BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2001

Price Realty Corporation

Phone: (972) 788-1925

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Moved out of Park on Greenville apartment on August 28th after trying to upgrade to two bedroom apartment. Asked many times for management to come look at place before we left. No time. Called and went by office to give new address to send refund of deposits totaling $300.00. Still have not seen nor heard from this place. I want my refund plus interest and cost to visit to once again give address information.

Desired Settlement
I want my refund plus interest and cost to visit to once again give address information. So deposit of $300.00, $10.00 for gas and interest for two months on the $300.00

Business Response
The resident submitted a 60 day notice to vacate on June 25, 2014. Although the resident inquired about moving to a larger apartment the notice stated that they would be moving at the end of the current lease. The residents official vacate date was 8/31/2014. ****** ***** dropped her keys on the date of the scheduled move-out. The resident did not ask management to walk the apartment. ****** ***** returned to the property a few days later because she said that they left a safe in the apartment. Maintenance opened the door to the apartment for the resident to get her belongings. The refund of the security deposit was processed on 9/22/14 and the security deposit check mailed on 9/25/2014. There was no forwarding address given to the property manager so the refund was mailed per the lease agreement to the last known address. The security deposit refund WAS NOT FORWARDED BY THE POST OFFICE TO THE RESIDENTS NEW ADDRESS and was returned to Price Realty corporate office marked UNDELIVERABLE on 10/2/2014. We did not see or hear anything from Mr. or Mrs. ***** until Mr. ***** called Park on Greenville on 12/17/2014 asking about his refund check. Mr. ***** was very agitated because he was charged $54.65 for a final water bill. Mr. ***** gave us his new address on 12/17/2014 and the same refund check that was issued on 9/25/2014 and returned as undeliverable was mailed again to his new address on 12/18/2014. Mr. ***** cashed the refund check on 12/23/14. We feel that the security deposit refund was mailed on time and we do not feel that it is warranted to pay additional interest to Mr. *****.

10/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Apartment charged us for pet damage. We never owned a pet.
On 9/15, I received an invoice from **** ****** for move-out charges. We moved out of Preston Pointe Apartments on 7/31/2014 from apartment **** ***** The charges included the electricity and water and damage that occurred to the blinds ($45). Those things we righfully owed. However, we were also charged upwards of $700 for pet damages. The problem is....we had no pet. The invoice specifically says dog urine. Not only do we not have a pet, my wife is a severe Cynophobic (crippling fear of dogs). ****** claims that she "smelled" dog urine yet when pressed about that claim, she then asked if maybe we had a baby that urinated on the carpet. We are childless. She then asked if we did pet-sitting. Again, with a wife who is terrified of dogs and not too fond of cats either, the answer is again, a resounding no. After asking a retreating ****** if she had any proof of these alleged dog stains, she then agreed to hold us only to the final electricity, water, and window blind amount which comes to $217.86.

I submit that since we never claimed any pets, and did not pay pet deposits (because we had no pets), if ****** and her staff really felt that we had animals in the unit, she would have also retroactively charged us for pet deposits and fees we purposely did not pay (since clearly the goal is merely to get money out of people whether justified or not). That is not what happened because she knows that there were no pets, we have no reason to lie about having pets, and her statement that she witnessed pet staining is false. By her admission, after ducking and dodging any detailed inquiry, all she could offer was the subjective "I smelled it and walked back out" as her response.

What ****** ***** smelled was bleach and annomia from cleaning products as we cleaned and re-cleaned for over a week because we have enough pride and respect to not leave the apartment in the terrible condition it was given to us (check the move-in inventory sheet). We also took parting video of the condition of the apartment. That is available any time corporate wishes to see it. ****** and **** claimed to have photos of urine-stained carpet yet never produced photos at all. Meanwhile, again, I have video of carpet that was not urine stained at the time of move-out. I also have video taken at the time of move-in that notes the unprofessional and unacceptable nature of an apartment being leased to new tenants.

I merely want to document the agreement to pay the $217.86 (as this just happened less than an hour ago), and that this discourse did in fact take place at the Preston Pointe location today. In addition, I'd like to draw attention to the total lack of professionalism of the office staff of not only Preston Pointe but Price Realty. In an earlier problem (during our tenancy), my wife attempted to speak with the DM of Price Realty about a problem that was the fault of the Preston Pointe staff. In the end, we were given a $50 Wal-Mart gift card to make up for it but the DM's lack of professionalism and follow-up did not go unnoticed. Price needs to train their employees to understand that "we make mistakes" (a comment made by both the DM during out tenancy and Ilma) is not, nor has it ever been a valid explanation when attempting to run a business. Suddenly having other things to do and other people to talk to when the heat is on and you are faced with questions you don't care to answer is equally unacceptable. My wife is a business owner and is well-versed in the professionalization required to conduct productive business and hiding behind "we make mistakes" is not good business.

After the $217.86 is paid this Friday (9/19/2014), I expect there to be no adverse action taken against us and our balance to Preston Pointe to be $0.00.

Desired Settlement
No settlement other than to document the agreement between myself and ****** ***** that I would pay the $217.86 on Friday for blinds ($45), electricity ($116.28), and water ($56.58) and that's it because, one last time, we did not own nor keep a pet.

Business Response
PRESTON POINTE APARTMENT HOMES
14041 Preston Road
Dallas, Texas 75254
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
October 20, 2014
To: Better Business Bureau
Attention: **** ***** Director of Dispute Resolution Depaprtment
Complaint Case # - ******** (Reference # XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
Consumer - ******* *******
**** ***** Move Out 7/XXXXXXX
To Whom It May Concern:
I am sending this letter in response to the complaint mentioned above.
Mr. & Mrs. ******* ******* moved into Preston Pointe on August 15,2013.
The carpet for apartment **** **** was replaced on August 9, 2013.
Mrs. ******* turned in the Inventory and Condition Form on August 16, 2013.
There was nothing listed under Floor/Carpet on any section of the form. I did
speak with Mrs. ******* in March of this year, and wrote on their inventory form
that the Maid Service was called back out to clean the apartment again, because
She stated there were items missed at their move in.
The Residents moved out of the apartment on 7/31/14. I inspected the apartment
On August 1, 2014. As soon as I opened the door, the odor of animal urine was
very strong. I also noticed several stains in various places. I took photos of all
the damages etc. I also called our carpet cleaning company A & T Carpet Cleaning
to come out and give an estimate. This is our policy when there are apparent damages to
the carpets upon move out.
A & T submitted an estimate recommending replacement due to "Heavy Pet Damage",
We had to strip the carpet and pad out, and seal the floors. The cost was $135.31.
I originally charged $150.00. The cost of the carpet and pad replacement was $ 563.58.
I realized that I did not prorate the amount of the carpet, and should have. Therefore
the balance after a payment of $217.86 was $658.35. We adjusted the Final Account
Statement to $506.35. Crediting a total of $152.00. The total amount due is $506.35.

see attachment

08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The proprty manager cut me off and refused to consider my side regarding information that was explained to me by a leasing consultant incorrectly.
I was approvd for an apt at Preston Pointe Apt in Dallas, TX. I origionally began the process in May 2013. The leasing consultant(Naomi), neglected to explain important information throughout the entire process. I was patient with her and she was patient with me. The process was not completed until the end of June due to her lack of knowledge. Recenlty, things changed in my personal life that no longer allowed me to move into the complex. I called to ask for my deposit back, Naomi refused to speak with me, said she would call back and never did. I called the property manager and spoke her and she blamed me for everything and cut me off everytime I would try to explain that Naomi failed to explain the 72hr rule. She was rude, didnt use an empathetic tone, and judging by her words, was not big on customer service.

Desired Settlement
I would like my deposit of $50.00 back

Business' Initial Response
After an internal review and investigation of the complaint; we have returned the complainant's $50.00 as we could not confirm or find evidence refuting the accuracy of the allegation.

12/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
after living there for over 20 years in an apartment falling apart. They are improperly reporting inflated collections amounts against me.
park on greenville phase 1 apt 215

Desired Settlement
correct reporting/ collection amount.

Business Response
Mr. ***** moved out of his apartment without notice on April 18, 2013. His lease did not expire until December 31, 2013. Mr. ***** was charged legal move-out fees for moving without notice including applicable rent and early termination fee, late fees, utility bills and cleaning plus rent through the end of his lease term. The apartment was re-rented and a new resident moved into the apartment on May 12, 2013. Management revised the move-out statement for Mr. *****. All rent charges from May 12 - December 31, 2013 have been removed. His new charges owed are $1,542.49. This revised information has been sent to the collection agency.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I got a notice to vacate by midnight on april 9th which is when I moved out. My lease was up on July 1st not December.

01/29/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.