BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Massimo Motor Sports LLC

Phone: (972) 243-4555Fax: (214) 540-1163

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service12
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2013 massimo 400, had bad eng leak, while serv eng
by mass in TX sent back wrong motor - junk won't correct problem. I want my motor with 90 mi back.

i purchased a new 400 UTV from Tractor supply in ********* Va on 9/18/2013. In august the engine
devloped a serious leak. I took it to Amherst lawn
and garden to be fixed under engine warranty. Amherst Lawn and garden were told to ship the mtor
to Massimo motor Sports LLC in ******* TX And they
would repair the motor. Somewhere along the process Massimo sent me the wrong motor back a piece of junk, that looks wore out and the service tec can not get it running. The UTV has been in the shop for 6 months, I dealt with the service company on the phone for 6 monts, they did not tell me it was the wrong motor. I drove to ******* yesterday and found all this out. 3 months ago they said they had recieved the motor but was waiting on a throttle linkage. They tried to get Massimo
Motor to send the correct motor or replace it
with a new one and they won't comply. This is not write. They are trying to stick me with an older engin that looks wore and old, and I want my new engine back with 90 mi on it
or a new engine in replace. After many phone calls from the service tech at ******* Lawn & Garden, Massimo Motors refuses to comply. This is not acceptable. I Want a new motor.

purchased : Tractor Supply, ********* Va XXXXX
Purchase date : 9/18/2013
Tractor Supply Phone :XXX-XXX-XXXX
TSC Headquarters Phone: XXX-XX-XXXX
TSC Store: ***
TSC Ref #:XXXXXXXX
TSC sales rep: ******* ******
Modele: *********** UTV 4X4
Ven: LWGMDSZ13DBXXXXXX
Ticket #: XXXXXX
Order #: SXXXXXXXXXXXX
Paid By Credit card over 13 month period paid in
full jauary 2015,
Purcase Price: $6317.99

Service Company: ******* Lawn & Garden
*** S. **** **
******** Va
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I want a new motor or a new MSU-400-EFI

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Corp Account
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@massimomotor.com
Spoke with customer about this issue - we're sending our tech to Service Center this week to investigate the unit and to help our Service Center Amherst in completing proper paperwork to do a complete Repair and replace of engine.

12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Yamaha Viking as a used vehicle from Mass through Ebay. They have failed to deliver clear title for more than 30 days after the sale.
I purchased the vehicle for $12,500.00 on Oct. 3 by credit card. They have refused to provide a TX title assigned to me so that I can register it in AZ. They told me that they purchased the vehicle from a dealer in GA in July 2014, brought it to Texas and chose not to register it in Texas in an effort to avoid paying sales tax in Texas. They used it to test and compare to their similar Massimo brand vehicles. They are not a licensed dealer and are considered to be a retail purchaser, and as such Texas law requires that they register the vehicle and pay sales tax. Since they did not, they have no title to the vehicle nor proof of ownership to provide to me. Texas law also requires that the seller of a vehicle must have a title. I have made every effort to help them through the process, but in the end they have refused to do this the right way and pay the tax and obtain the title. My only recourse at this time is to obtain a bonded title at an additional expense; however, a bonded title offers me no protection against a third party who might claim ownership.

Desired Settlement
I have already added significant accessories ($4000) to the vehicle so a refund would not be an adequate remedy. I want them to follow the correct legal procedure and register the vehicle in Texas, pay the sales tax in Texas, and obtain a title and assign and deliver it to me so that I can register it in AZ. I also want them to reimburse me for the cost of the bonded title and for loss of use for one month. If I have to pay sales tax in AZ because they didn't pay it in TX then they must reimburse me for that as well.

Business Response
Massimo has resolved this particular customer complaint

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a defective UTV and the company has tried multiple times to repair it with no success.
I purchased an alligator 700 and from day one had issues. The charging system on my unit has never worked correctly resulting in numerous break downs in the middle of the woods or miles from camp. The unit has been in for repairs a total of 3 months of the 4 months I have owned it. 4 separate occasions.The first time the voltage regulator was changed. 2nd time a bad wire was said to be the culprit 3rd the stator was changed along with the battery and starting solenoid. 4th it was said the wiring of the headlights was incorrect. All the repairs yielded no success as soon as I go the unit back it was clear it was not charging. I have been in contact with the National Sales manager Dylan and the dealer I bought it from ***** ******* The customer service is absolutely terrible after point of sale. They ignore calls do not return calls and never deliver on thier promises of repair. I requested a replacement unit or a refund because the unit I have is clearly a lemon. But to no avail. Again my calls are being ignored until I call 5 or 6 times then they answer angry calling me by name. Because they knew it was me calling.

Desired Settlement
I at one time wanted a replacement unit but it is very clear the customer service is lacking and the company does not stand by thier products. I am seeking a full refund nothing less will be accepted. I have already spent over 200$ in fuel taking it back and forwards to the shop I will not waste any more time on this company's terrible business practices.

Business Response
the dealer in question has attempted to repair the machine. As of today we have the machine at the Massimo facility and is in the process of being repaired. When completed we will return to dealership for customer to pick up.

01/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not recieve proper warranty coverage.
I bought a Massimo Alligator 500. I had to special order it and pay in advance for it, so I did. I did this on May 21, 2013. I recieved my Alligator (delivered to me) on June 5, 2013. Then, on December 2, 2013 the clutch on my Alligator 500 went out and needs to be replaced. When Massimo Motors was contacted for warranty repair, then said that part was warrantied for 6 months no it was no longer covered. It turns out that Massimo Motors started my warranty on May 21, 2013 (the day I payed for the special order). The warranty should have started on the day I recieved, June 5, 2013. If they had started the warranty on the proper date, I would not have this issue right now. When I tried to talk with the regional sales manager (*****), he basically told me the warranty was expired and I had to pay for it out of pocket. When I mentioned reporting what hes said to the BBB he hung up on me. I don't believe a warranty can start on an item that is still packed in a box at the manufaturer before it is delivered.

Desired Settlement
I would like Massimo Motor Sports to adjust my Warranty to properly reflect when I recieved it (not when I special ordered it) and in turn cover the repairs under warranty.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** A
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@massimomotor.com

Below is our warranty policy for our units. You can also reference our website. http://www.massimomotor.com/warranty.php

UTV & ATV Parts & Labor Warranty


Covered Parts
Description Description

Motor
Engine 1 Year Limited*

Drivetrain Components
Transmission 1 Year Limited*

Exhaust
Muffler, Manifold 1 Year

Suspension
Shocks 1 Year

Electrical
Wire Harness, E.C.U. 180 Days

Clutch
CVT/Secondary Clutch 90 Days

Battery(when purchased with new unit)
Battery 30 Days

*PARTS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY

All Fluids, Spark Plug, Spark Plug Wire(High-voltage Wire), Oil Filter, Air Filter, Fuel Filter, Throttle Body, Injectors, Shift/Throttle/Idle/Brake Cables, Clutch Belts, Drive Chains, Front/Rear Brake Pads, Front/Rear Calipers, Front/Rear Rotors, Front/Rear Axle, Front/Rear Spindle, Swing Arm/Sway Bar Bushings, Front/Rear Tires, Front/Rear Wheels, Fuses, Head/Tail Light Housings,light Bulbs, Seats, Seat Boards, Floor Boards, Mirrors, Top, Winch, Wind Shield, Rubber/Plastic Components, Hardware.

I would like to find out where the unit was purchased from and see the proof our purchase. If you would like to contact me to discuss further please do not hesitate to.

02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor quality manufacturing and Massimo will not stand behind the product they sell.
I purchased a MSU 200 for my sons christmas present on 12/23/2013. He rode it 12/25 for the first time. About the third time he rode it, he was coming up our driveway and both tires turned sharply to the left and he almost hit a tree. I ran down the driveway and the steering wheel wouldnt turn the wheels. So I took it to an authorized repair shop and he said "the steering box shattered, all the gears are stripped". They ordered another one, and of coarse it came from china, so it took about two months before we got it back. Upon unloading the machine, I noticed one of the welds on the swing arm appeared to be cracked. Since I just got it home I called the repair shop and asked them if I could go ahead and repair weld it myself. I sent him a picture and he said fine. The nest day he was riding it again and every weld on the swing arm broke. I've never seen anything like it. My son was just riding it in our field, there are no jumps or anything, this should not have happened. I was getting very concerned that the rest of the machine had inferior welds and was dangerous. I called the repair shop took it in and he said it looks like the used cheap metal , as none of the welds held up. I also called the dealership from where I bought it, and they assured me that they have sold a bunch of them and never had any problems. This time they sent him a new swing arm off of new unit in stock, but it still took 3 or 4 weeks to get the machine back. AT this point we have had it 4 months and he has only ridden it on 4 occassions(less that 6hrs). The next time he road it was mothers day, he was ridding it and it just quit. I had to tow it back with my 4 wheeler. upon loading on the trailer, it sounded like one of the front wheel bearings was going bad as it was making a hissing sound. While straping to the trailer I noticed that the bracket where the front A arms connect was bent up about 1/2 inch, when I looked closer, the bracket was only welded on one side. The other weld never made contact with the metal on the bracket. At this point we took it back to the repair shop and I told them to contact massimo as this unit is clearly defective and my warranty was going to run out. He did, sent them pictures, emails phone calls etc. He had the unit until August. I finally got fed up and went to pick it up. He said the coil went bad and massimo didn't cover it, he did't weld the bracket and the bearing wasnt covered. He went to go get it, when he brought it out, he said we have another problem, you have to hold the ignition switch in the almost start position, if you let it fall back to the run position it shuts off. I won't let my son drive it any longer as it is not safe to be ridden. I've tried to contact Massimo thru their website, the dealer that I purchased it from and the repair shop and have not had anyone call me back.

Desired Settlement
This vehicle is not safe and is very poorly constructed. I would like a refund of my money and you can have the unit back. It's only been ridden 4-5 times in the last 12 months.

Business Response
We reached out to Mike directly to resolve his issues. Parts are being sent today for repair.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sending parts is a start, but I would rather have them buy the unit back, as it's clearly defective. I a'm working with them to hopefully find a solution.

04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been waiting on refund for 7 months for order made in August of 2012
Outdoorsports ordered 2 MSU-175 Utvs fully assembled on 9/24/12, order #sXXXXXX from sales rep: ****** ****** at Massimo Mtrs. Pymt was by Bank wire for $4977.XX XXXX.00each x2 shipping 587.00
When fist unit was uncrated ,it was obvious to see they had sent it out with missing bolts and broken parts,and upon contacting them they tried to say damages were from trucking co,,,but crate and pkging was undamaged,notified trucking co and explained,and told them to refuse the 2nd unit which was half way to my destination.Notified Massimo that product/assembly was unacceptable and that I had refused 2nd unit and expected a refund for it and replacement parts to repair the unit that should never have been shipped out in that condition. After sending multiple pics and emails,they finally sent me the parts(of which some were not the correct parts)
Fully assembled to me is not bolts missing,hole knocked in back housing and the parking brake cable draging on ground,or side safety net wth straps hanging loose.
Tried contacting Massimo mtrs and ****** ****** with numerous emails and phone messages, of which No Response, finally called from another phone number, imediately after leaving message,and ****** answered,he admitted, that they had been screening my calls but promised to get right on processing my refund,another promise 12/12/12.
Sent letter to owner of Massimo letting him know ,how his business was being ran and hoping that he could help with the situation , all I got was a phone call from ****** ****** with more BS

Desired Settlement
Massimo should refund my money :(for the refused unit AND SHIPPING) They also should be charged for the mechanics time of repairing the damaged unit; and for for the time, hassles and the work, they have caused me,along with intrest. but will settle for the 2488.50

Business' Initial Response
Refund was issued and recieved by Outdoor Sports less the amount of shipping because of refusing the order. This is policy. We also waived the restocking fee becasue of the issues Outdoor sports had faced with the first order.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Massimo says refund, (was sent and received),that is not true......... Have even been checking at bank: to make sure it was not wired to my account,No REFUND TO DATE.
Ha waived the restocking fee ,what a joke they should have sent both back to assembley.
****** ****** lies,he will tell you what you want to hear not what is the truth,,,,many times supposedly he has taken care of this refund issue and here we arenow 8 months.His response to me was,, BUSINESS IS TOUGH does that make this alright???
Check my math: units $4390.00/2 = $2195.00 EACH
shipping $587.00/2 = $293.50 EACH
TOTALS $4977.00 $2488.50 EACH

Massimo should refund the $2488.50 not my fault they shipped damaged merchandise.
At the very least I should be refunded the $2195.00


REDACT31 201331REDACT

12/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The roof blew off during transport. The fuel gauge doesn't work
The roof blew off during transport at 65 MPH. Massimo states they are not to be towed that fast. But there are no caution stickers on the roof or anything in the manual the state anything as a warning not to tow it on a trailer.

The other item is that the fuel gauge does not work

It was purchased from Tractor supply in Mc Comb MS in September of this year. Tractor supply stated that we needed to speak with Massimo and Massimo states we need to speak with tractor supply.

Desired Settlement
Replace the roof and have the fuel gauge repaired at their expense. Also send out a recall notice to all purchasers regarding the possibility of the roof blowing off when trailered and/r furnish additional support tabs to be installed.

Business Response
We have discussed this with case with Mr. ******** and we do actually have a caution "DO NOT TOW" sticker on our the tops of our units. We also educate dealers to always strap top down before towing over 55mph. His unit is now at ATV Zone and being repaired at our expensive. We're also sending new top at our expense to resolve issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As to the comment " we do actually have a caution "DO NOT TOW" sticker on our the tops of our units. We also educate dealers to always strap top down before towing over 55mph."

There is nothing in the instruction manual, there was no stickers anywhere on the vehicle nor was I instructed to strap the top down for towing.

Now the vehicle is a ATV zone as stated for other adjustments as well as having the top replaced as they have stated and it is at their expense.

And its suppose to be ready this week.

*** with Massimo has been true to his word thus far.

I would like to respond again when I get the vehicle back

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2012 Massimo 400 UTV- Poor quality and terrible reliability.
The 2012 Massimo 400 UTV was purchased new. The 2012 Massimo 400 UTV developed a rear seal oil leak after approximately 7 months in service. Massimo authorized their dealer to have the repairs completed. 11 months later the rear seal began leaking again. 18 months in service and two leaks. The UTV has 50 hours of normal to light use. I contacted everyone with an email address on their web site at Massimo about this. The customer service agent tried to have this reoccurring issue taken care of but was told Massimo management will not even look at the reoccuring issue because it is beyond the 12 months warranty period. I received no other response from anyone in management at Massimo. I took the unit in for repair November 2013. The rear seal was bad along with the yoke. 5 weeks later, Dec 2013, after waiting for parts the repair cost me $403. 4 weeks later, Jan 2014, the oil drained out of the motor due to a split in a shaft cover. I left voicemails for customer service and sent an email. No response recieved as of 1/30/2014.
Massimo does not provide a Reliable, Quality product or service as their web Company Profile states.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for my cost of the second repair and my labor to fix the second issue $300. A total of $703.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** A
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@massimomotor.com
Below is our warranty policy for our units. You can also reference our website. http://www.massimomotor.com/warranty.php

UTV & ATV Parts & Labor Warranty

Covered Parts
Description
Motor
Engine 1 Year Limited*
Drivetrain Components
Transmission 1 Year Limited*
Exhaust
Muffler, Manifold 1 Year
Suspension
Shocks 1 Year
Electrical
Wire Harness, E.C.U. 180 Days
Clutch
CVT/Secondary Clutch 90 Days
Battery(when purchased with new unit)
Battery 30 Days

*PARTS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY
All Fluids, Spark Plug, Spark Plug Wire(High-voltage Wire), Oil Filter, Air Filter, Fuel Filter, Throttle Body, Injectors, Shift/Throttle/Idle/Brake Cables, Clutch Belts, Drive Chains, Front/Rear Brake Pads, Front/Rear Calipers, Front/Rear Rotors, Front/Rear Axle, Front/Rear Spindle, Swing Arm/Sway Bar Bushings, Front/Rear Tires, Front/Rear Wheels, Fuses, Head/Tail Light housings, light bulbs, Seats, Seat Boards, Floor Boards, Mirrors, Top, Winch, Wind Shield, Rubber/Plastic Components, Hardware.

To Whom It May Concern:

In response to Complaint Activity Report Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer *** Leven. We provide all necessary parts for our units under the 1 year limited warranty for repairs. For example if someone purchases a unit on May 5,2013. Then there warranty is valid until May 5,2014. If the machine has low or high miles as long as its within the 1 year warranty it is covered and repairs are taken care of. Once a machine goes beyond the one year coverage. The customer is responsible for any repair or repairs that his or her unit may need. When a unit is within warranty; we ensure that all repairs are taken care in a smooth, easy and professional manner.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand the one year warranty practice. The difference here is the same part went bad twice in 18 months. With low, easy use hours,50 hours on the unit, these major issues should not occur if Massimo makes a quality product. Massimo does not make a quality product. When I heard the comment to stay away form Chinese made junk I wish I would have listened.
Because Massimo does not stand behind their product and does not take care of the customer in these type cases I have gotten rid of the Chinese junk, Massimo UTV. I have replaced it with a Good machine. I will spread the word of buyer beware of any and all Massimo products. I have worked in the Quality field for 30 years and have never treated a customer like this. A problem like this that reoccurs is a manufacturing, Massimo, defect, and not a customer responsibility.
To all who read this, the Massimo products may look good but do not be deceived. Massimo produces product with terrible reliability and quality. If you buy one plan to spend thousands for repairs.

07/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
very poor repair service Amanda doesn't return calls new u.t.v out of the crate tractor supply doesn't want unit back and Massimo will not return my m
out of the crate bad engine tractor supply will not do a return for my money back and Massimo will not guarantee the u.t.v. Massimo has NO ONE in new York or new jersey that is the know how to work on this u.t.v. so iam just riped off for 8,000 dollars and there is nother I can do BOTH TRACTOR SUPPLY AND MASSIMO should be accounted for selling this u.t.v.

Desired Settlement
pay me my 8,000 $ back and take this piece of junk back

Business' Initial Response
We do not refund as Massimo Motor is the UTV distributor, please refer back to the dealer the unit was purchased from. The service center and Massimo will contine to work effciently in the repair of this unit. Massimo stands behind its products 100%, I apologize for your frustrations but in a limited warranty case we must follow policy.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
as the manufacture of this product I guess you do NOT STAND behind it as I said it came OUT OF YOUR CRAIGHT that means it left your factory UNINSPECTED and with no place to service it in new York having to drive it 125 mile into new jersey .. its not tractor supply product . word of mouth poor manufacture... poor product no service aim telling every one do not buy Massimo

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.