BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Signature Roofing

Phone: (972) 815-1235

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues7
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints20

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (20)BBB Closure Definitions
12/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract with Signature Roofing, which was signed on 11/2/2013. The company's vice president, ****** *******, accepted my initial payment of $5,964.86 and told me he would be at my house the next day so I could choose the color of my shingles. He even gave me his personal cell phone number and promised I would have a new roof the following week. He never came. When I called him to follow up, his father, who claims to be the president of the company, answered. It turns out that ****** did not give me his personal cell phone number. *That was lie number one.***** *******, the company president, said he would not do any work until the insurance company mailed my second payment of $1,210.28. *This is not in the contract I signed.* He then proceeded to invoice my insurance company as if the work was complete even though it was not. *That was lie number two.*My insurance adjuster called me and said they would not mail the payment without the work being completed. This is standard policy. Besides, the remaining balance is not very much money.It has been over a week since my last phone conversation with **** *******, and he has yet to follow up with me -- much less start any work. Now it as been 40 days since I signed a contract and ****** ******* eagerly took my insurance money to the bank. I am filing a complaint because I do not think these people have any intention of fixing my roof. I think they have stolen thousands of dollars from me and my family.
Product_Or_Service: Roofing repairs

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/22/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
08/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ***** *****
**** ****** ****** ******** ***
TEL. (XXX) XXX-XXXX CELL (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Email: ~*****@ehhi,com
July 22,2013
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838 .¢)'1~ ;J--1£/ '11./() pJ;;;I
Dallas, Texas XXXXX l' rt
RE: Complaint: Signature Roofing, LLC- a member of the BBB
On or about May 8, 2013, Kenny Wynn, representing Signature Roofing, gave me a proposal
to re-roof my house due to hail damage. Although promised a detailed cost estimate I was never
provided one by Signature Roofing. I contacted Germania, my homeowner's insurance company,
who sent an adjuster who agreed the roof had damage, approved the re-roofing job, and sent me a
check for $4,478.56 on or about June 7, 2013 as one-half of the total amount Germanin would pay
for the roofing job. The check was made payable to myself, my wife and Wells Fargo Bank. My
wife and I endorsed it and gave it to Kenny WyM on June 1 0; he was to take the check to the Wells
Fargo bank and deposit it into an account where Wells Fargo would release it to Signature Roofing
after I certified that one-half the work had been done, at which time Germania would issue a final
check.
But Signature Roofing never started any work. They argued with Germania that the
amount allotted for my roof job was insufficient. Germania advised me that is was ''insufficient"
only because Signature Roofing wanted to collect extra money for Overhead and Profit- cost items
which were not necessary for this simple roof job. Germania advised me there any number of
qualified roofers who would to the job for the allocated amount, and that Signature Roofing was
trying to gouge. So I contacted Signature Roofing and requested they refund my money so I
could find another roofer and they have so far refused to do so- ignoring my em ails. Signature
is not entitled to any money and they have done no work whatsoever, and the Hproposal" says that
when "the insurance company agrees ro pay for the roof replacement, 1 guarantee Signatute
Roofing the roofreplacementjob." But the insurance company bas NOT agreed to pay for the
roof replacement, so no obligation is owed to Signature Roofing for any reason and they need
to refund my money immediately.
Today I found that Signature Roofing, LLC, d/b/a Signature Roofing forfeited its business
charter in Texas in 2012 by failing to file it required franchise tax returns, so it has been illegal for
Signature Roofing to be entering into any proposals or contracts since July 27, 2012 (see copy
attached). In its marketing packet, Signature was showing copies of its Texas registration with the
Secretary of State, and it represented itself as a viable company who had the legal right to be doing
business in Texas under the name Signature Roofing.
So in addition to Signature Roofing trying to swindle me out of$4,478.56 for my roof repair,
the people running around doing business ancl deposited checks as Signature Roofing are defrauding
the public, representing themselves as a company that does not legally exist. The marketing
materials Signature gave me claimed they are a member of the BBB.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Mr. *****'s complaint, Signature Roofing's policy is collect the first payment from the insurance company which is sent directly to the customer. At that point, the claim is sent to our claims management department for review and if the customer has not received allocations for work needing to be done, this department will submit a supplement claim and work directly with the insurance company. This was the case with Mr. *****'s claim. Tarshia from our claims management department has had difficulty reaching Mr. ***** due to the fact that he travels and is not available always by phone. His insurance company mailed him, as we were told, a supplemental payment allocation form to be sign by him so he could receive the extra monies owed to him. Mr. ***** claims he never received this and at that point asked for his money back. We hope to resolve this with him as well.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First it should be noted that Signature Roofing, LLC is operating illegally as an LLC, and has been since June 2012. The Sect of State of Texas revoked its right to do business in Texas for failure to file its State franchise tax returns. The 'proposal' from Signature indicates it gets the re-roofing business IF my insurance company will pay for it. My insurance company WILL NOT pay for it because Signature is over-charging for Operations and Profit. No work has been done, and not will be done. Signature is wrongly holding my $4,400.00. With no obvious resolution through the BBB, a lawsuit against Signature for fraud and conversion in next. And falsely operating as an LLC in the State is a criminal offense.

Signature is ***** *****, Attorney at Law.

03/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roof was replaced in December 2011, leaked in Oct 2012 and damaged interior. After five months of promises to repair, it has still not been done.
Our roof was put on by Signature Roofing in Dec 2011. On 10/6/13 a leak was discovered that had been happening for several months, it had been hidden by a large plant on top of a built in bookshelf. Following is the communication log my husband Marc Mann and I have kept:
10/8/13 - called office about leak. Roxana said that someone would be out within the week.
10/22/13 - Called office again, after not hearing from anyone. s/w Roxana, said she would get someone out.
10/25/12 - Roxana called me and l/m that someone was in my neighborhood.
10/25/12 - Repairman visited, said that the issue was with the way the house was built, that leak would happen every few years because of the way debris gathers in the valley where leak took place. I expressed my concern with the fact that the roof was less than a year old and that "every few years" wasn't a correct estimate of time. He took pictures, cleaned leaves and debris and said he would be back to fix it, since he didn't know how to fix the issue he would have to speak with someone to see how to do it. He suggested I call Roxana in the office to check on the status of the repair.
11/7/12 - Called office, l/m to see when repair would be made.
11/19/12 - Called office, voicemail full. Then I called Roxanas cell to find out that Roxana no longer works for Signature Roofing. She gave me the cell phone number of John Hopkins, owner.
11/19/12 Called, John answered after second call and said office is closed for week of Thanksgiving and asked me to text him my name, address, phone number and repairs needed, then asked that I call him back to remind him. I texted the info immediately.
11/28/12 - Called John, l/m.
12/3/12 - John l/m for me, apologizing that he took so long to get back to me. I returned call and l/m.
12/5/12 - John returned my call and said that his crew was going to be out of town for the holidays and that he would get a team together to make repairs at the beginning of 2013. I stated my concerns with the leaking roof and possible rain coming and he said he would get a crew together as soon as possible and call me back. We also discussed the repairs needed inside the house (the list I had texted him on 11/19) and he said he generally takes care of ten repairs at a time and he would get a crew together to repair that after the roof was repaired.
1/8/13 - Called John, l/m about status of repair team.
1/14/13 - Called John, l/m
1/16/13 - Called office number from website, spoke to a woman who said John was in an adjuster meeting. She took down my name, address and phone number and said they would get someone to come out to repair the roof as soon as possible.
1/23/13 - Marc called and spoke to John, after no response from any of my calls. John stated that he would have someone out this week to repair the roof. Marc expressed his concerns with our dealings with the company and John apologized, stating that there were some personal issues he had been face with last year.
2/7/13 - Marc called, spoke with John and was assured that the repairs would get scheduled for next week.
2/15/13 - Marc called John. He was in a meeting. He told him he would call him back after the meeting to schedule the work for next week.
2/16/13 - Marc called John because he did not hear a response yesterday. Marc told him the importance of getting on the schedule next week. He also told him how patient we felt we had been. Marc notified him that if repairs did not begin next week, he would go to greater measures and contact the BBB. John asked Marc to leave his contact number and assured him that repairs would begin next week.
There has been no attempt by Signature Roofing to contact us since Marc's last conversation as of 3/12/13.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ******, I'm very sorry about the miscommunication. I sent an employee to repair your job after I spoke to you on the phone just the other day. Thank you for your patience, and if there are any further issues please call and I will be on it swiftly.

Thank you.

Signature Roofing

Consumer's Final Response
I dont know why this complaint was closed, the roof was repaired (as far as we know) but the interior damage has still not been repaired and I have not yet heard back from them as to when that will be repaired. The man who repaired the roof said we needed to wait approx two weeks to repair the bookshelf, walls and ceiling. I left a message for Trevor on 3/25/13 asking to schedule the work to be done.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
04/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Wind damage on roof - warranty for 25 yrs - will not return phone calls always get an answering service - have call 5 or 6 times
My roof has sustained wind damage on the shingles that were put on by Signature Roofing company - I have tried to get hold of them to have someone come out and look and to repair - My insurance adjuster said the roof was not put on properly and that the insurance would not cover it because of that reason - I have paperwork stating that the roof has a 25 yr guarantee on it and apparently no one wants to call me to look at it - have left numerous messages for John Hopkins to call me and have never received a call - I am 82 yrs old and in bad health and would like to have this matter resolved as soon as possible.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Roof repaired in August '09 that included a 12 year labor warranty. In March '14 the shingles are lifting and home insurance cancelled due to roof.
Our roof was repaired in August 2009 by Signature Roofing. The shingles are coming up on our roof which is under warranty for 12 years according to our contract. Our insurance company is cancelling our insurance policy due to this matter. I have made two previous email attempts to contact Signature Roofing and 10 phone calls and they have refused to return my calls.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: He received payment for service on 11/21/13, guaranteed fast expert service by the first week of Dec.. It has been over three months, still no roof.
We received considerable damage to our roof in a hail storm July of 2013. John Hopkins came out on 9/11/13 to do a free estimate and found considerable damage to the roof and roof hardware.
Signature roof received our insurance payment for $10,092.61 service on 11/21/13, guaranteed fast expert service by the first week of December. It has been over three months, still no roof.
He has repeatedly guaranteed that he would send a crew to work on our roof, yet has never followed through on his promises.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of services

Complaint: I gave deposit check $4,570.12 Sept 5,2013 to have John Hopkins replace my residential roof.He has never replaced my roof. He wrote me hot checks.
I gave deposit check $4,570.12 Sept 5,2013 to have John Hopkins owner of Signature Roofing Mckinney Texas to replace my residential roof. He has never replaced my roof. When I asked for my money back he wrote me 2 hot checks.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

03/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called company multiple to honor roofing warranty due to roofing leak. Phone routes to answer service and company never returns calls.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Roof Repairs, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.