BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2013

Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction

(214) 733-99687616 Val Verde Dr, McKinneyTX 75071-7451 Send email to Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2013

BBB has determined that Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told that I was acknowledging an estimate provided by Sentry. They are now claiming that it was a contract. The Sentry rep appearrantly lied.
I was told that I was acknowledging a presented estimated for roof repair (Hail damage). The Sentry rep verbally acknowledged and agreed with that characterization. I told them that I would get several other estimates and inform them if they would be selected to perform the work. Another contractor was selected and they were informed. Sentry is now saying that we had a contract.

Desired Settlement
Sentry is now claiming that I canceled the contract and what to be paid for 25% of the value for cancellation. I want this request canceled and a bad business practices mark on their BBB record.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@sentryldm.com
I went to Mr *********'s house and we went over all of his insurance paperwork. I went over all the components of his roof and both I and Mr ********* agreed on a price to replace his roof and complete additional repairs. We agreed on a payment schedule which is on our agreement. The top of the form says in bold letters AGREEMENT he signed it and I signed it as well. He said that the check from the insurance company also had the mortgage company names on it and that he would have to get them to endorse the check and that it would take some time since he had two different mortgage companies. He said that he would let us know when that had happened so that we could proceed with the roof replacement. That was more than a month ago. We have called him numerous times to get an update on the endorsement of the check. Last week we finally got a hold of Mr ********* and he told us that he was going with another roofing company. Nothing on the AGREEMENT says anything about an estimate. Estimates do not have payment schedules on them, both parties do not sign an estimate. Everything on the document clearly states what it is. As-well as all the terms and conditions on the front and back of the document that we both signed. I see no reason why a mark should be put on my record when I have a valid contact and have done nothing other than what the terms and conditions state on the document that Mr ********* signed and has a copy of. If needed I can supply a copy to the BBB.
Nothing was misrepresented I explained to him what it was and he signed it. All the terms and writings are on the document are clear and he has a copy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sentry's salesman was not paying attention and did not answer my questions in a truthful manner. The level of detail that is alleged in the response "I went over all the components of his roof and both I and Mr. ********* agreed on a price to replace his roof" is NOT a true statement. I told him that I understood his estimate, not that I agreed with it.

I repeated told the saleman that I was not prepared to sign a contract committing Sentry to the work. I was told that by signing the document presented, I was NOT committing to hiring Sentry. I was told that by signing the paperwork, I was merely acknowledging Sentry's estimate, not the I was agreeing to it or committing them to perform the work.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roof Repairs, Stone Setting, Mason Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Fence Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/19/2013Business started: 11/15/2012Business started locally: 01/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2012, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan MacaLuso (Owner)
Business Category

Roof Repairs, Stone Setting, Mason Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Fence Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction

7616 Val Verde Dr

McKinney, TX 75071-7451

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7616 Val Verde Dr 

    McKinney, TX 75071-7451(214) 733-9968

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sentry LDM Roofing and Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roof Repairs

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.