BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2003

Hester Roofing & Gutters, Inc.

Phone: (972) 223-3018Fax: (972) 223-3403124 Cloudcrest Dr, DesotoTX 75115-5906

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2003

BBB has determined that Hester Roofing & Gutters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hester Roofing & Gutters, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Overall dissatisfaction with job performance of co. concerning roofing job & personal cost of
over $400 incurrred as a result of hiring them.
Contracted with Hester Roofing on 4/15/2013 to roof my residence. Concluded the roofing job on June 19th. My complaint is to address the A+ rating this co. has (which weighed heavily on my decision to hire them) & overall dissatisfaction
with this co. There were many mistakes made, i.e, delays, false starts, sloppy work & extreme unprofessionalism. Request to redo work on two separate occasions (which they did). This company charged me $8,300 to roof my home, but hiring them personally cost me an additional $420.00. They are VERY concerned with their bottom line as it relates to money, but have no concern for what they cost me & base on my experience with them, I'm certain anyone else. This does not reflect well for a company that claims 35 plus yrs. of experience nor is it deserving of an A+ rating.

Business' Initial Response
To the Better Business Bureau: July 19, 2013
Re: Case #: XXXXXXXX
This letter is in response to the complaint that was filed by
a Mrs. *** ******* back on June 27, 2013 concerning the roofing job
that my company performed for her.
The initial contract with Mrs. ******* was entered into on
April 15 I 2013 for a new roof. I ** enclosing a copy of that
contract. We did have some unforeseen delays but the job was
completed in April of 2013. After the job was completed, Mrs.
******* called us back on two or three occasions with issues which
she had with the job and requested that we correct them. These
requests were responded to and the requested corrections were made.
In a letter from Mrs. *******, dated June 7, 2013, she
indicated that she would make the final paYment promptly "based on
the satisfactory completion of the work". She made the final
paYment of the contract price on May 24, 2013. Therefore I felt
like she was satisfied with the job until I received the complaint.
Mrs. ******* has stated that she has been out a total of
$420.00 in additional costs over and above the $8,300.00 and the
city permit fee. However there is no indication as to what these
costs were incurred for, or why they were incurred. Nevertheless
in the spirit of goodwill and to assure that my customers are
satisfied with my company's work, I ** enclosing my company check,
payable to the Better Business Bureau and Mrs. *** ******* in the
**ount of $420.00 which Mrs. ******* requested in her complaint.
I ** very concerned about my company's reputation in the
community and my A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. I
strive to see that my customers are happy with our work. Otherwise
I could not have stayed in business for over thirty (30) years and
have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.
Respectfully submitted
******
****** Roofing & Gutters, Inc.
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
124 Cloudcrest Drive
DeSoto, TX XXXXX
see attachment

Consumer's Final Response
Today, through U.S. mail, I received a check,
check #XXXXX from ****** Roofing & Gutters, Inc.
in the **ount of $420.00. This satisfies my
complaint & I consider this matter, case #
XXXXXXXX resolved.

Thank you again,
*. *******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/12/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Roof Repairs, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/1991Business started: 01/01/1974
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eudean Hester (Owner)Ms. Judith Hester (Vice President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Roof Repairs, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Roofing by Hester

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hester Roofing & Gutters, Inc.

124 Cloudcrest Dr

Desoto, TX 75115-5906

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 124 Cloudcrest Dr 

    Desoto, TX 75115-5906(972) 223-3018

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hester Roofing & Gutters, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.