BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2000

Burns Roofing & Remodeling

Phone: (972) 250-3380Fax: (972) 234-2238

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** denies validity of the written warranty signed at time of payment in full. ****** refuses to inspect and repair improperly performed work.
Improperly installed roof flashing has led to leaks, damage to walls that has created openings for vermin. I spoke to ****** ****** 2/21/2013 who denied validity of the written 10 year warranty signed by him and Mr. Steve ****** on 7/22/2003 upon payment of $8501.00. On 2/21/2013 I faxed Mr. ****** a copy of the signed agreement. On 2/22/2013 Mr. ****** denied the validity of the signed warranty and refused to inspect and correct the poor workmanship.

Desired Settlement
Remove shingles and siding as necessary to properly install flashing and repair damaged roof and wall resulting from improperly installed flashing. Reinstall shingles and siding removed to correctly install flashing.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@burnsroofing.com
A sales rep for ****** Roofing & Remodeling, sold a roof to the client in Dallas back in 2003. We at ****** Roofing & Remodeling honor only 5 year labor warranties at the time. The client made his own contract labor warranty for 10 years to have said sales rep. initial. He wouldn't release the final money owed to ****** roofing unless it was initialed by sales rep. ****** ****** never authorized the signing of this 10 yr. labor warranty. Due to the high volume of storms in the DF/W metroplex; we do not give out 10 yr. warranties. With that being said, on our original contract that was signed; it states on the back that any high winds over 60 mph make the contract warranty obsolete. Work was initially inspected after completion in 2003. About 2 to 3 years ago B. R. & REM. got a call from said client to inspect the lead roof stacks because the tops were being eaten off by some squirrels or raccoons. No additional work was done at the time. We have had some tornadoes and many tornadic winds in the metroplex since 2003 thus making all labor warranties obsolete. According to the client, someone else told him that the flashing was installed wrong; however during the job process any mistakes made were corrected during the process, pointed out from client and sales rep. during the installation. The sales rep. was there everyday overseeing the complete process of this job.
We have always been more than accommodating for our clients and have always put our customers needs first. However, in this situation another labor agreement was made without our discretion and authorization; so we could not honor this. Also, some of the flashing had been blown up and out of place due to high winds. Or, as in previous cases; pulled out of place by squirrels or varmints such as raccoons. It wasn't at all because of improper installation. For we had done a thorough inspection in 2003. My own personel opinion, is that using wood shingles for siding on an 18/12 vertical slope on the side of a two story house, even though it looks very nice; is not the best possible siding and ****** only last for so long. Why? Because wind driven rain can adversely affect the longevity and integrity of them; by penetrating the quarter inch gaps between them.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing, Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.