take advantage of women under the wrong reasons. I called Stanford Village Corp and spoke with ***** on 9/12/13 about their false advertisement and his employee conduct towards me. He told me that he will get back with me but I did not hear from him anyfurther. I am asking for a full refund of $750.00 that i was charged to restain me kitchen but was poorly done. I have to pay someone again to fix the mess that they created in my house. Secondly I am requesting that ***** ******* not be allowed to go into single female houses because he preys and harasses women that might fall victim to his sweet offers. Thirdly this company should advertise the services that they are able to fully support of provide. If needed I can provide a company of their advertisement that i took in my cell phone pictures.This company advertisement is false and misleading to the public and very unprofessional workers that they employed. I had very bad experience with the project manager that was designated to oversee my house work as well as the person who worked in my house. I will never recommend this company to anyone else.

Business Response
In Mid August, ***** ****** with Stanford Roofing and Remodeling was contacted by ******** ****** to send someone to her house and look at some work she wanted done. She was told she needed some things done to her home to help it sell. I met Mr. ****** in late August.
When I arrived at her house, she said she wanted new flooring and staining to the kitchen cabinets. I measured the flooring throughout the home, but she was not sure if she wanted carpet or laminate in certain areas. She decided to stain the cabinets until she made up her mind on the flooring.
Before we did the staining, she made up here mind to what she wanted on her flooring. She still wanted us to go ahead and stain the cabinets. Since it was a small amount, she decided to pay for it out of pocket instead of financing it. I explained to her the financing options that we offer and she said she would decide what to do later.
On September 5th and 6th, we stained the cabinets. There was one drawer that was stained a darker color previously by someone else. The customer said not to worry about that one, but we took it to prime and stain it so they would all match. The customer said she appreciated that and paid me for the work we did. We never agreed to repairing anything under the kitchen sink. She never said anything negative that was done on the part of the worker we sent to do the staining. She complimented him and said he did a good job.
I returned with her drawer on September 10th. She asked about the financing options again and I explained them to her. She did not want the no credit check program with a $5000 because she felt the interest rate and payments would be too high. She was not sure about the financing program with the credit check with a higher limit because she was not sure if her credit was strong enough to qualify. She said she still wanted to think about it. She asked if there were any other financing options. I told her those were the only two we have. She smiled and laughed and asked again if there was any other way of financing the carpet or if I could do it myself since I am the owner of the company. After becoming a little uncomfortable, I told her no again and went outside. She followed me outside and pointed out some more things she wanted done to her home. I told her we could put those things in her financing if she chose to do so and left her home for the final time. There was NEVER any inappropriate touch with the customer.
I texted her the next day to ask her when she would have time to do the online application so we can try to get her carpet financed. She responded, "I decided not to do anymore. Just want to sell the house as it is. Thx for ur assistance.." I responded "I don't blame you. It doesn't make sense to spend all that money just to sell it anyway. Good luck and let me know if I can do anything to help you".
The next day she contacted *****. He is the original person she contacted about us doing the work. She said she was unhappy with the work and if we do not refund her money she would call the police. We refused to refund her money and she called the police. A police officer with the Irving Police Department called me from outside her residence to get my side of the story. I told him I had not been to her house or had any contact with Ms. ****** since I returned her drawer and that she only threatened to call the police after I told her the two financing options were the only two ones we had available to her. The officer said ok. I told him I still have the text messages between her and I. He told me to keep them as proof to support my story in case this complaint became an issue down the road. That was the last contact I or anyone with my company had with anyone regarding this customer.

It seems to me that the customer was upset that we did not have a financing option that would make her happy. I still have the text messages in my phone just as the officer suggested. I have copied and pasted them to an email to submit to you. Please let me know how I can send this to you. Thank you for your time in this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Flooring, Contractor - Sheetrock, Fence Contractors, Commercial Roofing, Painting Contractors, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/20/2013Business started: 11/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2002, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan S. Simpson (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Flooring, Contractor - Sheetrock, Fence Contractors, Commercial Roofing, Painting Contractors, Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Stanford Village Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stanford Roofing

5435 N Garland Ave Ste 140-196

Garland, TX 75040-2785

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5435 N Garland Ave Ste 140-196 

    Garland, TX 75040-2785(214) 864-3404
    (469) 556-4435
    (972) 837-4500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stanford Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 864-3404
  • (469) 556-4435
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.