BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2014

Showhomes of America, Inc.

Phone: (972) 243-1929Fax: (972) 243-3909

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Showhomes of Dallas does not return phone calls, poor communication skills lead to confused sub-contractors.
I have called and left messages on the 12/12/2013, 12/10/2013, 12/5/2013/, 12/3/2013, requesting the status of the repayment of deposit and prorated rent, haven't received a response ** this time.

My family and I stayed in a Showhomes of Dallas home from 9/1/2013 until 9/23/2013. During that time we repeatedly called concerning various routine house issues. Showhomes of Dallas did return calls during that time period, but it took anywhere from days to weeks.

I spoke with ***** **** on 11/1/2013 concerning the repayment of the deposit and prorated rent return. This was the last time I have been able to speak to a member of Showhomes of Dallas. She informed me that I should expect the check for approximately $660.00 in the mail soon. Now 6 weeks later on 12/13/2013 this check has yet to arrive, partly causing our family's Christmas plans to be impossible.

Desired Settlement
Correct their business practices so that this company communicates professionally with it sub-contractors and clients. Many of the practices of Showhomes of Dallas are confusing enough with responsive communication, but becomes frustrating and insulting without it.

Business Response
December 24, 2013
*** *********
Better Business Bureau
**** *** Street *****
Re: Case ********* ***** *****
Our answer is asfollows:
***** ***** was told that his retainage would take up to 90 days for return in order to make
sure there were no outstanding lawn bills, utility bills, etc. that had been left unpaid on the
property upon his move out. Our seller was stating that Mr. ***** had never transferred the
electric into his name and therefore he wanted us to pay the outstanding electric bills. We
researched it and found no fault on Mr. ***** end and ** that time we passed *** *****
retainage over to our bookkeeper.
He called in a few times and spoke with other employees ** the office on occasion ** I **
typically offsite ** properties. However, I was in the office one day when he called and I
explained to him again when to expect it. Our policy is in place for a reason ** in our early
years of business we were left with large bills that we weren't notified of until into the 60-90
day mark and by then the Home Managers would be long gone. My placement coordinator,
Dianna Delp, explains this to each Home Manager.
It's Christmas and I understand they are anxious to have their retainage. I completely
understand. Our bookkeeper, who offices offsite, has assured me that ***** ***** retainage
had already been cut and mailed to his forwarding address.

***** C ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do appreciate the sentiment left by ***** **** (Showhomes of Dallas Inc. owner) in response to our concerns over Christmas, I also appreciate the honesty in this letter, however it seems some pertinent facts are missing.

For example, ** the beginning of November, Approximately 8 weeks ago, that all matters were resolved, that the check was cut, and the exact amount of the check.

Today marks the 98th day since moving out and still a check has yet to arrive. Please let me know what interest rate or form of compensation is awarded to us since Showhomes of Dallas Inc is keeping this amount of money longer than agreed in the contract.

It is worth noting ** well that our (my wife and I) phone messages went unanswered for 6 weeks.

When ***** **** did personally answer the phone approximately two weeks ago, she informed me that the reason they did not respond was because we had already been informed that it would take 60 to 90 days to receive the check, so it was not necessary to give us a status update.

I find it irregular that Showhomes of Dallas did not let us know after the first call that the status was the same. We would have definitely called less. ***** **** indicated on the phone 2 weeks ago that we were being like "stalkers" by calling ** often ** we were.

I admit we were calling many times a day, because we had yet to get a response and Christmas was close, but I fail to see how this applies to any Crime since all of the messages left by us were polite and positive, asking simply for the status of our retainer.

In the recent conversation with ***** ****, she informed us that she would call when the check was being sent out. We have not received any sort of communication from ***** ****.

To wrap up the essence of this complaint: Showhomes of Dallas inc. has not released this retainer and it has been 98 days; Showhomes of Dallas Inc. needs to correct this serious customer service problem by corresponding consistently with it present and past sub-contractors. Showhomes of Dallas Inc. omits indemnifying parts of the story from their responses, to make it appear that there has been no mistake on their part.

06/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We contracted with Showhomes to place a home manager in our house while it was on the market. They did not provide the service we paid for.
The home manager that they placed in our home 9 months ago was a nightmare. He didn't pay utilities and subsequently had them disconnected for non-payment, which we only found out about when a buyer's inspector would not perform the inspection without functioning utilities, causing the buyers to terminate the contract. He changed the locks without our permission. He did not maintain the yard or pool. Each and every bit of feedback we received from showings specifically noted that the pool was filthy and/or green or that the yard was overgrown, not that the house looked nice. The staging was, of course, one of the main reasons we contracted with Showhomes since we had already moved out of state when we put the house on the market. He did not pay the pool service for quite some time, resulting in the pool service threatening to put a Mechanic's Lien on the house right when we were trying to close escrow.
The list of complaints we have is quite long, but no one from Showhomes seems to be very interested in responding to us. We've called, emailed, and even sent a certified letter (which they never signed for). It was a long, very tedious situation, having to stay on top of what was happening to our home from 3000 miles away. When we contracted with them, they assured us that they would take one of the major worries off our list when they took over managing our home. We could rest assured that everything would be taken care of. Nothing could be further from the truth. They added so much more stress to our lives and made our selling process very challenging.
We contacted the owner every time we received bad feedback or heard something from a realtor about the condition of our home, and we were assured each and every time that it would be taken care of, and that this was not the way they do business. But nothing ever changed. The bad feedback kept continuing. And Showhomes' response was always the same, but nothing ever improved.
Additionally, the guy they placed ** our "home manager" attempted to engage us in a lease-to-own deal separate from Showhomes. We didn't know it ** the time, but he was unemployed and beginning to incur late charges on the utilities. Had we agreed to this contract with him, the house would've been tied up in a lease for six months and he wouldn't have been able to even make the lease payments.
Selling a home is stressful enough, but add to it being 3000 miles away, and it's almost off the charts. When we contracted with this company, we were assured and promised that we would have nothing to worry about. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, they added a tremendous amount of extra stress throughout the entire nine months the home manager was in our home. It was a constant string of issues that never seemed to get resolved.

Desired Settlement
They received the entire amount ** our closing, which we feel is not justified. They were in breach of contract many, many times and did not provide the worry-free experience we were promised. We lost a contract directly because of the home manager's inability to pay the utilities.
We have requested a full refund, but they have chosen not to respond to phone calls, emails, or certified letters.

Business Response
See Attachment

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
** least they acknowledge that there were multiple issues, ** evidenced by their 13 page response. Conveniently, they left out the emails where they assured me that this was NOT the way they typically do business (see below for the most recent).

Regarding Mr McDaniel trying to purchase our home, HE contacted us and made ** offer of leasing-to-own. Obviously, we wanted to get the house sold, so we entertained his offer, but he was not able to come up with the amount we requested ** a down payment. We found out later that he was unemployed ** the time.

Regarding my "online assault", I posted one-star reviews because that is the level of service we received. If it had been four-star, then I would have posted four-star reviews.

These folks are clearly not interested in working towards a resolution.

Most recent email stating that this is not the way things were supposed to go when we contracted with them:

********** Apr 27 ** 10:04 **
Message body

I agree with you wholeheartedly, ****, that Ephraims financial difficulties have created stress to this situation. He was chosen for your home because we wanted a seasoned home manager that would do ** excellent job ** he always had in the past. You are correct that this is NOT the way it is supposed to go.

I ** deeply and sincerely sorry. You should not have to wonder or worry about your home when it is in our service. We are scheduling with him regarding his move out and will get back with you ** soon ** it's all confirmed.

I, again, offer my most sincere apologies.


***** C. ****
Showhomes OF AMERICA

In a message dated 4/27/2016 11:15:18 A.M. Central Daylight Time, ******* writes:
Got a note from the pool gal that everything was paid. After talking to Dan Harker, and then David this morning, we're all just baffled ** to why this keeps happening. When we contracted with ShowHomes to provide a home manager, we were under the impression that your service would help provide peace of mind while we had our home on the market, and being so far away. Having it unsold for so long has been stressful enough, but then we had the endless list of difficulties with Ephraim. This whole situation has caused ** untold measure of stress that I feel should not have occurred. One oversight, sure, things happen. But it has been one thing after another. And they are things that your contract states explicitly your home manager would be responsible for.
Needless to say, it's not what we anticipated when we had him move in.
I'd like to know his anticipated move out date so I can make sure to handle the utilities so the new owners won't have any problems when they take possession on the 12th.

Final Business Response
Date: June 17th, 2016
To: Better Business Bureau via fax and email
************** and fax XXX-XXX-XXXX

Re: Complaint #91374143 (Ref XX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)
(******* vs. Showhomes of America)

From: Showhomes of America, ***** C. ****, President
XXXXX Hillcrest Road, Suite 172, Dallas, TX XXXXX

In regard to the complaint #XXXXXXXX our response is ** follows:
Our response is ** follows:
Ms. ******* references ** email in which I express my regrets for any worry that she had. I stand by that today. We try to perform our service ** no hassle to the seller. However, ** mentioned in our original response letter , Mr. McDaniels loss of a job and finances which resulted in his gas being shut off was incredibly embarrassing to Showhomes professionally. My staff and I take our service very seriously and strive to make sure everything goes ** smoothly ** possible and we do become distressed in cases such ** this. We have cried many tears of joy and frustration in our 30 years of business.
Ms. ******* could have requested Mr. McDaniel to vacate if she were unhappy with our services in accordance with her contract. She chose to have Mr. McDaniel remain and Showhomes acted quickly and efficiently in our dealings with Ms. ******* and the property in accordance with our contractual agreement. If Ms. ******* would have opened up a dialog regarding our fee for service when she asked us to remain in the property it could have been discussed and we could have made a determination, ** that time, if we wanted to proceed with our service without charging a fee. She did not. We did not receive the full amount ** closing, ** she states, ** Showhomes deducted the utility amounts prior to sending the fee for service invoice to the title company. She was made whole.
We strive for all our owners and home managers to have great experiences with our service but ** experience can only be what you are willing to allow it to be. Ms. ******* has written very strong language about our service online which has resulted, to date, a loss of business with four (4) home owners thus far. She threatened to harm our business if we didn't pay her and she has succeeded. Ms. *******, again, should have allowed us to cancel our contract with her on both occasions that we offered to do so prior to closing. She chose to continue the benefit of our service and that service comes with a contractually agreed upon fee.
Ms. ******* is not due any further reimbursement nor refund per our contractual agreement

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not exactly sure how to respond to this. I've never encountered a company so adamantly opposed to working towards a solution with ** unhappy, paying customer. We are completely willing to reduce the refund we're asking for, but they seem to be so obstinate about this whole thing, that I don't see us reaching ** agreeable solution with them.

While there were obviously multiple issues with the home manager they chose for our home, our main complaint is that they did not abide by their contract and they allowed Mr McDaniel to fall way behind on utilities, ** well ** the monthly fee they collect (per Mary Peterson). They did not require him to maintain the monthly pool and yard services, even though we asked many, many times if everything was being kept current. Additionally, when they discovered last year that he had lost his job, they should've immediately taken steps to remove him from the home and give us the option to either have him replaced with another home manager or to just vacate our home. They never even told us what was happening. We did not learn of Mr McDaniel's lengthy unemployment and financial difficulties until recently.

When Ms **** references the time that we asked them to remove Mr McDaniel after the first contract fell through partly due to his negligence, we discussed it with ShowHomes management and since we had another couple who were interested in writing a contract, we opted to not cause a big disruption by having everything in disarray ** the home. ** no time did we discuss the fee.

Regarding their claim that we somehow tried to extort money from them, it's OUR money. We simply asked for a refund of the fees WE paid. We never demanded they give us additional money in exchange for reviews. If they do not want one-star reviews, then perhaps they shouldn't provide one-star service. ** I've said before, if we had received four-star service, we would have posted four-star reviews everywhere that we posted the one-star reviews. It's unfortunate that they feel they lost revenue due to our reviews, but we lost a measurable contract for the full asking price of our home partly due to their negligence. Saying that four people decided not to use their company after reading our review is hardly a loss of revenue. The whole point of online reviews is for researching a potential company one might want to do business with. We are absolutely familiar with the way this company chooses to do business, so we are absolutely qualified to provide information on our experience. And hopefully, no one else will have to endure all that we've had to.

The loss of the first contract on our home was devastating. We ended up paying for several months of additional expenses (i.e. taxes, insurance, etc) directly because of that loss of contract. I have ** email from the real estate agent who states that the contract was terminated partly due to the situation with the utilities (this was because their home manager had not paid utilities for several months and they had been disconnected).

From: Dan Harker <***>
Date: May 15, 2016 ** 16:12:22 PDT
To: David <******>
Cc: **** ******* <**********>, Brad Popoff <****>
Subject: Re: **** ******** Contract Offer

David and ****,

I wanted to respond to your question regarding the earlier contract that fell out. Although we had come to agreement initially with these clients, they ended up pulling their contract in part to the gas being turned off by the tenant. This caused them to have concern over the home's gas systems (i.e.. Pool, etc.).

Please let me know if you have any questions.


Dan ******
****** Williams Realty

This has been a nightmare pretty much since the beginning and it hasn't let up ten months later. We simply request a refund of part, if not all, of the fees that we paid to this company. They did not do what their contract said they would do. Period.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Show homes have failed to return my security deposit within 30 days as law states. Customer service is unprofessional and operate in deceit.
Do not be fooled! Show homes is not a good quality and professional housing option. My family and I relocated in July 2013 from Florida. The communication while in Florida was great and professional. However, upon moving in, all professionalism went out the door. The staff and owner have no integrity and operates in dishonesty and deceit. They want the independent contractor (tenant) to adhere to the contract while they do not honor their obligations. They do not answer or return calls. They are not an advocate for repairs. Since moving out, we were threatened by management, attempted to be discredited, lied to consistently, talked to unprofessional if you were fortunate to disguise your voice or give an alias name, and to this date they have not returned our deposit since October 2013. Unfortunately, we are having to secure an attorney for this matter. Please spare your family from this disaster.

Desired Settlement
I want my $800 security deposit.

Business Response
***** ****** paid an $800 retainage when he signed up to live in the property. We received many complaints during their occupancy about messiness during an open house and a photo shoot from the agent. Then the seller began calling complaining about the same things and adding that the lawn wasn't being maintained or watered. We made several 2 hour- round trips to the house to check on these complaints. The owner demanded we vacate the property and remove the ******* due to the complaints of messiness in the house and a lack of maintaining and watering the lawn. At the time of the move out we found the home to be left unclean. (When the ******* moved in the home was just remodeled and in immaculate condition.) They also left what appeared to be childrens nail polish in neon pink on the closet doors, walls, and baseboards upstairs in the little girls room and the gameroom. We were charged $250 to sand the polish off the surfaces and then repaint/repair. They broke the brand new designer acrylic & linen drum shade on the light fixture in the entry way as they were moving out. It was purchased by the seller online and she could not find her receipt to tell us where she purchased it. We drove the shade around Dallas and surrounding areas trying to find someone to repair it but it was irreparable. An entire new light kit and shade had to be purchased. $485 for drive time and light fixture. The ******* removed the entire water line to the refrigerator and did not cap it off. All they had to do was cap the copper line but they took the entire line with them which caused the owner to call a plumber to have to come out and replace the copper line and put it back in it's orginal condition. The cost $150.00. We lost the $1800.00 fee for service that we typically would have received had the owner not demanded we vacate the home. The total charges of $885.00 were deducted from the ******* $800 retainage. It's our goal to move in to a home, take excellent care of it and help an owner sell it quickly with the aid of our home managers. It did not happen in this case which is unfortunate.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, SHOA has chosen to operate under half truth and not full transparency. The owner pulled her contract because of SHOA lack of ability to fulfill the contract, not answering calls or emails, dishonesty but that is not my issue. It appears that they are attempting to recoup some of their losses through keeping our retainage (security deposit). Even if what SHOA is alleging is true, which is not the case, according to the Texas law they had 30 days to provide this information to the tenant. This information was not disclosed and documented in writing or during conversations in which occurred since October 2013.

The house was professionally cleaned upon our moved. A lawn care company maintained the property after our first month of occupancy. A professional company moved us from the property to our current property. When SHOA alluded to a water leak, I asked them for the receipts of damage so I could address it with moving company. Of course, they did not provide any receipts of any of the aforementioned items to date as it was requested and should have been done according to the law.

Under Section 92.109 of the Texas Property Code, a landlord is under a legal obligation to refund the security deposit to the tenant not later than the 30th day after the date the tenant surrenders the premises. Tenant surrendered the premises on October 13, 2013.

Sec. 92.109. LIABILITY OF LANDLORD. (a) A landlord who in bad faith retains a security deposit in violation of this subchapter is liable for an amount equal to the sum of $100, three times the portion of the deposit wrongfully withheld, and the tenant's reasonable attorney's fees in a suit to recover the deposit.
(b) A landlord who in bad faith does not provide a written description and itemized list of damages and charges in violation of this subchapter:
(1) forfeits the right to withhold any portion of the security deposit or to bring suit against the tenant for damages to the premises; and
(2) is liable for the tenant's reasonable attorney's fees in a suit to recover the deposit.
(c) In an action brought by a tenant under this subchapter, the landlord has the burden of proving that the retention of any portion of the security deposit was reasonable.
(d) A landlord who fails either to return a security deposit or to provide a written description and itemization of deductions on or before the 30th day after the date the tenant surrenders possession is presumed to have acted in bad faith.

Texas law further requires that if a landlord retains all or part of a security deposit, the landlord shall give to the tenant the balance of the security deposit, if any, together with a written description and itemized list of all deductions. TEXAS PROP. CODE, ยง92.109(d). To date, Landlord has not issued full or partial refund of the security deposit, nor has Landlord issued any written description or itemized list of deductions to Tenant, which constitutes a further violation of Texas law.

All of this could have been avoided if they were professional and in compliance with Texas law. Therefore, all of this information which is laced and loaded with deception and not full disclosure speaks of the nature of their business practices as noted through other home manager's complaints and reviews. It is unfortunate but the legal process will have to resolve this matter. I hope that others are made aware of their business practices.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Home Staging, Home Sitting Services, Interior Decorators & Designers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.