BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2010

Lone Star Association Management, Inc.

Phone: (469) 384-2088Fax: (469) 384-46532500 Legacy Dr Ste 220, FriscoTX 75034-1848 Send email to Lone Star Association Management, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2010

BBB has determined that Lone Star Association Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lone Star Association Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged collection fees after our HOA dues payment was received the next day.
$220 payment via check for our dues and late fees assessed. We were not notified our payment hadn't been received until October. We mailed our payment in with a carbon copy of original check mailed in.

Desired Settlement
We want the late and collection fees removed from our account so our account shows in good standing and only 2015 dues due.

Business Response
The homeowner had assessments that were due on or before July 1, 2014. According to the governing documents the Association will put collection cost on the homeowner account if there are delinquent assessments.

Artice 5.a.
Any handling charges, administrative fees, collection costs, postage or other expenses incurred by the Association in connection with the collection of any assessment or related amount owing beyond the Delinquency Date for such assessment will become due and owing by the Delinquent Owner.

Since the assessments were not paid on or before July 1, August 1, September 1 or October 1 the Association charged the homeowner collection cost for trying to collect the delinquent assessments. Letters were mailed to the homeowner on 5/28, 7/10, 8/13 and 10/14 giving the homeowner notice of the delinquent amount.

The account was turned over to the attorney's office for collection on 10/14 as the letter stated. The attorney sent a demand letter to the homeowner as requested by the Board of Directors of the Association. The cost for the letter was $136.00 which the Association placed on the homeowner's account as directed by the governing documents. The Association received payment on 10/28 after the attorney sent the letter demanding payment.

I believe the homeowner is confused about who the money is owed to. These charges are put on the account by the Association, not Lone Star. The homeowner has a delinquent account with their HOA, not Lone Star. All the charges on the homeowner's account are owed to the HOA, not Lone Star. Lone Star has no authority to remove charges owed to the Association, that would be the sole discretion of the Board of Directors for the Association where the homeowner lives in. If the homeowner would like the fees removed from their account they need to send a request to the Board of Directors for their Association. We will be happy to assist the homeowner any way we can.

I have copies of the letters and statement history I would like to include. Please allow us the opportunity to send additional correspondence.

Thank You...

12/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lonestar is my HOA management company. I have never had an issue until recently 09/09/14. Lonestar sent me a statement, I sent my check in just as normal. Lonestar stated that they never received the check. I spoke with Brad with Lonestar. I expressed my concern that if the check was lost and then they suddenly found the check will they see that it has been paid and shred that check or make notes on my account. He informed me that no they did not have the means to do that and it would be deposited. I did not want to pay online as he suggested and then take the chance of them receiving the check and cashing that to, to pay twice. Brad advised me since there is no way to keep the check from being cashed when they did receive it or find it to "stop payment" on my check which I did (cost ME $25). I explained to Brad that it was not right to have me pay out of pocket the $25 since they claimed they did not have the check. He advised me to pay the total amount with out the late fee and he would talk to his director. This is what I did. I was in correspondence with Brad for a while and then was not, I assumed the matter was resolved since the communication deceased. Later on about 6 weeks later a lady from Lonestar called to ask why I stopped payment, I explained to her the situation. I just received a statement 10/10 for $25 stop payment fee and $15 "collection" fee and some other fee total $60. Obviously, they received or found the check 8 weeks later, they need to credit me if anything from the first stop payment fee I had to endure of $25.
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Lonestar should credit me $25 from the stop payment fee my bank charged me, from claiming they did not have my check to later find my check 10 weeks later. They also, need to clear my account to a 0 balance. Account #XXXXX-XXXX.I should have a credit on my account of $25.

Business Response
Mrs. ***** had HOA assessments that were due on 7/1/14. We mailed correspondence (attached) to Mrs. ***** on 7/10 and 8/10 letting her know we had not received her payment. Mrs. ***** called on or about 9/9 to discuss her past due account. Mrs. ***** let us know that she had mailed a check several weeks ago and wanted to know if we had received it. We informed Mrs. ***** the check had not arrived and since it had been so long since she mailed the check it must have been lost by the US Postal Service (USPS). Mrs. ***** asked if we would cash the check if/when the USPS ever delivered it. We informed Mrs. ***** that if the check was delivered the check would be cashed because there is no way to stop a check from being deposited if it arrived. Mrs. ***** informed us she would stop payment on the check.

We told Mrs. ***** in order to avoid further collection fees she needed to pay her assessments since the assessments were due July 1. Mrs. ***** paid her past due past due assessments on 9/9 with a credit card. Mrs. ***** claims it "isn't right" for her to pay $25.00 out of her pocket to stop payment on the lost check. Lone Star has no control over the USPS delay in delivery of her check. This is a fee the bank charges for that service, not Lone Star.

Mrs. ***** also mentioned that we discussed waiving the collection fees for July and August. Lone Star did waive $30.00 in collection fees for July and August although we were under no obligation to do so. We did this as a courtesy to Mrs. ***** because we believed that she did mail the check and the USPS lost it.

It is unclear to me why Mrs. ***** would like Lone Star to reimburse her for the $25.00 the bank charged to stop payment on the check. It was not Lone Star who lost the check or charged Mrs. ***** the $25.00 for the service of stopping payment on the check. Mrs. *****'s account is current with a zero balance. As stated previously, Lone Star did waive $30.00 in collection cost for July and August, as a courtesy. However, we will not pay the $25.00 the bank charged Mrs. ***** for stopping payment on the lost check.

**** ******
Director of Accounting and HR

Lone Star Association Management, Inc.
2500 Legacy Dr., Suite 220
Frisco, TX XXXXX
Phone: 469.384.2088 ext. 110
Phone: 817.635.8100 ext. 110
Fax: 469.384.4653
Email: *******@lonestarmanagement.com

CONFIDENTIALITY STATEMENT: This e-mail message (including attachments) is covered by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, 18 U.S.C. XXXX-XXXX. It is confidential and may be legally privileged. The message and attachments are for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain proprietary, confidential, trade secret or privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure, or distribution is prohibited and may be a violation of law. If you are not the intended recipient or a person responsible for delivering this message to an intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message immediately.

You may now view your account online as well as make a payment via credit card or e-check. Visit www.lonestarmanagement.com to register. Your account number and a valid email address are required to use this service.

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to adhere to governing documents
On March 12, 2001 we spoke on the phone regarding the developers responsibilities to the community. These included:

* Replacement of landscape upon damage
* Adherence to existing landscape in new and future development
* Amendments to section N as it relates to section G regarding min sq. ft. of homes


Replacement of landscape upon damage
The Declarations of Covenants declares that if a tree is damaged or removed it must be replaced by another tree in the same location. While this does not seem to be an issue with residents, the public areas have had several River Birch trees among others die and get cut down. Those trees have not been replaced.

Adherence to existing landscape in new and future development Initial Inquiry Oct. 16 - follow-up January 2010.
After review of the Pecan Creek Home Owners bylaws, I have concerns regarding adherence of the design guidelines in association with Lonestar Management/Developer. There does not appear to be any landscaping in parts of Phase G or any of the newly developed area at the back of the community. These areas are easy to spot when traveling thorough-out the community, however, if I need to identify these areas using the legal description please let me know.

Amendments to section N as it relates to section G regarding min sq. ft. of homes
I have requested a copy of the design guidelines from ***** regarding the new section specifically Section N, phase 1. She explained to me that no new guidelines were created for this section but an amendment was made to the Section G guidelines which modifies the min sq. ft of homes from the existing requirements. I would like to see a copy of this amendment. I also recommend that all construction stop on any home that does not comply with the previous Phase G guidelines.

Desired Settlement
I request Lone Star Management be replaced by another management company that isn't owned or operated by the development company but prior to doing so; resolve all issues noted within this complaint.

Business Response
In response to Case #XXXXXXXX, first concerning the Desired Resolution. Lone Star is not owned or operated by the development company Forestar. We are hired by the board of directors for the association to handle the day to day operations of the community. Lone Star by our contract may not authorize unbudgeted expenses over $500.00 unless in the case of emergency. All repairs over $500.00 must be approved by the board. The current board is the Declarant of the property as the association is currently still under Declarant control.

There has been no failure to adhere to the governing documents and the declarant has met with Mr. ****** and explained this to him in detail. The email to him is attached. He also did not contact us on March 12, 2001 as we did not assume management until December 2007.

1. Replacement of landscape upon damage. Attached is the response from the declarant concerning the replacement of the missing trees. The declarant has agreed that there are trees that should be replaced and approved the replacement when the landscaper agrees the time is right but they will not be replacing natural trees that were not part of the original landscape plans of the association. While they have agreed to replace some of the dead trees they are not required to as the Declarant has the right per section 10.3 to amend the Architectural guidelines at any time without a vote of the association. This applies with the size of the new home construction. The 2nd Amendment to Declaration of Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions goes into more detail on the Declarant's right to amend the Design Guidelines at any point.
2. As far as Lot Sizes for Section G regarding min sq. ft. of homes. The 2nd Amendment to Declaration of Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions states: "During the Development Period, Declarant may modify the initial development plan and Design Guidelines to respond to perceived or actual changes and opportunities in the market place. Subject to approval by (1) a governmental entity, if applicable, and (2) the Owner of the land or Lots to which the change would directly apply (if other than Declarant), Declarant may (1) change the sizes, dimensions, and configurations of Lots and streets; (b) change the minimum or maximum dwelling size; (c) change the building setback requirements; (d) eliminate or modify any other feature of the Property; and (3) change the Design Guidelines or adopt new Design Guidelines for portions of the Property". This amendment further defines lot sizes accordingly: Section G, Phase 2 and all other Lots in subsequent sections and phases of The Preserve min=1,600 sq. ft., max=none. They are also not required to add common area for each phase that is brought in.

The 2nd Amendment is attached for your reference. Mr. ****** believes the management company (Lone Star) has the right to expend funds or work outside the board of directors approval and permission which we do not. The declarant is within their rights as declarant to change common area, development plans and Design Guidelines.


***** *******, Director of Community Management and Accounting

Lone Star Association Management, Inc
2500 Legacy Drive, Suite 220
Frisco, Texas XXXXX
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. 112
Fax : XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ********@lonestarmanagement.com

09/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a certified letter informing me of a delinquent HOA account for a property that I sold. Lone Star has knowledge of my non-ownership.
Lone Star is the HOA management company for the Southern Trails subdivision in Pearland, TX. I use to own property in the subdivision.

I paid Lone Star the HOA dues cover the period of January to June at the beginning of 2013 for property at **** ****** ***** ** Pearland, TX. At the end of June, the property was under contract to be sold, with a closing date of July 3, 2013. On June 25, 2013, I received a resale certificate (through my Realtor) from Lone Star that stated that the HOA dues for the property was current and that the new purchaser would be responsible for paying the HOA dues for the period of July to December 2013. The resale certificate stated that the new purchaser would have until July 8, 2013 to make the requested HOA payment.

On July 3, 2013, I officially closed on the home. The HUD form included the $300 HOA transfer fee, which covered the transfer of my HOA account (#XXXXX-XXXX) to the new homeowner of the property at **** ****** ***** **.

At the end of July, I received a letter from Lone Star Association Management, Inc. concerning an alleged deficiency in the amount of $453 for the July to December portion of the Home Owner's Association fees for the property at **** ****** ***** *** I called Lone Star after receiving the letter and told the person handling the Southern Trails account that I sold the home on July 3, 2013 and, as a result, ownership and HOA obligations were transferred to new owner. The account representative told me to disregard the letter because it was sent in error and that the account was transferred to the new homeowner.

On August 19, 2013, I received a certified demand letter dated August 12, 2013 stating that my account is "delinquent in the amount of $483.74." The letter also threatens to turn this matter over to the Lone Star Association's legal counsel and/or a collection agency for collection.

I have attempted to make contact with Lone Star but no one has returned my call. I fear if this matter is not resolved, this alleged delinquent account will negatively effect my credit report.

Desired Settlement
I request that Lone Star perform its due diligence and transfer the HOA obligations for the property at 3006 Willow Brook Ct Pearland, TX to the current owner of the property. I also request that Lone Star send me a certified letter stating that my account has been closed and is not delinquent. If this matter is turned over to a collection agency, I will be forced to seek applicable civil remedies in court under the Texas' Deceptive Trade Practices Act.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******'s title company ordered a resale certificate to be received by 6/25/13 for a July 3, 2013 closing. We change homeowner information once closing information is received if all information received from the title company is complete. Numerous resale requests are requested in which no closing ever takes place. Assessments for Southern Trails are due July 1st. When they were not received a reminder notice was sent with a collection fee added. We received the closing documents on July 8th on the same day collections were run and a collection fee was added on the account. When the closing documents were processed the collection fee waived and the new homeowner account was set up. Mr. ****** was informed of this. Unfortunately the notice was sent prior to the closing documents being processed. Normally it takes a week to process these settlement documents, Mr. ******'s was not processed until August 20 resulting in a 2nd notice being sent to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** was not charged any additional charges and all collection fees assessed were removed. The delay was due to clarification being requested from the title company and a check being sent back to the new owner for over payment of their association assessments.

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are the management company for our subdivision. They do not provide the service they are paid for.
Bill Harrington is the manager of the Stoney Hollow in Rockwall. We have had a couple of meetings and the problems continue. Most recently He sent me the wrong time for our meeting and the meeting was finishing up when I arrived. They said that it was a "board only" portion of the meeting. I asked for the minutes from the meeting 2 months ago and have not received them.
The issue is that not all of the rules are enforced, and the ones that are enforced are not done equally.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a meeting with the owner of the company to discuss the shortfalls and losses experienced in the years I have had to deal with Bill Harrington. The pictures and emails are very extensive.

Business Response
Lone Star manages Stoney Hollow at the direction of the board of directors (homeowners within the subdivision). Mr. ********** has not agreed with some of the decisions of the board concerning sheds, the committee reserves the right to decide what is acceptable per the governing documents and with enforcement concerning governing documents and with the board's interpretation of the governing documents. We do not make the decisions for the association on enforcement or other matters we simply carry out the instructions of the board. Violations are enforced. I have attached a copy of this year's violations that have been sent.

The board of directors did start the meeting early which they shouldn't have and the property manager has assured me that he will advise them not do this again. As for the minutes, the Secretary for the association is a board member (homeowner) who has not yet completed the minutes but even if completed they would not be available for review until approved at the next quarterly meeting. Upon review and approval by the board they will be available for homeowner review.


***** ******** Director of Community Management and Operations



(I have not received the minutes yet and have contacted the secretary. We should have them later this week or the first of next week.

Also, we had some correspondence about the boat visibility last year and noted it was taken care of. I just noticed it on my last visit and wanted to check with you on it. Instead of sending a letter I thought I would email to ask about it. I attached a couple of photos so you can see what I mean. Is there a way it can be lowered below the fenceline? Any help is appreciated. )



**** *********** CMCA, Senior Community Manager



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response does not address my request in any way. The pictures/chart shown in their attachment show exactly what I am talking about. The commercial vehicles barely make the list. They are lining the street and driveways every evening, yet they are barely addressed. After meeting with ***** ****** last time there were 70 letters sent out. If I find these issues why don't they? They are not doing the job they are paid for, and the return is that they send me a letter for my boat cover. you can see in the picture that that they attached exactly how visible it is. The 2 inches of boat cover was so noticeable that Bill felt the need to harass me, yet the 20 foot plus service trucks lining the street every evening have eluded him. I have a very simple request. I want to meet with the owners to discuss the lack of service and poor performance by their employees. These issues need to be addressed. I have paid for storage for my boat, and I follow all the rules set by the association. It seems that they are only enforced at my house. It has been several months since the meeting and I can't get the minutes? Does this seem logical or reasonable to anyone? The actions of Lone Star Management have cost me a lot of time and money. I ask that you please hold this company accountable for their actions and grant my request. I have forwarded pictures of all the commercial vehicles and many other infractions to Mr ********** with no result. I invite you to visit our neighborhood on any evening and take a tour with me.
Very Respectfully
*** **********

05/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection Fee issue
My family moved from Summer Creek Ranch in December 2013. Our mail was sent to the old owners home (now in Waco) by mistake for two months. When we finally received the back log of mail I immediately paid my homeowners dues and asked that the late fees be forgiven. We lived in the neighborhood and had only one other incident (2010) where a check did not arrive, the online payment system was not working correctly.

My request was denied. Multiple late fees were assessed but the company never called any of the numbers on file (which did not change).

Desired Settlement
I've had an excellent payment history with the HOA and am seeking the $55 late fees be removed from my account. The HOA has my new address and I intend to keep paying my HOA fees while the house is for sale.

Business Response
Mr. ***** requested fees to waived from his account for his failure to pay his assessment on time. I have attached the notes concerning this issue which includes Mr. ***** being informed that his fees would not be waived by the Board of Directors for Summer Creek Ranch. Mr. ***** failed to provide the Association with his mailing address when he moved back to the community. The association pays Lone Star a monthly fee for the collection of assessments. Mr. *****'s January assessments were due on January 1st but he failed to pay until March 28, 2014. The Association also charged a $10.00 late fee. Mr. *****'s failure to provide the correct mailing address or pay his assessments on time is not the fault of Summer Creek Ranch nor Lone Star Management. The association spent $45.00 to date to try and collect the notices. He was sent a reminder notice in January, a required state notice or 30 day notice was mailed certified mail in February which was sent per State Property Code 209 to the last known address of the owner per the associations records, and a 10 day reminder notice in March after which he paid the assessments. Only after he was sent those notices did he notify us of his change address. The Board of Directors will not use other homeowners assessments to pay Mr. *****'s fees. If this had been a failure on Lone Star's part to update an address, we would have paid the collection fees for Mr. *****. The notices sent certified were signed for and that information is attached as well. Lone Star cannot write off those fees to bad debt without the Summer Creek Ranch board of directors approval. Mr. ***** would not accept that we could not waive the fees without board approval because the fees were credited in 2010. The fees in 2010 were credited because of a lockbox error in processing and Lone Star reimbursed those fees to Summer Creek Ranch. He finally requested that the board of Summer Creek waive the collection fees on his account which they voted against. He refused to request a hearing before the board for Summer Creek Ranch until last week after he asked for the contact information for the association attorney. The board is working on setting up a hearing date but the waiver if granted would be by Summer Creek Ranch not Lone Star.


***** ******** Director of Community Management and Operations

Lone Star Association Management, Inc
2500 Legacy Drive, Suite 220
Frisco, Texas 75034
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. ***
Fax : XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ********@lonestarmanagement.com

see attachment

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ms. Garrett has proven my point. I was originally told that each homeowner was to receive a one time credit for late fees. If in fact the credit I received in 2010 was due to an error on lonestars end with their lockbox then why am I not able to apply my one time credit to 2014?

12/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged $50 for Rush Fee at closing despite properly submitting 'TREC NO. 37-44' as found on the State of Texas website in accordance with TPC 207.
My wife and I requested to have the appropriate paperwork filled out for our future buyers of our home well before the sale/contract date (May 9th). We requested again once we knew the exact sale date (June 4th). It was not until the Title company chosen by the buyers requested the paperwork did it get processed. Unfortunately it was less than your mandated 10 days. Regardless, we had informed Lonestar Management that this sale was going to take place in plenty of time to have it processed. It was to my surprise that there was a $50 Rush Fee tacked on at closing . This is the fee that we are requesting to be mailed to us. Lonestar Management's response was that 1) We used the wrong format, yet we used the one directly from the State of Texas website, 2) That their form is only good for 30 days, yet TPC only specifies 180 days without any mention of 30 days, and 3) that we request the fee back from the Title Company, despite a) that not being the correct protocol in such as case & b) that we properly requested/submitted the form in accordance to *** ****

Desired Settlement
$50 for the 'Rush Fee' charged.

Business Response
Mr. ******** requested the $50.00 resale fee be returned from his closing even though he did finally acknowledge that his title company put a rush on a resale request which is attached. We have told him that he needed to address this issue with the title company that handled the closing but he has been unwilling to do that. State law states that a management company has 10 business days in which to prepare a resale certificate and anything less than that may be charged a rush fee. Mr. ******** states because he told us months earlier that his home was for sale and would need a resale request that we were notified prior. In fact when his wife sent the email, **** *******, our resale coordinator explained the process in which we received no further correspondence. The title company after a contract was placed on the home ordered a resale certificate that originally was not rush. They then sent another requesting asking that we provide it earlier, stating that they were aware there was a rush fee. This would have been explained to Mr. ******** at his closing. Other than providing the resale certificate, the management company is not involved with the actual closing or who pays for what at that time. If the ******** had asked Ms. ******* to complete the resale certificate after she explained the process she would have done so and requested they pay the regular fee in advance. They did not therefore none was prepared. If it had been done that early, the title company would have requested and updated certificate to protect the purchaser and the cost to update the resale certificate is also $50.00. Mr. ******** has misstated what property code states concerning how many days a resale certificate is good for. State Property Code 207.003 states that within 180 days an updated certificate may be obtained. This only means that after that a new resale is required. Also, resale certificates are provided to protect the purchaser and title company in case of liens, fines, charges, etc. Our form clearly states they are only good for 30 days without needing an update so if it had been provided in May, an updated one would have been needed. Dates specific to this claim:
May 9, 2013 Received email from Ms. ******** concerning obtaining a resale certificate
May 10, 2013 Ms. ******* responded to the ******** with "Good morning, Here is the process: When you have a buyer and have chosen a title company, the title company will contact me to get a resale package, which consists of a statement of the account, a resale certificate, and a CD containing the governing documents for the buyer. I will prepare that in time for your closing and deliver it to the title company. Please feel free to give my contact information to the title company, but other than that, you do not have to do anything else. The resale fee is $300 and is broken down as follows: transfer fee $125 and resale certificate $175." There was no response to the ******** to proceed with the resale certificate.
June 4, 2013 Received email from the ******** stating that due to their closing in June they would not be paying their assessments for July. (No certificate requested)
June 14, 2013 Title Company ordered Resale Certificate (Due by June 28th - 10 Business Days)
June 24, 2013 Title Company requested to receive early stating they knew there would be a rush. Informed by Ms. ******* that she could not do it that day but would have it to them by the 25th.

June 25, 2013 Resale Certificate to title company (7 business days after the June 14th request date).


***** ******** Director of Community Management and Accounting

Lone Star Association Management, Inc
2500 Legacy Drive, Suite 220
Frisco, Texas 75034
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. 112
Fax : XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ********@lonestarmanagement.com

CONFIDENTIALITY STATEMENT: This e-mail message (including attachments) is covered by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, 18 U.S.C. 2510-2521. It is confidential and may be legally privileged. The message and attachments are for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain proprietary, confidential, trade secret or privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure, or distribution is prohibited and may be a violation of law. If you are not the intended recipient or a person responsible for delivering this message to an intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message immediately.

You may now view your account online as well as make a payment via credit card or e-check. Visit www.lonestarmanagement.com to register. Your account number and a valid email address are required to use this service.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Lonestar Association Management initial response to our request implied that it was the only way to process our request and that the form provided directly from the State of Texas was invalid. Our follow up email titled 'Subdivision Information Form' clearly stated when our house would be under contract, which was less than 30 days but more than 10 days. It is no secret that HOA Management companies make their money from such fees, but find that it is poor business form to deny or mislead that the process HAS to go one way, when in fact and law, it did not. It was only to their advantage to let the anyone but the homeowner (who would be liable for such penalties) make the decision of when to submit a form. It was specifically communicated in a timely manner directly to Lone Star Association Management the specific date that we would be closing, therefor the $50 'rush fee' was just another means for their deceptive trade practices.
In addition, I was not provided the communication between the Title Company and Lone Star Association Management until after the BBB complaint was filed. The title company was hired and represented by the buyer, therefor should not have been able to make a 'rush' request on the buyer's behalf. While, I acknowledge that the title company put this request in, I still hold that it was not NECESSARY, as our initial request was not processed. Should it have been processed in accordance to Texas Property Code, there would not have been a rush fee. Their initial response took that right away from us, despite Texas Property Code 207.
Lone Star Association Management has had a long history with Castle Hill Estates with what I would call 'shady' deals, so the whole reason that we sent our Subdivision requests was to prevent exactly what happened.

01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/2007Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2003, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Margie Maxwell (Executive Officer)Ms. Susan Varnell (Executive Officer)
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Association Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lone Star Association Management, Inc.

2500 Legacy Dr Ste 220

Frisco, TX 75034-1848

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2500 Legacy Dr Ste 220 

    Frisco, TX 75034-1848(469) 384-2088

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lone Star Association Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.