BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/2009

Roofing Claims Specialists

Phone: (972) 298-2282

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/30/2011Problems with Product / Service
10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Fraud, I was told I was signing an authorization form but instead I was given a binding contract.
On about January 18 or XX XXXX, Mr. ** ****** and Mr. ******* ****** from RCS approached me (******* ******) regarding possible roof damages to my home at 2******************************** They asked if they could check my roof for damage and I agreed as long as it didn't cost me anything. They found damages and offered to repair roof. If the insurance company paid for the roof I would consider him (RCS) to repair roof for what the insurance company would pay me. I emphasized no money out of my pockets. Mr.******* requested that I fill out authorization form to inspect roof with insurance inspector. I repeated to him again as long as it didn't cost me anything and he agreed. I called the insurance company to set up the appointment for the inspection of the roof.
On January 26, the RCS's roofer and **l State's inspector arrived at my house at this time Mr. ****** approached me again about signing an authorization form to talk with the **l State Insurance Inspector Mr. ************* I asked him was this a binding contract and he answered no, just an authorization form to be able to talk with Mr. ******* the **lstate Inspector. Mr. ****** handed me the authorization for and I signed it. After the inspection was done, the **lstate Agency told me in the presence of Mr. ****** and Mr. ****** the insurance company would pay for roof repair. The **lstate told me he was going back to the office and work up a claim description and would get back with me in a few days.
On the morning of about January 28 or 29 the roofing material arrived at my home to my surprise. I had not order nor had I given RCS authorization to order supplies. I called the roofing company and spoke with Mr. ****** and requested a meeting with he and the supervisor to discuss why the material where at my home and I hadn't ordered it.
Mr. ****** arrived at the meeting alone on January 30; I spoke to Mr. ****** on the phone the same night about my dissatisfaction with the company practice of business. I felt betrayed and deceived. He mentioned again he would repair the roof for what the insurance company would pay me. He said he would start Friday, February 1, if I would pay half down. I wrote RCS a postdated check for 5,660.46 half of what the insurance company paid me.
No show on Friday, February 1, I called Saturday, February 2, to talk with Mr. ****** but had to leave a message. I had no contact with RCS or Mr. ******. On Wednesday, February 6 a truck pulled up to take back the material. I stopped the driver and called Mr. ****** to find out what was going on. He said he was not going to give me a 30 year shingle when the insurance company only paid for a 25 year. He said he was going to replace it with a 25 year shingle. The driver took the 30 year shingles.
On February 7, I received a letter from Mr. ****** claiming I would owe him $23,883.93 dollars for the roofing job.
On February 8, I called Mr. ****** to request him to return my money.
On February 11, I received another letter from Mr. ****** claiming I would have a fee of 35% of the contract for breaking my contract with RCS and a 25% restocking fee for materials.
So as of today, I haven't had any contact with Mr. ******, Mr. ****** or RCS.

Initial Business Response
see pdf

Roofing Claims Specialists
MAR 2 H 2013
902 Kings Ct. Duncanville, Texas XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX
March 22, 2013
Attention: .JeCase # XXXXXXXX
To whom it may concern:
The day that Mr. ****** had the Free Roof Inspection that he had requested, Mr. ****** did explain to him that we were going to work with his Insurance Company and that if his insurance company agrees to pay for the roof damages we will do the job for what the insurance company authorized. Everything was explained to him in details and he did agree. Mr. ****** even left the contract with Mr. ****** for 3 business days because he wanted to review it before signing the contract. Mr. ****** called our office and asked for us to send Mr. ****** to his property to pick up the signing contract.
The contract Mr. ****** signed does states that each homeowner is responsible to pay their own existing policy deductible. The insurance adjusters also explain to Mr. ****** that if he would like to up-grade the roof he will have to be responsible to pay for the difference. The insurance company allowed $21,223.93 for the roof and gutter damages. Mr. ****** agreed to the terms on the contract, he also agreed to pay us half of the money before ordering the material and to pay the remaining balance when the material arrived to his home. The first check he give us was for $5,660.46, by the time the material arrived to his home and we ask for the rest of the money of the first payment his insurance company had given him ($11,320.00). He refused to give us the remaining balance. Our contract also states that there will a 25% charge for restocking fees.
We don't have any problems on proceeding with the roof work, but Mr. ****** has to understand that he is responsible to pay us what the insurance company allowed for the damages and to pay his policy deductible.
Enclosed is a copy of his insurance estimate and contract.
Sincerely, Res Roofing

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1)I talked to Mr. ****** on January 18/19, 2013 about him checking my roof for damages. He approached me. I told Mr. ****** that it would be okay to look but I was not spending any money. I told him that I would consider him doing the project for what the insurance company would give me.
2)I never called to set-up an appointment to sign anything. Mr. ****** asked me to sign an authorization form to talk to the insurance company. I refused to sign anything on that date.
3)Mr. ****** came to my house to take pictures on the 21st of January. Again he asked me to sign an authorization form so that they (RCS Roofing) could show the insurance company the roof damages. I asked him, again was this only an authorization form. He replied "YES".
4)The insurance company and RCS representatives inspected the roof on January 26, 2013. The insurance agent agreed to pay for the roof repair. The insurance agent was to get with me the next day to review the settlement. An e-mail was sent to me and the RCS Roofing showing the estimate and adjustments on January 27, 2013.
5)To my surprise, roofing supplies arrived at my house at about 6:30am on January 29, 2013. I never ordered or authorized anyone to order roofing supplies or material. I called RCS to ask about the material and set-up an appointment with both Mr. ****** and Mr. ******. On January 30, 2013 only Mr. ****** showed for meeting. He said Mr. ****** was ill in the hospital. Mr. ****** said he took it upon himself and ordered the roofing materials. My wife and I were very upset because we did not give any authorization for them (RCS) to do anything. We were not able to even choose the color of the shingles. It states in their contract: #2 the customer will choose a shingle color and authorize the contractor to furnish all materials. The roofing materials were order before the insurance company sent me the check to do the work.
6) I DID NOT AT ANY TIME give RCS authorization to do anything but talk to the insurance inspector. I repeatedly told Mr. ******, the president of the company, on day one I WOULD NOT PAY ANY OUT OF POCKET MONEY. He would only receive the amount of money the insurance company paid me. Mr. ****** said several times that's it was okay.
7)Insurance company sent the check for total compensation for $11,320.92 on January 30, 2013. Mr. ****** said on the phone that he would do the project; all I need is half of the settlement now and the other half when the project is completed. Therefore, I wrote him a check for $5,660.46. (half the amount) posted dated for February 1, 2013 which is the day the project was to start.
8)February 5, 2013 Roofing supplies were picked-up from my home around 2:20pm by ABC Supply Co. with Mr. ******'s authorization. Now RCS Roofing is claiming that I owe them for restocking fees and breaking the contract.
9)WHAT CONTRACT? No one would sign up for a deal or accept an arrangement where you would pay twice the amount that was agreed upon. This is totally a fraudulent and deceitful way to do business. RCS Roofing has shown a lack of integrity to the community and the business world.

P.S. The contract that they are showing is not my agreement; it belongs to ******* ******* at *********************************

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Roof Repairs, Remodeling Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing, Drywall Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.