BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/2010

Taylor Publishing Co.

(214) 637-2800View Additional Phone Numbers1550 W Mockingbird Ln, DallasTX 75235-5007 Send email to Taylor Publishing Co.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/2010

BBB has determined that Taylor Publishing Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Taylor Publishing Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Taylor Publishing Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a yearbook for my daughter a year ago and never received the book. I paid $80 for it and want my money back. They told me to call the school and see if they received it but the school hasn't received it. I am tired of getting the run around and would like a refund to my credit card. The order #XXXXXX and customer #XXXXXXX
Product_Or_Service: Lancaster High School Yearbook
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund my credit card for the full purchase amount.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@balfour.com
Mr. ***** complaint was filed March 18,2015. Our company shipped completed yearbooks to Lancaster HS on Wednesday, March 11, 2015 via motor freight. They should have arrived at LHS approximately, Tuesday, March 17. The school unpacked and distributed yearbooks to all students that ordered in the days following their accepting shipment. Mr. ***** daughter, ******, should have received her copy.

On behalf of Balfour Yearbooks and our school/customer Lancaster High School in Lancaster, OH, we apologize to Mr. ***** and his daughter ****** for the delays in receiving their yearbook. If after receiving ******'s copy, Mr. ***** still wishes to receive a refund, we will gladly issue one.

Thank you.
**** *****
Director, Customer Service
Balfour Publishing

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The unprofessional communication from a customer service rep regarding product sold and undelivered and refund requested.
02/28/14 I ordered personalized yearbook for $100.00
Order #XXXXXX Customer # XXXXXXX

05/21/14 email newsletter recv'd yearbooks are coming.

05/21/14 I emailed yearbook staff to see if I had ordered one. I received no reply.

05/27-05-29-14 yearbooks are available for pick-up, but we don't remember if we ordered one or not.

06/06/14 I ordered a 2nd yearbook for $95.00.
Order #XXXXXX Customer # XXXXXXX

06/06/14 I filled out online form for inquiry about my 1st order and to cancel my 2nd order.

06/09/14 I receive an email from ******* telling me to contact the school about my 1st order.

06/09/14 I call the school and get a voice mail recording that school is closed.

06/09/14 I emailed yearbook staff at school again to inquire how to get a yearbook. I received no reply.

06/9/14 I receive an email from ******* asking me which order to cancel & refund.

6/9/14 I reply to ******* that I want the 2nd order refunded.

6/9/14 I receive an email from ******* telling me to contact the school about cancelling my 2nd order.

6/10/14 12:33 pm I receive email from another ******* customer service rep asking the school when yearbooks will be distributed and can they authorize a cancel/refund for my 2nd order.

6/10/14 12:38 pm I receive 2nd email from 2nd customer service rep explaining how I cannot receive a cancellation or refund without "explicit approval" of the yearbook staff at the school" This is the exact email:

Ms. ******,
We cannot submit a cancellation and refund without the explicit approval of the yearbook adviser at Allen High. Please allow time for her to respond to my request this morning. It is likely that she is just out for the summer and may check her emails less frequently or could be in end of the school faculty meetings.

Yearbooks are pre-ordered. Your personalization was submitted for creation in early March and has likely been fulfilled. Therefore, it is most likely that the order with no personalization will be approved by the adviser.

We appreciate your understanding regarding this. As soon as this is approved, we will be happy to submit a request for a refund of this order.

6/10/14 I emailed ******* that I cannot get a response from the school and still want a refund of 2nd book ordered. I still do not know how to get my 1st order which I preordered.

6/10/14 1:44 pm I receive email from ******* asking if I would please call their number directly. I respond immediately that I will call them.

6/10/14 1:47 pm I call ******* at the number provided and get a voice mail recording so I leave a message that I called.

6/10/14 1:47 pm I email ******* that I am unhappy with the level of customer service provided and would like to speak to someone in charge.

6/10/14: 1:48 pm I receive an email from ******* (2nd customer service rep, same one who asked me to call her directly, same one who was already on the phone when I called) apologizing & saying she'll call me back.

6/10/14 1:49 pm I receive another email from ******** "I am on the phone with your High school now. Did you say that the offices are not open? I am finding that they are -"

6/10/14: 1:53 pm I receive email from ********
"The books were distributed during several days at the school. Any books that weren't picked up by students are in storage right now. I am sure that the personalized book is there at the school.
I spoke with the Vice Principal's office secretary.I've given her your number and she will call you."

6/10/14: 1:57 pm I receive copy of email ******* sent to my child's school:"** The Vice Principal's secretary is calling the home. She has two orders in place. I've offered to refund the order for the book that is not personalized once we have your approval/authorization to do so. But, she is irrational and impatient. You won't believe the emails that she is sending to me. Will you approve the refund of the book that is not personalized and be able to leave a book for the student? DEFAMING MY CHARACTER TO MY CHILD'S SCHOOL.

Desired Settlement
1) I expect a refund of $95.00 for the purchase of a 2nd yearbook in a timely manner.

2) I expect an explanation as to why a customer service representative is permitted to label me as "irrational & impatient" in email form to my child's school.

3) Regarding my unanswered emails to the school & unauthorized refund (because the school has to authorize them), being asked to call ******* directly while they are already on their phone and can't take my call, and receiving 3 emails from 1st customer service representative & 10 emails from 2nd customer service representative including the defaming of my character to 3 other email recipients.

4) I'd like all future purchases from ******* to be distributed appropriately to their customer, in a timely manner for the next 2 years! Refunds should not take 2-3 weeks and if they do, that should be specified at the time the refund is requested.

My child has to attend this same school for 2 more years and I have been caused unduly embarrassment and inappropriate treatment by *******'s customer service. The implications the ******* representative made about me, their customer, are reprehensible!

1) ******* implied yearbooks had to be pre-ordered, which I did.

2) ******* implied I lied about trying to contact the school, which I tried through email and phone.

3) ******* asked me to track things down, which was their job.

4) ******* called me (their customer) "impatient & irrational" to my child's school staff.

This is an unacceptable method of doing business and providing customer service. Every year we are hassled at trying to obtain our pre-ordered yearbooks, but this year is the worse service ever received.

There is no amount of settlement that can restore my character to the staff at my child's school. I can only conclude this business is detrimental to my family.

Business Response
The customer was issued a $95.00 full refund on June 11, 2014 to the parent's Visa card. We investigated the customer service agent's handling of this customer's request and found that the agent did not follow the proper established procedures. The refund request should have been forwarded to the customer service representative over the Allen HS account who would have secured the proper approval from the school's yearbook adviser and expedited the refund request. Instead, the customer agent referred the parent directly to the school causing delay and frustration since the school had closed for the Summer. In addition, the agent used an inappropriate description of the parent in an email to the school adviser which was inadvertently and unfortunately forwarded to the customer on top of her response to the parent's questions. The ******* Customer Service Agent has been counseled for both her handling of the refund request and the inappropriate email. ********** VP of Customer Service who is the agent's supervisor, will write the parent a letter of apology. This unfortunate situation is an isolated incident and ******* strives to provide all of our customers a pleasant and accurate ordering experience along with our superb product.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Publishers - Directory & Guide, Publishers - Book

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/08/1994Business started: 01/01/1939
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1967, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hersh Miles (Controller) Debra Collins (Sr. Accountant)Mr. Clyde Walls (VP of Legal Affairs)
Business Category

Publishers - Directory & Guide, Publishers - Book

Alternate Business Names
Balfour, Balfour Publishing, Taylor Specialty Books

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Taylor Publishing Co.

1550 W Mockingbird Ln

Dallas, TX 75235-5007

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1550 W Mockingbird Ln 

    Dallas, TX 75235-5007(214) 637-2800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Taylor Publishing Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 225-3687
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Publishers - Directory & Guide

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.