BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2014

In the Loop Dallas

(469) 248-56673100 Main St STE 93, DallasTX 75226-1535 Send email to In the Loop Dallas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2014

BBB has determined that In the Loop Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised In the Loop Dallas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on In the Loop Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Violated Texas Fair Housing Act multiple times and refuses to come to civil terms out of court.
Paid a locksmith 243$, have $850 in deposits and additional moving costs.

Desired Settlement
I would like reimbursement of all deposites, locksmith associated costs, moving expenses. I would also like a contractual agreement not to tarnish my credit or rental history.

All which are reasonable and required by state law.

Business Response
BBB complaint Dated 9/15/2014 **** *****.

Mr. ***** claims that In The Loop Dallas Inc. failed to change the locks on his unit before taking possession 8/15/2014 violating the fair housing act and that In The Loop Dallas refuses to come to civil terms.
It is, In The Loop Dallas Inc. unequivocal policy to change apartment locks prior to a tenant taking possession even though the state of Texas allows for 7 days after possession to change locks. In the loop Dallas Inc. changed the locks on **** ***** apartment twice before he took possession. Once on July XX XXXX due to an eviction (please see witness statements attached). Mr. ***** knew of the eviction before taking possession. Our make ready crew inadvertently threw away the keys so In The Loop Dallas Inc. once again changed the lock on 8/15/2014 (please see receipt for locksmith). He was giving three keys one for top lock one for bottom lock and one for mailbox (please see manager's condition report).
**** ***** is disgruntled because he decided to move in another tenant that was not approved nor authorized which in turn caused him to be in breach of his rental agreement (please see breach of lease attached). Once Mr. ***** received this breach the prohibited tenant decided to submit an application, but due to the fact that this was Mr. *****' third breach within a 30 day period, In The Loop Dallas Inc. would not allow him to add a tenant. At this time he decided to find a way to justify yet again breaching his lease by terminating the lease and moving out without paying the agreed amount to terminate his contractor obligations.

9/21/2014
******* ****** ********
**** ********* *****
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

To whom it may Concern,

On July 27, 2014 **** ******* and I were present as ******* **** changed the locks on Unit *** per Mod Squad Properties, LP company policy. The locks get changed after a tenant vacates a unit. Additionally, with this particular unit the locks were changed due to an eviction order from the courts to lock out the previous tenants.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at *************

Sincerely,

******* ****** ********


9/18/2014
**** *******
President
Mod Squad Properties, LP
4414 Worth St.
Dallas, TX 75246

To whom it may Concern,

On July 27, 2014 ******* ******** and I were present as ******* **** changed the locks on Unit #12 per our company policy. We change all locks after a tenant vacates a unit. Additionally on this particular unit we changed the locks due to locking out the previous tenant from an eviction order from the courts.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

**** *******




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the original knob off the apartment after the locksmith I hired to change the lock when I was locked out. I also have one of three keys I was given. Two were for the top lock, one was for the mailbox. Every unit in that building has an identical key for top and bottom locks.

My bottom lock was never changed, I even took the lock to the licensed locksmith the landlord told me to. She tried it and told me the key is not for that lock. As well as the licensed locksmith who changed it that night.

I have written statements from both locksmiths.

If In The Loop Dallas can produce a key for the knob, I'll agree I'm at fault. Their locksmith has a copy of the key filed away under my name, and are unaware of the relation it has to In The Loop.

******* gutted the top lock while I was in the apartment, and stated that she took the outside part of the bottom knob to get it rekeyed. Had she done so I would have been locked in, because the inner part of the bottom knob has no mechanical working or way to mount itself.

I have many email correspondences between ******* **** and I regarding this. I have also recorded a few of the conversations if you need to see the character of this woman.

They show she did not change the lock until 12 days after move in, and then did not change it within the seven days required after I requested it. Both are violations of law.

Final Business Response
In response to the above assertions made by Mr. ***** We present the following documented facts. First, the locks were charged a total of four times for unit *** at **** ***** Dallas Texas by the property management: initially on 7/27/2014, then twice on 8/15/2014 (once rekey and once with tenant entering in his keyless entry code) and finally on 8/27/2014
.
The first time the locks were changed for this unit was 7/27/2014. This was witnessed by the President of Mod Squad Property (the owner of the apartment complex), ******* ******** (a person who does work for the property) and ******* **** the property manager. The locks were changed at this time due to an eviction. Please note this was done before the 8/15/2014 move in date of **** *****. Per Texas Property Code, Sec. 92.156:"REKEYING OR CHANGE OF SECURITY DEVICES. (a) A security device operated by a key, card, or combination shall be rekeyed by the landlord at the landlord's expense not later than the seventh day after each tenant turnover date."
The second time the locks were changed/rekeyed was when the cleaning crew threw away the keys when they were cleaning the unit 8/14/2014. It is normal for the cleaning crew to throw away any keys left in unit for security purposes. Unfortunately, due the eviction process, the new keys were left in unit. On 8/15/2014 the locks where once again rekeyed (please see receipt). After the move-in walk through, management with tenant "REKEYED" his electronic lock by him choosing his own private code and the electronic lock was recoded. Per Texas Property Code, Sec. 92.151 DEFINITIONS: "In this subchapter"Doorknob lock" means a lock in a doorknob, with the lock operated from the exterior by a key, card, or combination and from the interior without a key, card, or combination."

At some point when the tenant was moving in, the keys were misplaced. The tenant asked if the door **** could be rekeyed. Management asked when would be a good time to complete the task. The tenant stated he "...was moving stuff in and I'll be coming and going." The then said he would be in touch when things calmed down. When management returned to complete the task, the tenant was quite intoxicated. Management is required to have tenant in apartment to replace lock.

The unit was once again rekeyed on 8/27/2014. The tenant was in the unit as requested by management. Management removed both 'handles', as Mr. ***** says, and replaced the bottom handle with one of the many spares that Mod Squad Property has in storage for lock changes or emergencies. So he was correct, there was a handle for him to get into and out of the apartment. He may not remember this as he and his half naked female guest were very intoxicated. Upon returning to the unit ******* **** replaced the locks quickly as she did not feel comfortable with the situation. Per Texas Property Code: (b) A landlord shall perform additional rekeying or change a security device at the tenant's expense if requested by the tenant. A tenant may make an unlimited number of requests under this subsection.


In a mere 22 days this tenant violated his lease multiple times. He had drunk "guest" passed out in the common court yard witnessed by multiple tenants as well as management. He let his guest park in other tenant parking spaces. Because of limited parking tenants are not allowed to have guests park on the property. He changed locks without authorization. He, from all appearances, moved in an unauthorized roommate. This last "issue" was not an issue until In The Loop Dallas Inc. would not let him add a roommate to the lease due to his breaches of lease. It is our belief that Mr. ***** created this issue to justify his final breach of lease by terminating the lease without 30 days notice. The claim the lock was not changed according to code is baseless when, in verifiable fact, the lock had been changed four times within the 7 day period.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The receipt that they have provided shows one line item for rekeying. If that is even for the locks provided on that unit, it is not "factual" proof of anything except not all locks were rekeyed. Texas property code requires all locks in either circumstance.

On the 15th I was provided with a keyless entry code, that is correct. I was not given a key for any locks or mailbox, as can be seen in the email correspondence with *******.

It was not until the 27th, as shown in the emails, that I was finally assisted, which was 12 days into the lease. After my request on the fifteen for both top and bottom keys for the unit. A violation of Texas Property Code. The locks are required to be replaced within 7 days. At that time, ******* showed up unannounced, and let herself in to work on the locks.

She encountered me, working on unpacking. By no means intoxicated (and I do not appreciate the slander), enjoying one cider. I also had a friend helping me, who happened to be in a sports bra and shorts, which I would not consider half naked. Attempts to insult my character are again not appreciated.

If ******* was uncomfortable with anything, I would have actually appreciated her leaving sooner, instead of standing around talking about her divorce, her pigs, and getting my opinion on how to apply an air conditioning system to the house she is remodeling.

If this issue is no longer going to be about your failure to handle rekeying and instead about false accusations of my breach of lease, I'll explain everything, like I've explained before.

I did have a guest and her boyfriend over one night. They both ride mopeds. They left my apartment around midnight and I had to escort them out of the gates, so they could leave the property. At a later time that I was unaware of, one of then followed another tenant back in and fell asleep in the courtyard. She was loudly awoken to ******* screaming and threatening to shoot her with her concealed carry. (I hate to think if a tenant had fallen asleep in the court yard).

It was after this point ******* decided she did not like me and sent four breach of lease emails at once for things she claimed happened over the course of the last month.

My lease was terminated lawfully. If they could actually provide verifiable fact (as you have not)instead of just attempting to slander my person, that would be appreciated. I still have in my possession the lock, the written statement from YOUR locksmith and the one from mine as well. So far nothing has been provided except your words.

I would also like to request the videos from your camera system showing my guests leaving, then one returning on her own. As well as showing how long ******* lingered in my apartment even though she was "uncomfortable".

You have told me many times you would pull up the video to prove me guilty, I would like it submitted.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Investors, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate Consultants, Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/11/2012Business started: 07/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
P.O. Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711
(512) 936-3000
http://www.trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2012, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katrina Kaye (Owner)
Business Category

Real Estate Investors, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate Consultants, Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Alternate Business Names
ITLD

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for In the Loop Dallas

3100 Main St STE 93

Dallas, TX 75226-1535

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3100 Main St STE 93 

    Dallas, TX 75226-1535

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*In the Loop Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Investors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.