BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/2013

HALO Storm Restoration

Phone: (214) 546-5101Fax: (214) 446-4697View Additional Phone Numbers5116 Summit View Dr, McKinneyTX 75071-6208 Send email to HALO Storm Restoration

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/2013

BBB has determined that HALO Storm Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered HALO Storm Restoration's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised HALO Storm Restoration's rating include:

  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to register my material 25 year warranty and will not honor any installation warranty requests.
Date contract was signed to install new roof was on 04/29/2014, Original quote was $11,368.90 for roof installation, repairing gutter, AC unit screening, window screens and repairing siding. It was told to us that if we didn't want all the work done that we shouldn't worry about it, Halo would still bill for the whole amount but return the any money not used for work not completed. This was listed on what they call a coupon. which stated a credit for leaving the sign in the yard, customer referrals, positive reviews on websites, and the cash value of work not completed. I also contacted the insurance company and asked them about the amount due to Halo, the agent at first stated that full amount but when I explained to her that all the work wasn't completed she was very surprised because they had submitted an invoice for the full amount not just for the roof. The insurance sent me a second amount that they were approving for the roof installation minus the work not completed. Halo stated that the insurance company was incorrect and that I shouldn't worry about it because it will show on the coupon in the credits. There total dollar amount for work not completed was incorrect. When the final payment was sent to them I included a complete breakdown of costs and deductions. I didn't hear back for over two weeks and in the mean time the check was cashed. So I thought our business was completed. But I received a letter stating that the amount of money I sent was incorrect, that I still owed them $499.38. based supposedly on upgrades that were given, there were no upgrades listed on the contract. In the letter it was explained that they would not register nor honor any warranty issues. I sent a second letter this time asking that if the amount on the check was incorrect why did they cash it and call me, instead I receive a letter two weeks later. The figures are listed below.

Total amount listed on the contract $11,368.90
Amount due for permit $225,00
Total amount due $11,593.90
Deductions First Payment $7,410.33
Credit from coupon $2,643.40 which includes the amount for work not completed, and the other additional discounts listed.
Cost for damages $295.49
Second Check sent $1,245.17

Total amount after all deductions came out to $11,594.39 so there is no money owed to Halo. If you want to get technical they owe me a dollar.

The job from day one was substandard,
there was a dumpster placed in my driveway for the old shingles, but yet all the old shingles were just thrown everywhere, on the ground on in the front of the house, walkway, side of the house and back of the house also blocking my back patio door. I couldn't even get in my front door. Not only was there debris everywhere but the nails from the old shingles were all over the yard. I couldn't even let my dog out to go to the bathroom. I tried to ask one of the workers where their supervisor was and they said not here. I contact Halo and Stephan came out about an hour later. He looked around and also asked as to where the supervisor was and again he was told they didn't know, and when asked as to why they didn't put tarps down on the ground they stated that didn't have any. Not only did I have issues with the debris but they also killed 2 of our new plants that were just planted, and when I went around to the front of the house again I realized that the workers were using 2 of my decretive garden blocks as chocks for their dumpster. I admit the damage items were replaced but the damage shouldn't have happened at all. if there was the damage wouldn't have occurred. A few days later I had gone up to my game room and to my surprise my large mirror which also held glasses and a few bottles was on the floor and all the glasses were broken. this was damaged due the he vibration of the roofing installation. We were never told or explained to that we should take items off the wall due to the vibration caused by the pounding.





Desired Settlement
I am not looking for any additional compensation, I just want what is due us and that is to honor and register our roofing warranties and move on. If it wasn't for the warranties I would never use Halo again. There installation practice is substandard, there customer service doesn't exist. Any dialog was initiated my me. There was no follow up to emails or letters. When we had our roof installed our neighbor's 3 of them also have new roofs installed and not one had any issues at all. Their installations went off without any issues, they had fantastic cleanup, were explained about possible vibration and that they should take precaution and remove any items that may fall due to the vibration. Lastly not one of them used a coupon, they were all up front when it came to costs.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: Partner
Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com
We have contacted the homeowner, and have come to a resolution ourselves. Please contact the homeowner, as Mr. ******** has agreed in writing to drop this case with the BBB.

06/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to fix leaky roof. Still has leaks in same spots. Has not ever stopped leaking. 1 yr warranty with contractor 1- yr warranty with manufacturer
Purchase date was 1/25/14 through 1/28/14 as payment dates. The leaks have been ongoing and consistant - still an ongoing problem. they have not fixed. they have come back several times and tried to repair to no avail. they charged me $12,000 and said they were going to fix. they are a restoration company and i thought they accounted for everything. i told ******* ***** to make sure that he took in consideration all ac problems several times and he said he would, but now he wants to charge me more to do the complete job when he should have done it previously. here is some messages i received from *** other owner ***** on 3/16/2014...******* said that he is going to send our installer back out there. I just texted him to get into contact with you. We will keep working on it until we can fix this leak. I hear your frustration. We will do everything we can to get this fixed ASAP. I know. I will make sure it gets fixed(BTW I still have these messages saved on my phone)

Desired Settlement
if they will not fix, refund the $12,000.
their website address is:
wefixholyroofs.com

i still have a holy roof

thanks

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com
It is true that Mr. ******* did hire us to to apply elastomeric coating over his existing flat roof. With our contract, we gave him a one year instillation warranty, and the material comes with a 7 year material defect warranty. This issue with his roof, is that the roof is not structurally sound, and when it gets rained on, water presses on the roof where the A/C unit is and causes the roof to dip towards the A/C unit breaking any seals that we can place around the A/C unit. Our instillation warranty covers only the material that we install, and we believe that we installed the material correctly. We are willing to work with the property owner, but in order to fix the problem with the A/C unit and it's leaking, the unit will need to be moved, and more material will need to be ordered. We will continue to have open dialog with Mr. ******* and see if we can come to a compromise to help fix these issues.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contractor Halo was supposed to eliminate rain going through and into the suite. it still rains in theto the suite, they were suppose to fix the problem. the original leaks still remain, they have fixed NOTHING. they say that they are working with me but they contacting me on 4/18 and told me that it was structural damage and that they could not do anything about that after 4 months of attempting to fix the problem. i asked them for a quote on the fix on 4/19 and they responded tht they would get one by the following Monday. on 4/22/13, they said they were working on a few solution that don't involve getting a crane. this is the last time i heard from them other than this response. so they are NOT trying to come up with a compromise. no open dialog as they suggested in their response. the problem of the ac units were described to ******* ***** many times and he said he would take that into consideration, so i expected it to not leak after i paid them $12000. they spent $3000 materials and $3000 labor. their crews were up there originally for 4 hours a day (2 days) the original leaks still remain without being fixed. as i have stated previously, ***** M said he would get the leaks fixed. they still leak. if they do not want to fix, send me the $12000 i paid back. if you need more info, please contact me. my roof still leaks and they say they fix holy roofs

website - wefixholyroofs.com

i want roofing companies to be licensed and bonded against bad workmanship and profit gouging companies

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Remodeling Services, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Roof Repairs, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/05/2013Business started: 08/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Mortimer (Partner)Mr. Stephen Dacus (Partner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Remodeling Services, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Roof Repairs, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Alternate Business Names
HALO Storm Restoration, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for HALO Storm Restoration

5116 Summit View Dr

McKinney, TX 75071-6208

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5116 Summit View Dr 

    McKinney, TX 75071-6208(214) 546-5101
    (972) 822-9999

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*HALO Storm Restoration is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 822-9999
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.