BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2012

Suddath United Van Lines

Phone: (972) 660-5600Fax: (972) 602-1402

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/15/2012Delivery Issues
09/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
07/01/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Household goods have not been delivered going on 15 days. We have no idea when we will recieve our household goods.
Household goods were packed in crated April 23 and 24th in Little Rock AR. We were told we would receive them by May 2, 2013 in Abilene TX at the latest. Then we were told on May 3, 2013 a truck broke down. Then they told us May 4th half of our stuff made it to Abilene and they did not know where the other half was located. May 5th they told us it should all be in Abilene by May 6th. May 7th we were told that it arrived but without any paperwork so they were not able to check it in. Now it is May 8, they are not returning our phone calls, and they are not giving us any information as to where our household good are or when we will be receiving them.

Desired Settlement
We want our household goods back delivered to us ASAP.

Business' Initial Response
May 21, 2013

Lee Stallings
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, TX 75201

Re: Mr. and Mrs. ********
Complaint Filed May 9, 2013
Case #: XXXXXXXX

Dear Mr. Stallings

This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Van Lines, Inc. ("Suddath") in response to Better Business Bureau complaint #XXXXXXXX filed on May 9, 2013.

The Vallieres' arranged to have their household goods moved from Little Rock, AR to Abilene, TX by Suddath. The Vallieres' goods were packed on April 23, 2013. The Bill of Lading, signed by Mr. ********, included a delivery date of May 2, 2013.

The actual weight of the shipment turned out to be double the original weight estimate. Thus, due to the unplanned excess weight, an additional truck was used to move the shipment. Unfortunately, one of the trucks moving the shipment had mechanical issues and the delivery was delayed; however, the shipment was delivered by the guarantee delivery date noted on the Bill of Lading.

Suddath communicated the delay to The Vallieres' and explained the shipment would be delivered when the entire load could be delivered at the same time to ensure a complete inventory of the Vallieres' goods.

The complete shipment was delivered on May 11, 2013. Suddath sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Very truly yours,



Jacqueline L. Thorlakson
Corporate Counsel

***********@suddath.com

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For a moving company to take 18 days for a 7 hour drive is unacceptable.

05/16/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Relocation Service, Warehousing Services, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.