BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2013

Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC

(214) 471-62104608 Rancho Del Norte Trl, McKinneyTX 75070-7956 Send email to Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC provides market leading insurance claims assistance for storm victims. The Claims Specialists are skilled in the property insurance industry and the construction industry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2013

BBB has determined that Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** said not to accept insurance settlement & that he could get insurance to replace my whole roof. only needed repairs.
X-XX-XXXX limb fail on roof causing damage. My Insurance company said needed repair only. ****** stated he could usually get insurance to replace whole roof and not to settle just yet. Said he would do repairs cheep if he couldn't get insurance to replace complete roof. Said it might take a while though. Over a month and getting no information or help from ******. I think this is a scam to get money out of insurance company and once it didn't happen he just left me hanging.

Desired Settlement
a apology & to explain why he has mislead me.

Business Response
This is an invalid complaint. I, ***** ******, did state to the homeowner that I could possibly get his insurance company to cover more than the repair that they originally agreed to cover when they did their original inspection with the property owner. I had an inspection done on the property where we concluded that there was not sufficient damage to warrant the insurance company to pay for a full roof replacement. I then notified Mr. ******* that we did not see the necessary damage but that I could try to have the insurance company come back out to get a 2nd opinion from them. I was going to move forward on this until Mr. ******* began to harass me by calling my phone over 40 times in a row one evening after 9pm. and then another 30 times in a row before 7am the next morning. He tied up my phone lines all because I did not answer after business hours. I had to block his number just to be able to make calls. I decided then not to move forward with helping Mr. *******. He was never a paying customer. There has been no money exchange. He is only disappointed that I did not move forward with what I had told him I MIGHT POSSIBLY be able to do for him. After the ridiculous number of phone calls I deemed him unstable and a payment risk and decided not to move forward in making him a customer. Please remove this complaint as he was never a paying customer and there was never a business transaction made. His accusation of this being a scam is preposterous! I was only offering to help him if I was able to.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just to clarify this is not a home but rather a business location, I was never told by phone or other communication that "we concluded that there was not sufficient damage to warrant the insurance company to pay for a full roof replacement. I then notified Mr. ******* that we did not see the necessary damage but that I could try to have the insurance company come back out to get a 2nd opinion from them." The quote above is a lie. It is true that money never changes hands. It is true that I got frustrated when my calls were not answered or returned after being delayed and jerked around for the extensive amount of time. I was not disappointed with what he said he might be able to do but rather what he said he would do. I have been in business under my ownership over 30 years so don't really think I am unstable. As far as a payment risk. I have a credit score of over 800 that should qualify me as a excellent payment risk. All I asked for in this sticky situation was a apology and reasoning for his actions in this situation. Can't even seem to do that. I apologize for the over abundant amount of calls but needed answers that I couldn't get without communication. I even tried your helpers number who said he also couldn't reach you.

Final Business Response
We at ****** Roofing and Construction, LLC are very sorry that you have felt misled. It was never our intention to mislead you. We were only trying to help you by offering to be in your corner. We were only at a stage of offering our business to you and not at a stage of doing business with you. We did not even give you an estimate. Therefore, we do not feel that this is a valid complaint do to there being no business relationship or exchange of money between us. Trust works both ways in a business relationship and after receiving all of those calls, over 80 total, that night and the next morning, and not even during business hours, we felt that you were not acting in a businesslike manner and we made the decision to not move forward on any business arrangement with you do to the fact that we have to trust that our customers are going to act in a businesslike manner and pay us upon completing our work. We work with large dollar amounts and we have to feel secure about our customers paying us upon completion. This is a clear case of refusing to take you on as a customer and that is our right. We have the right to refuse service and that all that we did in the end. We apologize if you have felt misled. Like I said, that was never our intention. Our intention was to eventually make you a paying customer and do great work for you like we do for all of our customers.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
And you consider your actions with me businesslike? As for paying you in a businesslike manner I guess you didn't read the part about my credit score and my length of business activity. You seem to keep covering up the real problem and turning the blame in this situation over to me. I understand the term of refusing to take you on as a customer. You just shouldn't string someone on for a extended period of time without communicating with them in a businesslike manner!!!!! As for my roofing situation it has been taken care of in a businesslike manner. And guess what? They even got paid in a business like manner. And as for your apology IT WAS VERY BUISNESSLIKE and not very personal. Which is the way this whole situation was to me PERSONAL.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Buildings - Metal, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Flat Roof, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Windows, Siding Contractors, Contractors - General, Roof Repairs, Commercial Roofing, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/14/2013Business started: 05/01/1976New Owner Date: 10/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derik Kilker (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Buildings - Metal, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Flat Roof, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Windows, Siding Contractors, Contractors - General, Roof Repairs, Commercial Roofing, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC uses only the top-ranked materials for their construction projects. Lifetime warrantied shingles for roofs, Hardie Plank for siding, and mapped attic ventilation systems are a few examples of products and services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSun: 10:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Due to the large quantities of materials used during construction projects, all material orders and details are final 48 hours prior to delivery and two weeks for any specially ordered materials.

Service Area

Dallas, Fort Worth metroplex and northeast Texas.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC

4608 Rancho Del Norte Trl

McKinney, TX 75070-7956

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4608 Rancho Del Norte Trl 

    McKinney, TX 75070-7956

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kilker Roofing & Construction, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.