BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wells Asset Management, Inc.

Phone: (972) 458-2588

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had many roof leaks, and now have a tarp hanging from the roof blowing in the wind. Poor management and lack of interest plague the property.
My husband and I have lived at this property for a little over two years. We have turned in service request due to a roof leak causing our closet ceiling to leak and sending Sheetrock falling on our clothes and the floor. The property manager and regional manager for ***** Asset Management have not taken repairs seriously at all. I have photo proof of 4 roof leaks in a the time we've lived here. I feel that our "home" doesn't matter to anyone but us! This property is falling apart and could end up hurting someone!

Desired Settlement
I would like the roof to be repaired! I want to feel safe where I live! I currently don't!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Michelle ****** Superviso
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@wellsasset.com
Both on-site and corporate management take all maintenance requests seriously. We are aware of the current issue and have been working to remedy the issue from the day we were made aware. After the 1st rain on October 23rd we immediately had a roofing contractor come out and look at the issue. Unfortunately the repairs could not be fixed that same day. As far as the interior repairs we had to wait for the sheet rock to dry before the painters would be able to come in and take care of them. Those were on the schedule for 11/2 in which the residents were notified via email. The tarp was put up on the roof as we were expecting more rain within the same week of the first round of storms and we did not want anymore water getting inside the residents unit. The high winds did blow it down at one point but we called back out the contractors who then put it back up again. We have apologized for the inconvenience this may have caused the residents but we have always worked to fixed the issue and make repairs at the time they occur.

Consumer Response
Hello,
I completely disagree with the response for Wells Asset Management! I took pictures last night during the rain of water running down the wall of my apartment and roof. My husband and I had put in more than our fair share of maintenance requests to have these things fixed. I don't understand how they say they will do whatever it takes, and they don't do anything. Out roof has been leaking for YEARS and now we have a spot in the middle of a wall that is leaking right below a alarm panel that luckily doesn't work. Please check the "properties" of this photo to check the time and date it was taken. It would be nice if someone cared! The Maintenance man and property manger have shown they care, but the management group is a joke! It's offensive to me that they claim to :take care of things", but they is nowhere near the case!

Final Business Response
The residents were made aware on December 1st, the same day as this complaint that the roof repairs were being started that day. The roof repairs have now been completed on their building. We have apologized for this inconvenience did all we could to resolve the matter while keeping in contact with the residents.

08/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lying about me giving notice and damage claim
They are over charging me and lying about my 60 day notice. They just hang up on me when I try to talk to the manager. She flat out lies about the notice. they have reported me two charges offs on my credit report for the same thing. here is the charges listed notice they are split in to two seperate accounts to hit my credit two times. Please help this manager is the 6th one at that place in a years time. I want my original damage walk through report and also the damages that where filed in my folder. also want the extra charge of the rent to be removed it is a flat out lie by the manager. She messed up even though she marked it on her calendar. Nothing was ever done to fix anything in the apartment. EVER bugs to freezer never working. The bathroom ceiling also leaked some brown black stuff in the bath tube. see below for the duplicate charge

Desired Settlement
this be taken off my credit report and adjusted accordingly

Business Response
The property manager is currently on leave so I have pulled the past residents file for review. In the file I did find the notice to vacate in which I have attached to the response. The date on the top of the notice says 11/3/13. However, on the bottom of the notice where the residents have signed is dated the 19th. On the move out form the date notice was given states November 19th 2013. As stated in our lease contract the residents are required to give a written 60 day notice. ***** ********* is aware of this policy as he states it in the written complaint. Since a proper 60 day notice was not given the lease contract states in paragraph #11 that a reletting fee will be charged. The reletting fee is 85% of the monthly rent. His monthly rent was $475 making the reletting fee $403.75.

I have contacted NCC in regards to this being reported on his credit twice. We did not send this directly to NCC. This file was sent to Sure Deposit as a bond agreement was signed upon move in. Since ***** did not pay the amount due directly to us we reported his debt to Sure Deposit who then reported it to NCC. When I spoke with NCC I let them know that one of them needs to be removed.

Attached is the copy of notice to vacate. Please let me know if anything else is needed.


Thank you,

Michelle Duncan
Regional Supervisor
Wells Asset Management
(972)458-2588 ext. 107

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
thanks for your response

But that is partially incorrect. I went in the office and gave them a 30 day notice. The manager stated I need to give a 60 day. I agreed and she marked out the dates to show a 60 day. You will also see I paid the month of Dec which would of been the 60 days. I have no clue why it is signed at the bottom on the 19th.that was not on my copy.Also you can clearly see the dates where changed to reflect 60 days.

She even asked me why I was moving out and I told her was moving closer to my job in Keller. She marked it on her calendar and said ok I got you covered.

I have a witness with me to that heard the whole conversation. Also I appreciate the copy you show it is different than mine. the manager said it was against the law or something to send a copy out. I am telling you there is also no damage move in claim. I asked the manager to fill one out when I moved in because the original apartment was rented out to someone else. The one I moved into wasn't ready. The manager never came back to do the walk in damage claim. I went to find her and she left for the day. Then the next day she quit and there wasn't a manager for awhile. It was really a big mess and was very frustrating.

Final Business Response
The only notice to vacate in the file is the one I sent with the first response. Even with the two different dates on the notice neither one of them is sufficient for a 60 day notice. As stated in paragraph #3 of the lease contract the resident must give at least a 60 day written notice. Even with December rent being paid from the date on the top of the notice which is 11/3/13 to 12/31/13, that is not 60 days. Also, the manager at the time the notice was given was Melissa Maples. She is still the current property manager who is out on leave. I have reached out to her in regards to this situation and she has confirmed that she was the one who took the notice to vacate and explained to him how it had to be at least 60 days.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I made a payment on 11/01/2013, and 12/03/2013. I went in the office and told the manager I was giving a 30 day notice on 11/03/2013. and she stated I would have to pay for November and December because they only took 60 days. Also Melissa is not telling the truth she even asked why I was moving out and I said to be closer to work, and move in with my girlfriend. I have an eye witness who was standing right there. She said ok that is fine and marked it on her calendar. Now since then she has rebuked and lied stating she doesn't know what I am talking about, and that she reported me so that it would hit my credit and make it hard to rent an apartment. In all honesty that apartment should of never been rented out. I have attached some pictures of the apartment. and also the maintenance request that was ignored. and some pictures of the place. You know I never even had a refrigerator for almost 6 months. Also the letter was certified. When I went into the office to ask about it the manager at the time said oh i think I remember seeing something. She then said she would take care of it. But then the next day there was another manager.

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False and wrongful eviction filed against.
In 2008 it shows that a eviction was filed against my old residence of **** ******** ** ** where I lived for over 8-10 years. During my residency my family and I were outstanding tenants and never had any issues with managment. And upon us moving out the manager at the time was ***** She did the walk through with me and praised me regarding how great my upkeep has been on my home. And in the time following she requested a full return of my deposit which was given to me by check from the company. And due to this showing up on my credit report I have been unable to obtain a home elsewhere and have been going through denials from every company I tried to rent from because of this. I've reached out for two years now and was told that the property overseer is a gentlemen that has yet to reach out or return my calls.

Desired Settlement
A certifed letter stating typed and signed by the companies head person stating that I ****** ******* former tenant at **** ******** ** ** in ******** Tx XXXXX has NEVER been evicted from that dwelling. And I would also like this to be forwarded to all three credit bureaus so that it can be removed promptly from my credit report.

Business Response
COMPLAINTAN NEEDS TO PROVIDE US WITH THE DATED THEY RESIDED AT THE PROPERTY. WE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN THE PARTY WHO FILED THE EVICTION.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate - Commercial

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.